We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in a villa, on the beach front, from 29.3.14 to 5.4.14, with my 11 yr old daughter and my Mum. It was a private rental and I stayed in the same villa last year.
I wish I had visited this complex when my daughter was younger, the man made beach and lagoon area is fantastic.
We really enjoyed our stay, Costa teguise is a lovely resort.
I must mention the supermarket as usually the on site ones are expensive, however, we found it cheaper than the resort supermarkets with a really good choice.
I would definetly recommend this complex and hope to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonRunningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We thank you for your review. We must point out that privately renting on the complex of Sands Beach Resort is is completely illegal and in contravention of Spanish Law. It is advised that anyone renting an apartment privately on Sands Beach Resort should take all paperwork for payment etc with you as we had 2 government inspections over the past two weeks of private rentals which will result in large fines.
Booking privately means you must pay for some of the facilities of the hotel that are free to guests of the hotel. It also means that you are not covered by the hotel insurance as you are not technically a guest of the hotel. We will not be in a position to confirm you are a guest of our hotel for your insurance should you need to make a claim. There are many pitfalls that you need to examine before you enter into an agreement to rent privately on Sands Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel and we hope you will consider booking through our hotel next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 3,375 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just spent a month here (March) so have had plenty of time to get to know the place. The Sands Beach resort is beautifully laid out and kept very clean and tidy. We found all staff to be cheerful and helpful at all times. Unfortunately the accommodation was a huge disappointment, apart from the comfortable bedroom. If you book the standard rooms you get something very basic indeed. Our room was furnished with cheap rickety furniture all very well used and uncomfortable. The sofa-bed cover was very grubby so we asked for it to be changed, no problem. We asked for cushions - these were saggy and hopeless. The curtains had mould on the bottoms but at least were effective at keeping out the sun. We have self catered for years at numerous locations abroad but have never come across such a sparse provision of kitchen space and equipment which made preparation of food and cooking very difficult.

Accommodation abroad has something of a reputation for having thin walls but sands beach sets a new low in this area, noise from showers and washrooms could be heard; the sliding wardrobe doors being rumbled open and crashed and rumbled and crashed again closed, from 4am in the morning onwards. Don't expect a lie-in. Chairs and other furniture scraping the floor being moved around could be heard as if in the same room as you. Lots of noise from crying babies and youngsters from various rooms around us, for long periods during the night and early mornings causing loss of sleep, and also most of the time during the day. The whole resort seemed to be populated with toddlers and babies, I've never seen so many. This was true of the entire 4 week period so it wasn't just bad luck. The resorts booking policy should take into account that at this time of year many adults go away for the very purpose of avoiding disruptive children and to have their own, with any luck, peace, quiet and enjoyment of their stay. So many people who come here are into sports and all get up very early to prepare so therefore lots of noise from them too.
The gym is free and wonderfully modern. The pilates, tai-chi, fit-ball classes are also free, and are great fun.
TV only has BBC World News and Discovery Max. 30-year old films on True Movies; Video channel operated by Reception had some decent films at set times only. This situation not good enough. The SB supermarket is particularly expensive - use the local shops 10 mins walk away. The main town is approx. 15 mins level walk along beautiful beach front.
If you don't like wind, don't come to Lanzarote.
Would never stay here again due to poor accommodation and disruptive noise.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and choose one of the single storey rooms, that way at least you wont have people abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chris_haymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you are not happy with your accommodation. We have no reports of this type and you do not say if you had reported your issues while you were here. We have sent you a personal message to contact us so we can get specific facts.
This hotel will not be looking at any policy of barring any family or age group from this hotel at any time of the year.
We are sorry you heard so much. Many people stay in this hotel and we have never had this complaint before.
We thank you for your positive remarks. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights at the Sands and asked for a ground floor apartment at the time of booking we were allocated a 1st floor flat in Verde.The not so pleasant receptionist said they were fully booked and offered no alternative,so we had to put up with noisy swimming lessons almost every day.As a result we have decided to look at other hotels in the area because we really enjoy our times in Teguise.We felt let down by the Sands Beach because our previous stays there have been so good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We are sorry you were not happy with your accommodation. We cannot and never guarantee rooms. When you request the rooms we do our best to allocate what you ask for but if it is not possible then we cannot do it.
If the hotel was fully booked then it was booked and if there were no other rooms to give you then she was not in a position to offer you another room. We apologise if you felt the receptionist was not pleasant in her dealings with you. It would have been helpful if you had asked for the reception manager at this time as we could have spoken to the receptionist in question to ensure this does not happen again.
We are sorry this happened and we thank you for your business in the past and we wish you well for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from a week at Sands Beach in a Beachfront Appartment. Very spacious and comfortable. Maid service every day ( if you need it ) . Resort kept very clean , beach raked every evening . lots of excellent places to eat within a 10 minute seafront walk. Did the South Tour on an organised trip , best way to see the Volcano , well worth it.
no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Beachfront is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kent268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holidays with us and the facilities of our hotel.
Our South Tour and our Short South Tour (particularly suitable for children) are wonderful ways to see the Fire Mountain and the wonders of the volcano which erupted in 1730. Rosemary is a at our Customer Services Desk in reception and can talk you through the best options for your party especially if you have younger children, You will be given honest information and you are under no pressure to buy anything. It is urged that you consult with your group before booking anything. Rosemary also has information about our hotel and bars and restaurants and shops on the island. Rosemary is in reception every day from 09.00-15.00. Do cal to say "Hello". She has vouchers for bottles of wine and discount cards for perfume shop.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to Sands Beach Resort again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived early before the official check in time and reception were very helpful took our bags to a secure room gave us welcome pack and a map of the resort and asked us to give them time to sort our apartment so and we went off with no worries to the Mai Tai were we met a very helpful member of staff Sue, she made us feel so welcome we had drinks and food, portion size for food was generous and we couldn't eat it all a great start! after a couple of hours of sitting in the sun, Sue again being really helpful checked to see if our rooms were ready with reception and confirmed we could go and get our keys.
We were given an apartment in the plaza Montana area, unfortunately the pool area here raised our eyebrows as the green anti slip surface around the pool was blowing around and torn and if this was in the uk, health and safety would probably closed the area. This was a big contrast to the newly refurbished plaza del sol which looked amazing and is probably the best place for children on the resort. In fairness we did notice on site maintenance teams removing chipped and cracked paintwork on the walls and buildings and making them look good again so I presume at some stage they will address the issues in this area.
Having got our key we at first had difficulty getting through the patio doors one of the doors had dropped and you could see gaps in the door. Once inside the apartment had a odd smell but that wasnt an issue, we went to reception to report the broken door, 10 minutes later a man arrived to fix it. After that we then went off exploring and didnt get back until late. The next morning it was raining hard and we didn't go out so we took a bit more notice of the interior of the apartment, unfortunately our apartment had major issues with mould it was on the curtains ceiling and around the bathroom which explained the smell we also noticed the door although now lockable still had a 5mm gap in the bottom! Not being one to make a fuss I thought you know what I'm here its not stopping me from having a good holiday, I can live with it, however the next day again after more heavy rain overnight the bathroom ceiling started to crack and water was coming through!
So I went to reception and reported the issue, a maintannace man came around said it was because the sky lights were open? I also pointed out all the mould, he left his vehicle outside and said he would be back well after waiting sometime we strolled off to do our own thing came back later in the day and reception called us to say there was a room 2 doors away we could have, I was given the keys at reception and asked if i would like to inspect it first and they advised they needed to shut the first apartment down and move us, on inspection I found a nice apartment with no mould, no smell and it even felt warmer! they even offered a porter to help us move. On the side of Montana we stayed 22-31 there is a access road and parking for the hotel, it wasnt problem with noise until 7am daily were the next hotels refuse lorry would come and pick up, probably annoying if you have small children but not sands beaches fault!
The Mai Tai was great I will miss the ice cold beers (and there's lots of fish in the surrounding lagoon, best viewed across the bridge towards the beach), La Hacienda buffets were really good a bit expensive at 18 euros per person but the produce was so fresh, and you can choose meats and they will cook them in front of you, the main menu was limited to just a handful of options but cheaper, they do provide a take away service, great if you want a pizza for the kids, also the on site supermarket will cook you a frozen pizza too! The the Hotel staff were helpful and polite at all times and dealt with anything with no fuss, you can bring your family and feel safe and welcome, the place is kept spotless its a great base station to explore the island with the excursions pick-up point outside the hotel door, and a good bus service stopping just a minutes walk away. Cleaners came daily and took care of the beds and towels mopped and cleaned, and there was a broom and mop in the apartment, good for getting rid of the sand after being on the beach! I used the free Gym a few times and the equipment was better than my Gym I pay for so another positive.
24 hours before checkout they had our transfer collection information displayed on a noticeboard for us, something we thought we would have to arrange so a nice surprise knowing everything was taken care of.
The Hotel is located right by the sea and aprrox 10-15 minutes walk from an amazing amount of restaurants and bars supermarkets and gift shops, lots of the bars having their own evening entertainment and you can get lots of offers like large (pint) draught San Miguel for as little as 1.20-1.50 euros approx £1 -1.20
So what could have spoilt our holiday was dealt with effectively and this unfortunate incident would not deter us from coming back, we aren't the type of people to make a mountain out of a molehill and overall our experience was a good one

Room Tip: Get south side and the Sun will be on your own lounger all day! for others you have to move your lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your very comprehensive review. We are sorry about the issues you had. The prolonged bad weather was a problem for us this year. We apologise of the issues you had with your apartment. It is always good to let us know when you have issues with our hotel. As you found it gave us an opportunity to put it right for you so that you could enjoy your holiday.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. You did not leave us much to say!!!
We look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a 7-day private rent on Canaries Plaza....the apartment had everything we needed and was okay. We were at a disadvantage because the weather was awful so we really did not get a good picture of the place. There was an absolutely freezing cold wind/sand was blowing everywhere and to finish it off we had pouring rain. There were times when the sun came out and our patio served as a windbreaker .... we were lucky to be on the sunny side of the plaza (1-20) as the other side got no sun at all. No-one was in the pool and no-one out on the loungers because it was too cold. However, I imagine the resort, which is spotlessly clean, would be lovely in better weather but we did not see it to it's full advantage. The Soleil Bar was a bit pricy, 2 Brandys and Sprite just short of 10 euros. 3 out of the 7 nights entertainment was good, two was non-existent and the other two was a bird show and the other was a reptile show!!! There is not much around the resort itself.....there were "pockets" of shops and restaurants but at a distance. Costa Teguise itself is is beautiful and spotlessly clean ...... would I go back again? I doubt it ..... the sunshine makes a holiday abroad and we certainly did not see much of that but the resort itself is lovely.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Biddie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. This has been an unusually cold winter and you were unfortunate to have rain. It is regrettable that you have chosen to judge an entire resort by one week of bad weather.
Costa Tegisue and indeed the island of Lanzarote is an amazing place full of beautiful things and views and they are not dependent on weather. We realise how important the sun is but accepting the weather you were dealt and seeing the wonder and beauty that is Lanzarote would be a big plus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fantastic hotel, been for the last 3years and due to go again in July. Everywhere nice and clean, pool bar Mai Tai has good entertainment and food. Evening entertainment ok, mini disco most nights and then the usual singing, dancing etc. accommodation great and look forward to returning in the summer. Sports bar across the road also does great food and has all football on.

Room Tip: We stay in. Plaza Palmeras really nice bit just out from reception and not down/up any stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ally9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your return visit to Sands Beach Resort. We look forward to seeing you again in July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £58 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, TV-SAT, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing