We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very very good”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just returned from Coronas Playa and I must say that it is a good hotel. The bedroom was extremely large and kept very clean and had a large balcony with table and chairs and two loungers. . Ours was cleaned by Margo who was extremely friendly and was always happy and smiling - she was great. The food was very good and plenty of choice and all the staff were cheerful and very helpful - especially Natty. Check in was quick as we were in a select room. Many guests come to this hotel at least once a year and sometimes more. We also found that the bar prices were good (as we were not all inclusive). Whilst we were there a new flat screen television was installed in our bedroom but unfortunately we could still only get news programmes and a horror station. I really cannot understand why small bars and cafes get a lot more television stations when a GOLD HOTEL cannot provide its guests with better programmes. We were lucky we went out most of the time visiting other parts of the Island.

A very good trip was with Last Minute Travel (which was just along the road from the hotel) and they took us on a full day tour of the Island including Tamanfaya which was marvellous and was so much cheaper than Thomsons prices. We also went with them to Fortuventura for another day trip and this was good as well.

The hotel could do with some updating and I would suggest that they had better seating and more of it in the reception as when it is changeover days there are not enough seats for people waiting for coaches. The seating area is quite small for a hotel of this size,

Room Tip: We were in a select room 424 which had a seaview but unfortunately did not have sun after about 3 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    735
    272
    63
    31
See reviews for
161
1,921
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just returned after spending 10 days at the Hotel Coronas Playa. The journey from the airport took about half an hour and we had a very efficient check in at the hotel.

We were very pleased with our room, sea view, top floor, immaculately clean with shiny floor and very spacious, balcony overlooking top pool which got about 3 hours of sun in the afternoon. Our maid, Toni, cleaned to a very high standard every day and always had a smile, as do the rest of the staff at this hotel.

The Restaurant served a wide range of food, we always found something we liked and was of good quality. The pool bars also served burgers, hot dogs, pizzas etc and always served with a smile. The Monkey bar opened at 5.00 pm and had a wide range of liquor coffees, hot chocolate and tea.

The entertainment was very good. Professional acts were great. The entertainment team of Deano, Stacey and Shanise (Shanise left for the UK towards the end of our stay) were excellent and worked very hard and always had a wave and hello. The resident duo, Without a Doubt, were ok. The lady had a good voice and the man was very good with his guitar, but in between songs there was a bit too much chat.

We didn't have any need of the Thomson reps, but when we went into the computer room which was situated in the Thomson Room, they were always polite and seemed to deal with any queries from other guests efficently.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and cannot for the life of us see why anyone would have any cause for complaint, although you will always get the few !!!

This is the first hotel that we have been to that we would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: Rooms that haven't got the best view are compensated with sunbeds on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just back from our first holiday at this hotel and in Lanzarote. The hotel is very good with the friendliest staff we have encountered for ages. The hotel is clearly very popular with many people we spoke to having been there more than once. I can see why it won awards in the oughties but now it is in need of a refesh. The staff deserve a hotel that is refurbished - poolside loungers were broken albeit usable, the footpaths are showing signs of heavy usage and the bathrooms need an update. However the hotel, its environment and facilities are excellant and we shall probably return as the older age group presents many opportunities for chat and sociability. Well done all of you at Coronas Playa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton-on-tees
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from our third holiday after a few years of trying other hotels in different places. It was great to be met after a long day by happy smiling faces and a glass of juice or sangria whilst checking in .After settling in to our spacious room with large balcony it was up to the restaurant. Once again more happy faces and even though its a few years since we were last there we were warmly greeted by members of staff who have not seen us for 4 or 5 years. The selection of food was good and well presented. everywhere was clean and tidy and to top it all the weather was great. WE WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: rooms facing south get better sun time. top pool near reception is a bit quieter during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just got back from a week stay at the Hotel Coronas Playa and I would really find it difficult to say anything but good about the hotel, it's staff and the Thomson Gold and entertainment team.

Firstly you are greeted with a smile by reception staff as soon as you arrive,The rooms are massive, and I am not exaggerating when I say massive. The rooms are spotlessly cleaned and cleaned to the highest standards. Yes it is true there are no added toiletries but there is dispensers for soap by the wash basin and also for body wash / shampoo in the shower bath,
Towels are changed daily and the cleaning staff are always friendly when you see them (just like all other staff at this hotel)

We were in room 2004 just to the side of the bottom pool we got the sun on our terrace from 8 am till 3 each day, it was not overlooked and very quiet (except for the last couple of days when someone in the room above appeared to be walking around in high heels!)

The restaurant is very good - buffet style like most hotels of this standard, but it does not let itself down with those annoying simple things like not having warm plates - in fact it is quite the opposite you have to use a serviette to hold the plates they are so warm. There is a great selection of food with show cooking also included. I cannot see how anybody could complain about choice or quality- there is too much choice in fact! The salads are excellent as are the soups. Breakfast also has plenty of choice and if you so desire free champagne is available to start the day with a fizz!

There are two pools the one at the top nearest reception is the quietest but the pool was not heated. the second pool area is where the Thomson entertainment team play there games. It is not too intrusive and people really seem to enter into the spirit of things. (They have a quiz each day and we had a go 3 or 4 times and even won a bottle of champers on our first go!)

This pool is heated and is a pleasant pool in the hot sun (even when it is windy).

Entertainment is provided in a "big top" like building - "The Pavillion". We don't normally go for these things but tried it and were very impressed. They have quizzes a resident duo and a different caberet each night we saw a Beatles act and Drifters tribute - both were first class There was also an Elvis tribute (something I normally hate) but this guy - Mark Summers was amazingly good (he evidently won the top Elvis award in Britain recently) and also a Beijing acrobat act also high standard.

The entertainment team - Shenise (spelling?) Deano and Stacey were funny entertaining and friendly, they worked non stop.

The location is very good a few shops and bars very close to the front of the hotel and also from the back gate a nice walk along the promenade along the coastline where there are 2 or 3 nice sandy bays and the town of Costa Teguise about a 20 min walk away.

Would we go back. Most definitely and are considering a return visit next March.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools have sun a lot of the day and the higher up the better the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this really nice hotel in February. The things we liked about it were the friendly staff, nice food and the best entertainment we have
experienced in a hotel abroad. Jamie and Shawneeze who organised the
daytime activities were excellent. There were plenty of sunbeds and one
of the two pools was heated. Some reviewers say returning guests get
preferential treatment but we did not find any evidence of that. The only
thing that spoilt it a bit was the very windy corridors. Situated only a ten minute walk along the promenade to the town of Teguise.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I celebrated our golden wedding at the Coronas Playa. We arrived on the 28th of February for a two weeks holiday.
I booked this hotel unbeknown to my wife and as we have never holidayed on Lanzarote before. I was hopeful to say the least that we would have a memorably celebration.
In the event everything went well. The reception at the airport from the Thomson staff, to the coach journey to the hotel, and the reception at the hotel itself was superb.
We did not inform anyone at the hotel that we were on our Golden Wedding celebration as we didn't want any fuss made on our behalf.
After checking in and allocated our room, we were given a glass of champagne along with all the other arriving guests before being escorted along with our suitcases to our room.
We have never been in a hotel room with such a gigantic size, we were allocated room number 434 on the top floor overlooking the lower pool. The furniture was light and modern and there was a nice basket of fruit, crisps,and biscuits, whilst in the fridge there was a complimentary bottle of wine and a litre bottle of water. There was a very generous amount of milk,coffee,tea and sugar sachets with the teapot.
The kingsize bed was extremely comfortable and the addition of two chairs and table provided a lounging area in the bedroom.

The bathroom was large and roomy with towels changed daily If required, there were two bath robes and slippers provided which made a nice start to the morning when we donned these and had a cup of tea on our balcony. There were two loungers also on the balcony which we used in an afternoon when we listened to the entertainments around the pool. There was a cool wind during our first week so we went out and about in the mornings and sat round the pool and on the balcony in the afternoons which were always sheltered.
The Azul bar at the lower pool and the Pool bar at the top pool were busy during the day serving drinks and snacks whilst the Monkey bar was well supported especially in the evenings before and after the evening meal.
There were many elderly residents in the hotel and some of them were using walking aids,sticks etc., I would mention the furniture in the Monkey bar in this connection, however, the seating is too low for many of the guests and they had difficulty getting up. also the furniture is past its best in terms of wear and tear. When it is replaced the owners of the hotel may wish to consider getting furniture with higher seating to cater for these guests
We found that the quality and choice of meals were excellent at every sitting and all the staff were brilliant.
The main entertainment took place in the Pavilion and the quality of the turns were variable but in the main enjoyable. That included the Thomson staff and the visiting professionals.
The waiting on hotel staff were all helpful, friendly and very good at their jobs, they really do work hard to make our holidays memorable. We had a special fondness for BEGONIA, she has the most remarkable ability to please everyone all the time and nothing is ever too much trouble. we always new where she was with her long blond hair and addictive chuckle.
The resident Thomson reps organised some interesting trips ,our favourites were Fire Mountain, The Adults Catamaran., The Submarine and the Market and Pirate Fort.
All in all a wonderful holiday and thank god my wife thoroughly enjoyed her surprise celebration

Room Tip: A Top floor room overlooking the sea and lower pool between room 410 and 440. These get uninterrupte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Property: Hotel Coronas Playa
Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing