We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed the end of May good hotel would only. Book beachfront app we paid a good price would not pay high season prices not worth it rooms very dated maid service very good all in good holiday would go back at the right price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    1,152
    411
    168
    115
See reviews for
1,520
1,113
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at Sands Beach Resort at the Plazza Canaries section. I really enjoyed being on this part as it was on the end and you didn't have people walking through all the time to get to other sections of the resort. The pool area and outside the apartments were very clean. The apartments have the usual "Spanish" style furniture but have all the basics for self catering (hobs, cutlery, crockery etc). We had a South facing terrace apartment so we had all day sun which was fantastic. There is no air con but they are very cool inside. And if it exceptionally warm you can open the windows fully and there are sliding front doors. The maids clean your apartment daily if you want them too but can turn the window sign around to inform them not to. The maids are normally good but on occasion didn't leave us any toilet tissue....we got clued up to this quite quickly and decided to hide one for emergencies. lol. However, if you ask them they will give you some. I think its just because they are very busy and work such long hours that they forget.
As for service at this resort, i cannot fault it. We had a member of my family take seriously ill towards the end of the holiday and they helped get them speedily to a hospital and reassured us that they would be in safe hands. For the rest of the time we were there they continually asked about the family member and informed us that should we need them for anything they would help. They allowed us to make many phone calls and did not charge us for them. They also allowed us to keep a room on without charge until 4pm when the time to vacate it 12noon as we had our transfer pickup at 5pm. They were so helpful with everything we all went through and thankfully the family member is recovering(although they are still in the Canaries until they can fly home). I cant thank the staff at Sands Beach enough for their amazing customer service and their kindness. I will definitely go back to this resort.

Room Tip: South facing terrace on Plazza Canaries section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lane-English
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We do remember your situation and we are so pleased to hear that a full recovery is being made. We are glad you got in touch to let us know about his progress many people have asked after him. Great News and please pass him our best wishes for a continued recovery.
No thanks was ever needed our staff just sprung into action to help as they do.
We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us and our hotel and the facilities of our hotel.

We thank you again for your review and update and we do hope you will all come and see us again at Sands Beach Resort in happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is really lovely accommodation for families. The beach front apartments have a lovely outlook.

The service was exceptional. We were greeted with drinks on arrival which were very welcome after a long flight with 3 tired children.

The breakfasts were great- something for everyone. Evening meals got a bit tiresome. Lots of the same. Having said that, with kids it's so nice and easy to go half board.

The head waiter in the restaurant was unbelievably good. He noticed everything and ran a slick ship.

Our kids were really sick while we were there and we had to contact housekeeping late in the night to change bedding. They were fab. Arrived quickly and even replaced a mattress to ensure all was clean. No problem at all.



  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliptrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and we are pleased that you liked our hotel and its facilities. We are sorry to hear your child was sick and we do hope they made a full recovery. We are pleased that our staff helped you immediately as we would have expected them to. We are glad you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. The menus change every night and there are theme evenings.

We are sorry and very surprised that you did not find the island of Lanzarote very beautiful. It is very seldom people do not find the island stunning. Our landscape is so amazing and changes every day. It is a truly spectacular landscape. The views of the rocks and the seas with their waves that we see (and take for granted) everyday from Sands Beach Resort still makes many just stop and stare. Everyone has different taste and it would be a strange world if everyone thought the same things were beautiful. However we generally reach a consensus on the beauty of the island.
We thank you for your review and we wish you and your family well. We do hope you will return one day and see our entire island and experience the true beauty that is Lanzarote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great hotel , we loved this place and will go back with our family . Very clean, great breakfasts staff very helpful for the whole 10 days we were there . Loads of room and comfortable apartments which were cleaned to a high standard daily. The town has some very good restaurants which is only a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Nothing to complain about really other than having to pay for the safe in the room which we thought was a bit tight.

Room Tip: Go for the beach front rooms great to get up in the morning to that view and the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday so much with us. Thank you for your comments about or breakfast. We are very proud of the breakfast selection.
We are happy you were aware of our cleaning as we work to very strict quality control standards.
The control of the safes is handled by an outside company. This means we pay for the service. We are happier with the electronic control of the safe as you can be sure only the people you gave the number to have access to your safe. There is no spare key!!! It is a better system for you and our staff. Therefore we pay for the service of the safes and it is this charge that we pass on and we feel more confident with the high level of security.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley.england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

stayed april 29 until may 13th .booked through jet2 holidays.stayed in a beach front apartment on the ground floor which was clean and spacious.also booked half board .food very good and plenty of choice.restaurant staff very helpful and friendly.the resort is situated at the far end of costa teguise which wasnt a problem for my wife and i as we were out walking most mornings.would recommend to family and friends.for anyone self catering costa teguise seems very cheap compared to tenerife.also great flight times with jet2 from manchester.

Room Tip: beach front ideal for families with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dicky1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Sands Beach Resort. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed our food and the comprehensive selection to suit all tastes and diets.

We will post your comments about all our staff for the staff to read as they all work very hard to ensure you have a good holiday with us.
We thank you again for your review and for recommending our hotel to your family and friends. This is the true mark that we have done a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family and I have just returned after an amazing week's stay at the Sands Beach Resort (24-31 May).

We arrived at about 8pm and although there was quite a queue to check-in it went quickly and we found the reception staff to be very helpful. We paid approx 50euro for use of the in-room safe and wifi for the week. If we came again, I don't think we'd bother with the wifi as we couldn't access it from our room unless we sat on the wall by the man-made lagoon.

We were allocated room "Beach Front 50" - initially I was a little disappointed with the location of our room as we had paid the large supplement for a beach front room so that our Daughter could play on the beach and we would be able to see her from the room. However, our room was further along so we could not see the beach at all from our room. It actually turned out to be quite nice to be that little bit further away as it was quieter and we had the privacy that you wouldn't get as much with the ones right on the beachfront. Saying that, if we return I would definitely request a room on the beach just so that you're getting what you're really paying for.

The resort itself has 7 swimming pools, the one in the Mai Tai complex is supposed to be heated but it never was on the three occasions we tested the water there. This did mean that we only managed to go swimming twice on the holiday as it just wasn't sunny enough to brave the ice cold pools more often. However, later in the season I'm sure the cold pools will become a welcome relief from the heat!

We stayed at the resort on a B&B basis and found the breakfasts to be absolutely superb. There was something to stasify everyone's tastes. From cooked breakfasts to fruit salad and cereal to pastries. There was also always a chef on hand to cook anything fresh that you wanted e.g. Omelettes, Poached Eggs etc.. We left there each morning feeling positively full and ready for the day ahead.

If I was to ask my 7 year old what the highlights of her holiday were she would undoubtly say the Mini Disco & the man-made lagoon. We attended the mini disco every evening of our holiday the format/songs are the same each night which meant the children got to know the songs (even the Spanish language ones which my daughter will not stop singing!). They also had lots of differnet shows on after the disco each night, we watched the magic, parrot & reptile shows all were really good. After the shows there was a 'pyjama party' for the children in the games room - here they had a big bouncy castle as well as other crafting things and games. My Daughter only made it to this on the last night and that was a shame as she really, really enjoyed it and it meant that my husband and I could have another cocktail in the bar while she played safely under the watch of the buddy club team.

The resort also offers a daytime 'buddy club' which looked to be a lot of fun, if we go back (which I really hope we will) my Daughter would love to attend this one day.

Now to the real jewel in this place's crown - the man-made lagoon! We ventured out to the real beach a couple of times but found that the sea was quite rough (due to the winds) and I never really felt safe letting my Daughter go in it. So the man-made beach created in Sands was a real diamond! The beach area is clean and there is plenty of room for the children to play (even if the usual sun lounger hoggers are out with their towels at 6am so loungers are quite limited!) and the water was clean and not too deep.

All in all we had a fabulous week at Sands Beach, every single person we came across that worked there was helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a nice, clean, safe place to go with or without children in Costa Teguise I would recommend this one 100%.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happypandauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased your family enjoyed your holiday and the facilities of the beach front and the hotel. There was unusually strong winds for a week in May and this has reduced the temperature of the pools and made them difficult to keep at a consistent temperature at all times. Happily the sun is back and the winds have died down and normal service has resumed.

Our Buddy Club is open from 09.30 -17.00 every day. There is a full day programme which our “little guests” can dip in and out of throughout the day or go for the whole day. There is free breakfast at Buddy Club every morning at 09.30. Children can join their friends and Buddy for lunch for €6. We have our mini disco in the Soleil Bar at 20.15 every evening and Buddy makes a guest appearance and he is a great dancer!!!

We thank you again for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sands Beach Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

At Sands beach you can totally relax in great surrounding, very safe for young children. Low rise resort right by the sea with really well planned accomodation. The rooms are very clean and provide functional space for all ages. Suitable for young children, elderly visitors and the more active holiday maker too.

There is plenty to do with gym classes and good gym facilities and a heated laned 25M training pool for those who dont want to use one of the other 11 pools on the resort. Sands Beach is only a few minutes walk from the shoppping centre and bus stop if you want to venture out.

The food was of a very high standard, I was with 2 teenagers who really enjoyed the variety and freshness of the food offered. Other guests also commented that you really couldnt fault the food at all....there was always something impressive for dinner and lots of effort made to offer variety.

The staff were very welcoming and you feel they genuinely enjoy their job! It is a great place to be so why wouldnt they! I will definitely go back really impressed with the resort and the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Your review has been circulated and welcomed among all the Management and staff here at Sands Beach Resort. Is perfectly describes the balance we are striving to attain here at Sands Beach resort.Your review sums up what we are all about.
We are delighted that your family enjoyed your holiday and that you all enjoyed our hotel and its facilities in every way that suited everyone´s interest.
We are pleased that your family enjoyed the selection of food as we are constantly striving to improve and to offer choice as we cater for so many nationalities.
We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sands Beach Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing