We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,833)
Filter reviews
2,833 results
Traveller rating
1,581
839
308
72
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,581
839
308
72
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey barthomson goldthomson repslower poolgold hotelgarden suiteselect roommellow yellowresident bandevening entertainmentbranded drinksaverage agerooms are hugeentertainment teamtea and coffee making facilitiesdaily quizolder generation
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 2,833 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Flew out on New Years Eve but unfortunately suffered a 3 hour 25 minute flight delay, we arrived exhausted and had to have a very quick evening meal in order to enjoy the brilliant celebrations laid on by the hotel. From New Years Day onwards our holiday was amazing, we have been to this hotel many times and will continue to visit in future. The staff at this hotel are second to none, everyone no matter what job they do always have a smile and a friendly greeting when they see you. We upgraded to the full all inclusive and the alcoholic drinks are branded and always generous! Thomson reps are friendly and readily available, fortunately we did not have to call on them with any problems. Lee and Taylor the Entertainment Hosts did a great job, daily activities were well supported and they always made time to chat with the guests. Resident duo Mellow Yellow were good with a very wide range of songs and they always respond to requests from guests. Visiting acts were a bit hit and miss, Jersey Boys, Millsy Brothers and the comedian were brilliant but sadly the ABBA tribute act (the Winners?) were anything but. Weather was great and it was a very relaxing start to the first two weeks of January.

Room Tip: All rooms are very generous in size.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

First time in a Tui Gold, adults only hotel. We with definitely go adults only in the future. The hotel has a very relaxing feel. The staff are very friendly and treat you like a old friend. This is probably because most of the guests are returning guests, Quite a few we met had been more than 10 times previously. Many reviewers have made comment about the average age of the guests. Most guests seem to be retired. We are in our fifties and were amongst the youngest staying there in the week before Christmas. That said almost everyone we met was extremely friendly and this maid for a very enjoyable holiday. The food in the hotel is very good but not extravagant. We do not eat meat but were able to find a good selection of choices every meal time. Usually 5/6 meat choices, pasta and rice dishes, 2/3 fish options every evening and always fresh fish cooked to order. Plenty of salad variety and plenty of dessert choices. The evening entertainment tool place in a tented structure called the pavilion, the house band was a due called Mellow Yellow and they were fantastic. every evening there is a guest act also and there were also to a good standard. The hotel has two swimming pools which are not heated so usually quite empty during the winter. A couple of days of decent sunshine soon made it bearable to swim. We stayed by the lower pool where the entertainment team - Lee and Taylor - offered a variety of games and activities every day for those who wanted to join in. They did a fantastic job and had a great rapport with all the guests. The monkey Bar is the place to go for a night cap. they have a great selection of alcoholic coffees and hot chocolates. If you want a bit of sun and simply to chill out this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Elaine1234186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We have just returned from our 6th holiday at this hotel and a 21 day holiday over Xmas and New Year . Not supprising the staff again were some of the best we have encountered at a hotel and they work very hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay.

If you wish to have a room/balcony that faces the sun in the afternoon email the hotel, we had room 619 and we had the sun on our balcony from around mid day to after 5pm, we had a view of the sea and the top swimming pool, lovely spacious room kept very clean.

We found the food was generally up to standard and suited us, for information there is a doctor situated attatched to the hotel, you just go out of thr front hotel entrance, turn right just walk past the collection of small shope and Dr Kanz is on the end of the building in a walk in section, this is part of the hotel buildings.

For information, we needed to get a cold remedy and found we could not buy this in the supermarkets, we had to go to a pharmacy and all we could get was just one expensive pack of spanish cold pills, we were told if we wanted something else we would need to see a doctor, our advice is its worth taking your own cold/flue remedy,s etc , it was nice and warm when we went but got a cold/flue from another person.

The hotel entertainment in their refurbed Pavillion was fair with some UK acts, the only thing we did not like was the seat cushions were very thin and uncomfortable, we complained to the hotel and they told us the cushions would be replace this year 2018 so hope that is soon done .

Internet Wi , there is wi fi but is a bit slow but ok for emails etc, you can upgrade this to a faster speed we believe but you will have to pay You will get your wi fi info when you book in, the user info is on a small set of info you are given by reception, to log in to the internet you put in the usernam/set of numbers you are given and the password is your room number.

All in all, a great hotel, very good and helpful staff, would we go again, Yes .

Room Tip: Email the hotel and request a room you would like, ie a room with sun on the balcony in the morning or afternoon etc .
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Arrived 31/12/2017 till 11/01/2018

Dont bother booking here if youre even remotely young. "No under 16's" should be changed to "no under 50's".

We've been stared at constantly by pensioners, we could not even get a simple smile back from any of them. 'Respect your elders', maybe they should respect younger people.

Enjoyed the first few nights, but have rarely made it past 22:00 in the evening watching the poor entertainment.

The TUI team show was a good laugh, the reps were very nice.

Bar and waiting staff were brilliant, all very friendly and attentive.

Reception staff were great, coming to translate between me and the paramedics when they arrived.

On 09/01/2018, My girlfriend suffered an asthma attack at 23:30, my help was not enough after around 45 minutes of trying to assist her, so I was obligated to call for an ambulance which we left in at roughly 00:35.

Everything was sorted a couple hours later, we got back to our hotel at 02:30, slept.

Woke up to a phone call at roughly 09:45 saying the manager would like to see us, definitely was not expecting it to be about several noise complaints from other guests.

Complaints made about our room. Too much noise at 6am and also said we were disruptive in bars. Although we were asleep well before and after 6am, and were quietly talking to another couple in the bar the night before.

The only noise made was between 23:30 and 00:30, due to an ambulance arriving, and the intense situation of me panicking about my girlfriend not being able to breathe with immense pain in her chest and back.

Very insensitive of multiple other guests to complain about an ambulance, even more insensitive of the manager to feel the need to talk to us about these complaints and tell us to be quiet.

Never been so excited to leave a holiday and go home.

Will definitely never come here again.

P.S we swam with sea lions at Rancho Texas splash & animal park, which is the only thing I would definitely recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
30  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Coronas Playa late-November to early-December for 2 weeks.

The hotel itself is in a decent location and is very well presented. The rooms are nice and spacious (we had a suite with garden view) and the pool area is very clean. We used the pool bar at the bottom pool every day and had no complaints, the service was always good. Another positive is the Monkey Bar, all drinks included on all inclusive was great! The service was also great, shout out to Aleksander who always made sure we were topped up.

Now to the not so great things, the hotel entertainment is all focused towards people aged 60+. Being 25 & 29, this wasn’t great for us! This reflects both day and night time entertainment. Also the restaurant wasn’t as good as we’d hoped. Sometimes it was okay, others not great at all. I mentioned on the feedback form during our first week that there was too much fish, but this didn’t change in the second week so feedback wasn’t taken onboard.

All in all, we had a nice time away in the sunshine but I wouldn’t rush back to the Coronas Playa unless the price was right.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank kmalx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews