We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Our only complaint is that we both put a lot of weight on after our 11 nights all inclusive at the Barceló. Thoroughly enjoyed the food and the choices of wine. The hotel was spotless and the beds are very comfortable. Free hourly shuttle bus takes you into Costa Teguise where if you enjoy walking there is a lovely promenade that takes you back to the hotel.
The animation team worked hard keeping everybody entertained day and night. We highly recommend that you go and watch the shows in the evening, best we have seen on an all inclusive holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuesto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    1,733
    907
    344
    231
See reviews for
2,287
1,647
102
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Went with a friend girly holiday in July 2010 could not fault this hotel at all they do a pool dance everyday three times a day and try and get everyone involved cleanliness was fab. Food was great meet new friend out there to who had to children so we muck about with them in the pool most the time . Let hope this hotel still Is the same

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmachapma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

As a travel agent, i watched the reviews on a daily basis after booking this hotel!! I was getting nervous about going, after reading some poor reviews! I shouldn't have worried!! We stayed for a week at the end of Nov/into Dec and absolutely loved it!

Hotel:

Hotel itself, is a very large complex - but ramps or lifts about so wasn't an issue for anyone getting about! There is a good size reception area - plenty of seating and always kept spotlessly clean.

Pools:

2 Large Pools (one is meant to be heated but definately wasnt) - it also has 3 bigger water slides / 1 children's pool with splash zone / 1 x baby pool in the Kids Club Area ( this pool is heated slightly). All pools were freezing but my little boy played away all the same in them.
Hotel was very busy during our stay, but we never struggled to find a sunbed at around 10am or so after breakfast.
We hired the hotels pool towels - you pay €10 each towel deposit - first change is free and then you pay €2 each towel each change after that! Your initial deposit is refundable so you will get it back on check out!

Room:

Our Room was 4133, which is a superior room overlooking the pool area. Slightly obstructed by a tree, but we weren't in the room long enough to let that bother us.
Room was a great size, with 2 good size beds, a sofa bed. Table & Chair / flat screen tv. Brand new coffee make ( but no cups / no coffee - so a little pointless) and ample storage space including plenty of hangers. Safe in closet - this cost €3 per day to hire - non refundable. Also laundry service should you need it.
Bath Towels were changed daily also, but you must remember to place them right inside the bath as if they are even sitting on the side of the bath they wont be changed. Superior rooms also are provided with bath robes / slippers and luxury products in the bathroom. Air conditioning worked fine but we didn't need it on at all at this time of year. Free Wi-fi with superior rooms, but if you are not in a superior you can pay around €25 for the week. It has good connection in most places in and around the hotel and we never had a problem with it.
Balconies were furnished well and Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a high standard.

Food:

Breakfast - you had such a great choice of food in the restaurant - from cereals / fruit / breads / cold meats / cooked breakfasts - and also chefs preparing fresh bacon / eggs / pancakes etc in front of you just how you want them cooked. Plenty of fruit juices / tea / coffee / milk / hot water etc - you really couldn't ask for much more!

Lunch - we only ate in the main restaurant on the first day of arrival - but decided to use the pool bar for lunch the rest of the week as didn't want to fill up too much on rich foods during the day. Great selection all the same from the restaurant to the pool bar. Pool Bar was open between 11am-5pm and served food constantly - including burgers / hot dogs / chips / ham & cheese sandwiches / salads etc.

Drinks @ Pool Bar:
Drinks were also available here on tap - so self service again between 11am-5pm or so!! Excellent idea! We never queued once here for a drink - anything you wanted from local Tropicale Beer, soft drinks like coca cola / sprite / fanta etc - to water - fruit juices , slush puppies , teas (diff flavoured tea bags available too ) & coffee etc. Spirits were lined up along the bar and you helped yourself to these, there was no restriction on how much you put in your cup but no-one ever seemed to go over board or anything. Sliced lemon and ice readily available.
Small tubs of ice-cream also available at this bar, vanilla / strawberry / choc & vanilla mix - again this was unlimited.
Cake stand at other end of the bar - nice little plain buns / madeira type cake available also.

Dinner:
Main restaurant for dinner, and always managed to get a table even though it was always super busy. I'd say in July and August this might be a struggle and could be a wait time.
Plenty of choice from Salads / soups / breads / chips / meat / rice etc. Also show cooking - so every night was a different meat cooked and sliced / served up in front of you. Everything we had over the whole week was cooked well and we never had any problems!

Entertainment bar:
We went here every night, as kids mini disco starts at 8pm and lasts for around 30 mins or more. Again there is a self service bar here, so help yourself. We stayed to about 11pm most nights, so not sure how late after that it stayed open to. Drinks here are served in glasses ( or plastic cups for kids if u wish) and the same for the restaurants. Pool bar area was plastic cups etc - but that's what you would expect for safety reasons!
Entertainment was reasonably good here on most nights - Magician show & Broadway show were the best and everyone seemed to thoroughly enjoy them! The entertainers do work hard to get everyone involved.
There was another bar on the way from reception to this show bar, but it seemed more of a quieter area - piano bar etc.

Location:
Small beach across the road in front of the Be Live Hotel.
Otherwise get the courtesy bus from outside hotel reception into Las Cucharas Beach, even if you want to just go to town - saves you on a taxi fare! This runs on the hour from first thing, into late afternoon - a taxi back would cost around €5 or so! Regular service buses also run to other resorts from just outside the hotel.
Been a few years from we had been in Costa Teguise, but found it a great resort with plenty of bars / shops & restaurants. Great walk around the promenade from one end of resort to the other!

Costa Teguise is known for being very windy, and yes we had a few days overcast - but only for a while and them temperatures were around 22-24 most days! We had rain one night but that was it!

Hotel is very well kept and maintenance of the grounds is of high importance!

My little boy only went to the kids club on the first day as was having too much fun with his new friends around the kids pool to go back! He enjoyed it though, and Valentina was good at getting the kids involved in different activities!
Mini Golf was available just beside the kids play park area - You pay €10 to hire the clubs and then get it back when you return them! Great to have a little game it weather was a bit cloudy!

Didn't use any of the Spa Facilities so can’t comment on that part.
Reception staff were friendly and ready to help you.
Currency exchange available at reception, as was a bank machine to withdraw cash.
There are 3 or 4 little souvenir shops just outside the hotel, along with a mini market so you can buy more or less anything food/drink wise if you find the all inclusive isn't offering you enough. We bought some biscuits or nibbles for 5 yr old, as he was hungry enough for nibbles but not for full meal between lunch & dinner.

All in all, I can honestly say that I would recommend this hotel to any of my customers and have already booked to return in 2014!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank janinebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the last 2 weeks in September and had a lovely time we travelled with friends and family 3 couples all with small children aged 3, 4 and 5 we all had a lovely time the housekeeping did a great job the entertainment staff were amazing with the little ones especially Carmen who runs the kids club for the smaller children if my daughter was playing up I would tell her no kids club that was how much she loved Carmen. The hotel was busy but never struggled for a sun lounger pool was cold but the weather was great so this didn't bother us. Food was ok expected a it to be a little better for 4* but was nice most of the time always something snacks were great around the pool for the little ones hotdogs burgers pizza chips toasties ham cheese salads bread if you wanted to make a sandwich small tubs of icecream. The self service bar works great we were never stood longer than a few minutes for drink anytime of the day. Hotel is a fair distance from resort centre but being all inclusive we didn't find this a major issue the hotel also provides a bus to the centre until 6pm a Taxi is under 5euros. The small beach the other side of the be live hotel is lovely nothing there just a small beach but great . Maybe 2 weeks was a little too long but can be with all inclusive but we all had a great time thank you barcelo see you again!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel aims high in its efforts to keep everybody happy. In anybody's book this is not an easy task but by and large they do a pretty good job. First Choice promote this as a family resort so obviously there are a fair number of children of all ages in and around the hotel and mealtimes in particular can be a little noisy but not enough to put you off your food. Other than that there are enough quiet spots around to enjoy your own company - even an 'adults only' pool tucked away in a cosy corner of the hotel should you desire more peace - although this is not covered by the 'all inclusive' option which can be a little inconvenient if you get a little thirsty (and don't want to pay for your drinks). Not sure if this is a wise move on the part of the hotel because poor old Manuel (?) behind the bar barely moved during our stay. I'm sure they have their reasons.
Our room (4122) was lovely and the standard of housekeeping throughout the whole hotel was faultless. This carried over to the restaurant where the quality and choice of food was excellent - something for everyone I would think.
My wife and I are lucky enough to be able to have a couple of holidays each year but neither of us can remember the last time we jumped into a heated hotel pool and sadly there was no change here - we saw a couple of kids wearing wetsuits in one of the main pools and two or three (very brave) adults in our pool. I'm guessing this is down to cost......but a few degrees above freezing would be nice.
We would just
like to add our thanks to the hotel management for their very kind gift which they left in our room to celebrate our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. Very much appreciated!
So............bravo Barcelo!

Room Tip: Our 3rd floor room (4122) was lovely with nice views beyond the pool to the ocean. This was in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilfPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hithcin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel was great for family and kids with the entertainment staff working hard all day putting on various games and activities. They also have a soft play area and inflatables for kids including a great mini disco every night.

The are some reviews with people moaning about the food being repetitive but we stayed for a week and managed to eat something different every night. The quality was also good, could not complain for what we paid to go all inclusive.

Location wise it is about 30min walk into the main town but a taxi only costs 4 euro. The is also a lovely beach across the road which is really worth going to. There is also a bus stop outside with regular buses going to the other resort for under 5 euro.

The hotel was full when we were there but the service was always very good and staff all very friendly.

Would recommend for a good value family trip away

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncasalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just returned from an end of November trip to Lanzarote and the Barcelo Lanzarote. Apologies if this goes on - I like to share the information we found out and found useful.

We had no choice with this hotel as we, my wife and I, were meeting 13 other family members at the hotel for a big 40th birthday bash. There was a baby, a 7 and 9 year old and then a range from 39 to 70 with us. So a hard to please everyone group you'd think. Holiday cost us about £400 per person all inclusive and we flew from Gatwick. We upgraded to a Superior Room (about £50 extra for the week). This gave us more space and free WiFi for 2 devices all week.

Transfer: We were 2nd drop off (the first being across the road from our resort) and it took about 20 mins from the airport.

Check-In: This was slow as there were two receptionists to handle about 10 arriving groups and all-inclusive has to be explained to each etc. The wait wasn't too bad if you're a patient person...if not - you might be bothered by about 30 mins (we were at the back of the queue). The reception area is a marble monster - floor to ceiling and you feel that some warmth is needed (or a woman's touch as my wife said).

Rooms: There is assistance with luggage if required - this is an extremely large resort. We were in room 4129. This is at the back of the hotel and 3 floors up from the cabaret room (we never heard this once unless we had the patio doors open...on the rare time we were in the room before 12am). The room (and hotel) is immaculately clean. Spotless. There are a couple of areas if you look extremely closely that could do with tidying up...but unless you're being ridiculous, nothing to even comment on. The WiFi is available in the main area of the room and around all other common areas outside. Bathroom and shower is nice. "rainbow" shower and hand held shower pumped hot water no matter what time of day. TV - you've got BBC1 and BBC2 and I believe National Geographic somewhere. Pillows were gorgeous and the bed - superb. The big square pillow was brilliant.

Pools and Poolside: The Adult pool is tucked away by the tennis courts. It is a lovely area, very quiet. The pool was ice cold. Far too cold. The bar you have to pay for (more on all inclusive in a bit). We didn't go here aside from looking at it - we liked the buzz around the main pools. The two main pools, one with the water slides (great fun - even at 44) was not warm but not cold. The other pool... freezing. Still went in about 2 or 3 times again - but when your chest starts constricting with cold...time to get out!! Poolside bar has hot dogs/pizza/burgers (available between 11am and 5pm) and coffee, coca-cola, water/ice, slush puppy machines and free flow Tropical beer (this is surprisingly good) until about 6pm. The main poolside bar has free pour bottles of local spirits (plus Pernod and Cinzano) for you to help yourself with. Branded spirits are available at a charge.

Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner - in Dining Room: Lots has been written both positive and negative about this. Firstly, for an all-inclusive for less than £500 per person - what is the problem? For example, every breakfast there is fresh fruit, cereals, breads, cheese, hams, pancakes, muffins, english breakfasts, every type of egg you could wish for. If someone says lack of choice - what do you normally have for breakfast??? Don't eat every choice of food every day and there will always be choice.

Lunch - we only ate lunch a few of times in the Dining Room. There were always good choices and different everyday. One day - there was a huge Paella. It was delicious - i've paid a lot of money for worse paellas.

Dinner: One day there was a whole leg of cow being roasted and carved in front of you - all inclusive people!!! The food is really great quality. No - it's not restaurant quality in regards your plated meal is not perfect... but this format is geared towards being able to have a vast choice every meal. From Salads to Steaks to Fish to Ice Cream - we saw so much choice. Catering for this many people - there might be times when your food has cooled or maybe served too early. The staff are constantly replacing food trays and some food trays stay in place all service if less popular. This is All Inclusive catering.

I've read a few people saying they ate out a few occasions. I can see why. I firmly don't believe it's the quality or variation. Eating morning, noon and night in the same place for over 7 nights - you'd get bored with your surroundings in The Ritz. If we'd have been there longer, I guarantee we'd have eaten out more (we did eat out a couple of nights because of excursions).

All Inclusive: Ok. Biggest disappointment. The All Inclusive bar (not Cabaret bar) shutting at 11pm. This is our holiday and occasionally we'd like to carry on drinking after this time on the resort. You can still pay for drinks after this time - but if you'd budgeted a cheap holiday because of all inclusive, this was disappointing. You can get All Inclusive beer at Cabaret bar until 12am. After 12am - we struggled to even get a paid beer or wine etc.

There were things to pay for: Pool Table (where I'd like this to be free - you can understand that the charge stops people hogging the tables). Safe - 3 Euros a day and 3 Euro deposit is ridiculous. WiFi if not included in your room... should be free nowadays. Towels - 10 euros deposit and 10 euros to hire. Branded spirits - come on...you've paid a few hundred quid for your holiday? You can't expect to be supping on Remy Martin every night.

Lots of activities such as shooting, archery and shuttle board all free.

Staff: Amazing. Brilliant. Superb. Couldn't do enough for you and never hassled. They're all a bit mad but that's great. They do the entertainment in the Cabaret room at night...erm... not great.

Location: Nothing to the right when you leave the reception. Walk the road route to the small town in about 30 mins or the coastal walk in 40 mins (for two fairly fit adults). My mother, 67 walked it no problems. Tequise has a lovely market on Wednesday and Friday nights.

So. If you're still reading. 5 star rating? Yes. For £400-£550 - this is an unbelievable value for money resort. The whole of our party loved it. That includes a great grandmother. If this was a £1000 per person resort...I'd give it 3 star.

Barcelo resort - we'll go back. In a few years. Probably.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it. The extra few quid is worth it - if just for the space and the WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Khonsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.0 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Property: Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing