We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of Return Guests, I'm not sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The majority of guests at this hotel had been before and yes the age group was definitely between 60 and 70 and a few younger guests arrived with their families as the week went on. This actually made for a really nice atmosphere and we met some very friendly people. The hotel and the resort is very well laid out for wheelchairs and mobility scooters so I understand why the clientelle is as it is. It is totally English guests which also helps with the communication.

The rooms were huge a bit of a waste of space really but kept very clean and yes do need a bit of a refurb but nothing serious. I do think a kettle, cups, coffee and tea should be provided because more people would make use of their balcony which was also huge. All rooms seem to have a good view and we were overlooking the bottom pool, the room was really quiet at night.

We sat around the bottom pool which was very well laid out, lots of space between sunbeds which I like not all lined up like soldiers. Yes, the pool man does remove towels before 10.00 which is a great idea as you can always get a bed up to around midday then it gets quite busy. One day inparticular the beds were hard to get with an umbrella. The pool at the bottom was not all that warm although heated and apparently the top pool was so cold nobody used it.

The drinks on the all inclusive were the best we have ever had, brand names and the cocktails were very well made except for the Mojito which tasted like mouth wash. Maybe some plastic champagne flutes around the pool would be nice as didnt enjoy the cava in a plastic half pint glass!!!

We were always served very quickly in the bar and staff were very pleasant and friendly, exactly the same in the Pavillion, we didnt wait long for a drink. I know that enterntainment is a personal choice but we actually really enjoyed the acts they brought in and the show put on by the Thomson reps was amazing, just so funny. The singers that came on between 9 and 10 were terrible but I understand they were not staying.

Now for the restaurant, very nicely laid out again no queuing and very civilised for a full hotel. The lady who kissed everyone was a bit annoying to watch as some guests clearly didnt want that. Always sat where we wanted at lunch and dinner and service was very quick and efficient. The choice of dishes was very English and I would have liked a few more Spanish dishes, very geared towards the English taste but when I saw Roast Beef with Sprouts and boiled potatoes that was a bit over the top. Lunches were a bit boring after awhile because again the specials were too heavy for the heat and especially when you can eat 3 good meals a day, icecreams etc. The salads were not that great in the evening looked like they just mushed together leftover dishes and called it chefs salad not very appealing. The desserts were not great and a larger choice would have been nice. This is just a personal choice as the quality of the food was very good and plenty of it but not enough variety.

Overall the staff made this hotel and we had a very pleasant stay, I would just like to say we went at the beginning of July and the weather was a disappointment (nothing to do with hotel of course) the mornings and evenings were quite cold as it is very windy and once the sun goes down (that is if you were lucky enough to see it during the day) it is too cold to walk out without a jacket and it is too windy to sit outside any bars or restaurants in the evening. Hopefully our weather experience was a one off for July.

Not sure if I would return, possibly not.

Room Tip: Choose top floor room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Noodlesetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coronas Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,256 - 1,262 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

\we had a fantastic week at this hotel, Everything from arrival to departure was first class. Nothing was to much trouble for anyone. Entertainment was very good the team worked hard at all times really looked forward to 'pick of the six' each night too, We will be returning to this hotel and will be taking 'Gold Holidays' in future. thank you

Room Tip: Room 621 was ideal sun on balcony till dusk. No noise at all.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were only at the hotel for 7 nights but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Reception staff were professional but also very pleased to help where/when requested. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable and and bathroom facilities were fine - yes a home from home as a previous reviewer stated. The restaurant and bar provided excellent food and drink and the waiting staff extremely welcoming and helpful with a smile always.
The outdoor pools/facilities were also excellent and the Thomson in-hotel staff were also excellent and very entertaining. We didn't attend the evening entertainment so we cannot comment but heard rave reviews during casual conversations. We would go again.

Room Tip: Take pot luck - all the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

returned home on the 9th, really didnt want to but hey ho, this was the 3rd stay here, and we have enjoyed every minute, this time we found there had been some refurbishment,which we must say was needed,however this does not make a good holiday, what does is the way you are catered for from the time you walk through the door when you arrive to the time you leave, the staff are the most obliging, happiest we have ever met, nothing is to much trouble, the reception staff are so helpful in there knowledge and professionalism,the service in the restaurant is first class as is the food, the hot food is hot, which is not always so in some hotels, the rooms are spacious and very clean , yes they could do with a little more updating but a holiday is nt about a room as long as it s adequate and clean,we are quite lively 60 somethings and like to join in the games, quizzes etc but this is a totally separate area so if its not for you there is a much quieter pool and terrace, we can not praise the entertainment team enough, the best team ever!thank you for the fun Sarra,Nathan,Paris,Mel Connor Derek and Charlie, you were all a pleasure to be with, only sad point was that the regular musicians The Score were unable to perform due to illness and to say the least the temporary replacements was nt great! no this hotel is not for everone but it sure is doing something right as guest return time and again as we will be doing to see in 2015 and cant wait.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shandypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel ticks most of the boxes,the only thing that let it down this time was the waiting for drinks that were ordered. In one case 45 minutes this was due to the new drink computer that the waiters have to use now and there seemed less staff from our last holiday , however we still had a good relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57Kev57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Arrived after a short transfer from airport and was checked in and settled by the pool twenty minutes later as we are frequent guests of the Coronas Playa. The food in our opinion has improved from last year and I was glad to see that a gentleman was refused entry to the restaurant as he was wearing long shorts. Naty as always very happy to see the returning guests and hugs all round. Staff were exceptional and this is one of the reasons why we keep on returning. We were all inclusive and would recommend this option as value for money, snacks at the pool bar were freshly prepared, cannot comment about the lunch menu at the main restaurant. Thomson Gold staff were present each day but we didn't need to use them but seemed pleasant enough. The entertainment team were brilliant Conor and Mel and worked their socks off and the Team Show on Weds night was absolutely fabulous. The entertainment in the evening with silloulette wasn't very good no real rapport with each other and the guests. The Score was very much missed so hopefully Lesley is on the road to recovery. Rooms are a large and air con worked well. Wi-Fi was a bit haphazard but was free. No real tv reception but you don't go on holiday to watch tv but sometimes nice to watch tv when getting ready to go out or if the weather is inclement.

But all in all a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank caroline1069784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Booked an all inclusive package after reading all the glowing 5 star reviews. Can't see how it can be rated so highly as it is 3 star at best.
The staff are absolutely wonderful and need all the praise going but that is the only positive. The rooms although large are very basic and in need of a makeover. There is no atmosphere in the bar and communal areas. The pool area is clean but the sunbeds very old and uncomfortable.
Cocktails are poor premixed concoctions that bear no resemblance to the real thing. The food is edible but canteen standard. (Advertised show cooking is throwing a slice of fish or meat on a grill.) We chose to eat out 5 nights out of 10, adding 300euros to the cost of an already expensive holiday.
Finally felt it was an insult to have to pay 3 euros a day for safety deposit box and 6 euros ay day for in room tea and coffee.
I conclude this hotel is full of returning guests that need to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing