We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 2 weeks!”
Review of KN Matas Blancas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KN Matas Blancas
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our 2nd visit to the Best Age Hotel & we were not disappointed. We felt very at home & settled right away into our suite, which was next door to where we stayed last time.
Our neighbours were a lovely Chinese couple who had a cute little dog.
The hotel has a variety of nationalities which makes it very interesting. It is amazing how a smile can bring people together & a greeting if possible in their own language goes down well.
We are from Scotland & speak English & we are spoilt because many nationalities learn English at school. We made friends with several other guests, which was nice.
Our holiday was also enhanced by some glorious weather. We hired a car at the airport which was handy for reaching the wonderful beaches in the area.
Paula was the animation person & she was very pleasant & friendly.
The pool could do with being heated. We actually found the sea warmer!
There is a pleasant ambience in the dining room, which makes for a relaxing meal. However we found the choice in the evening could have been improved as there was a lot of fish.
We took our own kettle & mugs as the pool bar could be open more often.
The jacuzzi in the Spa is excellent & I popped in most evenings before our meal.
The staff are great & all work hard to give you a pleasant stay. Thanks to all of them!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a suite as they are all very comfortable & nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank edham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Best Age provided us a nice and quiet vacation to a bargain price. Rooms are so clean, beds are comfortable and we did not hear any disturbing sounds from neighbour guests. We had the breakfast buffet every morning and it offered a fresh and varied meal with everything you could wish for. The location of the hotel is okay but not more. A minibus takes hotel guests to the beach, don't forget to get free tickets from the reception. The staff are helpful but unpersonal. The pool area is large with three pools and it is very clean. Since no children or teenagers are allowed at the hotel, it is very quiet and almost sleepy. The gym is a disappointment but the indoor whirlpool was a nice surprice. I would give this hotel 3,5 stars of 5.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annebelle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was our second visit to Best Age. We love this place as it is so quiet and offers everything we want and need. The staff are very friendly and helpful the place is spotless and the beds are very comfy. Every room has air conditioning. Downfall is there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. We took our own kettle and cups so this wasn't a problem. The food had improved a little since our last visit. Could do with some microwaves to warm food up a little if you like your food hot. Plenty of choice for everyone.
The Spa is very relaxing but be careful as it tends to get very wet on the floor. My husband slipped and twisted his knee. (there are sign's stating warning). We live on the island so this is a hours drive from our home and we will be paying many more visits in the future.

Room Tip: ground floor facing the pool would be our personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pattyl1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Agree with other reviews, the hotel is clean, rooms are basic but comfortable and air con works well. Walls are very thin, and you can hear toilets flushing and showers going on and off very clearly. Pool area is relaxing and no problems getting sunbeds, but beware of the near gale force winds that blow nearly every day in costa calma and there isn't really any sheltered area. The hotel is in quite a remote location, a car would be a definite advantage, especially as the food in the hotel is for want of a better word, awful! Breakfast is fine (although the juice and hot chocolate out of the machines are undrinkable), but I would definitely avoid the half board option, the choice of food is minimal, mostly bland and over/undercooked. Trays of rice and pasta without sauce!? No wifi in rooms, works in the reception. Overall a relaxing stay, but not the place for you if you are looking for any sort of nightlife (except during 2 weeks in July when the windsurfing and kite World Cup come to costa Calma, and there are beach parties every night)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Generel - Booked this hotel through and agent specializing in Cordial hotels, and for such a bargain price I wasn't really expecting much ... good job as it turns out. Like many other reviewers have said this hotel is spotlessly clean and in general well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful. However the hotel is completely lacking any charm or character. The Costa Calma area is very aptly named as past the hour of 10PM the place is completely dead. 
 
Services - More like a 3 star than a 4 star. There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms, you can however hire (for a fee) a kettle or a coffee maker from reception but you will need to provide your own cups, coffee, tea etc. There are a few hours each day that you cannot get a coffee/tea etc as the poolside bar/cafe closes at 18:00 and the upper bar doesn't open till 20:30, the same in the morning between the buffet breakfast closing and the poolside bar/cafe opening. 
 
Rooms - The rooms are quite large with a decent size balcony, comfortable beds etc and a small fridge - the aircon was adequate but only runs while your door keycard is in the room electrics slot. 
 
Food - Dinners where rather bland and repetitive, hardly any of the dishes I had where hot despite being under lamps etc. There seems to be 2 "themed" nights during the week, Spanish on Wednesday and Chinese on Friday. Breakfast however was varied and tasty. 
 
Pool - I braved the pool twice during our stay, as it seems to be a solar heated pool during the summer it  means the pool temperature is in the high teens, i.e cold. The poolside warning sign is worth a read for a giggle. 
 
Would I return - No probably not, but if peace and quite is your thing then this place is probably ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomoRosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is lovely.!! Its very clean especially round the pool. It would have been 5 star in my book had the pool been heated. The food was varied and catered for every palate. There are many nationality's in this hotel, which I liked as it made conversations more interesting. Rocho the head bar man and his friend Phil were good company and made us so welcome. There are clean white beaches some of them were nude bathing,and buses are readily available to get you there. The resort it self is sparse, but this encourages you to make your own fun with the other guests in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This hotel is lovely, pools clean, hot tub steam room etc lovely, rooms grand and spacious and clean' staff could not be more helpful, food OK breakfast was good, a lot of fish on the menu. However if u are under 65 and not German this is not the place for you, we had to drive over twenty five km to nearest place with anything morro jable - v disappointed with our travel agent who assured us the resort was busy don't be fooled its not busy its dead

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciara_c_dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
2.9 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
44.8 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,094 reviews
27 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.9 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
10.4 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KN Matas Blancas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KN Matas Blancas

Address: Calle Punta Pesebre 6 | Urb Mirador del Río, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Best Age Fuerteventura)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Calma
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: £36 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KN Matas Blancas 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KN Matas Blancas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Age Fuerteventura Hotel Costa Calma
KN Matas Blancas Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing