We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 1 June 2014

could not find any faults with this hotel everything was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay and we will be returning.
the hotel had everything we expected, rooms was beautiful and spacious.
thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,337 - 2,343 of 5,808 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Barcelo Lanzarote for 11nights from 22nd May 2014. Stayed in a family room which was great, children loved their bunk beds with there toy storage pockets. Excellent showers with little one for the children with added shower experience with green ted tiles in shower.
Very comfortable beds, clean and friendly staff.
Pools are great even for the big kid in you with the big water slides. Mini disco every night for the little movers. Excellent self service if all inclusive.
Wide variety and choice of food. Sangria making course very good too!!!!
We all had an enjoyable holiday in our second stay at a Barcelo hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just got back on Thursday from having a week at the Barcelo Lanzarote. Room 5208. We flew with Jet2 with our daughter age 8 and son age 5 both had a wonderful time and are now wishing I'd booked another week here. All the staff are very friendly, the animation team work very hard day and night keeping both adults and children entertained (only if you want them too). Only down side was the pool water was freezing as the warm weather hadn't yet kicked in and heated it up. Food is excellent with drinks on hand all day. Rooms are cleaned every day. Costa Teguise beach is 5 min away by bus which is a free service put on by the hotel every hour or you can walk it along the coast line in about 40 mins. There's a small beach cove 5 / 10 min walk away from the hotel which we visited twice during our stay. If your kids love looking for fish, crabs etc in rock poles this is a must. Thanks a lots Barcelo for a great holiday...

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room during the day email the hotel for a sea view, quiet room, this is what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Came back from Barcelo 2 days ago, We ( myself, wife, and almost 4 year old son) stayed there for a week on a AI deal . In a nutshell: this is a very good Hotel,
Positives:
the staff is friendly and seems to care, the food is really really good. There are lots of facilities (wellness center, lots of swimming pools, tennis court, futsal pitch, gym, minigolf etc.).
Negatives:
the closest beach is not great
it is not very close to the town center (depends on what you want)

more details:
Food
You can get food in two ways in the Palmeras Restaurant and during the day in the Snack bar by the swimming pool. Now the snack bar closes at 5pm and the Restaurant opens at 7pm so you have a couple of hours that no food is available not a big deal but worth to know, the snack bar serves mostly fast food, (fries, nuggets, burgers, hot dogs, etc) and operates in a self service mode. Now about The Palmeras Restaurant, this is your usual buffet style restaurant you got lots of choice and the quality of the food is really high. There is always a different grilled fish and grilled meat that is cooked in front of you, and then there is lots of other dishes ( international cuisine with more focus on Spanish dishes obviously).

Staff, Activities and kids club
The staff is friendly, during the day there are lots of activities (aqua gym, pin pong, mini-golf, etc) and they go around asking people if they want to join, so you have the choice of relaxing by the pool or get into something. they run kids ( 6+) and adults activities. You also have a mini-club, where you can leave your younger kid (3-6) for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon. the mini club facility is great, with their own swimming pool, slides, castles and toys, the girls that take care of them are also very friendly and my kid really liked to go there.
At night you have the entertainment team doing some shows, its not amazing but you can have a good time.


Swimming pools
you have 3 swimming pools (4 if you count with the mini club one). 1 is just for adults, 1 for young kids, and then in the center of the hotel you have your big pool with the 3 water slides.
its a great way of "spreading" people around if you ask me. Also the way the hotel is built means that there is not much wind which is great, as there was 25 to 35 km winds when we were there and by the swimming pools (or any place inside the resort) was fine.

Room
So we stayed in a Family room in block 5, which was quite spacious it had a big double bedroom and a living room which had a sofa bed. It had a good TV with USB and HDMI, which is really good because I was able to connect my tablet and watch videos on the big screen. :). Everything was working properly however the room could use some updating, which i think it is already happening on other blocks.

All-Inclusive
With all inclusive you get your local drinks for free and access to the restaurants. in the bars you have a section with most of the drinks you can get, however some of them you have to ask for ( like Port) there is also 5 cocktails that are part of the AI, however 3 of them have banana banana liqueur on them :(. Ask for the cocktail menu and check what else you can get, to be honest the other cocktails have a big discount for AI, and they usually end up at €2.5 or €3.

Location
so the location is a bit far from any good beach, also in front of the hotel there is seems to be some abandoned construction site which is not great, there is a bus that takes you to the city centre though.

Guests
In this hotel there was more British people than any other nationality, however you would find people from France, Germany, and Spain. Also not many "chavs" maybe because it is just a little bit more expensive?

Ranting
Please people don't put your towels in the sun beds to reserve beds, the hotel actually prints a piece of paper with that rule in every room. don't be that person. I had no problems finding sun beds during my week there, but why go against the hotel rules, and why stop people from enjoying a better place? if you are not there dont leave your towel!. ranting over

Room Tip: We booked a double room, but then called and asked for a family room which they were happy to provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank masterCank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our family stayed for 11 nights at this hotel we thoroughly enjoyed it even though the weather was poor! The meals were good clean surfaces not a fly in sight, however you have to time it right for the food to be hot! The animation team were excellent very good with children and getting the adults involved too, their friendly and caring personalities ensured that we felt at home, especially Ricardo- his performance in the Michael Jackson tribute show was just amazing! However we did find that the bed sheets in one room were never changed just made again and the floors were never given a proper clean. Also the helpfulness of one member on reception was just not up to standard of the others she gave wrong directions and false info so be aware! Over all we had a great holiday it was very enjoyable to stay in a clean and comfortable environment! Would recommend for families or even fun loving couples!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Weather wasn't the best during our stay but this did not spoil our holiday. My husband and I really enjoyed all the organised adult games, especially shuffle board.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel spotless. Staff very friendly grounds beautiful. We had a superior room clean towels every day but no bed change which was promised in the brochure.

Hotel a bit dated in places in need of refurbishment. Entertainment was very poor. Food was average i complained twice that the food was cold and I was not the only one but it was the same every day they did not do anything about it. A bit outside Teguise therefore a good bit away from any local bars and shops

Room Tip: Superior room lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333Buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,187 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,873 reviews
13 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,280 reviews
1.9 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £71 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing