We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2013 10 day stay”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“September 2013 10 day stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Never been to Lanzarote before and didn't know what to expect, we arrived at lanzarote airport to see it was raining which my instant re-action was NOT GOOD. We then took the coach to the hotel upon arrival 1st impressions were good, as we were checked in at reception we was told there had been a leak so they was going to upgrade us to a two bedroom apartment (which was stunning) they also gave us free breckfast for the rest of our stay (bonus). the hotel its self is brilliant couldn't fault it, plenty to do quiet around pools are there is 7 and a private lagoon. would deffo recomend this hotel and the staff are brilliant especially in the bar at night
BRILL BRILL BRILL

Room Tip: if your looking for a quiet place to get your head down i would suggest the AMARILLA block as this d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you arrived on one of the ten days of the year we have rain. We are sorry your originally booed room was not available for you but we are happy you were pleased with the alternate room.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    1,139
    405
    166
    114
See reviews for
1,500
1,108
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is our 2nd holiday at sands beach and it's still a brilliant complex, some of the pools are in need of a makeover but think they may be doing them one by one as the Olympic pool wasn't there last time we were there 3yrs ago and sol plaza is very nice and new looking. It's only a short walk into costa teguise and there is some brilliant eating places the Chinese in the square by the trampolines is a must and el maestro is very good also Pablo's is great. There is a lovely craft market on a Friday evening in the courtyard and the big teguise market on Sunday. We will be going back to sands beach again we love it.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great but expect sand to be brought in on feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. The refurbishment of the resort started with the closing of the pool at Plaza Sol last Monday (18/11/13) for maintenance and painting. There is a planned refurbishment programme in progress starting this week and running through 2014. It is difficult to have refurbishments and not disturb guests therefore it has to in planned stages at times of lowest occupancy.
We do hope you will return to see the results of our current ongoing refurbishment plans.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location but tired and disappointing - two big issues: plenty of swimming pools but only one supposedly heated, in fact so cold my children stayed in just a few minutes and we never ventured, Surely in the off season a properly heated pool would be essential and its one of the main reasons we booked this place. The other issue is the resort is now looking tired, our beach front apartment wa spacious but dated and the best view over the ocean was blocked by blinds that could not be opened.
Don't book the car hire at the resort - the car was old and they conned us with a part empty tank of fuel and a faulty fuel gauge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your holiday at our hotel. We have sent you a Personal Message and we would appreciate if you could get in touch with us. We need some information from you in order to deal with this matter.
We are confused about the heated pool. Our 25m pool and the pool at the Mai Tai are heated. The temperature at the Mai Tai is taken twice during the day and the temperature is on a board at the entrance to the Mai Tai.
We are sorry about the issues you had with the car hire company and we will pass your complaint on to them. This is another reason we would like you to get in contact with us.
Thank you in anticipation for your information and we hope we can resolve the issues for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Brilliant resort, first visit won't be the last. Very clean, great two bedroomed apartment just wanted a week chill out and got exactly that. Worth emailing beforehand asking for specific rooms: pool view, sun in afternoon etc. very obliging . Just beware hard sell shops for cameras etc. just say NO! Apart from that wonderful place.

Room Tip: Email beforehand. Pool view and sun in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitchin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your holidays with us.
We agree with you on the issue of the local electrical shops. We cannot stress the importance of ignoring the people from these shops. We would ask that anyone who intends to buy anything from these shops takes time out from the sale and come and ask anyone for advice. Please do not hand over your money until you are very sure the products are exactly what you think you are buying. You must be very careful of cheap fakes. Thank you for your very valid and important advice.
We thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family at Sands Beach Resort again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We (Family with 3 small kids) stayed end of october for 2 weeks in Sands Beach and had a great time! Staff was very friendly, hotel is situated right to the beach. About 20 minutes walk along the beach to the city center of Costa Teguise.
Kids & parents loved the accomodation. Nice little playing ground, sporting facilities, 7 pools (only 1 is heated! - and that one opens only from 10.30 - 18.30h ).
One point that Sands Beach should really improve... There is hardly and shadow around the pools. For sun-lovers it is great, but families with babies and small kids cannot sit relaxed at the pool area. Also the playing ground and the baby pools are in full sun...

Appartment at the beach front
Appartments were more than ok and the service was great. We had a sleeping room, kitchen, batchroom and in the living room a double bed and a sofa which could be turned into a bed. BAby Cod was provided for free. And room cleaning every day.
Beachfront is perfect with kids...

Mini Disco
The kids loved the mini disco. From the parents perspective, they could improve this by not giving the kids any sweets after dancing. And they should not speak so much. Just turn on the music and dance with the kids...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us.
We have shaded areas in Sol and at Mai Tai pool. It is intended to have shaded areas in every plaza as part of our refurbishment plans for 2014.

The Mini Disco has been a popular part of our Animation Programme for many years. We have never had any complaints like your complaint before. We will review the matter if any other person has issues similar to yours. Our feedback forms are very positive for the Mini Disco.
We thank you for taking the time to write the review and we have taken note of your points. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Sands Beach for a week the beginning of October and from the time of booking, I have had nothing but pleasure when dealing with everyone from this hotel. We travelled with our 2 yr old and our new baby, who was barely 3 months old at the time and the staff made our holiday extremely stress-free and hugely enjoyable.

We stayed in No.7, a beautiful beachfront apartment, which was spotless, quiet and perfectly situated beside the very safe beach. I had emailed the hotel before we flew to arrange a few things and they offered us a pre- check-in via email to ensure we could get to the apartment as soon as possible with such small children. Check-in was a breeze, do get the porters to bring your luggage for you, as it is quite a walk with luggage to the beachfront apts, everything we had requested, extra bed, cot was waiting for us in the apartment. We also ordered take away from the Haicenda, which was brilliantly delivered right to our door, exactly what we needed after travelling with a 3 mth old!

We really found the resort to be so relaxing and peaceful. It worked perfectly for us that the beachfront was literally outside our door, as I could be in the apartment with the baby and my husband was on the beach with our 2 yr old and we still felt like we were together! The choice of pools is great as well, when you got tired of the beach. An added bonus was the free buckets/spades & toys and also the kayaks, which my husband and 2 yr old loved!
I also have to highly compliment the Buddy's team who really made sure our 2 yr old enjoyed every evening and slept like a log. They work extremely hard and make it so much fun, even for the younger kids. The only downside was we always had to make sure we were back after dinner in time for the mini-disco! Not much of a hardship when our little princess was constantly entertained. The (free) shows like the birds of prey, parrots etc. went down a treat also with her and us.
Another tip is to use the beach towel service, saves space in your luggage and it's lovely having clean beach towels everyday. I also used the laundry service, which was very good value and meant we didn't have to pack as much clothes.

I also want to commend the cleaners who came everyday and were so accomodating with us, our lovely lady, who I sadly didn't get her name, seemed to have us scheduled just as one or other of our kids were napping, she really worked around us, even coming back later some days to clean the place and replace towels. It really made a difference to have EVERY single member of staff be so friendly and accomodating. I have never come across this in any of the hotels I have stayed in before.

There was a few, small downsides to our trip. 1. Yes, I agree with some other posters that some of the pool areas are little worn and I presume that maybe some of the apartments may be a little worn also but the resort does seem to be making a strong effort to refurbish the place, Plaza Sol for example is fabulous! My tip would be if want a lovely, clean, comfortable apartment, pay extra for the beachfront ones.
2. It is on the edge of the Costa Teguise resort, quite a bit of a walk into the centre of the resort. We did make the mistake of trying to bring our double buggy via the beachfront. DO NOT DO THIS!! My poor husband spent ages pulling it backwards without the kids in it to get through the not finished part of the beachfront. That said, closer to the resort centre, the were currently laying a lovely promenade which will be amazing when it's finished and eventually reaches the Sands Beach Resort!!
3. The ramps in the resort are very steep, bad for buggies and/or wheelchairs etc. Just use the service road running down the side of the resort, way easier and shorter too. And yes, the middle of the lagoon, does have some not nice seaweedy stuff but that's to be expected as it's not a river, I have encountered similar stuff in lakes. It is not a pool or the sea, don't expect it to be. My little girl had a ball trying to catch the fish, though!

Overall, I really cannot recommend this hotel enough, it is simply THE BEST Hotel we have stayed in ever. Our accomodation was so comfortable and homely, which was good as we did spend an awful lot of time in our apartment due the age of our kids, not once did we feel uncomfortable, we even looked forward to coming back to 'our holiday house' every night after the disco.
The staff are one in a million, which really makes this place so comfortable and a home away from home for us. It really does say something for this hotel, considering the majority of people we met while there, were back for their 4th, 5th, 9th holiday at Sands. We will be back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the beachfront, seeing the sunrise over the lagoon every morning was a highlight of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and our hotel facilities and services. It is great to see you used our “EXPRESS CHECK IN SERVICE”. This service is available to all our guests whether you book with a tour operator or directly with the hotel. All you need to do is email our reservations department expressing you wish to use the service and they will email you back their requirements to do your check in. When the check in is completed all you need to do is come directly to the “EXPRESS CHECK IN “sign on the reception desk. You will be given your information book and keys immediately. To contact reservations please email them: reservations@sandsbeach.eu.
We have a customer services desk in reception and Rosemary is there Monday – Friday 09.00-15.00 and on Saturday 09.00-13.00. She will advise anyone on where they can walk with buggies and wheel chairs and where everything is in Costa Teguise so you do not have to go out finding essential information out by trial and error. She can advise on restaurants and public buses as well as excursions suitable for your family and children´s ages.
We are happy that our hotel and facilities made your holiday especially enjoyable and comfortable travelling with a young family. We thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive review it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you all here at Sands Beach Resort again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is our third stay at the Sands Beach Resort, we stayed for a week (October half-term). The Hotel is fabulous, food is delicious (buffet style - plenty of choice) and the Staff are very helpful. The layout of the Hotel is perfect for families, as the pool areas are very close to the apartments. The apartments are very spacious and have all amenities. What strikes you both during the day and of an evening is how peaceful and relaxing the resort is, it is VERY relaxing. Facilities within the Hotel are excellent, with everything you need on site (shop, entertainment, games room, pools, bars, cafe, restaurant). I would highly recommend it as the perfect Hotel to visit in Costa Teguise, personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I will definitely be booking our fourth visit for next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyP867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Your review particularly pleases us as the greatest compliment you can pay us is to return!
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We have a well stocked supermarket in our reception. Our shop is open from 07.30 - midnight every day. Our prices for branded goods are competitive with local shops. We stock imported UK fresh milk. We have bread freshly baked on the premises every morning from 07.30. We also have same UK and Irish newspapers by 11.00 each day.
We thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you for your fourth visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,553 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing