We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sands beach great holiday”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sands beach great holiday”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were at the sands beach in nov for 2 weeks and had a lovely time,place was spotless and apartment had everything you need including dishwasher ,staff very nice and helpful.plenty of places to eat .would go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May54547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its facilities. We look forward to seeing you at Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,134
    396
    164
    113
See reviews for
1,476
1,095
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days 30th November arrived at 8pm was put in apartment next to the Olympic pool nice apartments bit tired but nicely set out

Great kitchen just could've done with another pan and a grill pan but lovely to have a dishwasher

Olympic pool was nice temperature as was the Mai tai pool they were the 2 heated ones did have a dip in the others but were a little bit shall we say fresh!!

Great place if you've got kids the man made beach is brill for them really safe

Bout 10 mins walk to shops and restaurants not to bad the hyperdino and the spar are cheaper than the on site shop

You can get the number 3 bus to puerto del Carmen for €2.90 wouldn't bother going to arracife bit of a dump

Best breakfast was at little restaurant called la tarraza in the first shopping center and really cheap not the nicest part of the island but not bad

O

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandra7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our 25m pool and the pool at The Mai Tai warm and pleasant.
Our on-site well stocked supermarket is open from 07.30-Midnight every day. We compare favourably for branded products. We stock UK imported milk. We have fresh bread baked on the premises every day. By 11.00 each day we have same day UK and Irish newspapers.
We have to disagree with you about Arrecife. There are some wonderful places in Arrecife. If you get off the bus at the beach at Playa Reducto you have the Arrecife Gran Hotel a 17 story hotel (the only high building on the island) and you can go to the bar at the top and see the amazing views out over the island. There is also the Castillo San Gabriel and the market on Wednesdays and Thursdays by the sea front.
We thank you for taking the time to write your review and look forward to seeing you again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went to this hotel with my wife & grown up daughter on reccomendation of Jet 2 Holidays. We had a superior 1 bed apartment. The apartment was excellent very clean with all the amenties you could want, separate kitchen with fridge freezer, cooker, dishwasher , microwave, kettle & toaster, all in very good condition. Towels were changed daily if required all you had to do was ask if you needed anything and it was there very soon. My wife had a accident when lowering a pull down double bed from behind a wardrobe, the matress did not come down with the bed and when she shook it came down on the bed and then everything fell on her foot, so please be aware of this, however the rep & hotel were excellent they arranged for a doctor to come to the apartment & treat her for three days with no cost to us. Everyone was very good and the hotel staff were excelent. we went half board and I must say the food was very good with numerous choices, my wife is a vegitatrian and there was also a good choice for her. Overall I thought it was a very good hotel and we enjoyed our holiday despite the acccident. I would certainly go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out onto a pool, but there are ones that have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed the facilities of our superior apartments.
We are glad to be of help with your wife´s foot injury and I am sure she has made a full recovery.
We are happy that you enjoyed our food at the Hacienda Restaurant,
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Please let me start this review by saying that I don't like complaining & I do not expect perfection from anywhere I stay, things do go wrong & its how these things are put right that counts.
We first stayed at Sands Beach Resort 2 years ago in one of the beach front apartments & loved it so much we promised ourselves to return.
We arrived on the 26th Nov for an 11 night stay & as expected, the beach front apartment was excellent for first 7 days up until the morning of the 3rd of December when we were woken up by a phone call from reception telling us we had to remove our hire car from the hotel car park ASAP due to the Lanzarote Marathon taking place on the 8th of Dec & they had lots of preparation to do for it...Whenever I go abroad, I always have a hire car & I ALWAYS make sure that where I stay have car parking, having been to Sands Beach before I knew that parking was ok & only about 100 yards to the car.
On trying to move the car to a different parking area I noticed that the main road outside the hotel had also been turned into a "No Parking" zone, so I went into reception & asked where I was meant to park the car & the receptionist said "turn right out the hotel, go down the road a bit & turn left, you should be able to park along that road somewhere"...Great, this turned out to be about 1/4 of a kilometer away on an incline & far from secure parking.
I am far from disabled but I do suffer from lower back pain & walking up not even too steep an inclines does get painful & my wife has been suffering from a bad hip..From this moment onwards our holiday was ruined, we like to use a hotel as a base & go in & out several times a day but with the now combined walk of 1/2 a kilometer everytime we went out, we stuck to going out just once a day..Not happy
To make this even worse on the hotels part, the so-called preparation's were non existent for 2 days, then they put up one gazebo that must have taken all of 1/2 hour to erect ! even with this gazebo up, there was more than enough room to use the car park, they even roped off the disabled parking spaces in the front hotel car park, so I really felt sorry for any disabled paying customers at Sands Beach during this time.

To be completely honest, it seemed to me that they must make so much money out of the marathon, they could not care less about people who have paid to stay at their hotel. The last five days of our holiday we felt like we were an inconvenience to Sands Beach as everything seemed to be geared for the marathon.

If it was not for this problem I would have happily given more than a 3 star rating

Room Tip: Tell them you dont want an apartment that faces a wall, these look horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-shirt_tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the Lanzarote Marathon interfered with your holidays. We are also sorry you were not aware of the fact that the Marathon was happening during your stay. It may appear to you that little was done but we were working under strict health and safety and insurance guidelines for the running event which necessitated the removal of all cars from the area on certain days.
Lanzarote Marathon is not a profit making operation. This is a wonderful event and Sands Beach Resort and the people of Costa Teguise are proud to have en event of this calibre in our resort. Inconvenient as it can be for some people. It is held at a time of year of lowest occupancy. The event is publicised very heavily and we are very sorry you were not made aware of the event when you were booking your holiday. We have sent you a PM in regards to this.
We made arrangements for guests who were disabled in addition to our holiday guests who were disabled we have many wheel chair participants in the Marathon itself. You do not say if you went to discuss your situation with any of our staff. We are sorry that you felt you were an inconvenience to our hotel but many of our guests enjoyed and participated in all the events and many commented on the great day the Childrens Marathon was. In 2012 one of our holidays guests was a spectator at our Marathon and was so inspired by the event he took up running and came back this year as a participant in the half marathon.
We understand this event was not for everyone and we are sorry you were not made aware of the dates of the event at the time of booking your holiday an issue we will be investigating.

We do hope you will return again to Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed (2 friends) in Plaza Montana. Was expecting a pull down bed in lounge and a seperate bedroom but both beds were in the living area. This turned out ok as bathroom was plenty big enough to give privacy when dressing etc. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant. The supermarket was handy and well stocked, although definitely more expensive than the supermarket just down the street. Staff were helpful & friendly. We had a few problems with noise (tiling and zumba class) for which they were very apologetic. Hotel is in a good location - walking distance to all bars and restaurants but enough away for a bit of peace and quiet. 10 euro refundable deposit for sunlounger cushions which was worth it. All in all a great stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Plaza Montana Number 20 was where we stayed - this was good - close to reception/bar area and nice p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We have a great supermarket in reception open from 07.30-midnight every day. We have bread freshly baked on the premises each morning. We also stock UK imported milk and have the UK and Irish same day newspapers by 11.00 each day. Our prices compare favourably for branded goods with the nearby supermarkets.
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zottegem, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

It was our first stay in Sands Beach. Short summary:
+ very friendly staff
+ very clean resort
+ nice prepared food (both Hacienda and Mai Tai pool bar)
+ supermarket and triathlonstore in entrance hall of the resort
+ good bike rental service
+ nice 25m Sailfish Swimming pool to train.

Located in Costa Teguise gives you the opportunity to explore the beautiful island of Lanzarote from a central point on the island with easy access to the main roads between cities... We will go back for sure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wobe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and our facilities and that you were able to get out and about and enjoy all the wonderful experiences of our island. We will pass you kind comments to our staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at Sands Beach Resort fro a week at the beginning of November. We had a great week here although there were two unfortunate problems.

Firstly, on out arrival we were given one three bedroom apartment instead of the three one-bedroom apartments that we had booked. This was resolved, but after 48 hours and a lot of complaining on our behalf.

Secondly, we were broken into on our last night. There were four apartments broken into altogether. Interestingly all people that were leaving the following day. It took approximately 20 minutes for security to arrive and spoke no english nor offered any help when they did. Unfortunately when chasing the criminal out of our room my partner tore his Achilles tendon and is now in a cast for six weeks and unable to work.

We spoke with reception numerous times and at no point were we offered an apology, we were simply told that "these things happen in holiday resorts." I feel that this is a totally unacceptable response. I have tried to contact the hotel to enquire as to our insurance claim but have had no response to my emails.

This was a very enjoyable holiday inbetween these two unfortunate events. We would in fact consider returning here as the sports facilities were great. We have just been incredibly disappointed with how these things have been dealt with, especially considering the long term consequences for my partner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linz_macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We like you and any person that has been burgled are upset and disappointed. We have no control over burglaries. We provide security but as you are aware no matter how much security you provide in today´s world crime happens. It took security time to arrive as they were dealing with other break ins at the time. There were Our staff spoke to you several times following your burglary and at no time did your partner complain of an injury to us it was only on your return to the UK that we found your partner had been injured. Had this hotel been made aware of your partners injuries while here we would have sought medical help for him. To get medical help and reports are standard procedure with this hotel. Therefore it was important to have informed us that your partner had been injured.
We must point out and make this clear: The crime rate in Lanzarote is one of the lowest in the Canary Islands and this was a unique situation. However crime does happen. At no time did this hotel adopt a relaxed attitude to this matter or simply just accept this situation. On the date in question many complexes and homes in the area were broken into. It seems to have been a well planned blitz of the area. There have been meetings with other hotels and the police since and we have taken advice on security to try and prevent this happening and each complex to alert the other quicker.
We are sorry that you were burgled and that you felt we did not deal with the matter adequately but the other parties while upset did not feel as you did. Our hotel is committed 100% to the safety of our customers and their belongings and at all times follow advise and guidelines for security to minimise these type of incidents
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,999 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing