We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit - love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Second visit - love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Santa Rosa 25th May-1st June and it was our second visit (the first being in August 2010).
We flew Jet2 Holidays on a half board basis. Prior to arriving I had emailed the hotel asking them for a "good room with a view". We arrived around 9.30pm and were greeted by the pleasant Aurora on reception. She brought up our reservation and had allocated us room 2007 on the 2nd floor. She told us they could change it if we didn't like it. No need. We liked it!!!
The weather which greeted us at the airport was not great to say the least. In fact, for almost 5 days the sun did not make an appearance until late afternoon, sometimes into the evening.
I certainly will have second thoughts about Lanzarote in May again.
Costa Teguise is a lovely resort. Windy, but in the height of the summer it can be a pleasant wind.
The breakfast is very good. Plenty on offer as is the evening dinner. Not the best menu I've ever eaten from but you can always find something to eat! Hot & cold themed buffet with a chef cooking fresh bacon, eggs & pancakes in the morning and either fish or grilled meats in the evening.
Our room was good with a nice long balcony. If I were to make complaints it would be about the beds. They are so uncomfortable that I spent the entire week sleeping on the sofa in the lounge area. Also, the cleaning could be a lot better. The towels are supposed to be changed 5 times per week but we had changes 2 days running then nothing for 3 days!!!
The swimming pool as a lot of people have said is freezing cold. I remember it being cold in August but when the sun was belting down then at 40 degrees the cold pool was a Godsend. Not in May, when it's cloudy & windy!
The pool bar is quite good. Cheap and cheerful.
Entertainment on the complex is adequate. We quite liked the 'body art' performer Diana King. She was a class act for such a venue. The reptile show could have been better. And the bar lady in the entertainment/bowling alley could do with lightening up. Don't think I saw her crack a smile in the whole week.
We ate out every lunch in Costa Teguise (and also 1 of the evenings) and I can recommend Casa Luis tapas bar next to the Super Dino close to the Santa Rosa. Also La Hacienda Tex-Mex, El Maestro Tex-Mex in CT centre.
We hired a car to get around and I can also recommend a trip upto Mirador Del Rio overlooking La Graciosa island. Breathtaking views!!!
Waverider speedboat thrills in Peurto Del Carmen also highly recommended.

Already thinking about our 3rd visit to Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: Room 2004-2008 on the 2nd floor with very good views of the complex, swimming pool, bar, and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    899
    776
    222
    40
    22
See reviews for
803
847
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at the Santa Rosa between 22 and 29th May. 4 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 4. On arrival we were very warmly greeted by Aurora who was so friendly and explained everything about Santa Rosa really well. We arrived around 9 p.m and as a nice touch Santa Rosa had arranged for a snack to be delivered to our bungalows - crusty bread, ham, cheese, fruit, yogurts and water - a really nice surprise. We had e-mailed ahead and asked for 2 bungalows together and if possible a pool view. We were given 2 bungalows together but not the pool view. Initially we were slightly disappointed however we soon realised our bungalows 1056/1057 were in a better position - in terms of giving some privacy, and also served as a wind shelter.
The bunglows themselves had everything we required, very spacious and clean. The bedrooms had a huge wardrobes for all the holiday clothes, beds extremely comfortable - I requested additional pillows from reception and they arrived almost immediately.
The shower in the bathroom was really powerful. Towels changed 5 times during the week and the beds were changed once. The maids were very friendly and cleaning was of a high standard.
We stayed on a half board basis, the dining room was light and fresh and the food was of a good quality and choice. Breakfast was really enjoyed by all the family - crispy bacon, eggs, sausages, mushrooms, beans, has browns, selection of breads, croissants and lots more. We felt dinner was fairly late which was between 7 -9.30 but that was a personal choice. Dinner again had a good choice and we enjoyed the Mexican and Chinese themed evening, We took our own water in 1 evening due to the fact the previous night we sat for 20 minutes without being offered a drink. We were told this wasn't possible, I would expect for HB that we should be entitled to a drink with dinner - either water, coffee, tea, soft drinks for kids. The drinks machines from breakfast were turned off.
The pool bar was reasonable priced however we did have an issue 1 evening when we asked for a drink at 6.30 prior to dinner and was told they were closed The don't close until 7 pm as per details in the hotel information. We complained to reception and was told it had been a misunderstanding Was slightly put off by this.
The pool are was large and the gardens around well kept. Salt water pool took a bit getting used to but the kids loved it.
There is a bowling alley, soft play area complex attached to the hotel, this is open for use by anyone and was often extremely busy with locals we struggled to get a seat. There was an entertainment programme advertised for kids but we didn't think that it lived up to its expectations or what was meant to be on offer . Kids club from 1 p.m for 45 minutes, not real direction or encouragement for kids to join in. A mini disco in the evening with exception of a Sunday for 30 minutes. The kids had to be signed into a room at the rear of the soft play area, on the 1 night we put the kids in - the staff member was 10 minutes late letting them in and then promptly told us to pick them up at 9..so basically 20 minutes mini disco The disco consisted of a tv screen and video playing music. My 9 year old son didn't enjoy this whatsoever.
This complex is lovely and in a great location, bungalows are fantastic an food is great. However the severe lack of entertainment is a let down. We had a great time however an enjoyed going out and about and sampling some of the local restaurants and bars and came home off an evening and sat out on our terrace making our own entertainment,
We ate out a couple of times and enjoyed Pizza Hot, The Waterfront Bar and had a lovely evening in The Crown. The supermarket nearby is really reasonably priced. Would recommend costa teguise and if you aren't bothered about much entertainment then Santa Rosa is the place to go.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow , 1054-1058 are close enough to the pool but with great privacy and shelter from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

firstly i booked here after reading such good reviews! i cant understand why there are so many good reviews?? i am not a picky person - i dont mind budget basic hotels but this place is awful

we were booked in for 7 nights with on the beach as a package holiday.

worst booking ive ever made.

we arrived at about 2pm.

On arrival all seemed well. reception friendly and helpfull. but soon went down hill

allocated a bungalow which was a the back over looking a derelict building half fallen down or maybe half started?

noticed room was basic but as expected as we booked up at a basic price. (wernt expecting the ritz.)

we really wasnt happy with the location of our bungalow so requested a change, was told NO? we seen plenty of empty bungalows! but were told no twice. fair enough we just got on with it.

we took our 11 yr old daughter round to the pool and she soon discovered it was infact an ice pool. it was absolutely FREEZING (not in a nice cold pool way... in a terrible way!) she was shivering from head to toe so we decided to head back to bungalow and have a shower etc and go for our dinner.

back at the bungalow i noticed dust everywhere, moved the freestanding safe by accident and discovered that much thick dust it looked as though someone had emptied the contents of a full vacuum behind it!!!!!

i then had a quick check behind beds etc! well it was disgusting! i found a hygiene strip (out of a costume) a sock. and a pair of tights... again thick dust hairs an bits!

i found a cleaner an she did sweep it but she wernt impressed with me and was fairly rude? funny that considering i could have complained to management but didnt wish i had now!

anyway we went off to find the shops restaurants and beaches! what a rubbish place!!!! little cove beach near by, then a little beach in the centre no sunbeds or anything! hardly anything about!! people who holiday here more than once must be easily satisfied cus tequise itself is so boring!!!

we found a restaurant and had a fairly good meal then headed back to santa rosa for sleep as we had a 7am flight so were all tired, we had the worst nights sleep, the beds are that uncomfortable we managed a few hours then woke aching! my daughter woke with a cold most likely from the freezing pool!!!

the weather had turned cloudy an very windy so we caught a taxi down to centre had an ice cream an went to sports cafe next door to santa rosa for a few hours.. we were that bored it was a nightmare!!!

As the evening approached we showered went for a meal then decided to give santa rosa entertainment a whirl. was ok to be honest reptile show followed by a magician which both were ok an killed a coupled hours!

back to bungalow for another awful night sleep!!!!!!

when we woke we'd had enough.... we wernt prepared to stay in such a crap place for a week, we had worked so hard and saved all year for this holiday and wanted what we deserved... a nice relaxing break in a nice place with a nice beach and use-able pool etc

so we made a decision to catch a taxi some where else... the taxi driver recommend peurto del carmen 25 euros in a taxi lovely beach great shops so we said yep take us


as soon as we arrived in peurto del carmen we felt like at last we had arrived on our hols what a beautiful place!!!!! we had a walk along the beach and literally got a taxi back to santa rosa packed our stuff and got another taxi back to PDC and booked into jable apartments 5 mins from strip (basic but comfy large an excellent location) our holiday had finally begun!!!! and we had an amazing holiday afterall! thank good we had enough spending money to relocate!!!!


The only plus points in teguise were the restaurants we ate in at the centre for 2 nights and the breakfast we had the two mornings at the sports case next to santa rosa. other than that it was dreadful an if we had stayed the week it would have been the worst holiday id ever had... and i would never have returned to lanzarote as i would of assumed everywhere was the same...

dont waste ur money on teguise go PEURTO DEL CARMEN instead its wonderfull!!!!!!

Room Tip: top tip... do not book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at the Santa Rosa 17 - 27 May as a couple with an 8 year old son and my parents on half board basis. The accommodation is quite basic but with everything needed. There was no air con in our bungalow which wasn't a problem for us in May but expect it could be a little uncomfortable in high season when it's warmer in the evening. We stayed in bungalows which were great for my father as he is disabled. Everything on the complex and the rooms was really clean. The grounds were very well kept and everything was easily accessible for a disabled traveller. The pool bar was very reasonably priced and at happy hour (4pm - 6pm) it was 2 large beers for 2 euros. You could also get sangria, various cocktails & wine and all the drinks were good quality. The staff, particularly Anna at the pool bar, were all really nice, very pleasant and really looked after us. The complex is great for kids. Our 8 year old went to the kids club 10:30 - 12:30 (which has it's own dedicated area) and the mini disco in the evening, everyday apart from Sundays when it was day off. There was loads for him to do with football & basketball pitches, mini golf, pool, bowling alley, soft play area, remote controlled cars to name a few of the activities available. The food was really nice with plenty to choose from so much so that we only ate out once in the evening during our stay and that was only because we felt we should do! (we went to Sausilito just down the road near the Playa Bastian arch - very nice). Behind the hotel is a little shop selling cooked chickens which we bought some days for lunch for 6.50e with potatoes - enough to feed 5 of us with a couple of baguettes from the supermarket. Drinks in the hotel restaurant were also reasonably priced and were in fact cheaper than the Hollywood Bar across the road (very nice, worth a visit). The hotel is well located if you fancy a walk after breakfast to resort centre (as said before about 15 mins). Aqua Park is about 10 mins walk behind the hotel but we chose not to go because we thought quite pricey for time of year and because it's quite small (23euro per adult 18e for kids and you can't take own food in). Evening were spent down by the bowling alley where there is also a bar (with happy hour) and some entertainment laid on. We met some really nice people and the boys our son made friends with were really nice children. We had a great time even though the weather was mixed. We would definitely return to the Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow if you want a terrace to chill out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris_Burgess52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Good location lovely clean bungalow would go back to the santa rosa would recommend this hotel to anyone food was good only went for breakfast twice the dearest restaurant was navorres what a rip off





Julie p broxburn

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Will deff b going back there again no doubt.Had an amazin time.Hotel was fab nothing 2 fault at all.Pool side bar food was fresh plentyful and happy hr well say no more :-D.Lovely walk not to far in to Teguise in the day and plenty of places to eat in the evenings very spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely place, friendly staff and clean apartments. Pool is fantastic, once you get used to the salt water. Food good and varied, dinng area clean and well staffed. Would recommend a visit to this hotel, felt very relaxed after our stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
1.0 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#17 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Property: Santa Rosa
Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing