We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Palacial Villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Palacial

Villa Palacial
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Palacial
The beautiful pool, with a quick glimpse of the stunning surrounding gardens Large twin bedroom, wall mounted TV, dvd player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Villa Palacial
The beautiful pool, with a quick glimpse of the stunning surrounding gardens
Large twin bedroom, wall mounted TV, dvd player
Master bedroom has wall mounted TV and AC and more
Another of the upstairs double bedrooms equipped with mounted TV, sofa and patio doors.
Walkway round Villa from main entrance
Relax under the Pergola
View from upstairs bedroom of pergola area
More walkway around the villa with the beautiful surrounding gardens!
Arched entrance to main villa, with some of the mountain views. Serene, peaceful and so private...
The Canarian BBQ - enjoy grilling and having a few drinks around the pool!
Side of villa and part of garden
More pictures which depic the size and privacy of the villa
The pool at night - lit up with the beautiful wall lights and surrounding pool lights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
adelestee...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly Palacial Villa”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed here in November and will be staying again in the future as this villa is truly palacial. It's endless character and charm throughout really made me feel a world away from day to day city life and was much needed.

I particularly loved the chef's kitchen with the fabulous stove, great for cooking family meals. In November it is still lovely and warm so we were able to swim in the good sized pool for a villa. The entire property is very secure and private so we felt very safe and were very happy that we were not overlooked.

It is located in a very ideal spot as the Las Cucharas beach was just 5 minutes in the car or a 15 minutes walk. Our local shop was also only about a 7 minute walk down the road.

I will say, the pictures do not do full justice for this beautiful and extremely spacious villa. This made it an even more lovely surprise when we opened the door to find this true gem that I can't wait to visit again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thanks ever so much for the nice feedback Adele, you are not the first to say the pictures don't do the place justice. Maybe we will do a video, on the other hand because of it's sheer size a picture or video may never really fully capture everything about the villa. Thanks iagain and I would love to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, Chris! Beckham mansion?? I like that! Noted regarding the keys and would definitely love to accommodate you and your family again! Emmanuel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SAH1958
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Disappointing and did not match the hype”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We arrived quite late at night for our family week in the autumn sun looking forward to the promised 5 star villa experience. We are experienced renters of good quality villas in France, Spain and Portugal over the past ten years. This year we experienced the biggest gap between what we thought we were getting (see TripAdvisor overview) and reality.

The villa is large and impressive in design with lots of space. It is in a residential area but faces on to an apparently abandoned building site. Several of the properties in the development are unfinished and there was regular building work being done noisily during our stay. There is a neighbouring cockerel which starts at between 5 and 6 am every morning and guard dogs in adjacent properties which bark incessantly in the early morning (every day) for about an hour until they are fed. It is not quiet. The sea is visible in the distance over the adjacent buildings and the town in the distance. It is a pleasant but not a stunning view.
Outside the villa the space is impressive if a little impractical. The BBQ was obstructed by a tree and not user friendly being some distance from the kitchen and prone to the Lanzarote wind. The pool was excellent with regard to size and heating but accessibility is not good even for those who were fit – it is definitely not small child or non-swimmer friendly. Two of the pool deckchairs had broken back rests. There was a long term leak from the upstairs bathroom shower through wall onto patio.

The inside of the villa has obviously been fitted out to a high specification in the past. The current reality is somewhat faded. The glasses and cutlery were grubby and had to be cleaned before use. The corners and edges of all the rooms had a thick layer of dust. We found the modern ‘Chefs kitchen’ to be difficult to work with from our arrival. The Dishwasher upper tray was broken – it fell out the first time we loaded it breaking a glass. The Fridge / freezer leaked. This was a long term problem identified by several previous occupants in the guest comments book from earlier in the summer. The Oven only worked when all other electrical appliances were off rendering it of little practical use. The gas Hob worked well but when my daughter fried some bacon (with windows open) the fire alarm went off - we had no instruction about turning this off and had to remove batteries to silence the alarm. The Kitchen window hinge onto patio was broken. This appeared to be a long term issue. Given the kitchen problems we elected not to cook and ate out more frequently than had been our intention.
The bedrooms were satisfactory but the bathrooms were problematic and certainly not the ‘luxury’ described in the advertising. The downstairs bathroom shower would not produce hot water reducing us to one shower for 5 in the upstairs bathroom. The upstairs bathroom had a partially blocked sink on arrival. This had also been identified in previous guest comments. The upstairs shower was mouldy at the edges. The Tripadvisor overview recommends the ‘roomy and impressive bath’ but we were expressly forbidden to use this by the owner.
‘The wonderful and beautifully lit lounge’ was very large and spacious but approximately half the bulbs in the huge chandelier were not working leaving the room so dim that it was not possible to comfortably read in the evenings. This issue had also been identified by previous guests. Several other light bulbs throughout the property were also not working.
There was no welcome pack on arrival as advertised. We were provided with only one tea towel and the bath towels were of poor quality.
Many of these issues in themselves are relatively small but when combined they resulted in a villa experience very far short of that which we were led to believe we were going to get from both TripAdvisor and Owners Direct

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks for renting with us and many thanks for the feedback provided.

In the past 3 years renting out this villa, 90% of the reviews we have received have been 4 and 5 * rated (with 60% rated at 5*). Only 2 have been rated less than 4 stars, with one 3 star rating 18 months ago, and now your 2* rating. However, we appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually improve the villa, where we can come day have a 99% 5* average rating from all of our guests. For example, we’ve just had a 5* review from a Chris McGurk who stayed there a couple weeks after you had left the villa, and he and the two families he was with absolutely loved the villa!! However, as with anything in life there will always be the odd one who for whatever reason will not be happy, though this doesn’t mean we don’t take your points seriously.

A few issues I need to highlight that you raised which i need to comment on:

'apparently abandoned building site'

not the case - there is land across the road from the house that was designated for a Golf and sports complex which wasn’t passed - so its just, land.

'There is a neighbouring cockerel which starts at between 5 and 6 am every morning and guard dogs in adjacent properties which bark incessantly in the early morning (every day) for about an hour until they are fed.’

We’ve never had any feedback on the village cockerel from guests, possibly because theres not much we can do about it. Regarding the dog next door, a local Spanish family lives next door and that is their family dog, and definitely not a guard dog! All guests are notified of the next door neighbours dog in the welcome pack.

‘..we had no instruction about turning this off and had to remove batteries to silence the alarm'

Out of the hundreds of guests that have stayed at our villa, it seems like you are the only person to have set off the fire alarm! Unfortunately, there isn’t much we can do there.

'BBQ was obstructed by a tree and not user friendly’

all the guests that have used and loved the bbq actually have never mentioned anything about a tree obstructing them. In fact, FOR FUTURE GUESTS please see the picture of the bbq on the website.

'It is a pleasant but not a stunning view’

Other guests have found the views from the villa ‘stunning'. so thats the word we have used. If most had used the word, 'pleasant' like yourself, maybe we would go with that.

'and prone to the Lanzarote wind'

wind is something that is out of our control.

'The downstairs bathroom shower would not produce hot water..'

It worked well for people who stayed immediately before and after you stayed at the villa, Ill double check this with the villa manager, although Im thinking you could maybe have done with shower instructions. I will look into that..

'Two of the pool deckchairs had broken back rests. There was a long term leak from the upstairs bathroom shower through wall onto patio.’

There are 14 pool deckchairs at the Villa, we will replace the 2 faulty chairs however there were still more than enough chairs for yourself and family to use. Re the leak: The villa manager has informed me there is no such leak - however rest assured that if this is found it will be immediately rectified.

'glasses and cutlery were grubby and had to be cleaned before use. The corners and edges of all the rooms had a thick layer of dust.'

Prior to any guest arriving we have a fantastic cleaning company who I have seen firsthand spend nearly a day making sure the villa is immaculate. In the years we have rented out this villa we have never heard this feedback and we are delighted with the work they do. However, I have passed on your concerns to villa management.

All of these ‘relatively small issues’ as you admitted yourself we have passed on to villa management in a form of quality check. If they exist they will be rectified immediately, as I said at the start we see this as a 5* Villa and would like the average rating to be 99% 5*, to do this we need every single guest to absolutely love their stay at Villa Palacial, and we will continue to work hard to make the villa an amazing experience!

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thanks ever so much for your feedback Mal. I'm delighted your family were able to enjoy the villa. Yes the pictures are a touch dated and we will be updating them in due course! Thanks again, Kind Regards, Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seb W
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pleasant very spacious well appointed villa”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a very pleasant family stay over Christmas with young children in a large group of 9. The Villa is very large, with well maintained gardens and plenty of outdoor space. Located two minutes drive to the pleasant Playa Bastia and within easy reach of all the islands attractions. Having Wifi included would be a welcome improvement. The communication with Alex the villa owner was excellent, who made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. I would certainly recommend Villa Palacial.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks ever so much for your review. We have now added wifi to the villa! Hopefully we will be able to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Emmanuel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keren B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa was amazing . Very large and plenty of room . The outside area and pool was lovely. Large pool what the kids loved. Very private and quiet. Everything you needed in the villa . Kitchen well equipped and had everything you could ask for. Only thing I would say needs changing is the electric is a pain and goes off every morning when he pool pump kicks in and we couldn't use the freezer as was faulty and tripped electric all the time. Also the outside table was very dark at night as no lights . Tip: we used our phone torches and placed above the table on the slats overhead.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
It was a delight to have you and family book our villa for a holiday. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for your comments which I think other potential guests will find useful and helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing villa”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

huge villa superb pool total privacy really enjoyed it must say was hard to sleep noisy dog next door barking all night besides that was superb would benefit from having wifi and a proper skybox

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space and the amazing pool
Liked least: Next door neighbours dogs barking all night every night
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you for staying with us and choosing to stay at La Casa Palaciega. Thrilled that you were able to enjoy the privacy the villa has to offer, happy you also enjoyed the pool!! Its been difficult to obtain wifi in Lanzarote (we have been trying since 2014), however the villa manager has now taken this on as a matter of importance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing