We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BlueBay Costa Teguise 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BlueBay Lanzarote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BlueBay Lanzarote
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BlueBay Costa Teguise 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We're just back from a weeks all-inclusive at the Bluebay Lanzarote. We were there from 11th to 18th August 2014. Here is a brief resume of our holiday......
For a Three Star facility, it was brilliant!
The staff, from Reception, Bars, Restaurants, Cleaners and Management were all superb. Big smiles from them, and a friendly "buenos dias!" whenever you passed by.
Our room was a one bedroom apartment on the top floor, overlooking the pool and the sea, just as we'd asked for. (Room AB305). It was very spacious, clean and perfectly adequate. The view from the room was amazing! There does seem to be a design flaw with the shower door in the bathroom, and water does leak all over the bathroom floor, but a couple of towels down beforehand works wonders! They could do with putting a mirror up in the bedroom too, and maybe providing a few drawers for additional storage, but otherwise the room was good.
There was a very good choice and selection of food in the restaurant. There must be something for everyone here and we've got no complaints about the food at all. There are three main buffet areas to pick from, for starters, mains and dessert, along with the self-service area for drinks. All very good and perfectly adequate again.
The pool area is large and there's loads of space about the place. The white plastic sunbeds are not the comfiest but the purchase of a cheap inflatable lilo makes all the difference! If you are fortunate, you may inherit some from other guests who are heading home! The rule about reserving sunbeds is enforced at this resort......... Twice we saw staff removing towels from unattended beds before 9am. So, you can certainly pick and choose your poolside spot from the early morning onwards, but you must stay with your sunbeds until the 9am cut-off point!
The pool does seem a bit cold at first, but you soon get used to it! As in other Reviews, some of the mosaic pool tiles are missing, but I think they are being replaced a few at a time, so as not to overly disrupt the guests. We did see a small area of the pool taped off to accommodate a repair, but it was only for a day.
The entertainment was varied... We saw acrobats, singers, dancers and the bird of prey show. All were competent and entertaining. There seems to be a rolling two-week programme of events, so there's some acts we didn't get to see.
The first three days of our holiday were very windy. I've heard the phrase "Breezy Teguise!" and it's very apt. Sunbeds, parasols, lilos, inflatables, and the plastic cups from the pool bar were all blown all over the place, unless you kept everything weighted down! The wind was more bearable by the end of the week, but it seems to be ever present in Costa Teguise!
As always, you mix and mingle with other guests during your holiday. We did, and everyone we spoke to had nothing but praise for the Bluebay. My wife and I are in our forties, with a 15 year old son. He had a great time! He met loads of new friends and had no complaints either! Job done!

Room Tip: Room AB305 has an amazing view of the pool area and Atlantic Ocean in the distance. No lifts, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank endofthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    1,094
    507
    139
    86
See reviews for
1,059
928
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of August and found the majority of the reviews on here are accurate. The hotel is clean and pretty much very well kept. Can't comment on the pool much as didn't go in. My husband and stepson did and they said it was freezing! The only trouble with the pool area is that there aren't enough beds for the people staying at the hotel so you have to be down there before 9am to get a look in. The policy of removing towels from reserved beds is not adhered to, so by 9am, most beds were reserved with nobody sat on them which was annoying. We ventured out most days because of this, which meant we missed lunch but there are chips, salads etc served all day by the pool. The food was very good for AI. Yes, it is repetitive but there is plenty of choice and we are very fussy eaters (and veggies) and we always found plenty to eat. The dining room is very well organised and the staff are very efficient. There was plenty of daytime and evening entertainment but it wasn't really to our taste. We preferred to have a knock about on the tennis courts and you can borrow racquets and balls for a deposit. The evening parrot show was good, but the singer was only worth going to watch to laugh at really (sorry). The entertainment room gets very busy and although the quiz nights were about the only thing worth going in there for, even that was spoiled by people cheating on the music quiz!! Only go in here if you don't mind kids running wild everywhere while the parents make the most of the free booze! Besides from that, the hotel room we had was over in E block which was far enough away to get a good nights sleep. We preferred the 'piano' bar, but the queues for drinks can get busy at times. As people have already said, the beds are a bit hard but the room size was excellent and cleaned everyday. All in all, it's a great hotel for people with younger children. If I was to return to Lanzarote, I would stay here again. It was good value for the money even though I would class it as more of a good 3* than a 4*.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went with friends with young children. Cant fault the hotel very clean food better than average for all inclusive. Not my first choice but went with the flow if you know what I mean. Ideal for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel for a holiday with our friends and their little boy. We wanted somewhere that we could relax but that had plenty of entertainment to keep the little one occupied and this hotel did not disappoint. It's perfect for a family holiday but it's a good place to go as a couple too. We had no complaints whatsoever. I've never been to such an organised and well maintained all inclusive resort; it was absolutely brilliant. I know a few of the reviews have said that the food was boring and that the same things were served every day but that wasn't our experience at all. They did serve certain foods every day (like pizza and chips for the kids) but we were able to find something different for dinner every day we were there. The food was really good quality as well. The staff were extremely friendly! The restaurant staff greeted us and made a fuss of our friends' little boy every day; they always had time to come over and say hello. The bar staff were equally as friendly. The receptionists were really helpful and were able to answer any questions we had. Above all though the entertainment staff were outstanding; unfortunately I can't remember the main woman's name but almost every day she was around the pool organising cocktail making classes and games, then she would be at the kids club and finally at the end of the day she would be at the mini disco. Even if she only had a couple of kids at the disco she was as enthusiastic as ever. I can't recommend the hotel more!

Room Tip: We stayed in A block on the first floor and the rooms were lovely, it was close to reception, had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just returned from blue bay with partner and teenage boy. We arrived quite late in the afternoon and possibly feeling a tad jet lagged our first impressions weren't great . The receptionist wasn't the warmest member of staff , gave us a room in e block overlooking the tennis courts . Nice big room however air con wasn't working particularly well and the couch /sofa bed was falling apart .the sofa arm was detached. Very worn and tired also extremely dusty .complained to reception to report problem . Handyman reattached arm and left a throw over (towels) but we was ok with this.
Couple of issues the chef was using the same tongues for both raw and cooked meat which put me right off. I mentioned this when reported the sofa but nobody got back to me however the next day miraculously was using different tongues . The pool also had issues with tiles missing and chips and cups rubbish in the pool . So was disappointed that Thomas cook were saying 4 **** resort.
We stayed here for 10 nights and overall had good stay here I wouldn't put anyone off going blue bay but wouldn't return personally . Trip adviser reviews are generally correct I.e hard sun beds ,food repetitive , staff friendly hard working ,you have to pay extra for safe,tv,and wifi , resort generally clean lack of meats but plenty of sausages and burgers. At the pool bar One last gripe air con not being used in either the restaurant or entertainment room in the evening so would like to ask the question why.?

was scorchio so take plenty of sun cream hi factor because everyone was burning. The beaches are stunning and the area around is busy with shops restaurant etc . And would recommend the spa .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fattyj360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just come back (14.08.14) from 10 days in lanzarote, stayed at Blue Bay Costa Teguise and had a great stay.
HOTEL - is very clean. The bins around the swimming pool and surrounding areas are emptied regularly approx 3 times a day. The pool is cleaned every night and through the day. Yes the pool does need some maintenance as in the shallow end there are some tiles missing. Although this is not dangerous it is not to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The grounds are kept clean and very presentable. We had the toilet broken twice and once we rang reception maintenance came and fixed it within 15 minutes, great service.

THE ROOM - is basic but very clean. The towels are changed every day and the room cleaned daily.

THE STAFF - are the best I have ever come across, every single one of them are polite, respectful and can not do enough for you. I have stayed in 5star accommodation but the staff at Blue Bay put them all to shame. They are excellent.

THE SERVICE - the all inclusive service is the best I have come across. Beer pumps are stationed at various parts around the pool bar and restaurant and you help yourself, soft drinks is the same, so you never come across a que, brilliant idea. Ice creams are given instantly on demand and they never run out. The only drinks you have to ask for are spirits and again they are given out without question. The restaurant is very clean you are taken to your table, so no waiting.
There is plenty of food which I understand when people say can be a little repetitive, but if you want individual meals go self catering this is all inclusive where the masses are catered for. Saying that the food was very nice and a good variety for everyone.

ENTERTAINMENT - great for children the entertainment staff are very productive and none stop both in the day and night. Once the childrens entertainment has finished the hotel do provide further entertainment which is a little poor, but we did stay as or child was having such a great time with all the other children.

OVERALL - we had a great holiday at Blue Bay and would definitely consider going back. What it has yo offer as a family venue out ways the small minuses. It is well worth putting this hotel on your list of possibilities as the staff and all inclusive amenities are fantastic.

THANKS FOR A GREAT HOLIDAY!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from the Blue Bay family of 4 having read the reviews before travelling thought it was only fair to write our review. Lovely hotel food is good plenty of choice for even the fussiest eaters our children ate very well and never complained. The staff are so friendly and work very hard the grounds are well kept. would recommend and be happy to return

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank epic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
0.8 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueBay Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Lanzarote

Property: BlueBay Lanzarote
Address: Avenida Las Palmeras 30, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#14 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BlueBay Lanzarote 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments just 300m from the beach at Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. Ideal for family holidays full of sun, fun and sport on the fabulous Canary island. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BlueBay Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Costa Teguise
Hotetur Lanzarote Bay Hotel
BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing