We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to better it even at a higher price”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hard to better it even at a higher price”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Recommended! The staff are very flexible, and the whole centre is brilliantly set up for families with children. (we actually didn't go to many of the kids activies that much as there was much to do on the island but that's jusT the type of holiday we prefer to enjoy, not lazing about by the pool and bar so much, but all that and onsite restaurants available if you want them, even indoor bowls for the adults and access to a gym & whirl + swimming pool(small fee). Apartment kitchens are well catered for, and unlike some resorts I read about, there's no need to rent pans or kettles or any extra hidden charges. A lot of reviewers recommend requesting a bungalow by the pool. However, we started in an apartment on the 2nd floor at the north end the 1st night, due to our request for a bungalow not reaching them, apparently due to the agent. They changed us the following day, but I really don't know why we bothered. Although it saved a bit of stair climbing, the rooms were smaller and tv seemed to have poorer signal/reception, we didn't have the nice balcony, and it was not possible to get a useable wireless internet connection, unlike the apartment we had started in where the signal was great; (I notice that internet coverage is weak in a lot of resorts from reading reviews, so suggest you check that out before booking if its important to you - for us it wasn't a problem, and the staff were helpful in giving us the details to connect to the poolside bar wireless, which although meaning we had to leave the bungalow it was only 3 bungalows ourside our door to get us connected). Although there is a beach among the rocks about 10 minutes away, it is a longer 20 -25 walk to the main Costa Teguise beach and town, so if any negatives about this resort it would be that; however there is still a good range of bars and restaurants and supermarket right on the doorstep.

Room Tip: we started in room 2007 on north end, and although there is some noise from bin collections at 7.30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank directgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    789
    227
    44
    24
See reviews for
826
859
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

we just got back from a week stay here and was very nice. Location was OK, about 15 min walk to the centre of CT along a busy main road (careful crossing these as drivers are not quite as observant of pedestrians as they should be!). Room was clean (although maid service was not every day) and large and had fridge, microwave kettle and toaster etc. meaning we could stock up on cheap beer and water saving us valuable Euros. Facilities were good with a nice restaurant serving a good breakfast buffet (proper bacon and sausages!), another bar area (although this was deserted whenever we returned to the hotel at 22:30 / 23:00, but could be because it was early season maybe) so don't rely on it for a late night drink. Also there was a large indoor pool and gym / sauna and jacuzzi which you could use for a small fee although we never bothered. The pool area is large with plenty of sunbeds and there were lots of activities for kids (water polo, games etc). The pool however was not heated and was absolutely freezing so we avoided it after an initial attempt! We never had evening meal here but some people we met were half board and said the food was OK. Staff were plentiful and friendly, speaking good English.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear / right hand side of the complex are well away from the pool area and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Santa Rosa ,and it didn't disappoint ....if you want good,clean,chilled out accommodation then read on...if you are one of those that moan about "only 4 tv channels,hob controls different to back home"{ive seen it as a complaint!!}...look again. Here goes.

Reception....Fast check in,helpful friendly staff,very clean.

Room.....We had requested a room overlooking the pool/play area and we were happy to have room1032 .This was nice and clean,basic but adequate for our needs.

Poolbar...reasonably priced food and drink available all day,with happy hour from 4pm till 6pm,2 large beers 2 euro..soft drinks,local spirits etc buy one get one free.

La Luna restaurant ..... Good selection of fresh salads,cold meat,hot veg and show cooking. Always found something to eat,but it does have a theme,so if you are there for 2 weeks,it will repeat the menu.Breakfasts are served in here,with a choice of continental or English,fresh cooked bacon,eggs,omeletes etc.

Entertainment......We had prepared ourselves for a change in staff as Rosemary had left and had mixed reviews about Virginia. My daughter[8yrs] went every day to the kids club[10.30 till 12.30] and had a great time, then in afternoon killer pool,darts and water polo.
In the evening tho there is a mini disco for the kids at 8.30 followed by a half hour show,some good some cringeworthy,but if you enter into the spirit its a good laugh.

Pool.....Cold with salt water,but if you brave it in its not too bad,and the kids were in it most days without too much complaint..p.s..as for the guy who said his son got an ear infection from pool,try drying ears out after swimming to stop this,salt water doesn't cause it on its own!!

Overall....We had a great time on our 12 night stay,meeting up wiyh lots of returning faces from previous year,and making good friends with David and Ali,Mark and Carys.
If you want to be pestered by loud music,constant demands for competitions,drinking from morning till night,roudy discos look elsewhere, if you want a good clean low key basic fun and safe for children holiday...then come here.

P.S Ignore the people who say that the good reviews are written by the owners of the HPB apartments ,they have nothing to do with Santa Rosa,as they have their own pool and bar....

Room Tip: If you have children,ask for a room facing the playpark or pool...that way you can enjoy a coffee on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilydad1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When we arrived we were told that there was a "water problem" so we couldn't stay there but were staying elsewhere. We were to pay there though at our reserved rate. The clerk was rude and couldn't send us on our way fast enough.
We had only booked there because friends were booked there. They did not have to change apts. We did eat in the restaurant once. The service was abominable and rude.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddydial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a week at the Santa Rosa Apartments in Costa Teguise, Lanzarote. When we arrived the receptionist was very helpful in changing our 2nd floor apartment (with fabulous view) to a ground floor one because of my mobility problem. The complex is immaculate and I can't praise the staff highly enough in their efforts to keep it this way. We went half board which was always a self service buffet but we never tired of the choices. There was always a couple of chefs about......bringing out new dishes when required and one cooking fish or meat to be served freshly for us. Breakfast was the same.....a huge choice with a chef cooking bacon and eggs etc., varieties of coffees and teas available to help yourself. There was always fresh fruit too.
I have given a couple of average scores mainly because of the interior decor...I just thought it was drab....browns and dark greens. The mattresses were quite firm hence my average score on sleep quality.....it is not a score against the complex though.
There are loads of things for children to do...you wouldn't even need to leave the complex! Indoor and outdoor pools, a great spa, pool bar, pool tables, bowling, tennis courts, entertainment...it's a great place.
It is on the main road but completely enclosed. It's on the edge of the town but taxis are plentiful and cost about 4 euros to the centre. You can always walk along the beautiful coastal path....takes about half an hour. This path has been specially constructed, well kept and there are plenty of places to sit if the children get tired.
Costa Teguise itself is very clean.
We are going back for another week in early summer.......can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sommocolonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a 28 night winter holiday at the very pleasant Santa Rosa. We had noted a tip when doing our on line research and had asked for accommodation on the extreme right hand side of the complex which we were allocated. Our one bedroom chalet was clean and comfortable and in a good location, with no other chalets facing our patio. Cleaned almost every day and linen changed regularly. We were on a H/B deal, so had most of our meals in the restaurant, which was a bit canteen like, but perfectly acceptable with food choices and quality being limited, but again absolutely OK. For what we paid for our 28 nights, the Santa Rosa was excellent value and if we were returning to Costa Teguise, we would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms numbering approx. 1060-1080 are in a nice quiet location with nothing in front of the patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Santa Rosa was chosen because of its location to family who live nearby. I would recommend it more for a family holiday though although you will have to get up early for a sunbed as the "Towel on a bed for an hour rule" which apparently applies here isn't enforced here , which is a shame as we would have liked to have spent more time on the complex but had to go to beach on most days which also meant we took breakfast and drinks elsewhere!! Try to get a bungalow if you can all seem in good situations around this well kept complex. Unluckily for us despite emailing ahead for a bungalow we were allocated a flat overlooking the road which believe it or not didn't disturb but the Large indoor swimming pool that our balcony overlooked had roof openings that allowed a considerable amount of noise mainly the swimming instructor bellowing at the top of his voice and the numerous children's parties that took place over the holidays whilst we were there. We felt we couldn't spend much time relaxing on it as the cleaners room window also looked on to our balcony!! We had a breakfast at the pool bar a couple of times in the hopes a sunbed would become available but no luck!! Basic kitchen facilities 2 ring hob, a microwave, a kettle and a 2 slice toaster,plug sockets were in strange places e.g one over a draining board !! another behind a sofa. A note to people having to go to the beach at this moment all sunloungers and parasols have been removed from the beach for hire due to a local dispute so if shade is important to you especially for young children etc it might pay to buy a parasol locally. We stayed self catering but found a nice little bar across the road "The Crown" doing good food, cheap drink and great evening entertainment. In conclusion if you are a family this is a great place to stay but get yourselves up early for a sunbed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow every time. The ones near pool will be less private but very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank chardonnaylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#12 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing