We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sands Beach: Great Holidays with kids, but no shadow @ pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sands Beach: Great Holidays with kids, but no shadow @ pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We (Family with 3 small kids) stayed end of october for 2 weeks in Sands Beach and had a great time! Staff was very friendly, hotel is situated right to the beach. About 20 minutes walk along the beach to the city center of Costa Teguise.
Kids & parents loved the accomodation. Nice little playing ground, sporting facilities, 7 pools (only 1 is heated! - and that one opens only from 10.30 - 18.30h ).
One point that Sands Beach should really improve... There is hardly and shadow around the pools. For sun-lovers it is great, but families with babies and small kids cannot sit relaxed at the pool area. Also the playing ground and the baby pools are in full sun...

Appartment at the beach front
Appartments were more than ok and the service was great. We had a sleeping room, kitchen, batchroom and in the living room a double bed and a sofa which could be turned into a bed. BAby Cod was provided for free. And room cleaning every day.
Beachfront is perfect with kids...

Mini Disco
The kids loved the mini disco. From the parents perspective, they could improve this by not giving the kids any sweets after dancing. And they should not speak so much. Just turn on the music and dance with the kids...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.
We have shaded areas in Sol and at Mai Tai pool. It is intended to have shaded areas in every plaza as part of our refurbishment plans for 2014.

The Mini Disco has been a popular part of our Animation Programme for many years. We have never had any complaints like your complaint before. We will review the matter if any other person has issues similar to yours. Our feedback forms are very positive for the Mini Disco.
We thank you for taking the time to write the review and we have taken note of your points. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    1,100
    382
    161
    110
See reviews for
1,427
1,055
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Sands Beach for a week the beginning of October and from the time of booking, I have had nothing but pleasure when dealing with everyone from this hotel. We travelled with our 2 yr old and our new baby, who was barely 3 months old at the time and the staff made our holiday extremely stress-free and hugely enjoyable.

We stayed in No.7, a beautiful beachfront apartment, which was spotless, quiet and perfectly situated beside the very safe beach. I had emailed the hotel before we flew to arrange a few things and they offered us a pre- check-in via email to ensure we could get to the apartment as soon as possible with such small children. Check-in was a breeze, do get the porters to bring your luggage for you, as it is quite a walk with luggage to the beachfront apts, everything we had requested, extra bed, cot was waiting for us in the apartment. We also ordered take away from the Haicenda, which was brilliantly delivered right to our door, exactly what we needed after travelling with a 3 mth old!

We really found the resort to be so relaxing and peaceful. It worked perfectly for us that the beachfront was literally outside our door, as I could be in the apartment with the baby and my husband was on the beach with our 2 yr old and we still felt like we were together! The choice of pools is great as well, when you got tired of the beach. An added bonus was the free buckets/spades & toys and also the kayaks, which my husband and 2 yr old loved!
I also have to highly compliment the Buddy's team who really made sure our 2 yr old enjoyed every evening and slept like a log. They work extremely hard and make it so much fun, even for the younger kids. The only downside was we always had to make sure we were back after dinner in time for the mini-disco! Not much of a hardship when our little princess was constantly entertained. The (free) shows like the birds of prey, parrots etc. went down a treat also with her and us.
Another tip is to use the beach towel service, saves space in your luggage and it's lovely having clean beach towels everyday. I also used the laundry service, which was very good value and meant we didn't have to pack as much clothes.

I also want to commend the cleaners who came everyday and were so accomodating with us, our lovely lady, who I sadly didn't get her name, seemed to have us scheduled just as one or other of our kids were napping, she really worked around us, even coming back later some days to clean the place and replace towels. It really made a difference to have EVERY single member of staff be so friendly and accomodating. I have never come across this in any of the hotels I have stayed in before.

There was a few, small downsides to our trip. 1. Yes, I agree with some other posters that some of the pool areas are little worn and I presume that maybe some of the apartments may be a little worn also but the resort does seem to be making a strong effort to refurbish the place, Plaza Sol for example is fabulous! My tip would be if want a lovely, clean, comfortable apartment, pay extra for the beachfront ones.
2. It is on the edge of the Costa Teguise resort, quite a bit of a walk into the centre of the resort. We did make the mistake of trying to bring our double buggy via the beachfront. DO NOT DO THIS!! My poor husband spent ages pulling it backwards without the kids in it to get through the not finished part of the beachfront. That said, closer to the resort centre, the were currently laying a lovely promenade which will be amazing when it's finished and eventually reaches the Sands Beach Resort!!
3. The ramps in the resort are very steep, bad for buggies and/or wheelchairs etc. Just use the service road running down the side of the resort, way easier and shorter too. And yes, the middle of the lagoon, does have some not nice seaweedy stuff but that's to be expected as it's not a river, I have encountered similar stuff in lakes. It is not a pool or the sea, don't expect it to be. My little girl had a ball trying to catch the fish, though!

Overall, I really cannot recommend this hotel enough, it is simply THE BEST Hotel we have stayed in ever. Our accomodation was so comfortable and homely, which was good as we did spend an awful lot of time in our apartment due the age of our kids, not once did we feel uncomfortable, we even looked forward to coming back to 'our holiday house' every night after the disco.
The staff are one in a million, which really makes this place so comfortable and a home away from home for us. It really does say something for this hotel, considering the majority of people we met while there, were back for their 4th, 5th, 9th holiday at Sands. We will be back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the beachfront, seeing the sunrise over the lagoon every morning was a highlight of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and our hotel facilities and services. It is great to see you used our “EXPRESS CHECK IN SERVICE”. This service is available to all our guests whether you book with a tour operator or directly with the hotel. All you need to do is email our reservations department expressing you wish to use the service and they will email you back their requirements to do your check in. When the check in is completed all you need to do is come directly to the “EXPRESS CHECK IN “sign on the reception desk. You will be given your information book and keys immediately. To contact reservations please email them: reservations@sandsbeach.eu.
We have a customer services desk in reception and Rosemary is there Monday – Friday 09.00-15.00 and on Saturday 09.00-13.00. She will advise anyone on where they can walk with buggies and wheel chairs and where everything is in Costa Teguise so you do not have to go out finding essential information out by trial and error. She can advise on restaurants and public buses as well as excursions suitable for your family and children´s ages.
We are happy that our hotel and facilities made your holiday especially enjoyable and comfortable travelling with a young family. We thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive review it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you all here at Sands Beach Resort again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is our third stay at the Sands Beach Resort, we stayed for a week (October half-term). The Hotel is fabulous, food is delicious (buffet style - plenty of choice) and the Staff are very helpful. The layout of the Hotel is perfect for families, as the pool areas are very close to the apartments. The apartments are very spacious and have all amenities. What strikes you both during the day and of an evening is how peaceful and relaxing the resort is, it is VERY relaxing. Facilities within the Hotel are excellent, with everything you need on site (shop, entertainment, games room, pools, bars, cafe, restaurant). I would highly recommend it as the perfect Hotel to visit in Costa Teguise, personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I will definitely be booking our fourth visit for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyP867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Your review particularly pleases us as the greatest compliment you can pay us is to return!
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We have a well stocked supermarket in our reception. Our shop is open from 07.30 - midnight every day. Our prices for branded goods are competitive with local shops. We stock imported UK fresh milk. We have bread freshly baked on the premises every morning from 07.30. We also have same UK and Irish newspapers by 11.00 each day.
We thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you for your fourth visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

just home from sands beach,.Really short transfer from airport,which is great when you have small kids.checkin a little slow,could maybe do with additional help at such times?
The good news- staff were exceptional,they really put alot of effort into the halloween theme.
They work really hard!!! Food in restaurant was extreemly good,we were half board and i would strongly recommend taking advantage of this option.
lots of activities included in cost of stay,swimming lessons,yoga etc...
Apartment wasnt overly clean on arrival (c69)
if going again (which i will) i would opt for almeria 2 bed apt west facing.
A very good experience for all of our family.

Room Tip: best to get an apt with 2 bedrooms if traveling as a family of 4 otherwise u have to usw a fold up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not know about our express check in service. It is a service open to all who have booked a holiday at Sands Beach Resort even if you have booked with a tour operator. All you need to do is email our reservations department. Their email address is: reservations@sandsbeach.eu. The staff in reservations will email you back the list of their requirements. When you arrive at Sands Beach you go to the “EXPRESS CHECK IN” sign and you are given your keys and information book. There is no queue. You bypass the entire queue.
We are delighted you enjoyed your meal on our half board tariff. We have a wide and varied range of food on offer for all meals.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you at Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanage
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is all low level and spacious, it has a very relaxing feel and is spotless. It is a little on the edge of costa teguise. The staff are all excellent. I cannot rate the kids club highly enough, buddys club, it is free and runs daily, they also put on a childrens disco at 8.15 pm every night - guided dancing with a clown, its in the bar so parents watch and have a laugh. Afterwards there is a family show, we saw a magic show a reptile show and a bird show, all very interactive, a little late for our taste but that is Spanish culture. There were no teenagers! so my 14 yr old was out on a limb, luckily he was at surf school - try surf school lanzarote. I am a single mum and was the only single person, the hotel suits and is full of families with children under 7 and retired couples, people from all over europe. I chose it because of the high spec of the rooms which are (superior) actually full apartments but the resort is a more windy one than the ones further south, you notice this more if the weather is poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seahousebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted your family enjoyed your holiday with us. We normally have a teenagers club in Summer but due to the way the midterm breaks fall in October with different parts of the UK and Ireland having the breaks at different times there were never enough teenagers to have a teenagers club at this particular break.
At Sands Beach Resort we have every configuration of family so do not feel left out as a single Mum there are lots of single Mums and Dads too.
We are so pleased you and your children enjoyed your holidays with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I am writing this review as i am sat in my appartment.
This is truly one of the nicest places i have been to, the resort is beautiful, very well maintained and very clean, the pool is yards from your front door but is also quiet.
The staff are really friendly, nothing is too much trouble, booked a trip with rosemary who was really helpful, the reception staff are great. The restaurant is really well run and the food is amazing. Could not find anything negative to say and would definately return and also recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen110267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review especially as you have taken time out from your precious holiday to write your review while still actually in Sands Beach Resort.
We will pass your kind comments to our staff.
Rosemary is at our Customer Services Desk in reception Monday – Friday 09.00-15.00 and on Saturday 09.00-13.00. Rosemary has information on our hotel, Costa Teguise and the island of Lanzarote. Rosemary can offer you information on doctors and dentists. She will advise you on the public buses on great days and nights out. She also has discount cards for restaurants, bars and perfume shop.
Thank you again for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

1st time at Sands but 5 th time to Lanzarote. Great apartments with everything you need. If self catering take a tea towel and some dishwasher tablets as none provided. Not that I did a lot in the kitchen but if that's what you like to do with a full oven etc you could eat in every night! Great for kids, it was half term so a lot of children but that's what you would expect. Cleaners and all staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Evening entertainment not too my taste but try it you may like it!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the right hand side for sunnier evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It is very much appreciated by everyone here at Sands Beach Resort. We will pass on your kind comments to our Animation Team. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.3 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
2.0 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing