We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All That Glitters........” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Coronas Playa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa Teguise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“All That Glitters........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Is definately not gold ! Let me start by stating that this hotel is spotless and the staff are exceptional. We recently stayed with Thomson on an all inclusive package. We went for a relaxing week in the sun and thats exactly what we got.
So what is the problem you ask ? Well, this hotel along with many others are making cut backs in an effort to maintain profits. Accodingly, the area suffering most is the restaurant, particularly the Hot food section. Don't get me wrong - the Chefs can only cook within their budgets, but I'm sorry to say the resultant quality and choice of food was nothing short of appalling. The experience was akin to being part of the Hans Christian Andersen story - 'The Emperors New Clothes'........ Every night, guests would parade up and down the service counter staring at the food and moan like hell that the choice was poor. Inevitably, they would pile up their wasteful plates and scuttle off back to their tables ! 'How is your food' ? a member of staff would ask - 'Oh, fabulous' would come the reply - What hypocrits ! You would not accept nor pay for this in England - But never mind, your on holiday..... In many cases people have paid thousands of pounds for their holiday and ended up having to eat burger and chips night in, night out. I genuinely felt sorry for a lot of the older guests.
What was served as a poor excuse for a meal, was totally unseasoned, completely bland and in some cases uncooked or raw - a perfect haven for food poisoning? Now whilst I have said the chefs can only produce what they are given, I have to say, - they too must take some of the flack, as. there is no excuse for bad food preparation or cooking the produce to death.
We never expected, nor would we ever receive a fine dining experience - but come on, you have got to get the basics right.
Eventually the number of people who abandoned their meals and headed out to local restaurants grew -but they still would not complain. Those who did, were met with 'Oh, this is the first time we have heard of this' - ( Yes, probably from that complainant ). We also complained and received the same response. Like many others, we also voted with our feet. Not an experience to be repeated

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
38 Thank SZodiacXL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    702
    265
    60
    31
See reviews for
153
1,824
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just spent two weeks at the Coronas Playa stayed half board. The food was first class and the rooms were large and kept spotless. We had a free fridge and they charged for the in room safe which seems the normal. The staff were all friendly and attentive especially the entertainment team Les and Lesley (The Score) were the resident Duo and Lesley seems to hold the whole team together although she is not the team leader April had a lovely voice and worked very hard along with Stuart. The only negative I have is we were paying for our drinks which at 2.50 euro for a pint was fine but 3.80 euro for a Brandy which was a British pub measure was a bit expensive. Other than that I would recommend this Hotel and would most definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms by the lower pool have the sun most of the day and have a sea view, but it is a bit of a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandyReach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

My husband and myself have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Corona Playa and would like to say what a lovely stay we had. The food, Staff, cleanliness were all first class. If you have negative comments about this hotel, then you are very hard to please. We have stayed at many Thomson Gold Hotels and we would rate this one as being one of the best. The staff work extremely hard to please everyone, nothing was too much trouble for them.
If you are thinking of booking, take our advice and go for it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 418 and found this very comfortable. The sun was on the balcony from mid-day till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BhamQueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. The Coronas is an ok hotel but it lacks the attention to details which would make it a four star. Tissues and white towels in the bathroom,clean not sticky tablecloth on the outside tables at lunchtime,better quality sun loungers , more planting and landscaping to soften the vast amount of concrete and finally a resurfaced pool area ( which is bordering on the dangerous in places). Food quality and choice is a subjective issue. However we found the quality and variety of desserts very poor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifilebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Ok,.. firstly, the last time I visited this Great Hotel was Oct 2011, this was our 3rd visit having stopped in feb 2011 and July 2010, so not having been for a few months maybe things have changed a little, for the better even according to the latest reviews.

Rooms- Excellent, very large and spacious

Food- Lovely, great choice for all.

Pool- 2 pools, one which has all the animation and the other where you can relax and read a book

Entertainment-Mainly in the Pavilion, which is set up like a very large tent like building,... In our opinion probably some of the best artists you will find in a hotel such as this, many come from the cruise liners that have stopped in Aricife the main port, ok, sometimes you may get an act that is not your cup of tea, but it's hard to please everyone all of the time.

Hosts and staff-- Not once in all 3 stays did we ever find reason to complain about the staff or management, plenty of smiley faces :-))

Monkey Bar-- 2/3 Times a week you will find singers in this bar, they come on at about 10pm.

Summary---I would gladly go back to this hotel any time, but having been there 3 times we feel the urge to try other places around the world, great staff, great food, great views, and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just returned from our second trip to the Coronas Playa and we must say that certain aspects last year let lthe holiday down a little but this time we did notice a marked improvement. At lunch time the waiting time was cut considerably and your 'meal ticket' was not taken away at the end (for what ever reason that was for)! The entertainment was much better with good act most nights. Guitar Legends, The Bee Gees, the comedian Steve Salter and the girl singer, Karen Noble all added to the week. The reps show was very good as well. We didn't have a good room to start with but that was sorted in no time at all. Weather wasn't that kind to us but you can't do anything about that. Our last 2 days made up for it. Over all, Coronas, you made our stay great. Thanks to all

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolynbob101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The food is still as good as ever with plenty of choice for all meals. Drink prices very reasonable for a hotel. House red only 8 Euros, Pint 2.50 Euros. Happy hour 5-6pm in Monkey Bar when drinks are half price!

Rooms are huge which can make them appear to be sparsely furnished. Clientele tends to be retired but are usually good fun. No difficulty getting sun beds. Entertainment is the typical mix of amateur and professional and was generally acceptable and targeted at the right audience. One of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in.

Flat screen TVs and better selection of TV channels would be a significant improvement. Also these days you should not need to pay for a safe.

Having stayed in regular rooms, suites and sea view superior rooms I consider the regular rooms to be the best value. One of my photos shows the room locations. All the rooms alongside the pools are good with the sun from late morning until evening. Those overlooking the lower pool are a litlle quieter. Choose an upper floor. A/C in our room was ineffective. Opening the doors and letting the wind whistle through was very effective!!!

Plenty of excellent cafes across the road especially Casa Luis which had fairly authentic spanish food and good prices. All the local restaurants/bars have been hit by the increased use of all inclusive tariffs. Trips booked with the local LastMinuteTravel(Turn right outside the hotel walk 30 yards) were excellent value and much cheaper than Thomson.

Will be back a fifth time in due course

Room Tip: See Photo of room layout But a high floor gives better views. Personally I would prefer not to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Property: Hotel Coronas Playa
Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing