We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vitalclass Hotel, Costa Teguise Lanzarote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Just back from a "Winter" holiday at this Hotel, first week January. (Weather was perfect). A very good hotel which is away from the hustle and bustle of the resort centre, Costa Teguise. Fairly quiet location although a little bit of traffic noise, which was not intrusive. The suite we had (Junior suite) was fantastic, very spacious and well laid out - like a self contained one bedroom apartment. Request one on the upper level (2nd floor) if you can, the views are excellent.
The staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it was Reception (all multi-lingual), Restaurant or Cleaning - all this really makes your holiday special.
The food was very good quality and plentiful but I would advise against going full-board. This is the first Euro holiday at which I haven't suffered some form of food poisoning, which says a lot about the hotel hygiene which was excellent. Breakfast was the best meal of the day, lunch and dinner were a bit too similar/repetitive. The "waiter/customer ratio" is not the best but you don't notice it as they all fly around the restaurant like they are skates!.
There are any number of good priced eateries on the Resort and the atmosphere around there is very good. Beer/wine is dirt cheap and fair quality.
The facilities at the Hotel are good but you have to pay each time to use the indoor pool/spa/gymnasium.
Recommend the hotel if you like walking a bit. Plenty of shops within 1Km and the main resort/beach is 2Km away but it's worth the walk, we did it every morning - fabulous seafront and great shops/restaurants/cafes. Sunrise very spectacular every morning.

Room Tip: Junior suite - definitely. Upper level
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
There are newer reviews for Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

We have just returned from our two weeks at this excellent hotel. We had one of the best holidays ever.
The staff were friendly and helpful in the extreme. The rooms were very well maintained and particularly spacious. We especially enjoyed having our own kitchen for making tea and coffee. The food was some of the best we have ever tasted and there was plenty of it!
The grounds were well laid out and it was a very peaceful place . We slept very well in comfortable beds and in a quiet and safe environment.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up had the sunshine for longer in the day.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed here for a holiday before Christmas. We were impressed with the size of the rooms and the beds were so comfortable. I tried the massage chair but it made so much noise I didn't use it again as it might have disturbed the other guests. We had a problem with some workmen who were working down a manhole just outside our room. They started early and finished late and it was extremely noisy with the drilling that they were doing so we asked to be moved. The hotel manager offered us the best room in the hotel. It was on the top floor , with a large terrrace with sunbeds on it.

The food was grea\t with meat, fish and pasta cooked to order, just how you liked it. There was plenty of selection to choose from.The staff were friendly and helpful. We had chosen this hotel as we didn't want any evening entertainment.

We went to the gym for pilates classes and it was good fun with the instructor teaching the class in Spanish and English. We went into the spa one afternoon intending to have a swim but it was full of local children having swimming lessons so afternoons are best avoided.

We hired a car for a week and were able to go out walking every day in different places in Lanzarote.

We thought it was a super place and next time we come back to Lanzarote we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afaj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed as a couple for 9 days until Christmas Eve 2012 & liked the resort especially the resort's centre which has a good atmosphere, with plenty of restaurants, pubs, shops & several beaches close by. Costa Teguise is conveniently close to the airport, also not far from the Sunday market in Teguise & other nice resorts like Playa Honda & Puerto Del Carmen. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel where the staff are all generally friendly & helpful, the food above average with a good selection on offer. It was also a nice experience to have the meat, pasta, omelette, etc cooked personally for you, although you have to remember to tell the chef if you don't want too much salt or prefer your meat well done. The hotel is quite near shops (next road but one) & the beach (past the shops) but a little further from the main centre of the resort, probably a good 25 minutes to walk. We have a junior suite (room 3206) which was spacious, clean & very comfortable. Our stay was unfortunately marred by the lack of hot water in our room from day two of our stay. We asked for a different room which the young evening receptionist was happy to oblige but when we checked the room beforehand, we found the room had no water. We were then told supply had been turned off for repairs. So we waited till morning & was told by the more mature receptionist that the problem was caused by the water company. So we went out for the day in the full expectation that the water supply problem would be fixed by the time of our return. We returned to the hotel in the afternoon & the same receptionist was still on duty. When I asked her for an update, she shrugged her shoulders & said no more guests have complained so it must be alright! We soon found this not to be the case when we returned to our room. I went straight back to reception to complain. A senior colleague in marketing called Pedro visited us in our room together with the repairman armed with a thermometer to check the water! We were told the thermometer confirmed the water is not very hot but at an acceptable 31 degrees & that the hotel is waiting for a part from Barcelona which would take 5 days to arrive but would I accept 3 days' free admission to the sauna as compensation! I said no because it's a little chilly in the morning & evening for my other half! And after talking to several other guests I soon found out others don't have the problem we have. In fact one German couple said they found the water too hot! Having gathered my facts, I complained one last time & to his credit this time, Pedro found us a new Junior Suite (room 5103) which is slightly smaller but had plenty of hot water. However, on our first night when we got up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, we found the water supply turned off & I had to use bottled water to wash my hands! And my sleepy head suddenly remembered hearing a funny whistling noise or an alarm just before bedtime which appears to have some connection with the supply being turned off. I rang the reception about it at 6.30am & it seemed she had already been alerted by other guests. By 7am the water supply had been restored & for the rest of our stay, we did not have any more problems, thank God! We did accept vouchers for 3 days' free admission to the sauna as compensation for the gross inconvenience & for emailing our travel agent from whom we received an automated response although we heard from the hotel they did receive communication from our agent pointing out the legal minimum for hot water to be 70 degrees. We are also grateful to Pedro for going the extra mile in helping us out (we believe the hotel was quite full). We did meet another German couple during dinner one evening who stayed in Room 3106, i.e. directly below the room which gave us problems - we were told by the wife that after staying there for 3 nights, she caught a cold & had to go & see a doctor! Our advice is that if you have a problem be persistent & don't be put off by excuses. And be very worried if the repairman turned up in your room with a thermometer! I'm glad we didn't fall out with the hotel management over the niggling issue of hot water because overall we did enjoy our stay even though there doesn't appear to be any entertainment in the evenings at this hotel.

Room Tip: We believe Blocks 4,5 & 6 (i.e. room nos starting with 4, 5 & 6) are least likely to have ho...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minnie-n-jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Our original priorities when choosing a hotel in Costa Teguise were to get somewhere with a decent choice of food; some facilities for exercise (pool/gym); pleasant surroundings within walking distance of entertainment; and preferably no issues with sunbeds being reserved in the middle of the night! With hindsight the hotel managed to meet all the criteria although the walk to nearby restaurants and bars is probably a little further than ideal for some.

The Vitalclass is on the outer edge of the town in a mainly residential area. We had hired a car as part of our package and found our way to the place from the airport without too much trouble despite road works going on to extend the bypass around Arrecife. There is parking by the side of the hotel however with no obvious access to the buildings from there most guests, ourselves included, just parked by the roadside in front for convenience. During our two week stay we had no problems either getting a space or with security.

This is the former “Hotel Las Marinas” and has been under new management (and name) for 12 to 18 months at time of writing. All of the staff we spoke to had been taken on in the past 6 months or so and therefore all that remains of the previous business are fixtures and fittings - and the towels bearing its name!

Overall it’s a spacious, attractive hotel with nice grounds, pleasant staff, best suited for a quiet getaway. There was a real mix of European nationals, including Spaniards and the restaurant manager could converse in English, French as well of course in Spanish. Although there were some children, who were well behaved and provided their own entertainment, it was a mainly adult guests.

Wi-fi was an additional cost if extended for use in the apartment however within the reception area it was free to use for a few hours per day which we found fine for our purposes. Bike hire was available.

Our “junior suite” (#6205) was located in block 6 on the top (or second) floor and was possibly larger than some of the room types available. We had requested an upper floor to hopefully get a view but hadn’t considered that the only lift would be a service one. As my wife was doing physio to recover from a knee operation the additional task of walking up and down stairs was possibly beneficial! Carrying the cases was my post flight exercise…and not so beneficial in my view. We had rain showers on a few occasions during our stay and the tiled stairs and walkways were quite slippy so in these circumstances be aware.

The apartment consisted of a spacious living room, a narrow kitchen, large bathroom, reasonable sized bedroom and a large balcony which easily accommodated a patio table and four chairs. There was plenty of room for sunbeds on the balcony however ours didn’t have any (whilst some other apartments did have as part of the outside furnishings). It was on a corner site and did have a good view towards the sea front a couple of blocks away and over the poolside and hills in the distance. There is an unfinished low-rise hotel/apartment block across the street but work appears to have ceased some time ago.

The furnishings in the apartment were functional rather than luxurious. Having stretched out on the settee in the living room I wouldn’t say it would have been overly comfortable to sleep on as the extra bed. There was also a “massage” recliner chair in the living room which managed to vibrate noisily by remote control so limited our use (the guests down below must have imagined we had a pneumatic drill). There was also a dining table and chairs in the living area and a sideboard with flat screen television and DVD player. You would need to take your own DVDs if looking to use the latter as the hotel doesn’t offer any and it could be a consideration for quiet nights in - the television only has two English speaking news channels. The remote control to change channels is subject to a small deposit, as are the sunbed towels.

The kitchen had basics - fridge, hob, sink and some crockery and utensils. We didn’t use it for self-catering but noticed there was a slight aroma in there all the time - we’re not sure if it was the drains.

The bedroom had two fairly comfortable single beds pushed together, plenty of built-in wardrobe space, chest of drawers and a small flat screen television. Inside the wardrobe there was a safe which cost 35 euros to hire for the two week stay. The bedroom also had a ceiling fan which we used in combination with the air conditioning to try and maintain a comfortable temperature at night for sleeping. Although the aircon created a background noise it wasn’t too bad and was fairly essential in our experience. The electrics are all operated by the room key card so it’s best to have two cards if you want to keep the fridge and aircon operating in your absence.

The shower unit was a large fixture at the end of the bath which could be switched between a standard overhead spray, a separate handheld spray or body massage jets for the adventurous - depending on your height! It was effective in any mode and despite best efforts usually flooded the bathroom floor. We always managed to get plenty of hot water when required and fresh towels on request.

For our stay we received two Spa vouchers which entitled both of us to two free sessions in the sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish baths, etc BUT NOT access to the indoor pool or gym which were 5 euros each, per person, per session. We only used the spa once - the facilities were ok - and we also enjoyed a shoulder and back massage (30 euros per person). After loads of walking whilst sightseeing it transpires that we were able to give the indoor pool and gym a miss.

There are three outdoor pools - one shallow for children, one small circular one and the larger has a gently sloping shelf to walk in and introduce yourself slowly to the cool water. None of them is designed with much swimming in mind - more a place to cool off. As mentioned by others there is “chill” music to accompany the chilly water and this is played on a loop all day at the poolside at too loud a volume to be comfortable. I found I could hear the “background” music even when I had my iPod plugged in and distracting enough to induce “same line reading” syndrome with books. It possibly explained why the poolside was seldom busy during the day and there was never an issue getting a sunbed. Even the three, almost resident cats which patrolled the grounds disappeared.

We were half-board and had many breakfasts and evening meals during our stay, the large majority of which were enjoyable. The hotel restaurant is nicely designed and doesn’t have the feel of some self-serve places which can be noisy and congested. The waiters were all very friendly and professional in our experience taking drinks orders and clearing/setting tables. Many guests chose to dine outside on the hotter evenings or mornings and staff were quick to respond to demand by setting table covers and cutlery as required.

Although there was a good selection of salads and pre-prepared dishes an attractive alternative was for guests to have their food cooked to order at a section next to the kitchens. In the evening there was always a variety of meat and fish and a very popular pasta option (one of the chefs would put together your choice of ingredients to produce tasty meals). At breakfast you could similarly order an omelette. The staff were happy to oblige and although a small queue could form on occasions you would seldom wait long to be served. We had a snack a few times at lunchtime when we stayed at the poolside during the day and these were satisfactory. Once a week a gala dinner was held which involved some additional choices (e.g. very tasty duck) and a large selection of desserts which on other days could be a bit in short supply.

The hotel had a good selection of Spanish wines although during our stay none of this was the local Lanzarote varieties (we tasted some nice ones when visiting the island wineries or when having meals outside the hotel ). We opted to just charge wine, drinks and lunches to our room and paid for this at check-out. There was no option to add a gratuity in recognition of the service provided so if you feel inclined it’s best to just tip the staff in cash as you go along or at your final evening meal (although tips were not sought by the staff in our experience).

The bar/disco in the hotel was huge but not used by many guests. We frequently had after dinner drinks there - it was not expensive - and often had to attract the attention of one of the staff to come and serve us (and others on one occasion!). Most people either retired to their apartments or went elsewhere after dinner. There was no entertainment in the hotel except background music in the bar and a violinist played at the gala evening (in between her untimely breaks). This hotel is not a place for anything other than relaxing - although you could join the local Zumba class in the disco on some days and during our visit a Dutch team of women triathletes were training so not much rest for them!

The locality is quiet and we found it safe to walk the 10-15 minutes or so to some bars or 20-25 minutes to the town centre for a bit of life at night sometimes. Some of the open ground in the direction of the sea has been landscaped but we only used this route by day. One of the walking routes to follow around the town also passes nearby - we travelled it one afternoon but it’s very long, disjointed, dusty and not particularly scenic. All the paths are volcanic ash which finds its way into open sandals easily so wear the closed variety.

There is lots to see on the island and we used the hire car most days to get out and explore the place from our convenient base. Without this option we would have gone stir crazy after two weeks at this location.

Room Tip: Blocks 2 and 3, closer to the spa, appeared to have least outlook
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

A superb hotel in everyway, by far the best we have been to in Lanzarote. Our suite comprised of 4 large rooms all nicely furnished and extremely well equiped. The hotel is on the outskirts of Costa Teguise, but as we were using this a a base for a hiking holiday it did't bother us at all. The nearest bars and Restaurants are approximately 10 minutes away. We normally prefer to eat out but decided to try half board as we were only staying here for 3 days. The food was of a good standard with a wide variety, but as is the case in most Hotels the restaurant lacked atmosphere. Drinks were also very reasonable with a decent bottle of Rioja costing only 9 euros, less than in most of the local restaurants.
The only negatives were that there were no sun loungers on the individual terraces, only table and chairs, and the dreadful chillout music that was played fulltime by the pool and could be heard on your own terrace.

Overall a highly recommended hotel to which we will return, but probably on a self -catering basis.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the communal walkways
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This hotel is just excellent in every way... excellent in its spacious accommodation... excellent in its friendly helpful staff... excellent in its superb food. It provides a perfect child-free environment in which to relax and recharge your batteries. THANKS, John and Jacob

Room Tip: We had a top floor junior suite with fabulous views of the sunrise over the sea.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riversmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
Blue Sea Costa Bastian
#29 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#20 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,774 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort

Address: Avenida Palmeras no 15, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Teguise
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vitalclass Lanzarote is a newly remodeled and retrofitted Resort with the latest technology, is fully oriented Sport, Health, Beauty and Wellness. It is unique in the island, offers the possibility to prepare for competitions both high performance and subsequent recovery or simply to enjoy a different vacation. The location is unbeatable, as good weather prevails throughout the year.In addition, Vitalclass Lanzarote has aspring climate all year round, that becomes a big advantage against other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Idiso Digital, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport And Wellnes Resort
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellnes Hotel Costa Teguise
Las Marinas Hotel
Las Marinas Club Resort Lanzarote
Marinas Club Lanzarote
Vitalclass Lanzarote Sport & Wellness Resort Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing