We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bougainvillea Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Guarapo Apartments
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bougainvillea Base”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We found the apartments clean, spacious and well equipped in beautiful surroundings set away from the noise of the main centre. Really good value for money too (it was one of the cheaper options in Costa Teguise). The only small annoyance is that no one told us the reception would be closed on Saturday (the day we arrived). A little advance warning would have been nice, even if it meant we would've made sure to have change handy to call the out of hours office number. As it stood, we used a cell phone (pretty pricey call being a UK sim card) and we managed to get hold of someone who gave us instructions on how to get in.. Once we were in and settled, everything else was great! We were in a ground floor apartment, well furnished with cooking utensils. We also really liked the receptionist (Hannah we think?) who was friendly and made us feel at home.

Room Tip: There are rooms set out around the pool and others tucked away down a garden path, both are good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! Now the reception is open daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    194
    58
    19
    11
See reviews for
106
279
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I can't understand the negative comments from some people. We have just returned from a 7 day stay at El Guarapo Apartments and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
When we checked in there was a problem with a room for us and we had a temporary room allocated to us for one night which was no 50 on the top floor overlooking the sea with lovely views. Would happily have stayed in that one as it was so nice and three bedrooms!
We moved to a ground floor room(14) the next day and Hana from reception was very apologetic, it wasn't a problem to us and the one bedroom apartment we had actually booked was just as nice.
The staff are friendly, helpful and can't do enough for you. The hotel grounds, pool and rooms are kept immaculately clean.
Our apartment was one bedroom with twin beds pushed together, beds were comfy enough and fresh clean bedding on them.
The kitchen had all the equipment we needed to cook in (toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge freezer) if we wanted to although we only made breakfast and lunch a couple of times and sat out on the patio that had a table and chairs on it. There is also a rack attached to the wall of the patio to hang your towels out to dry. (Very handy)
The shops, bars and restaurants are a five minute stroll away from the hotel and if you follow the road the hotel is on to the bottom you wind up at the beach in about the same time.
Antonio's pool side restaurant is well worth a visit, he is lovely and his food is very good, try his paella, order the day before you want it, it's worth the wait! Food and drink is very reasonably priced.
If I had anything negative to say it would be that the sun loungers have no pads on and are very uncomfortable for sun worshippers like me! I did notice that some people had bought blow up airbeds and had them on top of the beds, I will do this next time :-) But to be honest in the grand scheme of things it wasn't that important.
All in all this is a great little hotel, you can't fail to relax here which is exactly why we were there.
Loved it and will probably return, thanks to Hana and all at El Guarapo

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.Hope see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had read from other reviews that the reception wasn`t always open, so when we arrived on Friday afternoon it was no surprise that the entrance to the complex and the reception were closed. We telephoned the number displayed beside the entrance and after about fifteen minutes someone arrived and let us in, gave us the safe key, wifi password and TV remote. Hana formally checked us in when she was in the reception on Sunday morning.

We stayed in apartment 23 with a balcony and pool / sea view – everything as expected, except that it has a large (rather hard) double bed and not twin beds.The apartment and the facilities, including the gardens, pool and reception area are all clean and well maintained. All the staff are friendly and helpful.

We eat several times in the small restaurant run by Antonio and his wife Adele. Good honest food, well prepared at very reasonable prices. It is only a short walk to the large Spar supermarket which is open every day from 09:00to 22:00.

In almost all self-catering apartments of this type, the kitchen utensils are very basic and El Guarapo is no exception. We had with us scissors, a small SHARP kitchen knife and a spatula!

El Guarapo is a small, friendly, quiet, relaxing and well maintained complex, in a residential area, very close to the town centre. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View and balcony. Top floor if possible, so avoid hearing p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
We want to say thank you for sharing your feedback with us,we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was very surprised before leaving for yet another holiday in el gurappo appts.to read an unfavourable report of our favourite place.
Don't know what some people expect from a quiet inexpensive well maintained resort.However We returned on the 23rd October after 3 weeks of good food and wine courtesy of Antonio (1) and his delightful wife Adele.Well maintained pool and garden coutesy of Antonio (2) and his team of cleaners and gardeners.
As usual met some old friends who like us return year after year and met some new ones.It is surprising how many people keep in touch after meeting in el gurappo.
As I've said before if you want a hectic action packed holiday el gurappo is not for you.However if you want good food ,good wine,and good companyin a tranquil pleasant atmosphere would have to go a long way to beat el gurappo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank magpie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just got back from El Guarapo Oct 2013. We spent 10 nights in the complex and to be honest I cannot criticise anything. We arrived at about half nine in the evening and were greeted by Antonio the restaurant owner attached to the complex. The apartments were very clean and spacious. The cleaner called every two days or so. The pool area was relaxed (no music) very clean and quiet. The apartments were very close to local bars, shops and restaurants about five mins. The attached restaurant “Antonio’s” served very good meals at very reasonable prices and to be frank I don’t know how he does it the quality was brilliant and he works so hard. I spoke to several people who go back year on year and one couple said how they had been visiting the apartments for 30 years. I will most certainly be visiting again and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dickie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you very much for your great review and your kind words on Tripadviso !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The apartment was clean and comfortable enough equipment for basic self catering which suited us as we only ate breakfast in the apartment. No air conditioning though. It was in need of an update but the grounds were very well maintained and very clean and tidy. The pool was cold but clean and large enough for the apartments. We had a ground floor apartment which didn't really have a view, the higher floor apartments appeared to have nicer views. As stated in other reviews there is a beach at the bottom of the road but we used the promenade for a lovely walk to the nicer beaches or the walkway at the side of the apartments into the town and shops and bars and beaches. We found some lovely restaurants and can recommend La Hacienda and El Maestro and the bars in the square are nice to sit in of an evening we used La Magma quite a bit. We used the free wi fi in the bars we used in the evening. There are markets twice a week in the evening in the square. We food the price of the food and drink to be reasonable and had a lovely time in the resort.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms had a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debster005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGuarapoApartments, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Guarapo Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Thank you for taking time to review El Guarapo !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

having stayed at el guarapo, for the past 4 years ,have been a bit disappointed this time ,just got home last week ,
there are too many cats about , as people keep feeding them , ,and they tend to have a lot of flys about.
also we have allways liked these apartments , for the quietness , and allways older people , ,
but they are starting to have children there now, and they can be very loud, they were running round the dinning room , while we were trying to eat, and also could not relax at pool , as they were too loud shouting and screaming all the time.
its a shame as the apartments are nice , but I noticed there was a lot of people saying they would not come back again , if there were going to be children there

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oasis Lanz  Beach Mate
Oasis Lanz Beach Mate
#32 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Sol
Apartamentos Sol
#27 of 38 in Costa Teguise
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nazaret Apartamentos
Nazaret Apartamentos
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Guarapo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Guarapo Apartments

Property: El Guarapo Apartments
Address: Calle Tabaibas 10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#10 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Guarapo Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"El Guarapo" apartments is a beautiful complex of 50 units, in Costa Teguise and a few meter form Playa Bastian, where you can relax to the maximum on your holiday. We are located in Costa Teguise, one extends Lanzarote tourist area well connected with each of the important points of the island. Enjoy our spacious 1 bedroom overlooking garden and pool, or our 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the sea. All fully equipped with safe, hairdryer, telephone and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your El Guarapo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Guarapo Apartments Hotel Costa Teguise
El Guarapo Apartments Costa Teguise
El Guarapo Apartments Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing