We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have just returned from the Galeon Player and was pleasantly surprised, excellent location, spacious rooms, with plenty of hanging and drawer space for all you ladies, plenty of plugs in the right places. Pool area was clean, although pool was freezing but it is November. Pool bar cheap and cheerful and all the staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely restaurants and bars within five minutes walk. Would recommend for a cheap holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Restaurant otherwise you will be awoken early with the noise of the tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

I've been to the GP as a child so this time brought my boyfriend for a visit. We arrived back home today and can say that there are both good and bad points. The apartments are in a fantastic location; supermarket over the road, short distance from the main beach & surrounded by shops and restaurants. However, on arrival we were greeted by a very rude young man (we are only in our 20/30s ourselves) who clearly didn't want to be there or couldn't care less about helping us. I can honestly say I've never met anyone quite like it before.

We went self catering and the rooms were very spacious but do need a bit updating, the paint was hanging off and our door frame inside looked like the door had been kicked in at some point. It seemed nice and clean apart from the fridge had only been turned on once we got there and had defrosted leaving half the kitchen area flooded. A maintenance guy responded v quickly which was excellent, however after asking 3 times for it to be mopped during the entire day, we ended up using a towel ourselves as it got ignored. The maids came nearly every day but our towels were only changed once yesterday which seemed a bit pointless as we left v early this morning, could've done with a fresh one earlier in the week.

The pool said heated which it wasn't, but that wasn't a big problem. It's like any pool abroad, once you're in, its fine. The pool area was clean and tidy and there were more than enough sunbeds and space to go round so a plus there! Poolbar was quick to serve and staff were very friendly. On an evening it was quiet in the main bar and even though they had entertainment it was dead most nights, not sure if that's just due to the winter season though. We opted to go out and there are some excellent restaurants up the road :)
One real worry is the lift in the apartments (main bar side) it definitely needs fixing!! The doors don't shut properly and the entire thing seems like it could die at any minute. Sometimes the doors wouldn't open properly & you had to drag them open with yours hands (there were many visible handprints on the doors to suggest it wasn't just a problem for us).

All in all you get what you pay for. If the GP was to be refurbished and modernised it could be fantastic. It needs a bit of TLC (and WiFi!!) and maybe more helpful and friendlier reception staff. Over the years it just seems to have become a bit run down. The location is perfect though and during the day, the pool area is really good. Id suggest this place to people who aren't expecting much for what they pay and are after a basic, cheap place to get away and relax. If you're after anything more than basic I wouldn't bother. We've spoken about returning, but for the fact that its pretty cheap and very central.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bizzleburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory. We are working to improve the quality of Galeon Playa

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

had yet another fantastic holiday at the Galeon, got the room we requested via email, again was clean and comfortable, there was 35 of us in our group, and nothing was to much trouble for the staff...Sabastian, from the pool bar, who had to put up with the rable from lancaster ever happy hour, Erika from the hotel bar and most of all Tatyana the animation girl, who was chuffed to bits that we joined in with the activities, and was fantastic with the kids.
All in all this hotel is great value for money, in an ideal location, very close to all the bars and restaurants, if your after something lively Dreams bar is a must, but dont be taken in by the offer of long happy hours to get you in there coz they dont exist, but there are 2 of them.
The bulldog bar is good for a laugh too and the food is very british and plenty of it.
and i would like to suggest La Vida, a bar across the road from the hotel, english owned great entertainment, we had a 60th birthday party there, they put a buffet on for us, and it was very good.
I would definately recommend Costa Teguise, its a lovely family resort, not too noisy and plenty to do .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

we have just come home after 2weeks of abrilliant holiday 1/11/11. wehad exelent service from all the staff receptionist,s were very helpful ,the maids were very good,and it is the first time we have ever seen apool area mopped by hand.The room we had was one of the largest rooms we have ever had . but imust leave the best till last Tatyana the childrens rep was absolutly fantastic our grandson who is not avery good mixer was helped along and thoroughly look after she was also very good with us oldies too.can honestly say she made it one of the best holidays we allhave had. the other person i must mention is Erika in the bar she can cheer anyone up she is brilliant, Thanks to you all for abrilliant time we will be back again. Angela paul and Rhys Teasdale.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in, the reception staff were so rude and not very helpful, the cleaners spent no more than 2 minutes making out they were cleaning but were eating the childrens sweets. If you wanted to spend some time by the pool then you had to grab a sun lounger and take it up to your room the night before like other guests were. Wouldn;t ever recommend this hotel to anyone, but lanzarote was a beautiful place itself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
3  Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear customer,
Thank you for send us your comments, which are a tool to improve our services and facilities.
Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and thank you very much your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just got back from a weeks stay at galeon playa. Fantastic location with a beach across the road or a choice of other beaches a very short walk away, was close to all restaurants and bars, our fav was mels jels who do the most fantastic ham toasties! Would def go back!! To us the heat pool didn't feel very warm, but overall fantastic stay and very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hay-Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just got back from the Galeon Playa 18th oct for two weeks, accom is basic but clean and plenty of room the maids came in 4 days a week and did a great job. Great location the big beach is great for the waves we had an influx of jellyfish after a storm, so many restaurants most are good. Try the Vesubio pizzeria round the corner from neptunes bar great food, the fuel stop on the front is good also great with the kids.
The entertainment team consists of Tatiyana!! Who did the music and the minidisco which my daughter loved she gets all the kids involved. Erica behind the bar is a great double act with Tatiyana they make the night (Hey crazy!!) Beers average about 1 euro 50 you can get a beer for 1 euro! The pool is freezing we headed to the beach everyday, we didnt eat at the galeon playa but the pool bar is quite reasonable. Thanks to the Galeon Playa for making out holiday i can really recommend this place cheap clean great location and entertainment team.

Room Tip: 2nd or third floors i heard there were ants on the bottom floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsCountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
1.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#10 of 38 in Costa Teguise
6,009 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,981 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.6 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Address: Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £53 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seafront, next to the beach Jablillo and a few steps from the beach of Las Cucharas. We are an ideal family resort with 139 apartments and 35 wonderful new Junior Suites. At Galeón Playa, you will enjoy our pool, restaurant, children´s club and other attractions for adults and children. Visit us and enjoy your holidays in Lanzarote with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing