We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

we have just returned from a fantastic two weeks at the Coronas Playa hotel in the Costa Teguisse area in Lanzarote. The staff and entertainment crew are the best we have encountered. The hotel is brilliant. So clean and spacious, and the food is great. Well done Thomson holidays for getting it so right.

Room Tip: all the rooms are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,553 - 1,559 of 2,578 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

fantastic holiday second time around and still as good as the first time, very helpful reception staff nothing too much for them, also the restaurant and bar staff were very efficient and helpful, entertainment was great if it was your thing only once did we not stay the evening otherwise it was fine, room was clean and spacious with excellent service from housekeeping service, fitness centre was great as well if that's what you wanted, pools a bit chilly but once in it soon warmed up, suffice to say we had a great holiday which we would recommend and we will return again

Room Tip: something higher than 219 would be better as overlooked and not much privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My friend and I have recently returned from a week at the Coronas Playa. The hotel is very clean with large, if somewhat basic, rooms. Two lovely pools, but sunbeds could be better. The food is excellent and we enjoyed every visit to the restaurant. What is noticeable is how friendly both the staff and guests are here! There are LOTS of return visitors, mostly over 60's. The entertainment is aimed at an older audience. We preffered Dickens pub which is just outside the hotel, or the various bars on offer at the square in Costa Teguise. It costs 2 - 3 euros for a taxi if you don't fancy the walk. The Monkey bar in the hotel does very nice liqueur coffees after dinner :-)

Room Tip: We had room 329 which had pool/side sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

How lovely to return after 3 years to find no change in Hotel/Reception/Restaurant or Bar Manager and recognised and greeted with hand shakes and kisses on arrival. The staff, though new, all had the same qualities of excellent customer service that we have experienced on previous occasions and we soon realised we were not the only returning clients by a long way, which says it all really.
The standard of cleanliness in the room, around the grounds/poolsides and public areas was still to a high standard and the Dog and Swan towel origami was a lovely touch by Inma, our housekeeper. The food has improved in variety and quality, and the breakfast and evening show cooking by the chefs allowed for personal cooking times to be offered.
We chose a select room, so had sunbeds on our balcony, but despite the hotel being full, looking for a sunbed was not an issue and people adhered to the “no reserving” sunbeds rule. Chairs and tables in the pool bar, outside eating/bar areas, Pavillion, reception and lounge were new and very comfortable, so perhaps the seating in the restaurant and Monkey Bar will be next?
We were half board so did not eat in the pool or outside restaurant areas, but one change for the better was to see that if you were AI and did not want baguettes, sandwiches, chips or pizza as served in the pool areas, you could have a more extensive choice from the restaurant but still sit outside in a shaded area.
There are 2 pools - one quiet near the main entrance, the other closer to the sea where 3 Thomson staff encourage you to partake in Pilates, Aquarobics, crazy golf, table tennis, beach darts etc between 11 and 3 with a daily poolside quiz at 4.
We did not sample the evening entertainment as this started at 10pm but did enjoy The Score ie Les and Lesley who are still the warm up act and just as good as in previous years.
The coast walk provides access to the various sandy beaches along its length as well as easy access to the resort centre with its bars, cafes and shops. It takes about 20 minutes dependant on walking speed. If you prefer to take a taxi into Costa Tequise it costs about 3 euros.
Various tours around the island can be booked easily as can rental cars from just next to the hotel. The Coronas newspaper shop is like an Aladdin's cave selling papers, magazines, cards, a large selection of second hand books as well as sweets, drinks, suntan creams etc. There are 2 adequately stocked supermarkets 5 mins walk away for fresh and packaged goods.
All in all it was lovely to return to a hotel unchanged by time and we are already booking our return for 2014

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KPT172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I would like to share our feedback from using facilities of Coronas Playa hotel. We experienced very unpleasant service at the reception, especial from senior staff. We were very disappointed with miss-selling us tennis deal. For all inclusive hotel we were paying 15Euro, 5 deposit for using tennis court and at the end of our stay on island we were told that we could pay 25Euro upfront in title of 5 hours instead of paying 15euros each time. At last day of our stay we kindly asked if we could use tennis court for free as gesture of good will as we already overpaid at each day and the tennis deal wasn't offed to us at the first day of arrival. Receptionist refer this to the the manager and I have to say his respond was unreasonable and even compare situation to the offer of baked bin in shop,you buy bean when is on offer, we couldn't believe in what he was saying also we couldn't believe that something like this came from manager in one of Thomson Gold hotel. Hotel lucking good customer service, pity as the have good facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rhqq222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just come back from an 11day holiday. Fantastic from start to finish. Thanks to the Reception staff for their speedy replies to emails to upgrade and AI. Very friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms and great food. The entertainment team (Les and Lesley made every evening) and Mike and Izzy worked so hard and were very good. The only evening the entertainment was let down was when Tony was allowed to trial a new show (it was very rough) followed by a cowboy. The Pavilion very quickly emptied.
The Restaurant chairs are in need of urgent replacement. Some nights it really didn't seem as though they would make it.
If you want a great holiday give this a go, you won't be disappointed. Going back for our 4th time next year.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Have just returned from two weeks holiday at this hotel in Costa Teguise and would recommend it to anyone. Yes it is a Thomson Gold hotel and therefore aimed at adults, which we particularly like and yes the entertainment team ensure that you have a great time but above all else the hotel staff are extremely welcoming and really can't do enough for you. The hotel has ranked at the top of the table for many years now and knows what it does best. If you are looking for a relaxing time then you simply can't do better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room (only two flights up) but expect to stay awake until the entertainment in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dntetlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,277 reviews
1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#10 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing