We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor accommodation.”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

we were there for two weeks on 15/03/2014. this was are 3th time there and what let down this one was. we were in room 1032 over looking the pool. as we open the door of the apartment the smell of damp hit us and the apartment just had a bad smell, going into bathroom you could see the ceiling and bath tiles were black with damp reported this and they came and painted the ceiling of the bathroom put did not clean the tiles around the bath/

the accommodation was very poor and needs a lot of money spend on them, they need to get air vents in bathroom/toilet because the damp and smell as no were to go put stay within the room.

there is a new manager here now, and we could see the change, its that bad that we had booked to come back in June this year with are granddaughter, I have now cancelled this booking and we are now going to the sands beach. as the couple in the next apartment to use had been there and said sands beach is far better then santa rose.

we stays b/b,the breakfast of a morning was good with eggs,bacon,beans ,sausage,coffee,tea ect ect. we fine the pool bar was nice put they have put up there prices. so we went out a lot there are a lot of nice bars/restaurant near to the santa rose.

Costa Teguise is very nice from santa rose cross over the road turn right and the first road you come to pass the bars and shops turn right and walk to the end go though the gate and you are on the sea front, it is about 15/20 min walk into Costa Teguise along the sea front and a great walk it is to,with beach bars/restaurant there are lots of bars/restaurant in the sq of Costa Teguise and there is live singers on most nights. you can get a pint of beer for 2euro glass of wine 2euro or a bottle of wine for 6euro.

overall we love Costa Teguise and are coming back in June for two weeks just not to the santa rose.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We've holidayed at Santa Rosa three times in the past two years and really like its relaxed welcoming style, gentle atmosphere and convenience to shops and restaurants and the Lanzarote seaside. The site is shared between the Santa Rosa bungalows on one side and the Holiday Property Bond (HPB) owned apartments on the opposite side. This arrangement works well, the only real difference being that the HPB users have sole access to their own (smaller) swimming pool and they also have their own dedicated reception area catering for HPB users needs, meetings, excursions, etc. The site is well run and common areas kept immacualtely clean. The site seems child friendly, having a good sized childrens paddling pool conveniently situated next to the Pool bar! There are also two on-site restaurants, the pool bar (with 4pm-6pm happy hour), a heated indoor swimming pool, a large gymnasium, an indoor 10 pin bowling rink with bar (and evening happy hour), tennis courts, etc. Although we've looked at most of the facilities offered by Santa Rosa, we have only sampled the swimming pool and Pool Bar ... preferring to simply relax in peace and quiet, take a stroll down by the sea front or, as we did on our last visit .. take a bus to the busier town of Peurto del Carmen ... a lovely town with marvellous sea views ... but so much busier than Costa Teguise that it was wonderful walking back in to the tranquil settings of Santa Rosa at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chas_ekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at Santa Rosa. Upon arrival, I realised I had left something on the coach and the reception staff were very helpful calling the company several times to help me find it

We were given a one bed bungalow with a pool view and close to the reception which was great as it meant we could usually pick up a good wifi signal. The room was basic but it was very clean. Some items of furniture were a bit worn but things like this don't bother us. My online complaint was that our bathroom seemed to become rather smelly overnight and sometimes I found it unbearable first thing in a morning before the cleaner had been in.

The food was relatively good. Breakfast was the standard bacon, sausage, eggs, fresh meats, fruit etc. The bacon and egg was cooked fresh in front of you by the chef. The evening meal was better some nights than others but I am quite a picky eater and always managed to find something. There is always chips, potatoes, rice, pasta, veg , a seafood dish and some fresh meat being cooked by the chef. Drinks are also very cheap at meal times. Special mention to the restaurant staff (especially the tall, well built man who was so friendly. We never got his name!) were excellent with our toddler who can be a little monster at times!! There are plastic plates, bowls and bibs for children which I found a great help.

The entertainment at the hotel could be improved as all of it takes place in the bowling alley downstairs which is open to the general public. The children's entertainer Virginia does try hard but we didnt know about the mini club stay and play for toddlers until our last day as its not advertised very well. Bowling for €2 a game is great value though and we really enjoyed it. The kids ball pool is great but as its open to the public, it can become quite full and rough.

The complex is around a 15 minute walk from the centre. It's a lovely walk along the sea front so doesn't feel such a long walk. If you like a quiet drink with some live music I'd recommend the square, especially chispas bar. Large beer €1.30. But this area does get full early on and you should be there by 8pm at the latest. If you do eat out at all, I can recommend the texas house in the square. Special menu €9 50 before 7pm and the meals are full sized and delicious.

Would definitely recommend Santa Rosa. Take no notice of bad reviews, some people are too picky and let something like worn furniture ruin their stay. We would return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lauragriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Accommodation old and dated very tired needs a lot of money spending on it. Shower was impossible to use without nearly flooding apartment when complained told no one has mentioned this problem before(very hard to believe) Food for breakfast and evening meal good, food always being replaced and filled up and quite warm. Pool bar with internet and well priced+happy hour 4-6pm even better value. Pool very cold but you soon get used to it, the pool in the bond/private area is heated but as they have paid whatever+service charge for very similar accommodation they are welcome to it. Will probably not go again due to very poor accommodation.



.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank s4awx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Self catering apartment, well laid out and roomy 1 bedroomed apartment, kitchen equipment adequate but bit sparse, two ring electric hob, kettle and toaster.
We were in a room on the corner of a block, view was not brilliant overlooking a car park but caught the sun all afternoon on the balcony. Next time we would ask to have a bungalow apartment that surrounds the pool and garden area rather that the one we had which was on the first floor of a block.
Location was suitable for us, a nice 20 minute walk along the sea front to the Town centre which we accomplished daily, a supermarket and a selection of restaurants/bars offering entertainment just outside the resort.
Wifi in our room was a bit hit and miss we were just on the fringe of its radius, but it was ok in reception or the Pool bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s1xer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You should know this part of the Canaries is WINDY!
This apartments complex is very nice place to spend a family holidays.
Reception is very big and staff very friendly, specially Maxime who was very kind and patient also having knowlegde needed ot help anybody, anytime. There is internet at reception as well.
A bungalow we got was very nice, very quiet at night and clean. Should have air conditioning in the bathroom.
Outdoor pool is very nice but cold, small pool for kids really nice. Our 2,5 years Daughter was comfortable.
Pool bar very good, with coffee, beer, spirits and hot food at good price. Elizabeth was so good and nice.
Restaurant with buffet is good. Ask chef for omlet, delicious. Thanks Chef and Bors for Your kind help.
La Luna Bar quite nice and modern but staff there not as good.
Idoor pools are great but ask for availibility first. It is a club for local people.
There is bowling centre, just 2 euro a game, pool.
There is minigolf, tenis court, small football pitch, etc...
Kids centre with activities. Virginia was excellent entertaining kids and adults as well with many events, games, etc.
Thank you All.

Room Tip: Ask for Bungalow. Chinese restaurant just outside on your right is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

apartments were filthy my granddaughter was crawling and every day she was black from the floors they were cleaned once with a really smelly mop i had to spray to get ride of the smell, we had a nurse next door who had to travel to the reception every day to use the loo and she would not use the one in the apartment
Entertainment was in a bowling alley which was open to the public where the locals use for kids birthday parties really busy and noisy you have to really keep an eye on the kids the mini disco was half hr long with wheels on the bus songs not good for little ones
Pool salt water not good for kids.
Entertainment staff is one person who I cant fault she is wasted at santa rosa , again she really tried but we played guess who,bingo and a quiz night at the other entertainment spot in the indoor swimming pool bar .We tried to get a move straight away but were advised nothing else available. Every one looked really miserable please trust me all the good reviews were clearly from the private part of the complex as all the people waiting on the bus home were all staying they wont be back we flew with jet2 they really need to pull out of this place

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LezzelsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
8.6 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#9 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#14 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £50 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing