We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place but still room for improvement”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely place but still room for improvement”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a blast in Lanzarote and we happy with many aspects of our stay in Santa Rosa. We didn't know what to expect when we booked but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Lovely landscaping around the apartments and the public areas. Very pleasing to the eye. We had a nice apartment facing the garden, to the corner of the tennis court. We asked for a twin room and received one with a large living area and a patio. We were so pleased with the patio furniture and the sun lounger. Its also less dense and bungalow style units.
The only thing we would wish for is a better buffet. We took a half board deal which was very repetitive. Salad was basically iceberg cut up into pieces either mixed with ham and pineapples or with goats cheese and tomatoes. Some carrots, cheese and tomatoes. Gets so boring after two days. About eight large plates made the actual buffet usually very predictable - fish, rice, pasta, two to three trays of vegetables and fries. Very limited and unimaginative dishes. Also the timing was ridiculous! Dinner is from 6.45pm to 8.30pm and you get stared down by the staff if you are late eating. Coffee in the morning is from a machine and you get small coffee cups so you have to queue for a while to get the machine made coffee. Its not proper coffee either which was a little awful. In the evening they refuse to give you tap water so you have to pay €1.20 for bottled water. However the wine is only €1.50 per glass and its really nice. Swimming pool is outdoors and the heated one is actually in the HPG apartments which is separate so you can't use it! You need to pay €3 per person to use the leisure centre where there is a pool but its often used by people training and you need to have a swimming cap to be able to use it. Jacuzzi and the sauna/steam rooms were okay but could be maintained better. Its not a great place to relax as there is no place to really chill out between the sessions plus there is a restriction as to when you can use it as well. I think the Santa Rosa is a great place for families with small children as there is alot of activities and facilities in the entertainment centre for them as well as for the older generation. The average age in February when i went was 70++. There are little shops and English style pubs for those who want to recreate "home" in a warmer climate. There is a little walk across the road to the beach with a nice promenade which takes you to Villa Toledo at the end. Nice place to chill out with a drink and lunch. The wifi in the room is not working and the wifi codes for each area is long and complicated. Very frustrating if you need to make a quick Skype call or check information before heading out. I had to call family abroad urgently and found the pool area extremely loud and busy, that I couldn't have a conversation so I had to go to the lobby to resume the call but there were a bunch of elderly ladies who were really loud and screechy so I had trouble hearing and being heard. The management should really try harder to fix the problem and offer more usable wifi codes as well. TV was a tiny little box with three channels. Would have been nice to have BBC world or something to keep in touch with the world. With no internet in the room, we were really bored on the days we decided to stay in after dinner. Very rocky beach but go to Costa Teguise for nightlife and beach. Buses depart from Playa Roca bus stop which is a short walk from the supermarket around the corner from the hotel. Take shampoos and shower gel as the ones in the supermarket are limited and expensive. Note that there was no beach towel in Santa Rosa so an idea to bring some or use the towels in the room if you are going out for the day. Taxi to Costa Teguise is only €3 each way which is cheap if you are more than 2. Bus each way is €2 per person per way. You can also take a bus to Puerto del Carmen for €2.90 per person which takes you to a very lovely sandy beach and a huge shopping and dining area. Avoid Cafe Hollywood at all cost. Awful and rude staff and horrible food. Go to Cavern or Crown for a good night. Don't spend your nights near Santa Rosa. Grab a taxi and head to the square. Live music, drummers, lovely little cocktail bars with heaters and loads of fun bars and pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms 1070 area are quieter and have less traffic of people walking past If you are staying for mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelustgirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    784
    222
    42
    24
See reviews for
813
857
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent 3 weeks Jan 14 to Feb 3. Requested a quiet sunny position, and that's what we got. Sun on patio from 9 till 6 ish, reasonably private and 'garden view'. Our 2 bed bungalow had plenty of room. Decor and furniture was perhaps a little in need of renovation, and the kitchen was very adequate for self catering- fridge, microwave, 2-ring hot plate. Iron, and hairdryer available at Reception for very low charge. Safe in the room can be rented at €2.20 day. Free Wi-Fi in the public areas. Housekeeping service was superb -new towels, garbage collection, cleaning most days. Maintenance jobs in our bungalow were attended to promptly.
A very friendly place- all the staff and holidaymakers had happy smiles and were polite. The grounds were immaculate. The reception staff were very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and efficient.The organised games were low key- very unobtrusive and no obligation or pressure to participate. Don't forget your good value drinks at the pool bar!. Buffet breakfast in the restaurant was great value at €5. Unfortunately the outdoor pool was cold.Location is superb- 5 mins from the prom, loads of shops, eateries and takeaways on the door step.Two walking circuits around Coasta Teguise (10km and 6km) pass by the site. And the useful coastal bus to Arrecife and Carmen stops nearby. Using this service, an interesting linear promenade walk can be made passing the end of the airport runway.
This is a well run place, terrific value for money, and is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Bungalows at the garden end of the site get lots of sun, as do most of those facing S/W. The apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bracknellwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I'm writing this review on our last day in this superb apart-hotel. The complex functions as a superbly equipped hotel but instead of typical rows of apartment blocks, the self contained apartments are of a linked Bungalow style that grace the well maintained grounds and pool area.

The apartments and entire hotel was found to be spotless and clean with everything one could need for either board basis or self catering. The maid service is excellent and the rooms are spacious and bright though simplistic in decor.

The real fun however starts outside around the pool and pool bar area, where there are numerous sunbeds, pristine clear pool water, surrounded by well manicured gardens and enchanting staff of the highest caliber.
During our stay there were very few children and the site felt just like a four star country club. There was no rowdy music, no rowdy tenants and a lovely calm quality feel that one can only dream off. At times we felt like we were on a far away resort in the Caribbean, surrounded by palms and lapping waves.
Also present were many repeat booking holiday makers who return here year after year to escape the winter back home and we always consider this to be a sign of an excellent hotel.

We have stayed at many Hotels in Fuerteventura during our winter escape and this is the 2nd hotel we have visited in Lanzarote. We can honestly say that this hotel is by far the best we have stayed in to date.
We had also seen many reviews at different Hotels in the Canaries stating that the food was cold or the choice was poor, almost as though this was endemic to canarian hospitality.
This was NOT the case with Santa Rosa, we always found the food to be piping hot, well cooked and with a great selection. The waiter service was also top quality making our stay here just perfect.
We (2) paid just under £400 for one week half board and we can honestly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.
Just a note, the Hotel is a short 10min stroll to the main beach, which we found to be a pleasurable and easy stroll.

Finally, the Hotel provides FREE high speed internet via WIFI. (Other hotels have charged us up to 3 euro and hour! )
BBC2 and Central TV was also free in our rooms amongst others such as RTL & Disney Channel.

Room Tip: Corner Suites have a more spacious outside seating area. Happy Hour at the Pool Bar is 4pm-6pm = Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank studio500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed 25/1/14 to 1/2/14 with friends and had a lovely time. Apartments being revamped while we were there so clearly know some updating required. Ours was already really good. All public areas were spotless, staff helpful and always smiling. Food was good every day we were there, I'm a coeliac so sometimes find it hard but that was not the case there. Food was being freshly cooked at each mealtime and there was always a good selection already on offer. Virginia was great at organising the activities but some people were slow to take up her invitation. Weather wasn't brilliant but that didn't spoil our week away. Plenty to do in the resort, lovely restaurants, La Hacienda in particular.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theweekenders22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed 25/1 until 1/2 ,emailed before to ask for 1bed bungalow south facing quite area and that is what we were allocated. The bungalows are looking dated inside and some walls need a skimming as plaster is getting poor. Not much chance to do fancy meals as only microwave and 2 rings but ok for snacks. Complex is very well kept and pool bar and pool area is very good, weather was not very good cloud and bad wind but that is gamble you make at this time of year, but still able to get out and walk a lot.
Would be good complex with more sun and better weather but overall cheap price we paid could not complain.
We paid 200 pounds for 1 week via hotels4u flights 160 with ryanair and got taxi transfer for 28 pound with holiday taxis, we'll recommend them perfect pick up and return.
Resort seemed to be well used by long stayers, supermarket 5 mins away and we used cavern pub for quite a few nights again 5 mins away adjacent to complex, good local talent most nights and cheap drinks.
Overall bungalow could have been better but as stated would have been annoyed if paid jet2 or cosmos prices as standard is quite basic and cleaning is quite quick and not a lot of detail as sewers need sorting as bad smell in toilet. Although on s/c we did have breakfast one day and for 5euros per person seemed very good value and plenty of choice.
With position of apts across road from corona hotel 10 mins walk to centre and general layout it would make sense to update and get upgrading and charge more!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week 19-26 jan and really enjoyed our stay. We booked a 1 bed appartment but on arrival were allocated a 2 bed bungalow which was lovely. All staff were friendly and helped with any thing they could. My husband and daughter are fussy eaters but the food was fine and enough to choose from we especially enjoyed the Mexican themed night. The pool was very cold but we knew to expect this as have visited costa teguise in the winter before. Didn't stop us being brave from time to time. The entertainment lady virginia was lovely and made a real effort with the kids doing different activities. All in all would recommend this hotel our only regret was only booking for 1 week wish we had booked longer

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Megzymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This our 2nd time at the Santa Rosa. We booked a studio but it still had a separate bedroom. Cleaners came most days. It would be nice to know when they come and change towels. Pool area is good. Free wifi at the pool. Safe I think was 15 euros for the week. We found just across the road next to the foot spa shop they did a good breakfast. 7 euros for 2 with unlimited tea or coffee. Good value. It is about a 20 minute walk to the main shops and bars but there are some just outside. We enjoyed our stay there and would go again for a cheap holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank The3M's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing