We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous reviews wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 27 May 2008

This was meant to be a quiet holiday away from our usual Tenerife haunts and it proved to be great. The staff were very pleasant and any small things that went wrong were fixed within an hour. The first week was very quiet but the animacion team headed by Danii worked very hard to get the customers to join in and had always time to spend a few minutes with you.
The second week was busier and the fun continued throughout. The animacion team worked very hard both during the day and at the functions at night to get everyone involved no matter what country you came from. There was a good mixed crowd and no one was out of order and the water polo was an instant hit, no only with those participating but the fun enjoyed by all the others who watched and shouted encouragement to all.
The previous reviews said the food was not up to scratch and being a large man, I DID NOT find this to be true. There were numerous and varied dishes every night and yes pork was on the menu a lot, but it was cooked in different ways, some with sauces some crusty ribs etc. There was always a good choice to pick from and a varied and enjoyable dinner every night.
It was a bit of a walk to the main part of the town about 45 mins or so, but there were decent pubs about 15-20 mins walk away especially THE CAVERN showing 60's pop music, the football, decent pub grub and the cleanest pub toilets I have seen anywhere.
The chinese almost opposite will take a lot of beating for the quality of the set meals 15£.
Back at the hotel the evening entertainment was good especially NEIL DIAMOND who was the best we had seen, but TOM JONES...well forget that night.. ABBA were good and the live birds of prey flying over our heads in the function hall was breathtaking. The bar staff worked very hard and shared a laugh or two.
The pool bar served a great pizza and the usual ham and cheese toasties. We were half board although most others were all inclusive.
The animacion team did a great routine for the musical show stoppers and they continued throughout the 14 days there.
A great holiday, a great clean hotel, staffed by what I would say were very professional staff and an animacion team who worked well together and who worked hard to ensure the guests were looked after.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Andy-MadgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,455 - 3,461 of 5,808 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2008

This review is a long time coming but it has to be said we had a fabulous time at the Barcelo all be it it`s location was some way from the nightlife, despite that the night time entertainment was very good. We went all-inclusive (recommended) and I can honestly say the choice of food was fantastic. The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily, activities for children and adults alike were very good, The only disappointment was the pool water was cold, but cant grumble it was February after all, but the weather was good.
We intend on returning to this hotel for the food if nothing else.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sensational3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Was a little concerned about this hotel on reading some of the reviews, but I was worrying about nothing.

Yes, hotel is on the outskirts of Costa Teguise with no bars/restaurants in easy walking distance. But most brochures and websites say this, and it is for people themselves to check locations before actually booking.

The hotel provides regular free bus into town but it is a fairly quiet resort with some small beaches. It is worth catching a bus into Arrecife for a few hours, or get a taxi for 6 euros each way - it took about 10 minutes.

We went for 5 days at the end of April and the hotel was about half full. Plenty of room around the pools and plenty of sunbeds. One of the 2 larger pools was slightly warmer than the other, but they weren't a problem. Yes it is windy but it is generally in the Canaries.

We were all inclusive. You can have a hotel beach/pool towel if you pay a 12 euro deposit. You can also have tea/coffee making facilities for around 4 euros per day, which is refilled daily with tea, coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate and biscuits.

The food was very good and very fresh. There was a good range of food everyday, with meat and fish grilled in front of you in the dining room, a different type lunchtimes and evenings.

There is a pool bar which also does food during the day, which all-inclusives have to pay for when the dining room is open. Other times it is free. Freshly cooked pizzas, burgers, chips, salads.

I didn't notice swarms of pigeons around like other reviewers. There were a few, and its always going to be a problem when you eat outdoors. (Don't walk off and leave your food on the table) There wasn't any mess lying around either.

The entertainment ( day and night) was pretty good compared to some hotels I've stayed at. Plenty to keep kids occupied as well as adults.

Me and a friend went for a lazy few days in the sun (left the men and kids at home) , so the location didn't bother us, and we had a lovely holiday - would be happy to go back

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

enjoyed every bit of my stay in the barcelo lanzerote. The rooms were lovely the food was ok and the entertainment staff were brill! there was always something to do. The resort is a bit quite... but for a relaxing week away this was perfect. Thje weather was bad.. cloudy every day but thats can be expectd in lanzerote even though it was august!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank abbcccdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We arrived at the Barcelo Lanzarote on Easter Sunday 2008. We took a private taxi from the airport, as it was much cheaper than taking the c oach - the coach was £20 per person return (3 x 20=£60), yet a taxi was only 15 euros return in total. Would definately advise you to get a taxi, as it is only 10 mins from the airport.

On arrival, the Hotel appeared very nice - nice lobby and reception. The rooms are in Blocks,and we wereallocated a room in Block 4 - furthest from the main block, but not such a problem. Rooms are similar to Travelodge rooms - pastel decor, carpeted, TV showing lots of channels, including BBC 24, SKY, and Eurosports, desk and air conditioning. Plenty of room, and lots of wardrobe space, including hangers. All balconies have pleasant views over the sea, and the pool.

We arrived at 9.00pm, and were told that we could get some food that evening, but to be honest, we got into the Restaurant at 9.15, and Service finished at 9.30, and it was awful.

Breakfast next morning was much better - everything you could imagine, includng full English. very nice.

The evening food was okay - chefs cooking meat and fish on a grill in the middle of the dining room, and the usual salads, etc - nice. We had Paella one evening, which was very good, and chefs were carving joints - very impressive.

However, some of the meats (rib eye steaks, chicken breasts) were not cooked as well as they could have been - although thin, the steaks, for example, were bloody - bordering on Blue. Towards the end of our stay, our 13 year old son suffered with diarrohea, which lasted well ino our return home - i took him took him to the GP, and he requested a sample - the results showed that there was a growth of Salmonella Type D........ not good.

Additionally - my husband put 10 euros in change in the bedside drawer one day, simply to avoid carrying it round in his shorts pocket, but when he went to get it in the evening, it wasgone. We don't know who took it but the jewellery, camera, phones and the duty free were untouched. We reported it to Reception,and although the Reception Manager said it had never happened before, he reimbursed us.... and believe me, we are not short of 10 euros.

In terms of the resort - it was windy - VERY windy, and I would not go to that resort again for that reason, (although I do accept we went early in the season). Also, the Barcelo was a bit toooooooo far from the centre - the free bus stops at 5.00pm, and although a taxi is only 3 euros each way, it all adds up

Overall? Hmmm - put it this way, I wouldn't send my Mum there. You decide.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N666RST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We stayed on an all inclusive basis for 1 week and we had a great time. We have stayed in a few Barcelo hotels and we feel that this is one of the best. The entertainment team were great...especially the ones in the Mini Club. Oliver was fantastic...he made our 5 year old laugh all week!
We had a suite and this was great for us. There was no noise at night from other guests and the room was always cleaned well each day.
The pools were good..one was slightly heated so this was quite nice. The weather was great whilst we were there.

We got a taxi from the airport and it was around 16euros each way.
We used the bus once to go to the beach...this was handy. Yes the food was repetative but we always found something to satisfy us all......we wouldn't slate the hotel just because of this as it made up for it in so many other ways.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank salads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The food was terrible, location was not good, extremely windy, rooms dirty!, bad drainage smell all around the hotel, swimming pool water was very cold. We could not swim at all.

Pigeons constantly landing on all the tables in the outdoor snack bar.

Staff were very pleasant, kids club was good and the evening entertainment was good.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchauhan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,187 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,873 reviews
13 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £71 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing