We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel poor location”
Review of smartline Ficus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
smartline Ficus
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here april 2014 its a lovely hotel but the location is a bit far out and the nearest shop is the spar which shuts at 10 annoying seeing as we didnt get there til 11. The food was alright what you would expect for all inclusive and the rooms were clean modern and spacious. Free wifi in reception and a nice pool although nobody paid attention to the rule of not reserving sunbeds which was irritating.

Small bar area but friendly staff.

One criticism is the kids club was on the same time as dinner so we didnt get to experience that. Also the evening entertainment didnt allow children on the dance floor or stage which seems a bit strict to me

If I could move ficus to another location it would be better. All in all fairly impressed

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank bulgaria09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The rooms were spacious and seemed clean enough on arrival. A few days into the stay, ants over the sink and in shower, no change of sheets in the 7 days we stopped. Food was below average, no real choice of desserts which was quite poor and staff were very arrogant and treated people like animals in the restaurant. It was a case of feed them, clear after them and get them out!! One cleaner in the restaurant almost took a fit when a guest opened a door to let fresh air in the restaurant complaining that she had swept up and people were now going to go in and out of this door! That is what doors are for! Sunbeds were an issue (for some people) I saw families waiting from 7am to claim a bed (they were chained up till 9am), very sad really as the sun hits the pool from all angles. This place needs a change of staff for sure!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms were nicer views. No internet connection in any of the rooms unless you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Was the worse holiday I've ever had.I ended up complaining about everything from sunbeds which in 14 night stay we managed to get twice.people where sat on them at 7.30am to gain a bed and spot.cleaning shocking,food well if you like fish,rabbit,pasta your ok.I worked all year for this entertainment was well not for us with children.
Last year same deal same operators Thomas Cook in kos was amazing.So perhaps the ficus you need to not expect anything and you might enjoy.Not returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marshalllancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

me, my wife and 2 year old boy tommy who we renamed forest as he walked around the pool area saying hello to everyone and eventually found where they served ice creams all day.We stayed at the ficus from 15th to 29th june,rooms have all been modernised with two levels,bedroom and bathroom on one level, then you go down to kitchen and seating area where we put our sons cot ,we were on ground floor away from the pool which was fine although you could hear noise from entertainment but only if you went to bed early,as others have said the pool is cold but once you are in its ok,entertainment is provided by TC reps kim and liam and sometimes jordan and they kept us entertained during the day and night with other shows like reptiles and birds of prey,bingo and quizzes round the pool and at night,you had to get up early to book your spot by the pool but no problem there,pool bar doesn`t open till 1130 but you you can get drinks from inside restaurant self service which is great, a short walk into costa teguise and a nice walk around the promenade with plenty of shops and bars. food very good, full english breakfast,cereals toast etc, lunch plenty to choose from and a roast on nearly every night. All in all great place to stay and we met lots of nice people

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank geoff30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Read a few reviews b4 we went, some good some not so good! We made our own mind up! Fantastic hotel! Definitely recommend it! Apartments were great size for a family of 3 ( including a 10 year old) very modern with most offering a pool view! Each had their own cooking facilities if needed but A/I restaurant offered varied choices every day! As like every A/I hotel, can b a bit repetitive but always something for every1! All staff very friendly including restaurant staff! Maid service was ok, change of bedding x 2 per week ( u don't change ur own bedding every day so no problems with that) and towel changes more or less x 5 days p/week! Pool very good but very cold til ur in it then its fab! We spent a good few hours in it every day! Last but by no means least, Thomas Cooks entertainment staff, Liam and Kim! Fabulous from start to finish. Definitely deserve their status as " Thomas Cooks #no1's entertainment team in the world" definitely made our holiday! Well done u 2 n that was from the wee "baw bag" if you guys r reading it lol! Overall, we had a fantastic time at the ficus smartline apartments

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank cawallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just back from a week break - it was a late booking and didn't bother reading the reviews before I went as you always get those that moan about anything and everything. You basically get what you pay for! We've stayed in 5* hotels in Tenerife so was prepared for basic and was pleasantly surprised!

Rooms: lovely and spacious with a large living area and large balcony. Shower was great and bathroom was roomy too. Can't say anything wrong with the rooms at all other than the beds were very hard so I slept on the pull out bed in the living room which was lovely and comfortable. Had fridge, microwave, sink, hob in rooms but only a knife and 2 glasses lol

Food: cant complain, I'm not a fussy eater so always found something I liked. Always hot and also a large selection of fresh salads, soups, bread hams and cheese, puddings were delicious as well - the cakes are gorgeous!

Location: about a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Costa Teguise where there are loads of lovely restaurants and bars and a market twice a week which is definately worth a mooch around. Beaches are lovely soft sand ideal place to sit and watch the windsurfers, very clean too. Take a cardi for the evenings as it does get cold at night with the breeze especially if you've burnt in the day

Entertainment: typical evening "butlins type" entertainment which we watched once or twice, not our scene really so deciding on walking into town every night instead - daytime entertainment is supplied by Thomas cook which was good, not pushy and just right to give you something to do during the day - daily quiz, water polo (over 15s for the adults and under 15 for the kids) darts, table tennis and other pool side games which always end up with the loser in the pool! :)

Pool/sunbeds: Pool was FREEZING! I only went in about 4 times the whole week as it was like tourture! It was cleaned every morning too
the first 4/5 days were pleasant when all sunbeds were up for grabs on a first come first served basis, however as the hotel began getting busier the management decided it would be a good idea to chain them up and night and treat you like a prisoner not allowing you a bed until after 9am. This caused mayhem and arguments. It wasn't a good move on behalf of the hotel so be prepared if you are going in the high season! I'll never understand people who reserve a sunbed and then go to the beach for the day so I can't kind of understand their point!??

Staff: restaurant staff are not happy bunnies, but probably as they don't get any tips with it being an AI place. Jessica was the worst, I've never seen such a miserable face in ALL my life and god forbid you go anywhere near the restaurant after "floor mopper" has washed the floor - her arm flipping and tuts spoke volumes. Vincent however was lovely!
Maids changed the bedding and towels twice in our weeks stay which we felt was sufficient. Who needs clean bedding everyday - yeah it'd be nice but pay for 5* then!

All in all I would return to this hotel, having worked out what we paid for a week I think taking off the flight & transfer price this hotel worked out around £90pp for the week ALL INC - who can complain at that!!!!!

The hotel has cats/kittens which live in the grounds, they are extremely friendly and may visit you during the day for a cuddle. However I've spent a good 4-5 days telling kids to be nice to the cats as some (mainly northerners I must say!) clearly don't teach their kids to respect animals or others, their feral attitudes where beyond belief and the mess they made was astonishing . Very sad :(

Don't bother with the hotel transfer, I think its about 8euros in a taxi as its only 20 mins away. Our travel agent got us a private transfer and saved us £30!

Would definately return for a cheapy break in the sun - having said that we had cloud for 3 days in July??

Room Tip: no lifts, there are 43 steps to the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrsmellow2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room okay but lack of changes of clean sheets and towels, towels smelled, sheets not clean. Clean the day we arrived and changed once more in the fortnight we were there not good Thomas Cook need to step up to the mark with this place as they are supposed to be putting thousands into it I fail to see where. Crisps lay under my table for more than a week never swept. Standing in shower no soap dish to put soap on. No drawers in bedrooms to put socks etc into. Food not too bad at all always got something to eat. Nice short walk to amenities but certainly not for me. I am 57 and young minded but this place was definitely not for us. The main door into the Ficus was nice and clean when we arrived by the time we left it was filthy outside windows were dirty and pvc dirty cleaners need to step up to the mark a bit. Will be back in Lanzarote but not to the Ficus again, If palces in Lanzarote to get 5 stars within 2 years this place will never make 5 stars.

Room Tip: We had room 1204 and 1203 at the back of the hotel with sun on our balcony most of the day so it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#3 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
#5 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,976 reviews
0.5 mi away
HD Beach Resort
HD Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Ficus

Address: Calle Hervideros 8-10, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Ficus 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smartline Ficus is located on the beautiful island Lanzarote and is the perfect decision for a good value holiday. The sandy beach is 500 m away from the smartline Ficus and the city center of Cosat Teguise is around 300 m away. On the island are all towns easy to reach. During all meals, the smartline Ficus prepare a buffet with national and international cuisine. The smartline ice box is daily for two hours available with fruits and ice cream. Moreover, you can enjoy local spirits and soft drinks. The smartline Ficus offers many different activities. You can choose between aerobic courses or table tennis and many other activities. Furthermore, you have the possibility to play volleyball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your smartline Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficus Costa Teguise
Ficus Hotel Costa Teguise
Lanzarote Ficus
Ficus Hotel Lanzarote
Ficus Lanzarote
Smartline Ficus Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing