We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From 5 stars to 3 in less than a year”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“From 5 stars to 3 in less than a year”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 9 nights in February 2014 having enjoyed a stay in March 2013. Having been really impressed on our first stay (and having written a 5 star review on this website less than a year ago) I have to say we were disappointed on our return due to a number of factors:

Having stayed last year we knew to ask for a bungalow this time as they are smaller but more modern. Having booked through a large online travel company (lowcostholidays.co.uk) we assumed our room request would reach the Santa Rosa without a problem. Not so (a problem with lowcost holidays rather than the hotel) and we were given a second floor apartment (2012) at the back of the property which overlooked a road. The kitchen had not been cleaner properly and the apartment was a bit dismal overall. It then took a considerable amount of 'negotiating' with the staff to get moved to a bungalow and when I spoke to the accommodation manager to politely request a move she was curt at best, whereas last year a member of staff (Olga, no longer at the hotel as far as I can tell) got us a room change with minimum fuss and maximum speed. When we did eventually get moved the smell of damp in the apartment (1038) was fairly strong but we could not face another move so kept the windows open as much as possible to make the apartment bearable.

The lack of customer service was a theme of the new look Santa Rosa. Staff now wear corporate t- shirts but some don't seem to realise their guests are a) paying good money and b) on holiday. Being told upon arrival that there are drainage problems is not what you want to hear and there was one young tattooed girl working at the pool bar and bowling alley who appeared to have had no customer training at all and was one of the least friendly people you could hope to meet on holiday.

However there are good points: English channels for free on the TV, there is now free internet access in the apartments as well as the pool bar (although apparently you cannot get in all rooms and the 16 digit code that has to be entered on a regular basis was a pain) and the bar still has it's excellent happy hour from 4-6. A game of ten pin bowling is excellent value at 2 Euros and the clientele is generally a relaxed and friendly bunch. We had breakfast on the last day and whilst reasonable value at 5 Euros I was glad we had gone self catering. The best restaurant locally is, without doubt, El Navarro although Nina's and The Fisherman's are more than adequate. I would recommend the Italian IB bar too: it's rarely busy but the fixed price menu was excellent value at 7 Euros. The Cavern was a decent bar for a reasonably priced drink/breakfast but the centre of the resort has more to offer in terms of bars and cafes.

I would hire a car to make the most of the area: many of the better restaurants and bakeries are in Teguise and places like Haria (well worth a visit) and the fishing town of Arrieta. Hire your car through Autoriesen as it was excellent value (price can't be beat as far as I can tell, good reviews in Which? magazine) and very efficient.

So not bad overall but the management needs to train its staff better and remember that its visitors are there on holiday. I notice others are giving positive reviews similar to the one I gave last year so I think we had an atypical experience this time round but I have to say we found our return disappointing and I don't think we would return to the Santa Rosa again in a hurry: it was not at the cheaper end of the accommodation we looked at but I went for it again as I thought we were guaranteed quality accommodation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bungalow unless you want a view of the road or a car park. Email the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheplobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    784
    222
    42
    24
See reviews for
813
857
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed as a couple for two weeks self catering from 6th March. The Santa Rosa Apartments are situated in the outskirts of the main Costa Teguise resort. It takes about 20 minutes to walk, or 5 minutes by taxi to access the main area if required. There are numerous bars and restaurants in the local vicinity for the less adventurous. 
We requested a quiet and sunny one bed roomed apartment and this is exactly what we got. We were warmly welcomed by the lovely Maxime. The apartment was a terraced bungalow with a view towards the main road in the distance and as previously stated, a complex which had been started and not completed. This is a common scenario in this part of the world. The apartment had sun from 9am to 7pm whilst we were there. There is some noise from adjoining residents, but we were lucky to have mostly more mature couples around us. 
The apartments are a bit shabby, but adequate. The mattresses on the beds are firm and comfy, but the linen left a lot to be desired. There were no mattress covers and the sheets barely fitted the beds, which meant ending up sleeping on a bare mattress most nights. The sheets were changed three times over the 2 week holiday, but there was no improvement and all had some holes in them. The towels had also seen better days, but they were clean and changed each time the maid came to clean. The standard of cleaning was ok, just the basics done. We stored our cases on top of the wardrobe, not being picky but you should have seen the dust up there! 
The bedroom had a massive wardrobe and plenty of hangers, but no drawers and only one bedside table. The big safe, could fit loads in, even my I Pad, for hire at 2.25 euros per day, was temperamental and didn't always lock automatically, it is electronic, but I managed to close it eventually after resetting several times. 
The TV was ok but the sound was out of sync with the picture for itv. 
The kitchen had too few sockets for appliances, but we managed. There was a 2 ring hob, kettle, toaster, microwave and a fridge with an ice box. Enough cutlery and crockery to get by. The tea pot had no spout, so we used the coffee jug instead. Tea towels are provided, but no washing up liquid or cloths. 
My husband used the indoor, heated pool and gym for 5 euros each day. You need to use a swimming hat in the indoor pool, these can be purchased from the bike hire shop just outside the Santa Rosa for about 4 euros. There is also a jacuzzi. 
The wifi was accessed by a 16 digit code given to you if you ask at reception. The code should last a week, but was needing to be changed daily at one point. Wi fi was not available in our apartment so ask before you accept your room if you want wifi there. 
To summarise, this is a spacious complex, well maintained gardens and with an outdoor saltwater pool, which is a good size. It has a relaxed, informal atmosphere and is appropriately rated at 3 star. I would recommend the Santa Rosa to anyone wanting basic, no frills accommodation, value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foreverthesunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Booked this hotel a year ago. Stayed 09/03/14-16/03/14 with my wife and friends.
Was given a bungalow on the left side of the complex, excellent. Overlooking the park, which is part of a walk around Costa Teguise.
The sun was on our veranda from approx 10.00-18.00 excellent sun trap. We did sun bathe around the pool area, but some days it was very windy, so it was nice to come back away from the wind.
The rooms were very spacious, with small kitchenette and nice bathroom. T.V had english channels. Rooms were cleaned 5 times during our stay with fresh towels provided each time.
Our stay was Half Board. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice andyou just help yourself to freshly cooked bacon, eggs, etc , baked beans are good as well, well you can get some dodgy ones!!
We ate in for our evening meals 3 times, the food at night was ok, but if I was to book again I would go B&B, as the restaurants are very good value and are near by.
When we did eat out we tried the Chinese at the front of the hotel. decided on the all you can eat buffet at 13 EUROS per person. Fantastic, you can choose your own fresh meat or fish and they will cook it for you and then add you a sauce. this was on top of all the usual chinese food. Afterwards we were also offered a drink on the house, my wife had a Amoretto and I a Jack Daniels. Please try it you wont be disappointed.
We also tried other restaurants. If you go out of the hotel, turn left and walk for approx 10 minutes until you come to a roundabout. Turn right and walk towards the sea for another 5 minutes until you come to a SPAR shop on your left. At this junction take a left, approx 50 metres on your right is a Steak House, were we got OX Steaks and a bottle of wine for 39 Euros ( for 2 people ) and a drink on the house.
If you carry on passed this restaurant approx 20 metres you walk through a white arch into a secret square, which is full of bars at 2 euros a pint, and its just lovely to sit there in the afternoon or evening.
Also, when you get to the Spar shop, dont turn left, but carry on down for another 200 metres and on the left is the MASALA LOUNGE, a Indian Restaurant again 10/10. Here the beer came in Iced Glasses.
Please note, these 3 restaurants we tried were mostly empty, due to the time of year. Please dont be put off. They offered excellent food and service.
Also at the front of the hotel is a Tapas bar, please try that.
We would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had Bungalow 1063
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gilster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Santa Rosa apartments are probably as good as a 3* complex can be. Had a room on 2nd floor overlooking the pool and a wee bit of a sea view. The half board option was good value, the breakfast was very good quality. Bars and restaurants very close by... Staff at Steptoes sports bar are extremely friendly.
All in all a great holiday ... well done Santa Rosa.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Harvey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I found it difficult to mark this one, because of the issues that arose with regard to the standard of our accommodation.

We arrived quite late one night when it was dark, and the reception process was fine. However, the apartment was a great disappointment. It was very basic, with oldish, scratched furniture. The seats round the dining table were hard, wooden affairs. However, the worst bit was the lighting. It reminded me of my Granny’s front room in the 1970s where she had a single 40W bulb coming out of the ceiling; it was really dim. No soft lighting whatsoever - no table lamps. The lighting in the bedroom and bathroom was better, though. The balcony provided an uninspiring view over a dual carriageway - but the traffic noise did not disturb us at night. On the positive side, it was clean.

We went back to reception and asked to change rooms. We were told every room was occupied. I did check, and that indeed was the case. However, the very excellent receptionist did say we would be able to change in a few days time.

I also noted that there was no heating or air conditioning in the apartment, although during our stay in March, neither was needed. I understand that heating can be provided - at extra cost. Also, if you wanted use of the safe, this too came at extra cost (somewhere around €2.20 per day). The wifi was free, although it seemed a bit slow and patchy.

So why 4 stars? Well, we did indeed get a move of apartment a couple of days later, and this was much better, although still quite basic. Roomier, with better lighting (except for the kitchen area, which was still poor), with a view over the pool area rather than the dual carriageway.

The facilities were really good, e.g. the pool area, the bar, tennis courts etc - and they, in common with the grounds, were well maintained.

Staff members were really helpful and courteous, the cleaning lady we had especially so.

We didn’t eat at Santa Rosa at all; there is a supermarket close by which had most things you could want, and there is a wide choice of restaurants within walking distance.

So, going back to the marking, I am also mindful that it not expensive to stay here, so we certainly weren’t looking for the last word in luxury. I gave it 4 stars because I considered it to be very good value for money. It was a pity about the first apartment; if the apartments were brought up to the standard of the rest of the complex, it would be truly great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Pool area (some overlook a dual carriageway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a first class 3star hotel and we stayed self-catering. The 1 bed apartment was a good size with all the equipment to cook your own meals, Hob, (no oven), Microwave, Kettle toaster and cutlery and crockery for three people with dining table and three chairs. Sheets are changed five days, towels three. The maid came in every day. Bathroom had a bath with shower over and the water was always hot but no hairdryer. Large flat screen TV with BBC 1 & 2, ITV and Pick TV. Balcony had table and chairs. You can buy for 15 euros a day (12 Euros for more than three days) breakfast and Diner in the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent and good value. Fresh sea bass 10.5 euros Bottle of Rioja 10.5Euros. Safe cost 2.25Euros a day. No air con.
The pool is not heated (there is a heated pool but this is for guest who have some sort of bond??) and was cold. Unluckily the weather was poor and jumpers and coats were required at night and in the day a tops. Only on two days were there more than a dozen people around the pool, too cold. There a sun beds but I cannot comment on availability in busy periods.
There are supermarkets, bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel all offer good value food and drink. Sport is available on large TVs in some.
The walk into the town is pleasant along the seafront and takes a leisurely 15 minutes. Numerous bars restaurants and tourist shops available. All good value; meal for two with wine 30 to 40Euros. In the square the cafes and bars are lively and there is a very good atmosphere. Just to sit and chat to strangers and make new friends. The Argentinian restaurant, opposite the taxi rank, does a great steak. Return taxi to hotel 2.5 Euros.
Beaches near the hotel are poor but there is an excellent beach near the town centre. Too cold to try a dip.
We went on two excursion 1. Grand day out which took in all the sites, 10 hours round trip, and costing 45Euros each. What a great trip. The guide was excellent. 2 Market in Teguise. 4 hour trip to the market which is big, good for leather and holiday wear. 4 Euros each. Both trips were booked with last minute excursion which has a shop across the road to the left of the hotel. Good guides and price.
We thought it would have been better to stay in the town as the beaches and bars are far better. The Albatross looks perfectly placed.
My wife got ill and she was treated for free as we have a card issued by the Nat Health. So get one and take it just in case.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Arrived on 7th March along with 4yr old and 8mt old. 2bed bungalow was our home for 1wk (room 1013). We overlooked the astro football pitch and 2xtennis courts. Terrace had two sun loungers with all day sun. Accom had everything for family holiday, microwave, kettle, toaster and all included so no hidden extra costs. The cot is excellent quality as we checked the mattress and its like what you would use at home. Selection of english channels on your tv too (utv, bbc). Wifi siginal good as we were close to reception so didnt have a problem keeping in touch on ipads etc.

Pool area clean and wheelchair/buggy friendly with ramps. Kids pool heated but main pool cold. Pool bar did good food and not a rip off. Happy hr 4pm-6pm. Indoor pool was great to have on a cloudy day. 25M pool in lanes but kids pool was also available. The sports cafe did great selection of healthy foods and drinks.

Also on site is bowling for €2pp for 10 rounds. Indoor play centre which is free for residents, kids club from 10.30am - 12md also free (face painting, colouring, painting) Virginia was great with the kids and said that she spent 3wks in Galway improving her English! There is a reptile show at night and a disco at 8pm. Crazy golf also available free of charge so too is the tennis courts and football pitch (enclosed).

We only ate once in on site restaurant. For €12pp its buffet food but very good quality and plenty of choice but the price also includes one free drink (wine, beer soft drink). Kids are free!! We only ate on last night but if we had known it was that good we would of gone more often.

Complex is a bit out of town but there is a good size supermarket next door (Lidl is a 10min bus journey on the number 3 and drops outside the store) Nice places to eat on your door step, we enjoyed the IIB restaurant as the food was great quality and good value and they did terrific pizzas.

Large playground just next to Playa Bastian which is only 3yrs old (on the promenade). Yes it is quieter than some of the other resorts but it was perfect for what we want.

If we return to Lanzarote on another holiday we will make Santa Rosa our first choice and would not hesitate to recommend to family, friends or Trip Advisor readers. Well done to all staff and management in Santa Rosa

Room Tip: Room 1013 gets full sun and is sheltered from wind. Not close to pool though. Good wifi signal as cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eoinhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing