We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a budget hotel”
Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BlueBay Lanzarote
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Myself, mum and daughter aged 11 stayed for 2 weeks at the of March/beginning April. It def is not a 4 star, but a 3+. We stayed in block AB and is the closest block to everything. We had a sea and pool view though found it very noisy with the sound of traffic outside on a busy road.

Check in was fast and we asked for help to escort our three heavy cases up to level 2. Please note there are no lifts, so if you have any immobility, request a ground floor apartment in advance of travelling. There was a complimentary bottle of water and tea bags in our room upon arrival. I have to mention that there was an awful smell in our room and I believe they do have a problem with sewerage. If you sleep on the sofa beds, you will get this smell throughout the night – not pleasant!

Shower was very nice but unfortunately kept flooding the floor so we had to constantly use towels to soak up the water.

I struggled to find food in the restaurant being a vegetarian, so lived on salads, pizza and chips for two weeks. On one occasion there was egg salad in the evening – my little bit or protein! For those of you who eat fish and meat, you will find plenty to eat but food is usually cold. There is a microwave in the corner if you want to heaten your food. Unfortunately there desserts were very disappointing. They did have some themed nights, which was lovely ie chinese, mexican etc.

On the plus side the hotel is very clean and gardens are very well kept and staff are very friendly.

I didn’t enter the pool as it was freezing, though it didn't bother the kids and my daughter really enjoyed the big pool.

The walk to the main beach is 10/15 mins. There is a smaller beach closer by if you like dark sand and no life guard. The hotel will make you a packed lunch if you request it the night before hand. The hotel runs a complimentary bus to the beach 3 times per day. Unfortunately the day we waited for the bus, it had left early so we got a taxi for €3!

Costa Teguise is very quiet with some lovely bars and restaurants in the market square which is 10 mins walk along the lovely promenade.

I enjoyed my stay at the Bluebay, but it is a budget hotel, so don’t expect luxuries! I found it very family friendly.

Room Tip: Block AB is the closest to restaurant, bar etc., though if you would prefer a quieter room, requet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicelady17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,337 - 1,343 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Found this on the internet, thought it compared favourably with similar hotels, and we weren't disappointed. Restaurant food as we expected always something to choose that was good. Staff very polite and very helpful. Close to nice beach and promenade. Beds could be better but would visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I went to BlueBay in Costa Teguise last November 2013 for a week. We tend to use all-inclusive resorts as she has limited mobility. We requested a ground floor room, not too far from the main facilities, and we were happy the room allocated to us.

Some people who have reviewed and said this isn't a 4 star, and it certainly isn't by UK or International standards, but then again I didn't expect it to be. Star ratings are very subjective, and vary greatly from country to country. A 3 star resort in the Greek Islands for example would not rate very highly compared to a 3 star hotel in England. There's nothing wrong with the Greek resort its just a comparison with other resorts in the area, and they reflect the local culture and lifestyle, so star ratings are often best ignored.

For the price we paid, we certainly had no cause to complain. The resort was always kept spotlessly clean and tidy, and the restaurant and bar staff very friendly and helpful. As soon as they saw my wife with her walking stick, they allocated us a table near to the buffet area so we didnt have to walk far to get our meals, and the table was aways kept available for us.

The bar staff, especially the two ladies whose names I sadly can't remember, were always fast and cheerful all the time.
The main bar can get a little crowded at times as the seating area isn't that big, but the crowd thinned out when some of the guests went to see the on-site entertainment in the evenings.
I can't comment on the entertainment because we never saw any, but i would iagine it's the typical all-inclusive stuff you find the world over.

The pool bar during the day was great, because if you wanted a beer, soft drink or tea / coffee then you just help yourself. i really liked this feature. The pool bar also served a buffet lunch of burgers, hot dogs, fries etc. and was fine.

The pool itself was clean and well maintained, but we didn't try it out after dipping a cautious toe in the water found it to be quite cold, but that's normal for the time of year.

There are loads of sunbeds, which makes a pleasant change from some resorts I have been to.

Our room was always clean and tidy. No real problems and it had air conditioning. It was comfortable and had all the basic necessities. It looked as if the bathroom / shower had recently been refurbished.

The food in the main restaurant was buffet style as you would expect. There was a reasonable selection available and it was always good, wholesome and piping hot. I agree however with some other comments that the desserts weren't that great.
The drinks are also self serve in the restaurant.

It was my wife's first time to Lanzarote and she really liked it and would like to return. It was my first visit since 1997 and I'm pleased to say Costa Teguise is much nicer now than it was then.

All in all, it's a nice little budget all-inclusive hotel with good staff and service in a sunny climate with lots of things to do and see. I would use it again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Great staff on reception and in the restaurant.
Food - meat and fish, salad bar, fresh fruit, variety (awful desserts)
Restaurant - helpful staff, clean, show cooking
Rooms - fully equipped, only BBC news on TV, clean and tidy (uncomfortable beds)
Drinks - take your own tea bags, plentiful alcohol and free flowing !!!
Wifi - 1€ for 30min, 2€ for 1hour
Beach - 5-10mins casual walk to promenade
Gym - fully equipped and all working (not many weights)
Pool - SUNCREAM be careful of wind burn, sun beds need padding so buying a lilo on arrival, hotel charge for beach towels

Very enjoyable relaxing break x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cmkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Was very disappointed with the amount of money we payed to stay here as it was supposed to be a 4* hotel but it was more like a 2*!
Resturant was great with excellent bar the staff was very pleasant, but our room was terrible.... Holes in the walls, holes in bed sheets and curtains, lamp hanging off the wall, dirty mould on the walls, hair in our bathroom and on the banister outside our room, also followed by a pink stained pillow case when we arrived. Have taken photos of my disappointment and will be emailing to blue bay, thomas cook and trip adviser as it was not worth £1200!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kimlee160411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at BlueBay Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us. We are happy to read you found our restaurant great and our staff very pleasant. However we are very sorry to know you had a bad experience with your room, where an accumulation of some unfortunate factors ruined your stay with us. We would have been please to have given you another room if we had been aware of your problem but we did not know anything about it. We also would like to confirm you that our oficial rate is 3 * and not 4*. We will take into account your comments so as to keep on improving our guest service in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Cristina Lasso
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

stayed for 2 weeks in february, this is a 3 star hotel not a 4 as some say? stayed in block a-b its the best one for everything, complementry bottle of water in room 1st day only,room is clean,beds are firm, shower is ok,full kitchen with kettle,pool bar is self service for soft drinks,beer & food, sun beds are rock hard take or buy a lilo,resturant food was always hot & lots to choose from, the best entertainment was isabel at the main bar, the acts are ok, everything goes quiet at midnight, the staff make this hotel.

Room Tip: A-B all have sun on the balcony,pool views & are close to bar,pool & resturant,but far enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aawhyteplasterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our 2nd visit to the
Is hotel, the last being in 2008 just after it had been renovated.
Still a decent quality hotel although it's starting to get a bit tired in places.
Same gripes as many other reviewers, beds are atrocious, we slept on the sofa bed which is marginally more comfortable.
Food is fairly repetitive, and only just warm but by no means poor.
Shower flooded the bathroom and into the lounge, had to use rolled up towels to stop water leaking under shower door.
The pool is in desperate need of repair. Not sure when they clean it but it's very slippery under foot when entering and feels slimy, the are many missing and loose tiles, some floating around on the bottom of the pool causing cuts and grazes.

On the plus side the hotel is kept relatively clean, the rooms are clean and if a decent size, the gardens are very well kept and the majority of the staff are very friendly indeed.

Would definitely stay again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#9 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#5 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#12 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £82 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing