We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3* Family Holiday”
Review of Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Rosa
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was our first year of booking a Family holiday during the School Holidays. We have two boys aged 5 and 2. We have been used to 5* All Inclusive resorts for the past few years enjoyed in term time but this year we had a budget. We chose Santa Rosa Self catering because we got it for a great price for 12 nights and because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

**If you are looking for a great base for a family holiday in good 3* accommodation you will not be disappointed**

We had a one bedroom refurbished bungalow near to the pool which was excellent with two young children. It was spacious and equipped enough to get by, however we ate out every night. There is no air conditioning but this wasn't an issue, there are shutters which let the wonderful breeze through. It actually drops cooler at night too.

The Pool is large, cold and yes salt water. It does seem strange but didn't prove a problem with our kids once they were used to it. There are showers provided on the poolside to wash the salt off after your swim. The pool is cold but refreshing once your in and it was busy with children and adults having fun. Sunbeds being reserved is an issue and i'm afraid to say after a couple of days we also took part in getting up before 9am and reserving a couple with towels, because if we didn't we wouldn't have got one. August is probably the busiest month of the year.

The Complex has some lovely Restaurants right on the doorstep. The Cavern Pub is delicious and very reasonably priced. The Santa Rosa Wok, an all you can eat buffet is also one of the best Chinese Restaurants we have been to. There is also a supermarket for daily essentials.

The Complex is clean, well maintained, spacious. It has a small park area next to the pool for the kids to play. It feels safe and I was happy for my kids to run around with some freedom where they were always in my view.

Happy Hour is great... two pints of Lager for 2 Euros! 4pm-6pm at the Pool Bar. Also 9pm-10pm by Mini Disco. Also Cocktails and Soft drinks are 241.

Kids club- What can I say FANTASTIC. How many Self Catering Complex's offer free kids club 6 days a week? The Women who run it, Virginia and Marta are excellent with the children. I was so impressed. Children 4 and over can be left and 3 and under are welcome to stay and play with a parent. Remember to pack socks for the kids! Kids club is 10am-1.30pm and mini disco 9pm-10pm. The Kids club room is a large indoor play area, disco room and party room. Its right next to the entertainment area and bowling. Bowling is also great fun at 2 Euros each.

The main square is a 20 minute walk from the Santa Rosa (with two young kids). Most direct route is left out of the hotel onto main road. Turn right down side street signposted "Playa Bastian" past a lovely Restaurant called Sausalito. This takes you onto the promenade which is a beautiful scenic walk. Walk left on the promenade past the large Kids playground then instead of bearing right and staying on the coastal walk carry straight on. This will take you directly into the main square with loads of shops, restaurants etc. You can continue on the promenade and its a beautiful walk along the coast but it will add an extra 25 mins.

WiFi can be intermittent but FREE. Seriously you're on holiday!!!!

Reception Staff are Excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly.

We have had a fantastic family holiday here and are already talking about returning next year. It says a lot about a place when most of the families we spoke to were return visitors. One family were on their 6th visit!

Room Tip: Bungalows are great, spacious and perfect if you have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChrisandVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Was wary when i booked this after looking at others reviews but i had nothing to worry about.When we arrived Aurora on reception was very friendly and explained everything to us. We stayed in one of the bungalows and it was well equipped and very spacious. The cleaners came in regularly and we always had fresh towels. We went bed and breakfast and the food was absolutely delicious and there was plenty of it from bacon, sausage and eggs to cereal, fruit or pastries. The pool is cold as it isn't heated but as it gets so hot its nice to cool down in. The kids didn't mind one bit.There was more to do than i first thought from Aquadance to bowling to water polo.The staff were lovely especially at the pool bar. Local pubs are very welcoming i recommend the cavern just around the corner.Staff can not be more friendly.It's a nice walk to the square which is a busier part of costa teguise and we did this about 8 times, although the taxis are really cheap and it cost us around 3 euros to get there.Would definetly return to Santa Rosa.Well worth its money just to see my kids have a fab time.

Room Tip: If possible request a bungalow.Easy access to pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riovwybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went on holiday on the 25th July for 2 weeks as a party of 9, ages ranging from 3 to 74 years. The pensioners stayed in a bungalow at the side of the pool which was ideal for them. The rest of us stayed in two separate apartments on the first floor overlooking the pool. Apartments were well maintained, spacious and clean.

Food in the hotel was nice but not a great selection although there was always something there to eat. It did get a bit repetitive. There is a great restaurant just round the corner called "the fisherman". There is a nice friendly pub across the road called "the crown" which has live entertainment a few times a week. We went here a few times as the hotels entertainment was more aimed at kids and not adults.

The main square is about a 15 minute walk away or taxi for 2-3 euros. There is more pubs and restaurants to choose from here. Try the cocktails at Davids cocktail bar, they were amazing!

We went to Costa Teguise market on the Sunday, the hotel can arrange a bus trip for 4 euro each. Also went go-karting which was 12 euro each. Get a leaflet from the crown pub across from Santa Rosa and you get 4 extra laps and free transport! Well worth a visit! But beware because we all got burnt whilst on the track as it was like a sun trap.

The only downside to the hotel was we didn't see the pool area get cleaned although the actual pool was clean even if it was fresh salt water.

All hotel staff were very friendly and we would go back!

Room Tip: We'd requested a high floor with a pool view and that is exactly what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine268406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Santa Rosa is a nice apartment complex, but there's room for improvement in my opinion. There are pros and cons and in the end I would just as happily try somewhere else next time rather than go back here.

The complex is well maintained, it's very green and attractive looking, most staff are very friendly, the kids entertainment is excellent and (for what it cost us on top of the price for the room) the food is great value for money (we had dinner, bed & breakfast).

I would certainly not ever go back here again unless I was guaranteed NOT to get a room at the back of the complex above the indoor swimming pool. We never got to lie in because swimming lessons would start at 8:30, when the shouting and whistle blowing would start. You also get the road noise here. I guess you get what you pay for; we booked last-minute and got a good price.

Another thing which other reviewers have mentioned is the pool. When reading other reviews I thought complaining about the salty water was nonsense, but actually I really didn't like it either. Salty water in your eyes and up your nose is just very unpleasant. Our daughter thought the same and though she normally loves swimming, she didn't want to here, which was a real waste.

Lastly, the attitude of some of the other holiday makers here would be a reason for me not to go back. If you don't want to get up early but want a sun bed by the pool - forget it. You'll find that 95% of sun beds are taken before 8:00 AM, while the only thing that's on them are towels. This is also the hotel's own fault for letting it happen, even though there are signs up saying this is not allowed.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not getting a room at the back of the complex overlooking the road and above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank BrawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Santa Rosa in the beginning of July for 12 nights. We'd been disappointed the previous year as the hotel was fully booked so were very excited about our stay! We were not let down. We requested a bungalow by the pool and the hotel obliged. This was perfect for us as we had 2 young kids with us and therefore had everything at hand.

The apartment was very clean. Plenty of towels and linen. Recently refurbished. Spacious. Fully functional and all equipment was in good state of repair. patio doors and window was secure. With 2 young kids, they slept in living room on sofa bed and fold away, we still had plenty of room. Plenty of storage space for clothes. Missed a few drawers however.
Reception was cool and bright giving a great first impression. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Surrounding gardens and overall complex was super. Plenty of open space for our young kids to have freedom safely. Clean, pretty. Look out for fresh mint,banana trees and old olive tree.
Bar prices were cheap and good value for both drinks and food. Happy hours were fantastic.
Restaurant was kept clean as staff worked tirelessly. Food-smaller selection than the larger hotels but cooked well, and of great standard. Half board was great value for us. PS you pay for drinks but again,no over inflated prices.
Gym and indoor pool looked good but we didn't use .
Pool area is plentiful with sunbeds. Our first week there was no mad rush for beds. People a bit more agitated the second week but it only takes a few to spoil it. Look out for the life guard, he lifts towels that have sat for too long-my hero.
The kids club was a dream. Open a few hours in the morning and an hour in evening. Kids are well looked after by the staff especially virginia.
The bar downstairs has a bowling ally, comfortable seating area and plenty of pool and air hockey.
Outside are a few really good bars and nice restaurants. 20 main walk to town which is a must. Wed eve market not to be missed.
Overall this hotel has fabulous facilities. It is well cared for,staff are respectful of guest resulting in vice versa.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow by pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ponty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was my third visit to santa rosa in the last 3 years and was slightly disappointed, Not in the apartments themselves as they are very clean and basic cleaned 5 times a week.
The staff from reception to the cleaners are all fantastic always polite and willing to help apart from the barmaid who works behind the bar in the entertainment area,she is rude and never smiles.
Virgina and Martha are fantastic with the kids from kids club to games around the pool, but the evening entertainment is very poor nothing like last year where it was fantastic,on a couple of occasions it got cancelled due to lack of people.
This is not Virginia fault as she tries her best but has no budget to organize professional shows.one night it was bingo and it was only two games which was over in 20 minutes and was dreadful.
The reason i have put excellent holiday was because we met some fantastic people and made our own entertainment.
If you want a budget holiday where the kids will have fun in the daytime and not really interested in evening entertainment i would totally recommend.
There are some fantastic places to eat in costa teguise which wont break the bank and the fishermans inn next to santa rosa is superb for evening meal and a good english breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pricey34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Santa Rosa 5th -19th July. Had a brilliant time and were lucky to stay in 1034 right near the pool. Rooms are basic but have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our room was cleaned 5 times a week. Staff were all friendly and polite. My kids 5 & 3 attended kids club a few times and Virginia was brilliant with them. Hotel is very child friendly and has excellent facilities for them to enjoy their stay. Only 1 small negative, the pool is freezing. Not a major issue but would have been nice a little warmer. I would definitely return and recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank RebeccaJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
8.6 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#10 of 38 in Costa Teguise
6,031 reviews
1 mi away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#4 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
Apartamentos Galeon Playa
#13 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Rosa

Address: Avda del Mar 19, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location and Resort The apartment complex is located in Costa Teguise 350m to the beach of Playa Bastian. The town centre is only 1 km away, the capital in 6 km and to the airport only 12 km. The Santa Rosa is perfect for relaxed family holidays and now it is also your destination for a sport and active accommodation. Always thinking on the families it offers a complete entertainment program for children , 1500m2 leisure center with a Indoor Children Playground, ball pond, soft play area with slides, climbs, bridges, face painting, football, play-station, television room, (free of charge) pool table and as well as an professional Brunswick 10 pin bowing alley with 4 tracks .(Charge) The new Sports Center, opened in May 2013, offers you a wide range of sport facilities, a heated indoor semi Olympic pool of 25 meters and one heated 6x6m pool for children and rehabilitation. It also provides a fully equipped Gym with the newest equipment, Fitness room, spinning-bikes, personal trainer, classes of yoga, TRX and much more. To relax after sportive activities you can enjoy the Sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath and sport massage. (Charge) The Sports Center can be used for a small fee for Clients of the Hotel. Accommodation-Apartments 1 bedroom apartments are distributed in a separate bedroom with two single beds, wardrobe with safe (for rent), bathroom with tub / shower, living room with sofa-bed of an individual place, telephone and satellite TV. A fully equipped kitchen with 2 cooking hobs, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The balcony or terrace has furniture. The family apartments offer the same facilities but with 2-bedrooms and 4 single beds, 2 per room. Santa Rosa has rooms and facilities for disabled guests. (Under request) Please, contact Santa Rosa if you need to rent a scooter, wheelchair, etc. Upon arrival. During the stay the cleaning of the apartments is done 5 times per week, with 3 changes of towels per week and 1 change of linen every 5 days. Facilities and Service The reception remains open 24 hours for your safety and comfort with luggage storage and showers, and 4 Internet terminals (charge). Surrounded by a large garden area and a solarium you find the outdoor saltwater pool (heated in winter by solar panels) with separate children's pool and outdoor playground, sun loungers and parasols. Just beside the pool area you have a Snack bar with free Wi-Fi connection were you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks. It also features 2 restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner where you can choose between international themed buffet and a la carte service. (Free Wi-Fi) The complex also offers installations to play Mini-Golf, Volleyball, Football, Basketball and Petanque (free of charge) And 2 Paddle-tennis-courts (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Hotel Costa Teguise
Santa Rosa Lanzarote/Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing