We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for people who need special diets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diverhotel Lanzarote
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great for people who need special diets”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Playaverde Hotel, Costa Teguise. This hotel works closely with Coeliac Espania to provide gluten-free meals for coeliacs. The chefs are very knowledgeable and take great care to cater for people with dietary needs, they prepare gluten-free (and food for those with allergies) separately. As a coeliac with a milk allergy I need to feel assured that my meals are safe to eat. Raul and Emelio (the chefs) ensured that I had safe, tasty and beautifully presented food at every meal. Eating here was a delight and and easy for me. The waiting staff also were very helpful and provided me with suitable breakfast cereals, biscuits, cakes, crackers and bread.

The branded drinks (all-inclusive) were very welcome. Although it does not have the wow factor it is clean and the staff are polite, cheerful and helpful. Jose, and the other reception staff were exceptional and the manager, Lena is very approachable. Some people on trip advisor complained that the hotel was a bit out of the centre - yes it is, but not that far out. Buses are plentiful, taxis are cheap and walking is cheap and healthy - especially after all the wonderful food and drinks.

Only one gripe -it would have been nice to have some parasols around the pool area. Otherwise, a brilliant holiday, which was made special by the care and attention of the wonderful staff - thank you, we'll be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your holidays.

Our hotel offers a special service for celiacs and allergic and we are pleased to see that our chefs have attended them according to your expectations.
We do parasols in the pool area and the lifeguard will be pleased to give you one upon request. As Lanzarote is a windy island, we do not maintain parasols opened during the whole day.
We have a special programme for Christmas plenty of surprises and fun. We would be delighted to welcoming you in these dates.

Yours faithfully,

Lena Concepción – Manager Diverhotel Playa Verde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    558
    390
    154
    119
See reviews for
578
614
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We did 11 nights all inclusive here. We liked:-
Staff - were great; all friendly and helpful with great English.

Service and fixes - anything reported was addressed same day.

Food - Generally very nice, lots of choice - even the kids were happy. Enjoyed the fresh fish - chips, pasta, pizza were always available for those more fussy English eaters as was paella or similar rice dishes. The traditional crust pizzas were really good. Snacks available at the pool bar most of the day too.

Room - ours was big and looked out over the bay. I'd booked 2 double rooms but was given something more like a mini-suite - could have been a problem for some parties but it actually helped us as we have an 8 year old and were trying to decide the best sharing arrangements. It was very quiet too.

Drinks - help yourself to beer and soft drinks consequently no queues at the bar. Plenty of big fridges with drinking water to help yourself to at any time.

Not quite so keen on :-
The aircon - as far as I could see it did almost nothing. It did start to smell if left on overnight btu this was i think a problem with the drian in that area and has probably been fixed by now.

Pool - a bit chilly, a little small and crowded - totally useless for swimming

Sunbeds - a little short and literally being "reserved" at god knows what time. If you went down at 8am you'd be lucky to find 4 together. The hotel should tackle this and state their policy. In practice the lifeguard is great and will find you a bed or beds.

Deserts - I didn't really enjoy what they had on offer and usually missed it out. Occasionally the fresh fruit looked a bit tired as well.

I felt the hotel did not use its outside space wisely; it was packed around the pool but the large sunken area next to the pool was deserted (and about the same size) as was the games area.

Entertainment - I was not interested in anything offered did during my stay. What I did see I did not think much of.

The location is about 1K out of town so there is little to no night-life which didn't worry us but it could be a problem for some.

We enjoyed our stay and would go back here.

Room Tip: Highest floor and end of corridor usually quietist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking a little bit of your time to comment on your experience and sharing it with us and for choosing the Diverhotel Playaverde as your holiday residence.
We have been doing preventive maintenance during the last weeks and thus, we have improved some facilities and services such us the air conditioning. Most of the improvements will be ready for your next visit.
The swimming pool design imitates a beach, as your enter in it gets deeper. Sunbeds are often bussy but our policy is to retire every towel which has been on a sunbed for more than 30 min without anybody on it. The palm trees area just right next to the pool is a solarium specially designed for guests who want privacy and relax.
Overall, I feel that you had a nice holiday time, and hope to welcoming you again and enjoy.
I remain at your entire disposal
Yours faithfully,
Lena Concepción- Manager Diverhotel Playa Verde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 days, and really cannot fault this hotel, only downside, if you can call it that, was the distance away from teguise centre. However if you got a taxi only 3 -4 euro each way if your not up for the 10 min walk. There was also a supermarket only a 3 minute walk if you needed supplies through the back exit of the hotel, if you ask reception staff they are more than happy to show you where to go.

The food for an all inclusive point of view was actually pretty good and the options you got were really varied. Each day there was something new, along with your usual vareity for those who like to eat chips and pizza everyday. For those who like to try other things there was so much on offer, and unless you were having the salads or cold meat selections, the foods were always hot.

Staff very attentive, pool was very clean and had two jacquzi's with a childs pool and a seperate pool for slides and shoots on top of the main pool with waterfall features. Spacious rooms, even the grounds of the hotel were large as included mini golf, darts, pool bar, 2 night bars, swing park for the kids.

The rooms as said before are large, but many reviews have failed to mention the free air conditioning, which is a bonus. Can hire towels for the pool and room comes with a fan if your still too hot from the heat. All you need to pay for is the safe and if you want more than the 1 hour free wifi a day at the hotel just pay at reception only 20 euro for the week.

There is just no pleasing some people, but if you have been all inclusive before or this is your first time, I would'nt hesitate to come here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for giving your point of view about the Diverhotel Playaverde. The whole staff in this hotel works hard to improve each day and to have satisfied guests. Our main goal is to want guests to come back and spend again the best days of the year with us, and in your case we have achieved our goal.
As this is a family welcome hotel, our facilities have lots of fun and playing areas and a great variety of food to adapt to every taste and nationality.
I remain at your complete disposal and do not hesitate to contact me personally for any enquiries regarding your next stay with us.

Yours faithfully,

Lena Concepción- Manager Diverhotel Playa Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

the hotel was v clean , the room we had , had a tree right in front of it so no view, the pool area was nice for adults and kids , the entertainment was poor as the reps never spoke much english so we never had a clue what they was on about or the acts , the food side was v poor the only time it was hot was when they cooked it for you , the food was luke warm or too cold to eat that was after the doors was open for service the choice seemed too get worse as week went on even the soup bowl`s all seemed to have chips on edge and plates that wasnt cleaned from before, this spoilt my holiday sorry no way is this 4 star

Room Tip: dont have room 231 , plus use back exit gate to get too the beach short cut
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way for us to know our weak points and how to improve them.
An essential requirement for employing staff in Playa Senator hotels, is that staff, and mostly the Animation Team, speaks English. They are made an English test when they are interviewed.
Regarding the food temperature, I must apologize and will talk to the head of kitchen to see what the problem could be, as our installations at the restaurant are designed to keep food warm.
There are rooms located on higher floors or in other areas which could have given you a better view over the pool. For your next visit, we will be pleased to give you a nice room with a nice view.
The whole team of the Diverhotel Playaverde is at your disposal and hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely,

Lena Concepción – Manager Diverhotel Playaverde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhyl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I am currently 8 days into two week stay at playaverde and it has been a nice relaxing time so far the food is excellent with plenty to choose from the rooms are very spacious with massive beds good bathroom facilities.the staff are all very helpful the pools are very nice. the bar serves branded drinks which is rare for all inclusive all in all a very nice relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor have nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest;

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays with us and I will personally notify all the staff your satisfaction.
We stay at your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in future holidays. Meanwhile, we will continue to work hard each day to improve each day.

Yours faithfully,

Lena Concepcion – Manager Diverhotel Playaverde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights with 4 children aged 11, 2 and 2 at 6. we had a 2 bedroomed apartment with connecting door which was clean and spacious. The air conditioning didnt work in either rooms but we has a fan which was loud and looked like it was going to fall off. luckily my 2 year old was waking up at 7am every morning so i was up early enough to get some sunbeds for us. iv never been to a hotel where your struggling to get a sunbed at 7am!! Pool area was ok, Kids really enjoyed the water slides, but the tiles were coming off in the pools and one day my daughter cut her foot whilst playing in the pool.The snack bar was ok served, chips, hot dogs and burgers every day, the self service slush machines were a big hit with the children. I was very dissapointed with the entertainment, they never involved any english children and spoke minium english. usually you have music playing round the pool but they only did this on selected days for an hour, the night entertainment was terrible and very repetitive couldnt really understand the entertainment team when they was talking.The Food was ok, not great.
Locoation wasnt great either were out of the way although we didint mind paying the 3 euros to go down into the town which was very nice with a selection of bars, restuarants and shops and a nice beach.
We wouldnt return to this hotel again but overall not a bad holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondeg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Diverhotel Lanzarote, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing Diverhotel Playaverde as your holiday residence.
Our entertainment programme is settled for the whole week and changes the following week. There is an offer of activities for adults, kids and teenagers. The evening entertainment starts with a minidisco for the youngest ones and at 10 pm we offer activities for adults, including external shows as magicians, dance shows, circus, flamenco, ...
We hope to make up for the points you have mentioned and have the opportunity of welcoming you again in Playa Senator Hotels. You can visit our website, call our head office or contact me directly to get further information about our hotel choice all along Spain.

Yours faithfully,
Lena concepción – Manager Diverhotel Playaverde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I, took our youngest daughter (age 13) for a 10 day holiday to the Diverhotel Playaverde, Costa Teguise, Lanzarote in August 2013.

Hotel:
The hotel was great value for money. We had a large family room with TV, bath/showerroom, changing room/area which was all kept regularly clean by friendly cleaners. The aircon in the room was just enough to give a comfortable nights sleep, especially when combined with the ceiling fan. Although the room was larger than most other hotels we have stayed in, it is worth paying the extra to upgrade to a suite as some people we met had done for a total of 60 euros for 4 people for a fortnight.
The pools felt cool on entry which provided great cooling off from the heat of the day, but soon felt warmer once in for a minute or two. The pools were shallow in most areas which suited most families with younger children even toddlers. we felt they could have been cleaned more than they were as you could feel grit at the bottom in some areas. On the whole though the pools were fantastic.
In other areas you could play crazy golf, giant chess, archery or have fun with your kids in the park area, all well maintained. We couldn't figure out what the large sunken area filled with palm trees was for though??
Food:
The standard of the food was excellent with everything being fresh and well cooked. The choice was wide and varied with fish, meat, salads, vegetables as well chips pizza etc for the fussy lol.
Drink:
Bottled water in fridges were all over the hotel for you to help yourself at anytime. Help your self beer taps were also available as were most other alcoholic drinks until 1am. The spirits were all top brands such as Gordons Gin or Ballantines whisky, and of course all served in large measures by very friendly staff. The wines were not as good as we had hoped for, but when it comes to wine we are fussy. Plenty of soft drinks and slushes for the kids also self-service.
Staff:
The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and fun. You get back what you give we say. Richard behind the bar was particularly great, if you go call him Fred and tell him his dicky bow is upside-down:-)
Weather:
Lanzarote is equatorial and as such the sun is very strong. Even when its cloudy you will get burnt without high factor sun cream. The number of unfortunate people we saw that looked as though they had been slapped silly was unreal. even kids with blisters. I wore SPF50 and 30 and came back with a glorious tan anything lower is risky. Lanzarote is known as the windy island for a reason! the wind is actually very welcome especially in the heat of the day.
Entertainment:
The animation team do a fantastic job during the day, entertaining by the pool with crazy costumes and funny dance routines. HOWEVER the entertainment for adults is very poor so we didn't bother. its a good job we make friends easily and kept ourselves entertained.

Room Tip: Pay tthe small ammount extra to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross_Nicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.4 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#16 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4,912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Gardens
#36 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,241 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
Hotel Beatriz Costa & Spa
#22 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,081 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
Blue Sea Costa Teguise Beach
#37 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diverhotel Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diverhotel Lanzarote

Property: Diverhotel Lanzarote
Address: Avda. Las Palmeras, 20, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Playaverde Hotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diverhotel Lanzarote 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The diverhotel Lanzarote is situated just a few kilometres from the island's capital, Arrecife, and along the Teguise Coast, one of the most attractive tourist destinations in Lanzarote thanks to the quality of its services, beaches, green areas and, above all, the sensation of freedom and tranquillity which reigns supreme here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Diverhotel Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playaverde Costa Teguise
Lti Playaverde Hotel Costa Teguise
Diverhotel Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing