We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not whats on the tin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smartline Hsa Ficus
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not whats on the tin.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for a fourteen night holiday all inclusive. apartment clean had five cockroaches in the whole holiday. Maids came in made the beds emptied the buckets but that was about all. Beds changed twice and towels changed about every second day. You have to hire a kettle if you want one deposit 5eurros and 1eurro a day so very dear. Our bedroom was right a the stairs so we heard the people going up and down all the time. Food good always something you could eat. The staff had to work very hard but always very helpful and cheery. The pool was always cold I could not use. There was only one toilet for gents and one for women for the whole pool unless you went up to your apartment. you had to be up early to get a good sun lounger as people left their towels on very early and left them all day and did not use till later in the day. The drinks were a joke if you were drinking the cocktails which were out of a machine unless you asked for more alcahol. We only saw three drunk girls in all the time we were there and there was a lot of young people. The entertainment was good through the day but the bingo was a rip off 5euros for six tickets and you had to buy the six the prize money if you didn't win the jackpot you only won 20 euros. Kim and Jordan were lovely but Liam if you weren't( how can I put this )if up his BUM you were blanked. The show bar at night was a joke not enough seats and tables for all in this hotel and could be done up as rather dated you got sandwiches here at night but always ham and cheese. Kim and Liam did the entertainment here also. The kids only had about half an hour then it was on to the bingo which was better than the day time payout but after that it was all for the young 18-30 more like I don't know how someone didn't kill themselves . There was a nice guy who was very helpful on reception and one very rude one. You had a room to change in if you had late flight but no were to safe to leave your cases and bags as I don't think leaving the at reception is safe. There was a Spar shop down the road with a few gift shops a few bars serving food also some car hire shops. Would I stay there again no I don't think so as it was advertised as a family hotel and it was not

Room Tip: Go down to beach lovely. Book tours through last minute.com good deals Go to the square at Teguise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluetazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Gerente at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your comments. We take a note of your suggestions and will work on this.
Just one thing I would like to clarify to avoid confusion with future customers. The room to change is a courtesy room to have a shower and change, not for leaving luggage.

Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    739
    393
    155
    112
See reviews for
732
744
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I feel so stressed being here at ficus. I never in my life seen so many sunbeds with towels and nobody there. I get up at 7am and the tops are closed nobody there. There is sometimes white plastic ones but even at times these have towel's on. This is a huge issue here. I been told by numerous people how the director does not want to do anything about it to help us poor people that do not want to get up at 6am just to have somewhere to relax allday. Im still here now and really am counting down days to home. There no sunbeds on the beach neither as tax was not paid. So you could be paying to not even have somewhere to relax. The food ok. Pool is freezing but okay when use to it. Rooms are clean and hygenic. From a disappointed traveller

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Gerente at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank very much indeed for take your time sharing your discomfort. It is vey important for us to improve and try to give the best sevice.

I can not express our deepest regret of the fact that you think that we do not want to solve the problem mentioned. We can guarantee that we have taken steps, but it seems to be insufficient for some summer days.
We are working to improve this service.

We hope to see you again

Sincerely yours

Ficus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa Teguise hotels

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Rude receptionist who will go out of his way to not help you.
Twenty minute wait to check in.
Cockroaches and mould on walls.
Refused water to fed our son even though al.
Rooms not refurbished as shown.
Not clean.
Slippery around and in children's pool.
Food not great.
Rep who will do the bare minimum to help you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Gerente at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for having stayed in Ficus and for having taken your time to write a review about it.

We apologize if we had to wait to check in, it is usually quite agile. The service at reception desk satisfaction is very high.
From April 2014 all rooms are renovated and the houskeeping service feedback is very good The food, we offer a very good value but try constantly upgrading and improving our facilities and service.

We remain in the hope, besides all, you will visit us again and have the chance to change your opinion

Ficus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

just back from the ficus i can and will recomend this hotel in fairness has recived some bad reviews. its clean the rooms are bright and fresh the food is ok could be better no problems getting a table would recomend waiting half an hour after opening unless your going out the thomas cook team will entertain you without doubt the best rep team i have seen for years location is up a road on its own 5mins walk to shops and few bars 15 mins walk aprrox to shops bars cafes etc then a relaxing 20 min walk to extensive shopping area with resturaunts bars and a sqaure with bars and entertainment cheap beer fun for the kids familys with young children avoid hair braiding in the strong sun they will burn back to ficus the management need to get a grip on sun bed issue not enough and the regulars eith irish scottish brits germans etc are all as bad as each other were worse sun beds being saved late evening an the very early hours by 6.00 in the morning there are hardly any left drinks are ok on th a/i be awre meal times they will clear up regardless on time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Manager at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Customer
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback.
We take note of your suggestion.
We hope see you soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I went on holiday at this resort for 2 weeks and can safely say I have no complaints. The entertainment team where friendly and included everyone. The food was delicious with a wide variety every day. The shops and restaurants were within walking distance as well as the beach. Not only this the maids would come and clean our rooms giving us fresh towels and bedding 5 times a week. It was a beautiful resort and I would highly recommend. :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christinafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Manager at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Customer.
Thank you very much indeed for your comments.
We hope see you soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

having just returned a couple of days ago we agree overall the hotel was ok. The food was ok and sometimes varied although chips are served at all meals except breakfast (which was nice). Shops are 5 minute walk away and bars, if you wanted to take a walk to the beach area and shops/restaurants it took you about 15 minutes, and there is a small market on Friday evening surrounded by restaurants in a square, (Mexican steak-house is there and very good) and a good atmosphere all round. Our only gripe is the sunbeds, people were leaving their towels and folding down the decent sunbed down so you didn't see they had anything on and they did this sneakily from midnight onwards.If ALL the beds were folding and soft you would not have this problem (I felt like throwing them in the pool at night as someone did) We seem to become Germans. Our only other gripe is the lack of toilets around the pool(only 2 each) unless you used the room, causing waiting on an evening if you were busting, all in all a good clean cheap holiday and recommended for A.I.

Room Tip: we had room 2307 but it was on the top floor. We guess any room would be ok ,cos its quiet anyway. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Manager at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Customer.
Thank you very much for your comments, they are very helpful.
We take note of your suggestion
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Second time at the Ficus. It is a lovely little place ideal for a peaceful holiday. Was there 15 to 27 June 2014. Very warm. Hotel rooms have recently been revamped and are nice and fresh looking. As has been said a nice and flat five minute walk to shops and beach. Along the beach and up to the town centre there are innumerable restaurants and bars, amazingly all full and buzzing with life. Making a good atmosphere when walking around the shops at night time. I found it to be a friendly and relaxed place.

Back to the ficus - FOOD, breakfast good, lunch not so bad, dinner a hit or a miss. I did not have kids with me but there did not seem to be much that I thought my lot would eat. Hotdog sausages every night, i think they were the same ones because i did not see anybody eating them. One evening there was burgers with nice soft rolls on offer and everyone could not get enough of them, I suppose a treat but this kind of thing could be on two or three times a week (instead of rabbit - yuck). There were lots of things on offer that were delicious but they seemed to put these things all on together on the one night - I suppose that is my take. The coffee was not very good very watery. They should ask the customers in a survey because one thing for sure the staff all work very hard to try and please. The restaurant is open until three in the afternoon so you can go and help yourself to coffee, tea, juice, beer and sandwiches.
POOL - saw it being cleaned every single morning.
TOWELS and SUNBEDS - we were appalled to see that people were putting their towels on the beds from early evening or even leaving them on for the duration. Not on. This must have annoyed someone because one night all the towels were thrown in the pool It was hilarious, all the culprits were running like rats down a drainpipe in the morning to retrieve their towels whilst everyone was laughing at them from their balconies. Shame on you all. That night and each night after they still did it but the pool attendant removed them all and put them on the wall. There are plenty beds for everyone. A good idea would be to put beds on the balconies as we lay there most days.
SITTING AREAS - I feel that the Ficus could make a big difference by creating a comfortable sitting area outside the restaurant for those happy to sit and play cards, read a book, use ipads, or just to generally chat to others. They have three or four plastic tables and chairs that are okay and we liked to sit there at night after a stroll up the town but they put the lights out once the restaurant has been cleaned making it dark and dismal.
ENTERTAINMENT - the team do a good job and make a pleasant atmosphere around the pool during the day (sometimes the choice of music was awful - personal choice). We did not partake in the evening entertainment preferring to go for a walk but it sounded good and everyone seemed to enjoy it.

All in all a lovely place and good friendly hotel. Will be returning later in the year.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be well placed although I do not know about block one which does not have a pool v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AingeruG, Manager at Smartline Hsa Ficus, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Customer. Thank you very much indeed for your comments, They are very helpful to improve to provide better service.
We hope see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.6 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Hsa Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Hsa Ficus

Property: Smartline Hsa Ficus
Address: C. Hervideros 8-10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Hsa Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smartline Hsa Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote
Smartline Hsa Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing