We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute booking”
Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BlueBay Lanzarote
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Thurrock, Essex
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great last minute booking”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Arrived mid morning and our room was not ready - not a problem, swimsuits on, grabbed some food and a drink and sat by the pool.
The pool area, like the entire hotel was very clean and well kept. Previous sunbed comments are quite amusing, they were more than comfortable just with a towel. The squish squash of peoples lilos was rather funny. Pool was FREEZING but this is due to the time of year.
Rooms were very clean and spacious with a large shower room, lounge area with kitchenette and twin beds. We were in A block over looking the pool. Housekeeping came in 6 out of 7 days, more than adequate. Beds hard but comfortable
Food and drink - if you like chips you will be fine! The choice was more than adequate, lots of fresh fruit at breakfast, lunch and dinner, the same for fabulous fresh salads. We didn't go into the restaurant at lunchtime but ate by the pool choosing a jacket potato and salad
We didn't sample any of the entertainment in the evening but the guys in the day got people very involved with water aerobics, archery, table tennis or cooking demos.
As it was a complete battery re charge break we didn't really leave the hotel but the beach is only a 5/10 min walk away, same for bars and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovehols4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    1,126
    535
    149
    91
See reviews for
1,114
962
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Co. Down
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have visited Costa Teguise many times but always stayed in self catering accommodation. During a recent visit we decided to try an all inclusive hotel and choose the BlueBay Lanzarote. I was aware it was some distance from the resort itself although, thankfully, several restaurants and a supermarket were in the immediate vicinity. We were quickly checked in and went to our room. There are three floors and no lifts, we were allocated a room on the second floor, it was a very spacious one bedroom apartment with a small well equipped kitchenette and a tiny shower room. The balcony was large, quite private and furnished with a table and two chairs, there was also a folding clothes airer. Although the apartment was well furnished there was little storage space for personal possessions, all the tables were of a cube design and had no drawers. There was a wardrobe with hanging space on one side and shelves on the other. A safe was also available to hire. A dressing table in the bedroom had neither storage or mirror. There was a large sofa type bed in the lounge area. We could not find a remote for the modern flat screen TV and it may have been available to hire at reception? However as we manually checked the channels it was clear there was nothing of any interest so we did not use the TV. I did not enquire regarding Wifi although understand it is available in certain areas but at additional cost. Beds were firm but we had no difficulty sleeping. The water temperature in the shower was a little erratic, the shower leaked as the door was badly sealed and opened out into the shower room so any water on the door dripped onto the floor. A hair dryer is also available although I was a little dubious about the socket being located just above a sink.
As many previous reviewers report, the plastic sun beds have no mattresses, rendering them uncomfortable and music which may not be to everyone's taste (certainly not mine) was played constantly throughout the day, it could even be heard in the bedrooms. I fail to understand why management have not rectified both of these problems.
There is a very large self service canteen. You are supplied with a knife, fork, glass and paper napkin, everything after that you get yourself. I have no doubt the food is plentiful and nutritious however it is basic and all clearly prepared on a very tight budget. Jack Monroe would be proud of them. Sausages, fish in a sauce, chicken legs, pasta with a sauce and pizza. There is a cook frying something like pork chops on a griddle. At the desert station expect rice pudding, jelly, fresh whole fruit and small tubs of ice cream or yogurt. Drinks include red, white wine and beer, all are freely available on tap as well as a good selection of soft drinks. Coffee is self service from a machine. There is a lot of noise with trolleys and staff constantly clearing away and replenishing crockery and a lot of coming and going whilst guests made trips to the various food stations. Whilst no one would leave hungry the dining experience leaves a lot to be desired and we did not find it at all enjoyable.
Burgers and chips etc. are also available at the pool bar. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel and more often than not each evening dined in one of the restaurants nearby.
The complex was clean, staff worked hard and I found them friendly and helpful.
I can perhaps understand why families would stay in this type of accommodation and there were a lot of young children about during our time there, which was November. I would much prefer to pay very little more but stay in one of the many SC options which are closer to the resort and dine in a proper restaurant of my choice in the evening. There is such a wide variety of dining venues in Costa Teguise to suit all tastes and budgets. I look forward to returning again to the resort but will give all inclusive a miss.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Observor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Not the best start for a couple of OAP's when told we had been given a 3rd floor apartment and although there was no lifts, there was no help to carry luggage. It didn't make any difference even when told that we had health issues regarding breathing.

I do not know how previous guests can say the food was of a good quality or even satisfactory. Even the basics of washing baked potatoes before wrapping in baco foil was not done. You open the foil and end up with dirty gritty water on your plate. The amount of cheap grade oil used for cooking food at the service point was unbelievable.
The dishes were repetitious. Desserts on an evening consisted mainly of children style foods. ie jelly, ice cream blancmanges of different flavours, heaped angel delight type dishes and rice puddings. For hot desserts it was invariably a bread and butter type of pudding. There was an occasional pastry flan type dish that was always soggy. Not a normal characteristic for puff pastry.
The main meat for 5 consecutive nights was pork. Vegetables were always insipid tasteless and overcooked. The same could be said of the pasta dishes. Sauces for those dishes were also tasteless.
Only took cereals one morning. Enough said, they were the cheapest most tasteless you could possibly buy could go on for ever about the low quality and standard of the food, but I think sufficient has been said.
The waiting staff were surly with most guests unless those guests were either Spanish or tipping. The exception to the rule was Lola at the poolside bar who was always happy and helpful to all guests
Reception staff very helpful in directing people to places and locations
Only very basic room service. Beds made and towels changed. But not on Saturdays
The WiFi issue in the resort left a lot to be desired. Firstly I feel that WiFi availability should be accepted as the norm and not used as a cash cow to fleece people who have paid good money for the holiday. But to add insult to the service you had to pay for, you were offered 2 options. Normal for a higher price than you would pay anywhere else or the premium service for an even more exorbitant rate. Not only are the costs high but you have to pay separately for each piece of equipment you want to connect. The service is best connected in reception but it was so poor I would suggest you sought an alternative system.
The hotel is working its way through the rooms and replacing the present free TV service with a pay as you view system offering the same programmes which are presently free. One guest had the system changed unbeknown to her whilst she was out of the room. She ended up having to pay for a service which she was initially getting free as part of her holiday. No apologies by staff. Just told that it was the new system
Pool towels have to be paid for, WiFi has to be paid for, TV has to be paid for. Room safe has to be paid for. This is not an all inclusive holiday.
If booking trips, do so with last minute travel which has an office close to the hotel. Cheaper than doing it through the hotel. An example of cost difference is Sunday market through last minute travel = 4€, through hotel 10€
Not all negative comments about the resort. Size and condition of the apartment was good

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 2macduff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for a week only booking the previous week. The hotel was always clean and the food was of good quality.
Had an issue with our safe and was told by reception to go back to the room and someone would be there in 5 minutes.... 5 minutes later.... it was fixed!!!! Actually thought we would be waiting all day, how wrong were we. Excellent customer service does exist !
Thought the staff in the bars / restaurant and around the pool were very polite and pleasant, looked as if they enjoyed their jobs which is very nice to see.
Only negative was the location of our room. We was in the corner which didn't get much sun at this time of the year and a couple of nights was kept awake in the early hours with load music from the pub around the corner. Had this happened on our first night we would have requested a move but it was about 3 nights in and had settled in.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just got back from 7 nights at the Bluebay and both enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly (considering the hours they all work!) and the food is well cooked and varied.

The rooms are large with a kitchenette and separate bedroom. The cleaners do a good job of keeping it all clean with fresh towels every day, and the private balcony area was great for sheltered sunbathing (that wind!). The only issue we had was with our (very noisy) neighbours. At some points it was like they were in the room with you, and as we were on the ground floor we also had very noisy people above us (moving what sounded like every piece of furniture in their room by dragging it along the floor at midnight).

The pool was freezing, no way I was getting in that, but the sun loungers were aplenty and the pool bar was always well stocked with a separate snack bar area all day.

The restaurant was well presented, with the staff really taking pride in the appearance of the tables and constantly looking for plates to tidy away. The chefs constantly replenish the food if it's getting low and there is plenty of choice for even the fussiest of eaters - lots of pasta, pizza, chips, salad, bread, chicken, lamb, pork (by far the tastiest meat they prepare in my opinion), potatoes and vegetarian options too. The breakfast is the best meal, choice of full English, continental, meats and cheeses plus juices, teas and coffees. Food was tasty, if a little over salted for my taste, and the desserts were good too - fruit, rice pudding, mousse, flan, yoghurt, ice cream. Went in there with the best intentions every night not to eat too much but still came away stuffed!

The bar was well stocked, but the entertainment was lacking (sorry!). They really do try, and maybe it is better in the summer months but we forewent the entertainment on all but two nights (we could still hear it however as our room was right next to the theatre!). Great for people watching and the bar staff are very generous with their measures!

Thought there would be direct access to the beach but you have to walk around the hotel and cross a main road to get there, but only 5 minute walk away. 10 minutes down the road is the main town centre, with TONS of bars and restaurants (don't go to the Bluebell, massive cockroach in the bathroom!), find the square of Av. Los Islas Canarias, it is busy every night with live music and performances from 9pm, and markets during the day.

Overall the hotel was good, the staff and the cleanliness cannot be faulted, it was just a little bit boring for us!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chevlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five days in november. Hotel is nice and food was fairly average, slightly repetitive after a couple meals but not bad for all inclusive at this price!

We were in block b which got the sun on the balcony in the mornings which was nice and it was never short of sunbeds no matter what time you went out. the only negative was how cold the pool was! The staff were helpful and after reporting a problem in our room it was sorted within a few hours.

The beach is only a short walk away with a few bars and restaurants up the road too

Overall a nice hotel for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

lovely friendly hotel, food was 1st class, plenty of choice. nice wine and nice beer, very clean in all areas . located in a quite area but not too far for local attractions, TRIPS. do the short south tour of the volcano s, 20 euro, its a brill trip and breath taking , i asure you. book with a travel place called last minute , they have plenty of offices , also book there for the sunday market .4 euro . dont book that at hotel they charge 10 euro.

Room Tip: we had c111. ideal location for every think, quite at night and in the day, lovely balcony and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dabids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,073 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
8.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Property: BlueBay Lanzarote
Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#14 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing