We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing holiday”
Review of smartline Ficus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
smartline Ficus
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smashing holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned 1st Aug 2013 from a two week stay here at the ficus. Do not have one bad word to say about the hotel or the entertainment team. We were a family of 4 with younger children and Ainsley and Lindsey bent over backwards to include them. Was always on hand for a chat and even came round serving Sangria! They included everyone on our holiday during the evening in the piano bar. The bad comments are unfair as no one tied them to stay in and see the entertainment, plenty of lovely bars on the island.
We had our room cleaned every other day with clean towels and replenishments. The food was edible, always something to be able to eat at every meal. Kids loved the choice of foods for them. Unlimited ice cream cones and a pool bar plus food during the afternoon served in the afternoon restaurant. You would or could not go hungry here.
So what the toilet doors were vandalised, added character to the place. Perhaps the moaners should think the people writing on the doors were in the wrong to do such a thing in the first place??? Obviously no respect!
Every member of staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. It is a three star rated hotel and offers what you need. The complainers must have champagne ideas and lemonade money as you get what you pay for!!!!! If you want luxury then go for a better star!!! Their comments are harsh and unfair. After all the holiday can only be how you make it yourself.
I did find that the Scottish were cheeky and putting plastic cups in the pool table so they didn't need to keep paying. Quite cheeky in my opinion as no one else would get a turn unless you were in their large group!!!
You do have to be up early for a sun bed , they are released at 9am and your be lucky to get one if you are not in the line up!!!!
There was a life guard on duty everyday which was an added bonus too. Their were 2 resident cats a black one and a white, ginger one. These had kittens so these were there too but they were well cared for by the hotel and fed often. The cats keep the pests away!
All in all we had a lovely stay and would go again. Having been to Los Zocus this was far better. If you want food poisoning Zocus is the place to book along with loud mouthed drunks!! Ficus is a family friendly hotel. The music was switched off at 11:30pm however this because of the neighbouring guest rooms. We had one of the new ones next to the piano bar and the music was heard in the rooms but as it went of at half eleven it did not faze us. After all we were on holiday!

Las Characus beach is the main beach from the hotel but if you follow it round past the Irish bars and keep going you come to the most beautiful cove. Lovely clear waters and colourful fish. Cactus Jacks is open for the early hours and we enjoyed our time there with free wifi and plenty of free shots during the games and shows.

Don't be put of it really is not that bad. Thanks to the ficus, Ainsley and Lindsey we had a smashing holiday and are sad it went to quick and it's over.

Room Tip: The blocks nearer the restaurant seem to be the refurbished ones, however the older ones are just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess Appear... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    749
    403
    161
    119
See reviews for
753
763
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

It can basically be gauranteed that no matter where you go there will be complaints.i do believe however no matter where i have been the complainers have not the manners of a pig it is the reason why you feel you are disrespected because the staff believe you are disrespecting them.manners cost nothing

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I'll be honest, there are improvements to be made and its not perfect but we went in April this year and really enjoyed it. Firstly, the hotel overall. It was a nice place, the room was spacious and clean, the maids were lovely and did a good job. The rooms need a little TLC but they in the process of doing it. The reception had everything you need & the staff friendly. One thing I would say is they should give you better directions to your room or block has even though we didn't have an issue finding ours, new guests did. The pool was gorgeous, but cold but I was still in it when we had a cloudy day. Food was lovely, lots of choice even for my picky, veggie fiancé even though she did find a bone in her fish. The entertainment, something that should be looked at. Most nights it was bingo and quizzes or half the time they changed the line up, not much for children. The good bit was the reptile and bird shows that came on different nights, pictures expensive & you can't take your own. Near the end of the holiday we had some noisy families making pool side relaxation difficult but that isn't the hotels fault. The sun beds need replacing! Give me neck cramp but a pillow or inflatable will do fine! The zoo & the market was amazing and value for money! Go with the hotel to the Teguise market, best price! The drinks at the hotel were good and overall we loved our holiday but the area was too quiet & after visiting (can't spell it) puerta del carmen we knew we prefer that busy, vibrant area! Tourists shops are everywhere and loads of restaurants near the beach, try lots of them, the Mexican is the best and the beach is lovely but when we went it was under refurbishment when we went. We had good weather but be warned that the winds often blow over cloud, for 2 days we had cloud, the rest of the week was a heat wave! Not too far from the main area, 10 minute walk and ignore bad reviews everyone is different, a holiday is what you make it! It was our first together & we had little faults! Thomas cook reps need improvement however.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Myself and my partner started at the Ficus from 25 th June 2013 for 7 Days. Thank god it wasnt for 14 nights as we had originally planned! Firstly we stayed in a "newly modernised room". This was a joke from the start. The room had no safe. We were told that the safe was being fitted the following day, only when the following day came we were then told that a safe would not be fitted as they were still on order. Therefore we were forced to carry all of our personal belongings( jewellery, passports, cash etc) around with us the whole holiday. The patio door didn't lock properly, and after several complaints about this( as we were on the ground floor, right next to the "so called entertainment bar") , we was offered another room in the older part of the hotel. On viewing this older room we discovered that he shower didn't work, they was a massive crack in the bath, and this patio door wouldn't lock either ( this room was also on the ground floor). We declined this offer and felt forced to stay where we were, as we were told no other rooms were available . The food was cold , limited choice and very repetitive over the 7 days. If you like chips for the whole week, and meat with tons of fat on for example, you will be fine. Breakfast on the other hand was a special treat. As our room was directly opposite the "restaurant" we could see them getting the food ready. The breakfast went underneath the heat lamps at 6am when it was not served until 8am, sometimes even before this. And none of the food was covered. Obviously they don't know the meaning of food hygiene standards. The endless swarm of cockroaches in the room was awful. We complained numerous if times about this, even finding them in our wardrobes, within our clothes, and even in our suitcases when we went to pack, to go back home. Again nothing as done. This was perhaps due to the fact that a good proportion of the staff did not speak English or if they did it was very limited. My partner had to go down to the reception and ask for clean towels after the 3rd day as the towels and beds had not been changed./ made. After the 4th day again we had to go down to the reception to ask if our sink could be cleaned as there was a ring of soap scum around the bowl that had been there since our first day. Myself and partner travel abroad alot and this is the first negative review I've ever felt the need to write. So much so that after a full complaint to our rep, ( while in resort) and to our local travel firm at home, we received a voucher with some cash off our next holiday from Cosmos. There is also extensive building work being carried out to this hotel ( and the noise of the workmen can be heard ). Defiantly would not recommend anybody to stay here. Very disappointed . So much so that we r planning another holiday in Sept of this year, as we just didn't feel as though we had one at the Ficus.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markdavies1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa Teguise hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the ficus between the 26th of june until the 6th of july and the reviews made me nervous about staying however we got there and it was fine!, food was good they had lots of choice for everyone, as a veggie the food can get alittle repetitive but I was greatfull their was veggie food available, chinease night was the best!. Poolside was great lots of sunbeds and they cleaned the pool and surrounding areas everyday overall very clean. We had a room on the top floor (third floor) that was cleaned if not everyday every other, the cleaner was lovely, we had lots of fresh towels over our stay. If I could be slightly picky its that you have to drag your suitcases up the flights of stairs but that is the only downside. There were around 7 cats that roamed the ficus which made me nervous as I hate seeing animals go hungry however I was told the left over food goes in a bin for the cats to eat which made me feel better, the hotel doesn't seem to mind you feeding the cats aslong as you clean the leftovers up. The enertainers did a good job with games ect and are very friendly. Lovely hotel overall and I would definitely stay again! I dont know what some people expect for a 3 star you get what you pay for and I thought it was worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I see poor reviews on this place, but I cannot help but feel sorry for the ficus!!! If you spend approx £700 for two adults for all inclusive, what do you expect?!!! I think some people expect 5 star quality, and solid gold toilets for £700, when infact they cannot afford to go anywhere better! So why complain? Anyway, the apartment was big and clean. Not a bad location and it is worth the all inclusive price for drink and breakfast alone

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lloydylloydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have just come back from a week in the ficus Lanzarote, I had read some reviews the night before flying there and was very apprehensive to say the least. however we went with a positive attitude, it was a week in the sun. And if I totally honest it was not a bad as I expected , the reception staff were helpful and friendly and offered us a choice of rooms. yeah the sun beds didn't change position, so take a pillow with you, yep graffiti in the toilets, its something to read while in there haha. we were in one of the un-modernized apartments, agree a bit dated but spacious and a nice sized sunny balcony, the towels and sheets were clean and changed regularly and the water was hot. with regards to the food, great choice and proper meat, no complaints there at all, all fresh and hot. Drinks however another matter, cheap local spirits, not nice but free as all inclusive. The entertainment was a bit disappointing but the reps did there best and were friendly. All in all we had a lovely holiday, would I go back? probably not, but would I say don't go?, no definitely not, you get what you pay for and its a 3* hotel so go with an open mind and enjoy yourselves

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolh2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#6 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,034 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Ficus

Property: smartline Ficus
Address: C. Hervideros 8-10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your smartline Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote
Smartline Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing