We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, fab, fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Coronas Playa
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fab, fab, fab”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Just back from the Coronas Playa, wow, what a wonderful hotel, the best we've ever been in! No children, no boom, boom, boom from loud music, very civilised in every way.
The room was huge with twin beds pushed together so making a 6' bed. A wardrobe each and table and chairs at the far end as well as on the balcony, a 32" flat screen TV and a cooler. In fact it was the exact room in the picture in the brochure. The electrics are operated by the key card that opens your door so if you take a spare card (mine was a Tesco card) you can keep it in the slot and the cooler and air con is on all the time. We were HB and used the cooler quite a lot so didn't want it going off through the day. You can hire a kettle for 12 Euros a week but I took my own which cost £9.
The food was excellent, couldn't fault it. Cooked and continental for breakfast and so much choice for the evening meal some days I couldn't decide what to have. Usually left the restaurant feeling pogged!!! The only downer on being half board was that the water bought to drink with the evening meal was very expensive, 1.93 Euros for a 33cl bottle! A 5 litre bottle at the supermarket was only 1.19 Euros. Towels are 10 Euros deposit and the safe is on this deposit with an extra 3 Euros per day on top.
The entertainment was good, we sat on our balcony and listened to it after having been for walks on an evening. I doesn't go on too late.
The lower pool is the noisy pool where all the organised activities go on, there is a quieter pool and then an area inbetween where we used to sit. There could be more sunbeds and umbrellas and you're not supposed to reserve them before 10am. People got round this by either having breakfast early and then getting your sunbed, sitting on your sunbed until a reasonable time and going for breakfast later or going in relays. We did see towels removed from them quite a few times! There is an area past the noisy pool where they could put more beds and brollies! The outside areas are well looked after and while we were there they were painting and generally sprucing them up.
The staff are lovely but not sympathetic if you have to collect your towels after reserving a sunbed before 10am. The hairdryer stopped working and within 5 mins the maintenance man was knocking on the door with a new one which he fitted in no time at all.
The hotel is in a quiet part of Costa Teguise but only a 10 min walk to the bars and shops. Not much of a beach with a few sunbeds in one area.
We went on one excursion, using a company outside the hotel, 'Last Minute' saving 17 Euros each on Thomson's price, and when going to the market you can either get the number 3 local bus or 4 Euros from Last Minute. (10 Euros from Thomson and they only take you there and back)
Every day there is a 'Poolside Puzzler' with lots of puzzles for you to do. We really enjoyed this.
It was very windy while we were there and on a morning and an evening was quite cool. We were glad a previous review had mentioned this and we took jackets which were worn most evenings even in August.
All in all it was a brilliant holiday, thank you Coronas Playa, you were fab.

Room Tip: Most rooms are very good, our was 418. 419 and 420 would have been even better as they didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrannyJannyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    728
    271
    61
    31
See reviews for
161
1,889
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We have been to most of the Gold hotels, some more than once, and the Coronas Playa is up there with the best. As far as the staff are concerned we would say this hotel is the best, the staff are full of fun and always have a smile and spend a lot of time and effort making sure everything is perfect, not sure where the hotel finds them all but well done the recruitment team. This was our first visit to the Coronas Playa based on a recommendation from our friends and we had a lovely time, great company, super weather, no children and a really great hotel. There is so much to commend, the rooms were huge and spotlessly clean, the food was top class with so much variety and quantity and the bacon was the best ever. The bar service and drink quality was also super and chucking out time in the Monkey Bar was after 1.30 am so we aren't in the early to bed group. We went all inclusive when we arrived as the deal was a no brainer including branded spirits, good beer and a good quality lunch. All of The Thompson's team were great, well done Connor, Mel, Nathan, Paris, Derek you made sure we were entertained day and night. The evening entertainment duo The Midas Touch were super as were most of the guest acts, only one act wasn't up to scratch and most were outstanding. I don't agree with previous reviewers regarding the guest age profile, yes the clientele are mostly mature however we know good quality when we see it, we aren't easily pleased and don't put up with anything not up to standard. It's obvious why there are so many repeat visits, keep up the good work

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank CFRBKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned after a very nice week at the Coronas Playa. Our first time at a Thomson Gold hotel, great being adults only - all the staff were incredibly friendly, service was excellent and the room was spotless. Food in the restaurant was of a good standard with a welcoming atmosphere. Entertainment was generally of a good standard and the resident duo were very entertaining. Overall a very pleasant hotel in a quiet location but only a short walk of around 15 minutes along the prom to Costa Teguise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMAF2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for a week with my daughter in this wonderful hotel. The room was very spacious and clean, with good facilities. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We upgraded to all inclusive, which was really worthwhile - food was great! The activities during the day put on by the fabulour Thomson team Mel & Connor, were lots of fun but did not impose on your holiday if you did not want to join in. The evening entertainment was good - especially the resident duo, The Midas Touch. All the reps were friendly, knowledgeable about the area and provided a lot of information about things to do. Can't wait to book to go back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sb1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just returned from 10 nights at the Coronas Playa, a return visit after 8 years, we were not disappointed. A warm welcome at reception and clear instructions. The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious, with a continuous supply of water, tea, coffee and milk on our "Twin Select Room all inclusive". The restaurant chefs cook beautiful food complimented by the A***** waiter service. It was our anniversary, our table for the evening was dressed so beautifully - decorated with fresh flowers, ballons etc. - a night to remember. The Gold animation team are wounderful and work so hard to keep everyone entertained at the bottom pool and in the evening - thank you - Mel, Conner & Co. Also the bar staff keep you well topped up with drinks.The top pool is the quiet pool for ones wishing for a quieter area. The reps. at the hotel make sure that all guests have what they need and are always helpful. The beautician Leigh is very experienced and it is well worth a visit. I really enjoyed a full body massage - book early, she gets booked up quickly. A great location, just 15 mins walk to the centre of Teguise or a gorgeous sandy beach along a flat pathway. Good for people with walking difficulties or in a wheelchair.
No reflection on the hotel BUT EXPECT STRONG WINDS - ENOUGH TO BLOW FOOD OFF YOUR TABLE AND BLOW A CHAIR OVER! Honestly the wind was stronger than any British holiday front on the very roughest day. Sometimes, this can be welcome when the sun got hot but made the pool too cold to get in - IT WAS FREEEEEZING! It was overcast, dark cloud most days until 11.30. Not the weather I was expecting for August.
However, we absolutely love this hotel - all the staff make it outstanding, nothing is too much trouble at any time. Thank you to everyone, who work so hard, long hours and keep smiling to make our holiday so special. WE WILL RETURN BUT WITH A VERY LARGE WINDBREAK!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

just returned after a week at the coronas playa, all staff very friendly and the rooms very spacious,the food was excellent so much choice didn't know what to choose every night. The entertainment staff were lovely but for me the day time entertainment was a bit quiet and the music that was played by the pool was not very loud so if your looking for quiet this is ideal, the pool was freezing cold and supposed to be heated, most of the evening shows were excellent, your never going to satisfy everyone when it comes to shows, the music that was played of an evening was great if your 60 and over, my opinion is that they catered more for the older generation, although i made the most of what i had, most evenings everyone was up dancing, there are shops and bars outside the hotel and a nice 20 minute walk by the sea takes you to more shops and bars and entertainment, overall i enjoyed my break and would return to Lanzarote i have recommended this hotel to my mom and dad as i think it would be more suitable for them

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank le w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I am here on my last day of a 7 day visit. The hotel is maintained to a high standard rooms are cleaned everyday and if you wish to have to fresh towels daily you just leave them on the floor in the bathroom and they are changed.It has to be said the hotel has one of the nicest set of staff you will ever come across, nothing is too much trouble for them. I am here on an all inclusive basis which in my opinion is good value if you like a few drinks on an evening! The entertainment team of Mel and Connor (Thomson reps) work really hard and are a great double act!! The resident band The Scores who are now in their 9th season are first class. They cover songs from the 50s to present date. I have enjoyed 6 out of 7 nights in the pavilion where the entertainment is held, the only negative aspect was a Robbie Williams take off, he couldn't have been any further away from RW if he tried! and yes he tried! The hotel food is pretty average in my opinion - if the Coronas Playa took a leaf out of the Panorama in ES Cana for choice and quality of food then putting everything together this would be an outstanding place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 521 which is on the left hand side of the main pool area. A hint if you want a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheila s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.9 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,067 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
0.1 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Coronas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coronas Playa

Property: Hotel Coronas Playa
Address: Avda. del Mar, 26, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coronas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Package deals include flights from UK and accomodations for three nights minimum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Coronas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronas Playa Costa Teguise
Hotel Coronas Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing