We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just got back from here and really enjoyed our stay. The complex is easily situated next to the beach and to other local amenities-bars, cafes, shops restaurants etc. The rooms were clean and well kept as were the gardens and swimming pool areas. All staff I met were very friendly and welcoming especially the restaurant staff who really were the nicest people you could hope to meet. The food was a little limited regarding range and variety but what was on offer was always fresh, well cooked and neatly presented.
Regarding the actual resort of Costa Teguise, the resort was a little too windy for me with a very stiff breeze coming across the sea every single day which whipped up the sand on the beach and made it quite unpleasant during sunbathing sessions. Also, there is not a lot to do in the evenings apart from mosey around the gift shops and drop into the odd bar with a vocalist on for the evening. This is really where the Galeon Playa could do with improving by getting on some decent entertainment for guests. Overall an enjoyable stay in a pleasant establishment!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigtenoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello dear BigtenoFan

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Galeon Playa!

We are always glad to know that our guests enjoyed their stay in our complex!

Concerning your recommendations about the animation we will talk to the animator to let her know your sugestions.

Kind regards from all our staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was been painted while we were there so is getting refreshed. Have stayed here twice in last 12mths and will prob return next year. Prefer to stay b&b as the breakfast is ideal for what we need and love to eat out on an evening. Because of its location you have the beach shops and loads of restaurants nearby. The hotel is dated which is why would class it as a budget hotel but the staff are great and cannot do enough for you and will rectify any concerns you have. If you want a clean bed and bathroom at a great price then this ticks the box for me.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheffield-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hello dear Sheffield

Thank you for your comments about us!

W are glad you visites us two times already!!

We hope to see you the 3rd time then!!


Greetings from all the galeon Playa staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

What an amazing wander full time we had at the galeon playa arrived 1st November for some winter sun and was not disappointed 28-30c all week.
Airport
Took taxi to galeon cost €20 which I felt was very fair on arrival we was greeted at reception who had the room I'd requested block 4 room 320 all ready paid €30 for safe but get €20 back when you leave so I saved this for our taxi to airport.
Room
Top floor 2 flights of steps but did get used to that after a day or so, the room was spockless fridge cooker microwave everything u need really 2 sofas and as there was just the two of us we put one on the balcony leading from the living room and put table and 4 chairs on the balcony leading from the bedroom, both balconies looked over the pool and had sea view.the room was cleaned 4 times and fresh towels changed.
The whole complex was cleaned each morning inc pool it was above average to say the least.
Area
Central location great bars which serve breakfast from €2.50 cheap as chips to eat Erik's on the strip was our fav for breakfast we also did the Chinese buffets our option was the Asian restaurant €5 adults was far better than the others there are so many places to eat and so very cheap
Trips
We did the grand tour €45 each inc meal booked with the hut outside galeon was ripped of if you walk to the sea from last minute travel did the same trip €25 euros to late when u have booked ..... But what an amazing day so glad we did it you will not be disappointed but a word of warning opt out of the meal it was dreadful and there is plenty of food stops on the trip
All said and done the galeon is now our favourite place to stay we are a gay female couple aged 40 we really really enjoyed it and £204 each it was a real bargin already booked for two weeks next oct 14 and again cheap as chips £474 for the two of us for two weeks carnt wait

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmliss1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello dear Emmliss1999

We are very happy to know that you and your family liked our complex and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Comments like your make us work harder everyday to make our guest to feel like at home with us!


We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from spending a week in Galeon Playa apartamentos. Our advice, take heed of all the negative comments! Despite the overall positive rating by apparently satisfied customers, we certainly have to agree with the more negative comments which we thought were being made by overly "fussy" tourists.
1.First impressions DO matter. A tired looking reception area does not bode well. 3 star accommodation it may be, but no star value for presentation.
2.Flakey paintwork and "tired" decor we could deal with, but more basic needs i.e. a fridge that works, and the opportunity to boil a kettle and make toast at the same time,(lack of sockets) are not being met. The bedroom, although certainly decent in size, could have benefitted from a decent set of pillows and sheets that you could not see daylight through! To top it all, we had the unwelcome visit from ants in our beds, albeit domestic staff were on hand to do what they could to resolve this issue.
3. All is not negative. During our holiday we enjoyed arranged trips, in particular visiting the beautiful island of La Graciosa. We must give 10/10 credit to the tour company and guides for the well arranged and informative tours. Lanzarote island did not let us down but I do not recommend that you stay at Galeon Playa
4. All things considered, this is a TIRED old holiday venue stuck in the 1970's. If you want (AND ARE PAYING FOR) a quality holiday in Lanzarote, give Galeon Playa a miss. You will only need to walk past the front door to see what I mean is true.

Room Tip: We likened our room (on floor E9) to "cell block H". No view, looking directly over child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, General Manager at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Loraine,
Thank you very much for your feedback, which will help us to improve our service and our facilities. We will try to solve these problems.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were there 3-10 November 2013. I do recommend room 205 in building E1. We had the pleasure to have sun shining on our balcony from 8:30 to 17:00 every day plus the view over the ocean including Arrecife port. Staff was friendly. Room was cleaned 4 times during the week. The apartment had small fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle. We had big living area, bathroom and bedroom so a lot of room. Every day they had a buffet so everyone could find something nice. Everything was just few meters away, shops, pubs, car rental, beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kinga J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello dear KingaJ

Thank you for your nice comments about us!!!! It means that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that s the best reward we can have!

We hope to have you back soon again with us!!!!

Big hug from all our staff!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have just left the galeon playa and have had a very pleasant stay with our children. The one problem for us is that we paid for half board, and whilst the breakfast was fine if you get up early, the dinners were very poor in choice, quality and quantity. We did not finish a single dinner and walked out the first 3 nights eventually reverting to self catering. As a family we are not fussy with food, this hotel can not satisfactorily deliver a half board package and you can eat better quality food for less money at local restaurants. Except for the food issue, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel again as a self catering holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chipps1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello dear Chipps1980

We appreciate your comments about your stay!
We feel sorry that you didn´t like dinner at our buffet. We will have a word with the chef and will tell him your opinion in order to improve the food

Greeting form all our staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

got a really good internet deal for self catering here,rooms very clean,basic accommodation but very comfy,small kitchenette, lounge,bathroom and huge bedroom,the staff are very helpful and the location is ideal, only down point is the chilly pools, but most pools in the canaries are cold, just hold your breathe and go for it,there is a heated one but not that much warmer.
we were a mixed group, some older some with children, but all were accommodated for, little play park for the kids too.
great for families and couples

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALEONPLAYA, Director de Recepción at Apartamentos Galeon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello dear Juliem

Thank for your great comments concerning our complex and the staff, it´s very important to all of us to know that our customers are happy at Galeon Playa!!


Hoping to have you back again soon !

Big hug from all our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.8 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,166 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,997 reviews
1.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#9 of 38 in Costa Teguise
6,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Galeon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Galeon Playa

Address: Avenida Del Jablillo S/N | Costa Teguise - Lanzarote, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £56 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Galeon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seafront, next to the beach Jablillo and a few steps from the beach of Las Cucharas. We are an ideal family resort with 139 apartments and 35 wonderful new Junior Suites. At Galeón Playa, you will enjoy our pool, restaurant, children´s club and other attractions for adults and children. Visit us and enjoy your holidays in Lanzarote with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Galeon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Hotel Costa Teguise
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Costa Teguise
Galeon Playa Lanzarote
Apartamentos Galeon Playa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing