We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of All Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
CARLISLE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of All Inclusive”
Reviewed 24 June 2008

the hotel was quiet, clean and the staff were very friendly, the entertainment staff are fantastic and keep both the kids and adults entertained all day. The hotel is in the middle of no where and it takes about 30mins to walk into the town. The food was good, but got a bit repetative also the all inclusive meant that at certain times of the day you could not have food at the pool bar unless you paid full price for it and your choice of snacks was very limited. If you wanted to eat anthing other than a green salad or a cheese pizza it would cost you, in my book that is not all inclusive. Also there was a severe lack of staff and you always had to queue to get served, I waited 20mins for a drink at the show bar, thats not right when your on holiday. Don't get me wrong, we had a good holiday but this is a half board hotel and should really be rated as a 3 star. WARNING Please be aware that the airport enforces the luggage limit to the exact kilo on your return journey, they tried to charge me 130 euros, so i threw some clothes in the bin, as did a few others.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Not enough staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIKERCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,670
    1,844
    962
    366
    247
See reviews for
2,464
1,744
105
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

This hotel is very well maintained and clean throughout. Our room was also clean, spacious and comfortable. The Reastraunt was also very clean and well presented and well managed with pleasent staff, but a great let down with the food which is very repetitive must have had pork nearly every night at this hotel, also the food at this hotel is always cold, but the evening meal slightly better better than breakfast.
The drinks around the pool area at this hotel were fine slightly watered down but not realy that noticeable, however the food was very undercooked the burgers apperared to be cooked but when you got to the middle they were very red and cold.
The pool area is very nice at this hotel it has two reasonable sized pools one heated during winter months and a childrens pool is also available also the hotel has a very nice jacuzzi which costs 3 euros for 25 mins . You can always get a sunbed at this hotel as there is a no towel reserving policy, if the hotel caught you reserving sunbeds with your towel they would remove your towel.
another problem with this hotel is the location it is not realy near anything but hotel does provide a good bus servise to Costa Teguise beach.
The hotels evening entertainment was good it had two different types of entertainment everynight which lasted to around 23.00.
Overall i would not rate this hotel as a four star, in my opinion it is more of a three star plus. I would not return to this hotel again because of the location and the food however it is not a bad hotel.

  • Liked — The pool and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food and Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The hotel is very well maintained and clean. Our room was good ,quite spacious and comfortable.We asked for a room that gets the late afternoon sun,but were disappointed as there are no rooms with this aspect. although we were told ours had!

The restaurant is quite nice but was spoiled by a very bad smell eminating from the stairwell area. Drains probably.Food was acceptable but was a bit repetitious and lukewarm at times. My husband is vegetarian and was disappointed in the choice for himself as the practice of throwing a bit of ham in the veg or pasta was rife!

We would rate the restaurant as more 3*. We were on the all inclusive option.Drinks were fine and we didnt have much of a wait to be served at the bars. Most of the staff were nice and friendly.

|The first half of the week was quite restful but when the school holidays started it changed to bedlam! Queues at the pool bar all day etc.

Location not good as on outskirts of Costa Teguise,but there is a hotel bus to the centre. We had a car so no problems there.

We visit Lanzarote 2 to 3 times a year it is a paradise island for us.There are many amazing things to see and do as well as experiencing a feeling of well being from the magical atmosphere.

To sum up I would rate the hotel as 3+ not 4. We would not return but great for families. Kids very well entertained.

  • Liked — attractive and clean
  • Disliked — food quality
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maureenhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

This was meant to be a quiet holiday away from our usual Tenerife haunts and it proved to be great. The staff were very pleasant and any small things that went wrong were fixed within an hour. The first week was very quiet but the animacion team headed by Danii worked very hard to get the customers to join in and had always time to spend a few minutes with you.
The second week was busier and the fun continued throughout. The animacion team worked very hard both during the day and at the functions at night to get everyone involved no matter what country you came from. There was a good mixed crowd and no one was out of order and the water polo was an instant hit, no only with those participating but the fun enjoyed by all the others who watched and shouted encouragement to all.
The previous reviews said the food was not up to scratch and being a large man, I DID NOT find this to be true. There were numerous and varied dishes every night and yes pork was on the menu a lot, but it was cooked in different ways, some with sauces some crusty ribs etc. There was always a good choice to pick from and a varied and enjoyable dinner every night.
It was a bit of a walk to the main part of the town about 45 mins or so, but there were decent pubs about 15-20 mins walk away especially THE CAVERN showing 60's pop music, the football, decent pub grub and the cleanest pub toilets I have seen anywhere.
The chinese almost opposite will take a lot of beating for the quality of the set meals 15£.
Back at the hotel the evening entertainment was good especially NEIL DIAMOND who was the best we had seen, but TOM JONES...well forget that night.. ABBA were good and the live birds of prey flying over our heads in the function hall was breathtaking. The bar staff worked very hard and shared a laugh or two.
The pool bar served a great pizza and the usual ham and cheese toasties. We were half board although most others were all inclusive.
The animacion team did a great routine for the musical show stoppers and they continued throughout the 14 days there.
A great holiday, a great clean hotel, staffed by what I would say were very professional staff and an animacion team who worked well together and who worked hard to ensure the guests were looked after.

  • Liked — Friendly and efficient staff
  • Disliked — Not enough pubs restaurants nearby - 15-20 min walk
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy-MadgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2008

This review is a long time coming but it has to be said we had a fabulous time at the Barcelo all be it it`s location was some way from the nightlife, despite that the night time entertainment was very good. We went all-inclusive (recommended) and I can honestly say the choice of food was fantastic. The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily, activities for children and adults alike were very good, The only disappointment was the pool water was cold, but cant grumble it was February after all, but the weather was good.
We intend on returning to this hotel for the food if nothing else.

  • Liked — room was spacious, all-inclusive, balcony view over the pool area
  • Disliked — hotel surrounded by waste land and cold pool
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sensational3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Was a little concerned about this hotel on reading some of the reviews, but I was worrying about nothing.

Yes, hotel is on the outskirts of Costa Teguise with no bars/restaurants in easy walking distance. But most brochures and websites say this, and it is for people themselves to check locations before actually booking.

The hotel provides regular free bus into town but it is a fairly quiet resort with some small beaches. It is worth catching a bus into Arrecife for a few hours, or get a taxi for 6 euros each way - it took about 10 minutes.

We went for 5 days at the end of April and the hotel was about half full. Plenty of room around the pools and plenty of sunbeds. One of the 2 larger pools was slightly warmer than the other, but they weren't a problem. Yes it is windy but it is generally in the Canaries.

We were all inclusive. You can have a hotel beach/pool towel if you pay a 12 euro deposit. You can also have tea/coffee making facilities for around 4 euros per day, which is refilled daily with tea, coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate and biscuits.

The food was very good and very fresh. There was a good range of food everyday, with meat and fish grilled in front of you in the dining room, a different type lunchtimes and evenings.

There is a pool bar which also does food during the day, which all-inclusives have to pay for when the dining room is open. Other times it is free. Freshly cooked pizzas, burgers, chips, salads.

I didn't notice swarms of pigeons around like other reviewers. There were a few, and its always going to be a problem when you eat outdoors. (Don't walk off and leave your food on the table) There wasn't any mess lying around either.

The entertainment ( day and night) was pretty good compared to some hotels I've stayed at. Plenty to keep kids occupied as well as adults.

Me and a friend went for a lazy few days in the sun (left the men and kids at home) , so the location didn't bother us, and we had a lovely holiday - would be happy to go back

  • Liked — Room - block 4 lovely view. Plenty of sunbeds
  • Disliked — Location - out of town
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

enjoyed every bit of my stay in the barcelo lanzerote. The rooms were lovely the food was ok and the entertainment staff were brill! there was always something to do. The resort is a bit quite... but for a relaxing week away this was perfect. Thje weather was bad.. cloudy every day but thats can be expectd in lanzerote even though it was august!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank abbcccdddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,571 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,492 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,138 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Property: Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Barcelo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing