We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
York (UK)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Let's start with reception, very clean unpretentious quite busy when we arrived but not an over long wait for apartment allocation reception staff polite and helpful, porter whisked our cases away. Quite a long walk to the apartment something of a mystery tour even with a map -eventually arrived at Verde 19. (superior one bedroom accommodation) which was a little dated, but clean and if you are a self caterer there was everything you need in the place. Double bed fine, furnished without too much expense, hot water for some reason was very slow. Sheets changed every two days, towels every day. Heard some mixed reviews about accommodation from others !! So would suggest superior rooms are worth the extra (see also other TA reviews) We had wonderful sea view and sun all afternoon (what a week for weather lucky us) The site itself, made up of "Zones" each with a pool and nicely appointed the whole site was well maintained. One final point on accommodation I'm not sure how many of the apartments are privately owned the one next to us was, so who sets the standard??
The resort has three options self catering, B&B and HB we were on the latter and can report that the food was good, plenty of choice well presented and the facilities were spotlessly clean. Helpful staff who smiled a lot and were always on hand. One thing I must mention if you have drinks with your meal you have to pay when you leave either signing to your room or in cash. Nobody mentioned this to my wife and I we thought that it was put on our room tab, we were therefore accosted outside the restaurant like lots of others and sent back in to pay, rather embarrassing something that needs to looked by the management team.
There seemed to be plenty of activities for the younger ones, and the resort is certainly family focused, and perhaps would be quite noisy when fully booked.
As mentioned by others the Resort is around 20 mins from the centre of Costa Teguise but a very pleasant walk along the coast.
All in all not a bad place to stay for a week we certainly enjoyed it and the main resort itself is one of the best in this part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SebYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
The keys and stars standard is set by an Independent government body. The hotel and standards can only be judged by the rooms owned and cleaned by Sands Beach Resort who are the holder of the Touristica Licence. There can only be one Touristica Licence on any complex and this is held by Sands Beach Resort SL. People who book privately are not entitled to use the facilities of our hotel free of charge. There are many loop holes in terms of our public liability insurance only covering our guests etc. There are some differences in regularity of cleaning service of your private rental room and in some cases we have had complaints lately of people having to call a number to get a towel and sheet change.
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We would like to apologise unreservedly for the embarrassment caused to you about payment for drinks with your dinner in The Hacienda. We accept there is a problem here and we can see the system is not made clear to you – the customer. We are currently looking at putting a message on the drinks menu and other ideas. We thank you for your constructive information and we promise we are working on this issue immediately.
Thank you for your very informative and balanced review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    1,123
    393
    162
    111
See reviews for
1,455
1,083
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our first visit to Lanzarote and after looking at various reviews about different resorts and locations, we settled on Sands Beach...and we were not disappointed. The location was very windy during our stay, but many locals advised that they had the worst winter for 20 years.
We chose a beach front apartment, good choice as more sheltered from the wind than the apartments on the higher levels, and more private as less people wandering past (this area is likely to be very busy during school holidays though as it is an ideal place for families)
All the staff without exception were brilliant, friendly and helpful at all times. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast with so much choice including an abundance of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals and cooked food. Daily housekeeping staff were excellent and friendly, and on a couple of occasions when we needed to call the maintenance dept (for minor problems) they were extremely prompt, literally within 10mins of our request. The only advice would be to make sure you pack a dishcloth, tea towel etc as none of these are supplied if you are planning to do any self catering. Also checkout when the athelete's are training as it was very busy and noisy for a couple of days due to the local marathon at the weekend, also on the day we left a large contingent of school children arrived at the hotel, and talking to a couple who had stayed before we understand there are several competitions over a long weekend period in March or April when many of the hotels in the area are taken over by hundreds of children.

Room Tip: Beach front (out of season)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamteam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. We are sorry you were disturbed by the children from the basketball tournament. There are no plans for tournaments of this magnitude in Costa Teguise for this season. It may be in other resorts but not Costa Teguise.

We thank you for your fair review given you experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place for families & athletes.
The activity team work so hard to please the children in Buddy's Club & look after their every need.
There's a full timetable for adults & children from morning until night.
Exercise classes for adults are great.

Buddy's visits & Buddy's kids disco are the highlight of the children's day
Thank you Rocio,Debbie, Tana, Oscar, Elena & others.

The food is really good in the restaurant & the staff are brilliant.

The accommodation is spotless & cleaned thoroughly every day.
Fresh towels daily.

So many pools & sunbathing areas to choose from.

We will be back soon!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sinead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Sands Beach Resort.
We thank you for your kind comments about our animation team. They work very hard to entertain everybody of all ages and fitness levels. We will pass your comments on to them they are much appreciated.
We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurants as it is difficult to please everyone´s tastes all the time but we strive to provide as much selection as possible to meet everybodys´ tastes and diets.
We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed in a villa, on the beach front, from 29.3.14 to 5.4.14, with my 11 yr old daughter and my Mum. It was a private rental and I stayed in the same villa last year.
I wish I had visited this complex when my daughter was younger, the man made beach and lagoon area is fantastic.
We really enjoyed our stay, Costa teguise is a lovely resort.
I must mention the supermarket as usually the on site ones are expensive, however, we found it cheaper than the resort supermarkets with a really good choice.
I would definetly recommend this complex and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonRunningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We thank you for your review. We must point out that privately renting on the complex of Sands Beach Resort is is completely illegal and in contravention of Spanish Law. It is advised that anyone renting an apartment privately on Sands Beach Resort should take all paperwork for payment etc with you as we had 2 government inspections over the past two weeks of private rentals which will result in large fines.
Booking privately means you must pay for some of the facilities of the hotel that are free to guests of the hotel. It also means that you are not covered by the hotel insurance as you are not technically a guest of the hotel. We will not be in a position to confirm you are a guest of our hotel for your insurance should you need to make a claim. There are many pitfalls that you need to examine before you enter into an agreement to rent privately on Sands Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our hotel and we hope you will consider booking through our hotel next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just spent a month here (March) so have had plenty of time to get to know the place. The Sands Beach resort is beautifully laid out and kept very clean and tidy. We found all staff to be cheerful and helpful at all times. Unfortunately the accommodation was a huge disappointment, apart from the comfortable bedroom. If you book the standard rooms you get something very basic indeed. Our room was furnished with cheap rickety furniture all very well used and uncomfortable. The sofa-bed cover was very grubby so we asked for it to be changed, no problem. We asked for cushions - these were saggy and hopeless. The curtains had mould on the bottoms but at least were effective at keeping out the sun. We have self catered for years at numerous locations abroad but have never come across such a sparse provision of kitchen space and equipment which made preparation of food and cooking very difficult.

Accommodation abroad has something of a reputation for having thin walls but sands beach sets a new low in this area, noise from showers and washrooms could be heard; the sliding wardrobe doors being rumbled open and crashed and rumbled and crashed again closed, from 4am in the morning onwards. Don't expect a lie-in. Chairs and other furniture scraping the floor being moved around could be heard as if in the same room as you. Lots of noise from crying babies and youngsters from various rooms around us, for long periods during the night and early mornings causing loss of sleep, and also most of the time during the day. The whole resort seemed to be populated with toddlers and babies, I've never seen so many. This was true of the entire 4 week period so it wasn't just bad luck. The resorts booking policy should take into account that at this time of year many adults go away for the very purpose of avoiding disruptive children and to have their own, with any luck, peace, quiet and enjoyment of their stay. So many people who come here are into sports and all get up very early to prepare so therefore lots of noise from them too.
The gym is free and wonderfully modern. The pilates, tai-chi, fit-ball classes are also free, and are great fun.
TV only has BBC World News and Discovery Max. 30-year old films on True Movies; Video channel operated by Reception had some decent films at set times only. This situation not good enough. The SB supermarket is particularly expensive - use the local shops 10 mins walk away. The main town is approx. 15 mins level walk along beautiful beach front.
If you don't like wind, don't come to Lanzarote.
Would never stay here again due to poor accommodation and disruptive noise.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and choose one of the single storey rooms, that way at least you wont have people abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris_haymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you are not happy with your accommodation. We have no reports of this type and you do not say if you had reported your issues while you were here. We have sent you a personal message to contact us so we can get specific facts.
This hotel will not be looking at any policy of barring any family or age group from this hotel at any time of the year.
We are sorry you heard so much. Many people stay in this hotel and we have never had this complaint before.
We thank you for your positive remarks. We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights at the Sands and asked for a ground floor apartment at the time of booking we were allocated a 1st floor flat in Verde.The not so pleasant receptionist said they were fully booked and offered no alternative,so we had to put up with noisy swimming lessons almost every day.As a result we have decided to look at other hotels in the area because we really enjoy our times in Teguise.We felt let down by the Sands Beach because our previous stays there have been so good.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We are sorry you were not happy with your accommodation. We cannot and never guarantee rooms. When you request the rooms we do our best to allocate what you ask for but if it is not possible then we cannot do it.
If the hotel was fully booked then it was booked and if there were no other rooms to give you then she was not in a position to offer you another room. We apologise if you felt the receptionist was not pleasant in her dealings with you. It would have been helpful if you had asked for the reception manager at this time as we could have spoken to the receptionist in question to ensure this does not happen again.
We are sorry this happened and we thank you for your business in the past and we wish you well for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from a week at Sands Beach in a Beachfront Appartment. Very spacious and comfortable. Maid service every day ( if you need it ) . Resort kept very clean , beach raked every evening . lots of excellent places to eat within a 10 minute seafront walk. Did the South Tour on an organised trip , best way to see the Volcano , well worth it.
no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Beachfront is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ken t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holidays with us and the facilities of our hotel.
Our South Tour and our Short South Tour (particularly suitable for children) are wonderful ways to see the Fire Mountain and the wonders of the volcano which erupted in 1730. Rosemary is a at our Customer Services Desk in reception and can talk you through the best options for your party especially if you have younger children, You will be given honest information and you are under no pressure to buy anything. It is urged that you consult with your group before booking anything. Rosemary also has information about our hotel and bars and restaurants and shops on the island. Rosemary is in reception every day from 09.00-15.00. Do cal to say "Hello". She has vouchers for bottles of wine and discount cards for perfume shop.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing