We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for the money”
Review of smartline Ficus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Ficus
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hi. We have just spent a all inclusive weeks holiday. The complex was clean with extremely helpful and friendly staff. The room was ample in size which had just been refurbished, it was clean and very tidy. The beds were abit on the firm side but I got used to it. The food was very good with a plenty of variety, Drinks are good as well. The entertainment was good, Liam & Kim did a fantastic job.We cannot fault it all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well what can I say! From the minute we got their a real top quality time.What do people expect!!!! The renovation the hotel is receiving is great. We meet some fantastic friends for life while on this holiday . the food was good , there,s no one more fussy than my husband and he managed to eat well. Family members of the entertainment team paid for the wristband and well deserved to win the bingo , well done! , just wish we could have done it a day sooner before we went home . they say you save the best till last you did Thomas cook proud your entertainment team liam and Kim are second to none, we will be back!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank paula136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from these AI apartments. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and cleanliness in general very good. Room was a good size and bed comfortable and had everything you needed but traffic was noisy. Animation team were all very good at their job. Food was what I would expect from a 3 star accommodation. I am a fussy eater and never went hungry.

There is a Spar shop nearby for any additional toiletries. Price of toiletries very good and not worth taking with you as part of your luggage allowance although sun products seemed expensive. In all an enjoyable holiday.

Do make an effort to walk the coastal path.

Basic Wi-Fi available in reception. If you want to use in your room there is a E19 charge peer week..

Room Tip: Block 3 Room 3305 gives a good sea view but you need to climb stairs as is top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterboroughSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Absolutely fantastic holiday. Rooms spacious and clean! Food, varied and loads of choice although vegetarians or vegans might struggle. Alcohol excellent, wine tasty and loved the mid day cocktails. Surprised to see people moan on here! Kim and Liam brilliant hosts, loved the bingo. As for their family members playing, who cares?! They were totally open that their members were on complex. As for the quizzes, people spent their time asking others for answers so what does it matter. Kim and Liam made this holiday, great reps and credit to Thomas Cook. Will hopefully return one day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Mairead A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I booked 15th may 2014 for a week.
Transfer and check in was quick and pleasant, room was clean and adequate, unfortunately we had to be moved from our room due to insects and cockroaches invading our room at night.
Be aware that you have to hire and pay a deposit for a kettle, hairdryer and remote control for the tv.
Kitchen area has a fridge and Hob but no cutlery supplied, think you have to hire this too.
There is no air conditioning but saying that it is cooler at night so we didnt feel the need for it anyway.
The food was good and we always found something we could eat, we did eat out too though and found some really good restaurants outwith the complex.
Now we did have one major complaint :- Kim and liam organise Snowball Bingo every afternoon at 14.30pm it costs 5 euros for a strip so we played for 5 days total cost of 50 euros.
Bingo is also played in the evening. Family related to one of the entertainment team (who were not staying at the Ficus) won the snowball bingo( 940 euros) and also won the bingo and quizzes in the evenings. They may have won in excess of 1250 euros throughout the week.
All guests were outraged it was a pure CON.
Beware and watch for family of reps and entertainment team not staying at the ficus but allowed to play the bingo and enter the quizzes claiming the prizes and hoping no-one will notice. Shame on you Thomas Cook family member should not be allowed to participate in Bingo or Quizzes. Infact if the family members had any scrooples at all they would NOT have played the bingo at all.
All in all we had a great week but that was probibly due to the company we met.

Room Tip: Its a gamble either way you might get ants and cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Oh dear, Mrsmclaren is writing another review, looks like it's probably going to be a long one so grab a brew and put your feet up whilst you read.
Ok so you're looking at holidays.... maybe you've already booked and want to know what other people thought (probably a bit silly when you could have checked before you booked) but you cant really be bothered reading through a load of moany reviews from people with 5* expectations on a 2* budget.
Well this is not one of those reviews - I came back from the Ficus a few days ago with my husband and our 3 year old son, we're not stuck-up or snobs or however you'd like to describe a "certain type" of person - we just wanted somewhere clean, comfy, with decent food, decent drinks (because lets face it if you're going all-inclusive the drinks have got to be ok!), and a nice pool to cool down.

We arrived at the hotel 5 minutes before the restaurant closed at lunchtime - the guy on reception made sure that everyone knew they could go eat before they checked in if they wanted to. Check-in was quick and we were given a room in Block 3, overlooking the pool (which most of the rooms do). There are 3 floors and no lift so ask for a ground floor room if you struggle with stairs. The rooms have a separate bedroom, shower room and large living area with a sofa bed. They have all been refurbished earlier this year so clean, new, and modern looking. Loads of towels (changed twice during the week) and plenty of spare blankets (not that you'll need them). We got wi-fi for the week for 20 euros which worked really well and hired the safe for 16 euros.

The hotel is only 10 minutes stroll to the beach on the main road or 5 minutes across what I've seen described in someone's review as "wasteland". Now call me stupid but in the UK this would have been called a "field with a path" or maybe "some grass" but obviously in Lanzarote you're not going to get huge patches of grass in the 30 degree heat so there's a fair bit of gravel instead of grass. Some people just like having something to moan about don't they. Anyway I thought "wasteland" was a bit over-dramatic to be honest, maybe just missing the green, green grass of home or something...

The food - well I love my food and ate REALLY well all week. Not a massive amount of choice but at least 3 different meat dishes, sometimes fish, pasta, always chips, veg and a really good salad selection at every lunch/evening meal. Best meal of the week was paella which we had twice and was really good. Pudding was always fruit, ice-cream, cakes and either jelly or rice pudding. Beer/wine/water/fizzy drinks and juice on self-service and the staff were all pleasant and cleared tables quickly. Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day - full English but also cereals, cakes, fruit, toast, cheese, cold meats, croissants and freshly made pancakes. Honestly how anyone could moan that they couldn't find anything to eat is beyond me, and as for someone who shall remain nameless who complained to my husband that the food was too repetetive after 2 meals - well!! *eyeroll*. The same person who was seen later in the week bringing their own cereal to breakfast. Really?? If your life revolves around your Asda muesli then why not go self-catering?!?
Drinks - NOT watered down, just not the normal brands you get in the UK. Kind of obvious no?? Beer quite nice and I'm not usually a beer fan. Try the cocktails but be warned they don't taste that alcoholic so adding another shot of something else makes the ground really wobbly when you try to stand up! No limit on how many drinks you can get from the bar and we never had to queue for long.

Thomas Cook - more and more about trying to get money out of you. The welcome meeting was 3 minutes about the hotel, the island and getting about on buses etc then 20 minutes about trying to sell you trips which cost an arm and a leg. We took a trip to the Sunday market but booked though hotel reception for half the TC price. We saw the rep arrive once during the week and that was it.

Finally, I've never read so many reviews of a place where the same names come up again and again as being one of the best things about the place being reviewed - they are all right though, the entertainment reps Kim and Liam have made so many holidays soooooo much better. Their number 1 spot for customer reviews is HIGHLY deserved. There's always something going on round the pool - bingo, quizzes, darts, water polo and beer pong. I didn't know what beer pong was until this holiday.... There's no obligation to join in with any activity, no pressure and no-one being chucked in the pool - quite a bit of jumping in it but all in good fun. In the evening the kids had chance to have a dance and get involved - my son started the week shy and not wanting to join in but ended up a little performer and has come home and told all his nursery friends about Kim and Liam and how he got to do dancing on the stage. We had a couple of early nights but stayed up for Rock the Room (hilarious and shows who has been enjoying the all-inclusive a leeeetle bit too much) and Kim and Liam's own show - brilliant! The magician and reptile show were also worth watching.

If you want a great value all-inclusive holiday then I would really recommend the Ficus, go with an open mind and a sense of humour and you'll have a great time. We miss you guys already and William has not stopped talking about you!

PS. If you haven't booked an in-flight meal then you'd probably best chewing your own fist - much more satisfying then the £5.50 "hearty meal" you can buy on the plane. As I've already said I like my food - 115g of soggy mush does not equate to my idea of a hearty meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank mrsmclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 week all inclusive at the Ficus. As far as I am concerned this is one of the best value for money hotels I have stayed at.
As with some of the other reviews, if you are real fussy you can find nit picky things to moan about.
The food is good though a wee bit repetitive, the apartments are spacious, clean and nicely presented, bed linen and towels refreshed regularly, sunbeds are numerous, pool area is good though the water cold. The pool bar is handy too !
Entertainment staff do a fabulous job considering they dont seem to get a lot of support from Thomas Cook with costumes, equipment etc. Liam & Kim really try hard to keep folk smiling and work tremendously hard in the evenings.
Staff at the Ficus are very helpful and mostly speak very good English.
I would recommend the Ficus to anyone for a low cost holiday, I have stayed in 4 star that was far worse at double the cost.
Give it a go, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Apartments are on 3 floors so if you dont want people cluncking around over your head take a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gp2865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Gerente at smartline Ficus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback. We hope to see you again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,840 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#5 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
HD Beach Resort
HD Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Ficus

Address: Calle Hervideros 8-10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your smartline Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote
Smartline Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing