We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming here for 25years, think that says something!”
Review of Sands Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Been coming here for 25years, think that says something!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We returned for our yearly fix to Sands Beach, it never disappoints. I've been coming here since I was 5 & now I take my two children. It hasn't changed much over the years & we always have a fab time.
The villa's are lovely, have everything you need. There was 4 of us staying in the villa & we had plenty of room. Maid service is quite good, they do a rather quick clean but you do get clean towels every day. 15euro deposit for a beach towel which we always use & safe hire for 20euros (7days), u don't get money back but its peace of mind.
We love the Mai Tai, great atmosphere as well as The Soleil Bar. The beach/lagoon is well kept & a bonus for little kids. We do enjoy going to the beach, we tend to go to the little cove next to the Salinas Hotel.
There is a great choice of restaurants near Sands Beach, this time we went HB. Couldn't fault breakfast, lots of choice & all fresh. Dinner was nice, quite a bit of choice but desserts were quite similar each night.
Different soup each night, and then a choice of 6 meats/fish/sides but also an option to have meat/fish cooked in front of u which was always nice. Kids didn't seen to like much but ended up eating the food. Staff were very attentive.
My kids loved the kids disco, especially 'Buddy' & the shows after the disco were good, but didn't last that long.
Recommend hiring a car & seeing the rest of Lanzarote, previously we did it in 2days.
Love this place, will always be a special place for me & my family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luise53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. This review means a great deal to all of our staff. People can say what they like, but it is returning year after year that pays us the greatest compliment of all. It is the true way of knowing we are doing a good job, for this we thank you sincerely.

We have a very high rate of return guests and we work hard to have people return to Sands Beach we take no guests return for granted.

Thank you for your continued visits to Sands Beach Resort and we look forward to seeing you and your family back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    1,139
    406
    166
    114
See reviews for
1,500
1,109
46
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 9th -19th June and it was amazing !! Weather was fab ul need a cardi for night time though can be cold some nights,

Stayed here with my one year old son and hubby and we just loved it room was well equipped and big had dishwasher fridge and freezer iron etc we got plaza verde which I Wud not recommend for kids although u cAn use the other areas we stayed mainly on beach or pool at beach was lovely great for kids kayaking was so fun there is a kids club but our baby was too small for it looked good though, pool bar was lovely nice sitting there witha cold drink the salads are amazing!!! Food is lovely bit dearer than main resort area but still acceptable

The kids park was great our son loved it, on site shop opens from7 to 10 so great bar was good too really recommend the kids disco at 8.15y baby loved it it was great

Staff are lovely area clean rooms clean really recommend this resort for families as it has everything!!!! Costa teguise as a whole I love would not hesitate coming back here just wouldn't suggest the plaza verde

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank masin12712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday and our hotel and its facilities. We thank you for your comments about our staff as they all work very hard to ensure everyone has a good holiday.
Our well stocked supermarket in reception is open from 07.30-midnight every day. We stock a wide selection of UK and Spanish products. We have UK imported milk. We bake our own fresh bread and cakes on the premises every morning and have UK and Irish same day newspaper by 11.00 each day. Our prices are competitive or cheaper than local supermarkets for branded products.
Our Buddy Club is open from 09.30 -17.00 every day. There is a full day programme which our “little guests” can dip in and out of throughout the day or go for the whole day. There is free breakfast at Buddy Club every morning at 09.20. Children can join their friends and Buddy for lunch for €6. We have our mini disco in the Soleil Bar at 20.15 every evening and Buddy is a great dancer!!!

We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family at Sands Beach Resort again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a wonderful holiday at Sands beach. We went beginning of June with our 2 and 4 year old boys and stayed in a beachfront apartment. The apartment itself was great, with a lovely terrace and direct access to the man-made beach that is part of the resort. The great thing about this beach is not only that it is incredibly save for the little ones, but there are big chests with all sorts of sand and swim toys for everyone to share (so you really do not need to spend money on buying you 10th bucket and spade set ;-)

We had booked half board and were not disappointed with the breakfast and dinner served at the Hacienda restaurant. There was a lot of choice - and always the additional option to have the chef cook food to your liking (omelettes in the morning, fish/meat vegetarian in the evening)

The most important thing to mention about Sands Beach is the staff - a real credit to the hotel! Wherever we went, everyone was incredibly friendly and always helpful – from our initial check in to the morning we left.

A special mention goes to Mari at the Hacienda restaurant was amazing (and very patient) with our two little guys.

And the entertainment team - especially Debbie and Zuleika – who could not have done more to keep the boys happy and entertained at all times; be it in the Buddy club at daytime or the mini disco in the evening.

Last but not least thanks Rosemary who is an excellent of local knowledge, incredibly professional and with no hesitation organised a free cab to get us to our boat in time when a tour bus forgot to pick us up for a trip

Other than that, we loved the ‘Mai Tai’ island (as we called it) and my other half can’t stop raving about how well equipped the gym is.

We would definitely consider coming back!

Thanks Sands Beach.

Room Tip: We really loved our Beachfront apartment. However, if you have a ground floor beachfront apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday at Sands Beach Resort. We are particularly pleased that you and your family enjoyed your beachfront apartment and all the facilities of our beach front lagoon area. We should point out, that in addition to our range of beach toys available on the beach we also have free kayaks for all the family. We also have our Stand Up Paddle (SUP) office also at the lagoon. Chris is there every morning and you can go and speak to him about starter classes for adults or children in SUP and windsurfing. These are great activities for children, teenagers and adults at an affordable price. It is an even better holiday if you return home with a new skill.
Thank you for your comments about our staff and we will pass your comments to the line managers involved with the staff you mentioned.
Rosemary is at our customer services desk in reception from 09.00-15.00 every day. She has vast knowledge of the hotel, the resort and the island. She will give you honest opinions of the best tours to suit your family. She has information on shops, bars, buses, doctors, dentists and she has maps and bus time tables. She has discount cards for local restaurants, bars and shops.
An error by a member of the booking staff at Lineas Maritima Romero led to you not being collected at the hotel for your trip to Fuerteventura. Full praise must be given to the Commercial Manager of Lineas Maritima Romero Dave Gainford when informed by Rosemary what had happened to you, he organised the free taxi to Playa Blanca for your family to meet the boat. A big well done to Rosemary and Lineas Maritima Romero for the quick action that saved your day out.
We thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Verde Plaza, overlooking training pool. Perfect for us, we enjoy exercising and swim a lot. Normally when we visit the Island we either stay at La Santa (train, train train) or Puerta Del Carmen (relax, relax, relax) the sands beach for us is a happy medium. The pool is a great 25m pool, the gym is fantastic and the bike ride out is a toughly. If you don't have children though I would avoid July, August and September, but if you do have children it's perfect at this time, they have lots to keep your little minions entertained. The whole complex is very clean, the staff are very welcoming, friendly and professional, my only complaint is the poor wifi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed the facilities of our 25m pool. It is nice to read your appraisal of our hotel. We are like to strike a balance that our hotel is for all the family and that there is something for everyone in the family to enjoy. Some families bring their children and train while the children are in our Buddy Club and have quality family time later in the day. It is the striking of this balance that we are most proud of.

We have a world class Animation Team who take part in all kinds of sports and entertainment activities with all the guests and our famous Buddy Cub and Mini Disco. Our Buddy Club is open from 09.30 to 17.00 each day starting with a complimentary breakfast with Buddy in the Buddy Club.

We thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful resort, immaculately well maintained and clean, perfect area with most restaurants and attractions within walking distance (or very reasonable taxi prices) staff are so friendly and we felt very welcome here. Can't fault it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and our hotel and its facilities. We thank you for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved it yet again!!!! Can't wait to go back in November. Everything was perfect yet again. Found an excellent place to have breakfast next to the beach. Peskera restaurant. €1.99 for a full breakfast including toast and orange juice. Food is amazing and the staff are wonderful. Had an evening meal there aswell. It was wonderful !!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank denamn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

No matter what nice things people write the real proof that we are doing our job well is the high rate of return guests. Your review will be posted for all our staff to see. Your review on your 8th visit is heartening to everyone. We are so delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us at Sands Beach Resort again. We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you for your 9th visit again in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic time at Sands Beach with our 4 year old twins. We booked direct with the hotel and paid for a 2 bed beach front apartment which was excellent. Apartment very spacious with everything you need, cleaned every day with fresh towels and the cleaners were so friendly especially Claudia and marabella! All the staff were excellent and our girls loved all the restaurant staff.

We went bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were amazing, cereals, loads of fresh fruit, fantastic cooked breakfast, fresh breads and cakes. All delicious!

The beach and lagoon were perfect for our girls who loved collecting shells, paddling, feeding the fish and building castles. There's a small park and different pool areas which were all great. The Mai tai bar was good and we had ice creams there most days. The games room is good and there is a very well stocked supermarket on site.

We went on a trip to an animal park which was excellent - rosemary is really helpful and knowledgeable and will give you discount cards. We got a free bottle of wine in one restaurant.

Some great restaurants within 15 minutes walking distance - particularly portobellos, la chimnea, la peskera and la Bohemia (this was particularly excellent!).

There was a mini disco every night at 8.15 back at sands beach which the girls raced back to get to after our meal out! The kids entertainers were great and the girls are still singing the songs from the disco now!

Thank you for a fantastic holiday Sands Beach!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahMonty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsBeachLanzarote, Public Relations Manager at Sands Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your children had a great holiday. We are particularly pleased that you and your family enjoyed all the facilities of our hotel. We will pass your comments to Claudia and Marabella and to all the staff in our restaurant. We are glad your children enjoyed the lagoon.
We will pass your comments to Rosemary. Rosemary is at our customer services desk in reception from 09.00-15.00 every day. She has vast knowledge of the hotel, the resort and the island. She will give you honest opinions of the best tours to suit your family. She has information on shops, bars, buses, doctors, dentists and she has maps and bus timetables. She has discount cards for local restaurants, bars and shops.
Our well stocked supermarket in reception is open from 07.30-midnight every day. We stock a wide selection of UK and Spanish products. We have UK imported milk. We bake our own fresh bread and cakes on the premises every morning and have UK and Irish same day newspaper by 11.00 each day. Our prices are competitive or cheaper than local supermarkets for branded products.
All the children enjoy the mini disco. All the songs from our mini disco are available to buy on a CD from reception.
We thank you for taking time to write your comprehensive review and we do hope to see you and the twins back soon again at Sands Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
2.1 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,034 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Resort

Property: Sands Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias, 18 | Las Palmas, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Resort lies on the eastern coast of Lanzarote, 15 min from the airport, facing Los Charcos Beach and with direct access to the promenade. The Resort is provided of its own beach, 13 swimming pools (7 adults and 6 paddling), restaurants, pub, supermarket, gym, health center, internet, 24h reception, parking, tennis court, entertainment, etc. The apartments are very spacious and comfortable, with safe, tv-sat, microwave, fridge and freezer, oven, dishwasher, hairdryer, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Resort Lanzarote/Costa Teguise
Sands Resort Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Lanzarote
Beach Lanzarote Resort Sands
Sands Beach Lanzarote
Sands Beach Villas Resort
Sands Beach Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing