We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Moscow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

good value for many,all the things needed,well location by the side of two beach

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elena_badalyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your opinion and we hope see you soon in Galeon Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    713
    284
    94
    66
See reviews for
585
719
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Landed in Lanzarote and stayed for 1 week at the Galeon Playa appartments. Really dont understand some peoples comments sometimes. I have to say that this accomodation was superb and the location in the resort was super. Rooms spacious and double balcony for bed area and sitting area.
Cleaners cleaned the rooms 4 times a week and the staff were always working about the place.
Friendly staff and would recommend this property to anyone willing to come away and relax.
Shop and local ammenities right on the door step.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the new block overlooking the sea. Great size of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidygers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your opinion and we hope see you soon in Galeon Playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I visited these apartments 4 years ago and nothing has changed. The bed coverings are the same and the tired old furniture is still there. I would have thought air conditioning would have been installed but no. The paint work on the terrace is still sloppy. The towels provided tend to be a bit smelly and the bath towel is a bit small. The only saving grace are the friendly staff and the high standard of cleaning.

The area around the apartments has gone downhill with a proliferation of cheap Chinese bazzars and all you can eat Chinese buffets plus unfortunately loud British bars. Next visit to Costa Teguise will go a bit more upmarket.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear customer,
Thank you for send us your comments, which are a tool to improve our services and facilities.
Once again I apologize for the inconvenience and thank you very much your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The rooms were spacious, and plenty of storage space. However the place is old, tired and in desperate need of some updating. Our room had screws and nails sticking out of the door frames, to which we damaged a couple of items of clothes. There were cigarette tabs ends in the balcony shrubbery and just about everywhere else, and the cleaners didn't clean. I know this as I lost a small ear ring and further to two alleged 'cleans' by the chamber maids, I found this ear ring four days later. I am glad I packed anti bacterial wipes for after they had been in the room.
The reasonably priced item got torn in two places by the sticking out nails. When I tried to seek a solution with reception for this one item, the manager was standing right there and quicky disappeared into the small office behind reception. Reception organised meetings with the manager and asked me to be available when it was convenient to the Manager. The manager was a coward and failed to attend these meetings, and gave reception a number of excuses and brush offs to my complaint. Then literally, as we were leaving for the airport, the reception staff informed us that the Manager had decided on a solution and could we stay and discuss and resolve. The damage had been reported to reception four days earlier yet they chose to wait until we could not be available..
I am so glad I did not have children with us, as the damage in the apartment could so easily have caused injury.
I have never given a hotel a bad review, but this place is badly managed.
I'm no party pooper and love socialising, but groups of revellers had no concern for others in the hotel and night-time really could be a nightmare. We often found ourselves sleeping on the beach during the day.
If you are looking for a nice quiet cutural place to stay in Lanazrote. My advice would be to select another venue.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel if you have any interest in cutural activites as you will be too tired to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have just returned from the Galeon Player and was pleasantly surprised, excellent location, spacious rooms, with plenty of hanging and drawer space for all you ladies, plenty of plugs in the right places. Pool area was clean, although pool was freezing but it is November. Pool bar cheap and cheerful and all the staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely restaurants and bars within five minutes walk. Would recommend for a cheap holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Restaurant otherwise you will be awoken early with the noise of the tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I've been to the GP as a child so this time brought my boyfriend for a visit. We arrived back home today and can say that there are both good and bad points. The apartments are in a fantastic location; supermarket over the road, short distance from the main beach & surrounded by shops and restaurants. However, on arrival we were greeted by a very rude young man (we are only in our 20/30s ourselves) who clearly didn't want to be there or couldn't care less about helping us. I can honestly say I've never met anyone quite like it before.

We went self catering and the rooms were very spacious but do need a bit updating, the paint was hanging off and our door frame inside looked like the door had been kicked in at some point. It seemed nice and clean apart from the fridge had only been turned on once we got there and had defrosted leaving half the kitchen area flooded. A maintenance guy responded v quickly which was excellent, however after asking 3 times for it to be mopped during the entire day, we ended up using a towel ourselves as it got ignored. The maids came nearly every day but our towels were only changed once yesterday which seemed a bit pointless as we left v early this morning, could've done with a fresh one earlier in the week.

The pool said heated which it wasn't, but that wasn't a big problem. It's like any pool abroad, once you're in, its fine. The pool area was clean and tidy and there were more than enough sunbeds and space to go round so a plus there! Poolbar was quick to serve and staff were very friendly. On an evening it was quiet in the main bar and even though they had entertainment it was dead most nights, not sure if that's just due to the winter season though. We opted to go out and there are some excellent restaurants up the road :)
One real worry is the lift in the apartments (main bar side) it definitely needs fixing!! The doors don't shut properly and the entire thing seems like it could die at any minute. Sometimes the doors wouldn't open properly & you had to drag them open with yours hands (there were many visible handprints on the doors to suggest it wasn't just a problem for us).

All in all you get what you pay for. If the GP was to be refurbished and modernised it could be fantastic. It needs a bit of TLC (and WiFi!!) and maybe more helpful and friendlier reception staff. Over the years it just seems to have become a bit run down. The location is perfect though and during the day, the pool area is really good. Id suggest this place to people who aren't expecting much for what they pay and are after a basic, cheap place to get away and relax. If you're after anything more than basic I wouldn't bother. We've spoken about returning, but for the fact that its pretty cheap and very central.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bizzleburrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory. We are working to improve the quality of Galeon Playa

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster united
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

had yet another fantastic holiday at the Galeon, got the room we requested via email, again was clean and comfortable, there was 35 of us in our group, and nothing was to much trouble for the staff...Sabastian, from the pool bar, who had to put up with the rable from lancaster ever happy hour, Erika from the hotel bar and most of all Tatyana the animation girl, who was chuffed to bits that we joined in with the activities, and was fantastic with the kids.
All in all this hotel is great value for money, in an ideal location, very close to all the bars and restaurants, if your after something lively Dreams bar is a must, but dont be taken in by the offer of long happy hours to get you in there coz they dont exist, but there are 2 of them.
The bulldog bar is good for a laugh too and the food is very british and plenty of it.
and i would like to suggest La Vida, a bar across the road from the hotel, english owned great entertainment, we had a 60th birthday party there, they put a buffet on for us, and it was very good.
I would definately recommend Costa Teguise, its a lovely family resort, not too noisy and plenty to do .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kazndaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director General at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Customer,

I appreciate your comments of your stay with us and are very pleased to know that has been completely satisfactory.

Thank you for your trust and hope again greet Galleon Beach Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Property: Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Address: Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seafront, between the white sands of beach of beaches Jablillo and Las Cucharas, fully equipped with terrace or balcony and built in the traditional style of Lanzarote. 175 Apartments with a modern decor inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Onthebeach so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing