We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have just returned from a stay at the Barceló Lanzarote with my wife and two young children.
If you have read some of the negative reviews of this hotel then I have to tell you that some aspects of these are justified, but that it is still quite a nice place to stay.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly but there can be times when they need a few more people on reception. Check-In seems to take an age and if you need to speak to someone at the hotel reception when a coach had just dropped off a few guests then you can end up waiting a long time. I spent 25 mins waiting to check out!
The décor is starting to look a bit jaded, broken tiles etc and the mini golf surface is ripped up in many places but the hotel is kept clean and tidy.
The pools were FREEZING cold! This might change later in the year but in May they were too cold to be really enjoyable. Young children might well find them too cold to endure, even the (supposedly) heated one.
As a vegetarian the choice of food was rather limited, but this is not specific to the Barceló. I still don't understand why the Spanish put ham or prawns in all the salads! However, there was a reasonable selection for those who aren't as fussy as me.
We stayed in a family room with the kids in the bedroom and the wife and I on the sofa/fold up bed in the lounge. This was so that we could put the kids to bed and then stay up late ourselves. The biggest problem with this is that these beds are rather uncomfortable, and you won't be able to do this if you are taller than about 5'8" as your feet will stick out of the end of the bed!
The biggest problem for us was the noise of the wind. The Canaries are windy but it was exceptionally windy during our stay and it howled past the outside of the hotel all night making it very difficult to sleep on a couple of nights.
This all sounds bad but I can say that we honestly enjoyed our time in the hotel. These are small complaints overall (apart from the wind noise) and we had a great holiday. The bars are self service for all-inclusive guests, so no queuing for drinks, the kids LOVED the mini-disco and the Animacion team were friendly and available without being pushy. It's also really nice that the hotel lay on a free bus service to and from Costa Teguise as it is quite a long way to town.
It's also worth noting that your all-inclusive is supposed to end at midday on your last day but no-one took our wristbands off when we checked out!

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside suffer from serious wind noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yudansha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    1,687
    891
    340
    231
See reviews for
2,232
1,607
98
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Barceló Lanzarote Hotel there was not a thing we could fault or even want to change. The staff were helpful and very polite, the restaurant was well layed out with hardly any waiting and there was plenty of choice and freshly cooked in front of you. I must mention the animation team whom were amazing and such hard workers as they put their heart and soul into the evening shows and they made my holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely hotel,staff make you welcome from beginning to end,room clean although we did have a supreme room,the only bad point was that we only had English news on the TV,however my brother who's room was next door had many more channels and even after asking reception to change we had no joy,lucky we don't spend time watching much tv,this hotel had all that we need,however there isn't anything outside apart from your normal gift shops,we can also recommend the hotels on site restaurant...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 (kids aged 6 and 8) in May 2014.

The hotel is good for families and fine if expectations are not too high.

Check in is easy but there are limited staff.

ROOMS
We had superior family room in block 3. It was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Kids slept in lounge area on sofa bed. Spacious balcony but it overlooked a refinery which spoiled the view of the sea a bit. Bathroom clean and modern.
As a whole room was more functional than luxurious but all OK. There are capsule coffee machines in room but these don't work.

FOOD
Breakfast good, varied. Lunch and dinner in restaurant are just OK. Food is bland and repetitive but OK quality ingredient. Pool bar food is pretty poor quality but chips OK. Drinks plentiful and good range.
We resorted to eating out a bit even though on AI

ENTS
Entertainment work hard, kids did a few activities which they enjoyed, but sometimes queued up for a go with things eg climbing wall and missed out in timeslot which was disappointing. But a range of activities on offer. Mini disco at 830pm. Show at 10 pm bit late for small kids. The shows were not great anyway.
Miniclub only for under 6s. My 6 yr old sad to be told too old.

FACILITIES
Pools lovely but freezing. Good range of pools. Paddling pool slides never properly worked though.
Minigolf tired and needs refurb.

OVERALL
OK but if you have stayed in other Barcelo resorts (we have in fuerteventura, Minorca) then you will be disappointed as this is just not same standard.
Also not as good as website looks.
But it is clean and good location and ideal for families.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank ajn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have just returned from a week here during the May half term holiday with my 8 year old daughter, and my parent's,one of whom needs a wheelchair to get around. The staff were extremely friendly and helpfull, and we found it easy to get around with thr wheelchair,plenty of ramps for buggies etc. The food was very similar to other all inclusive 4* hotels I have stayed in but had a good choice and was very tasty and caterers well for my fussy daughter! The pool area was lovely with ample sun lounges for everyone,could have done with the pool being heated though as it was slightly cold the week we were there! Room was kept clean with daily maid service. Overall a great holiday in a lovely hotel with good daytime entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
6 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaiza, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just back from our first trip to this hotel and it was perfect! The staff were all so friendly and we felt very relaxed and comfortable from the moment we arrived. Enjoyed it so much that we are about to book again for a few weeks time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in early May 2014, we wanted a relaxing holiday and thats want we got. The hotel is big but is kept clean and all the staff were very helpful. We found the food excellent with always plenty of choice and really enjoyed the meal in the a la carte restaurant.
We meet a few couples who had been at the hotel before and kept returning time and time again,
I look forward to returning as well. Thank you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.2 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.0 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Property: Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing