We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad location - Good Apartments”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I recently stayed here for a week's holiday and we booked it last minute a week before traveling, after getting advice from Tripadvisor (it stated that it was the 2nd best hotel in Costa teguise).

Firstly let me say that these apartments are not really in costa Teguise -- Well you need to get a cab ride into where any half decent restaurants are -- Approx €3 per trip. If you want to go out every night and maybe go to the beach every day this quickly adds up and you could easily spend €12 per day on cabs excluding tips.

The restaurants nearby are poor -- Mostly greasy spoons run by British Expats offering English breakfast etc ...

The complex itself is well run, clean, tidy, low rise and modern.
Our check in was poor -- the staff made no effort whatsoever to greet us in a friendly way. The receptionist was obviously after a bag of cheese & onion crisps too!

the cleaning service eas very sporadic,

the most annoying thing about this resort was that British tourists (mostsly Scottish) get up evry morning at approx 7am, put towels down on the loungers and don't come out til 1pm or even 3pm!! the problem is that despite having a large pool, there are only approx 5 stationery umbrellas that are prime spots if anyone is burnt and needs shade.

Would I go back to Costa teguise - No
Would I go back to these apartments - No (Because of location)

Room Tip: get a room near the pool - One level only - Ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Poitiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,710 - 1,716 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

we stayed for a week self catering late in june in a one bedroom apartment . what agreat apartment on the second floor at the far end overlooking the pools and gardens. the size was amazing and every utensil you could think of was in the room .even a corkscrew for the odd bottle of wine we managed to drink. facilities close by are excellent and a trip to the sunday market at teguise is well worth it for 4 euros from the local travel office close to the hotel. well worth a walk to a couple of beaches along the coast path to find better sand and refreshments than close to hotel. santa rosa itself was faultless. the staff,apartment and pool all excellent. this is definitely a place we will return to.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gawkyMiddleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

we booked about 2 weeks in advance of our trip, checked all the reviews in tripadvisor for Costa Teguise and found this place to be very highly rated, far better rated than hotels costing a lot more. The rooms are a good size, clean and well appointed, the restraunt provides quality food, a good choice and plenty of it. The pool area is clean and tidy and the staff around the entire site are always busying themselves. The area around the hotel has half a dozen bars with entertainment on nightly, two supermarkets are two minutes walk away, car hire shops are close by and the bus stops are about 200 metres in either direction (bus to Arrecife 1.20 euros). We hired a small hatchback for a day (30 euros) and saw about half the island at our leisure (highly recommended). The centre of Costa teguise is about 15 minutes walk away along the beach path. Would i stay here again? definitely! All the good things you read on this site about the Santa Rosa are true, we read them and tried the place out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Just returned from the Santa Rosa on the 5th of July. A very good room, with plenty of space [ room 1108], and good facilties in the room. However both the bed and the seating area were " quite hard" so be aware.......

TV in room which received most UK channels [BBC etc] - along with spanish / german channels allowed us to keep up with the "apprentice", and other programmes if we fancied a stay in.

Cleaners were excellent, and left plenty of towels throughout our stay - and cleaned our room 3 times in our 10 day stay.

The sun bathing area was gigantic with plenty of space and sun beds, although be aware there are few sun unbrellas, and many were claimed by people from 7.30am onwards - mostly by Brits...... Cosmopolitan site with Spanish & Germans also staying.

The pool is cold / and a little salty - but not too extremes. However during our stay the winds were very excessive [ and also cloudy weather] - and on those days - the sun did not appear until after mid day - but lasted well into the early evening [7.30pm]. There is a life guard from about 10.00am to 6.00pm - but the pool is open before & after those times for those who wish to use it.

The staff at the complex are the best i have come accross - and really helpful in any enquiry you make. On site entertainment is basic, and held in the 10 pin bowling area - and if anything more could be made of this aspect on the site - but is probably unlikely - as they management seem to do what they do best already.

The area and entertainment around is basic, with plenty of English bars / eating places at reasonable prices. 15 / 20 mimutes walk either via the coastal path - or "up the hill" to the roundabout then turn right into Costa Teguise centre is not too strenuous and leads to a small centre - but adaquate for shoping / eating. Sparshops abound, and are a little cheaper than the supermarket [ which is within 150 yards of the complex].

Local buses are frquent - but are limited as to the journeys available. However there are plenty of taxis - and "Last Minute" travels do a series of trips - at not unreasonable prices - depending on what you want.

Part of our holidays [ especially in Spain] is to visit other hotel / self carteing establishments [ just to be nozy] - and when comparing Santa Rosa to others in the area - i thought the Santa Rosa complex was very, very good, and for the price we paid. [10 days at less than £30.00 per night in a large room ]is - we think really good value !!

The comments are representative of our views of our time there - but as you can see from other commentators on this page - most if not all - had a good time, with good facilties and value for money !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wfmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The apartments themselves were very nice and well kitted out however the lack of air conditioning does make it difficult to sleep on the hotter nights. On arrival we had no kettle but one call to reception and they delivered one within 30 mins. All ground level aparmtends had nice little terrace gardens with table and chairs.

We were half board and the food was good and there was something different every night. That said it still feels a little 'samey' by the end of the week.

The pool and surrounding grounds were nice and well kept. My only complaint here was the lack of parasols. There were far too few which triggered the regular early morning towel run - not just the Germans here.

There is no bar - other than the pool bar open between 8.30am and 8pm. The drinks and snack foods here were very reasonably priced - especailly during happy hour - 4pm to 6pm. I persoanlly would have kiled to have had a bar faciliity open till 10pm.

The whole complex is very pretty and well maintaiend but to me lacks a littel atmossphere. Within a 3 min walk you can find several bars, and restuarants - including a Chinese, Indian where takeaways are available. The beaches in the area are not great but if you stroll along the front until yopu reach the Costa Teguise main town (about 20mins) there is a decent sandy beach. Here too you have a much larger array of bars, restuarants and shops. If you don't facny the walk a taxi will take you for 3/4 euros. Drinks are very cheap everywere - local beers usually 1.50 euros a pint.
Best bar we found was the Dolphin Inn run by a Brummie. Good laugh to be had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotspur57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Excellent in every respect - very clean, well maintained, and very good reception staff! Couldn't have asked for more. Previous reviews referred to the cold pool, but the weather was so hot when we were there that it was a pleasure to jump in! Well equipped kitchen and garden surroundings fitted in with the Lanzarote climate. What food we ate was also very good although we ate out most of the time. Great for all ages from kids to grannies! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MickyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Spent a week here in mid June and we have to say we find it hard to fault anything about the complex. We paid £172 for a 2 bedroom bungalow and what a bargain. The pool area is great, pool bar very resonably priced (especially when it is happy hour !). All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The bars nearby outside are a bit tacky but we liked The Crown across the road for nice food on a lunchtime.

The walk to the main drag is a good 20 minutes but the reception will order you a taxi and for 2 minutes and 2.65 euros later you are there. A nice selection of restaurants to choose from. A good laugh could be had in the Dolphin bar on the front where you can have an excellent breakfast. The Hook bar opposite El Patio does a monster G & T too (enjoy mmmm!).

Anyway back to the Santa Rosa - we would definitely recommend ++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heliocentric2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,962 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £55 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing