We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing unusual Hotel, so well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth,Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing unusual Hotel, so well worth a visit”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Hotel & Suites excellent, so much personal private space, secluded, and very well kept.
Maid service not to be faulted, as were the entire Hotel Staff....Well done chaps - 5 Star.
Restaurant menu and food really top notch...
Breakfast buffet wonderful.....
Pools were never busy, although the water in them COLD..Very invigorating..!
That saying, it did not detract in any way from an absolutely brilliant week.
Would we return....Yes. Would we recommend....Yes.
.... Thank You 'Risco de Gato'....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pompeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment here on Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, thank you also for the good valuation of the staff, it is very important for us that the clientes fell well treated.
Thank you again for this wonderful review.
all the staff of the Hotel hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerely

José González Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    155
    31
    11
    17
See reviews for
73
348
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here with my husband in early February. Our holiday was my Christmas present to him because he loves the sun and was desperate to escape England's grey winter. It was our first ever half-board holiday (other than skiing) and thus a bit of a risk but the food was fine. The "pods" are lovely - a good size inside and we loved the small, private gardens. The nearby beach is fantastic for a bit of exercise and is kept very clean, as is the area as a whole.

Room Tip: I think the 100 series are probably the best because they do give a part sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAnneP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Clients,

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato. I hope your husband loved his Christmas present?!
Thank you so much for that really good comment.
We hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerly,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked this through Secret Escapes after reading the reviews on here. I cannot fault the place. The PODS were amazing, very secluded and private.
They were clean and well stocked (mini bar at small extra charge).
It was very quiet and tranquil, perfect for a relaxing week away. Not sure, I would spend two weeks. 10 days would have been perfect.
The staff were outstanding and went that extra mile. I cannot eat dairy products and was accomodated accordingly every evening without hesitation. Seperate dishes were made for me on some evenings. The breakfast was excellent, a huge choice.
Would definitely recommend the place and would most definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kersh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all i want to say thank you for taking the time to write a very good comment about the hotel. I`m really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay between us and we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel and can't speak highly enough of it. We both needed a real rest and this was just the place to do it! The pods are great - very clean and comfortable (the bed was a tad hard for me but I doubled up a duvet and put it on the mattress). It was so quiet and peaceful in our little terrace or we could go and sit in our 'front garden' and look at the sea :)

The food was lovely - we booked a half board deal through Voyage Prive for 2 weeks and I did wonder if we would have a repeat menu the second week but no! It was equally great and diverse. The meals are really nice and the prices of the drinks are not too bad at all.

Staff were very friendly and lovely - special mentions for Miguel and Fatima and the student from Romania (sorry I couldn't remember your name!)

There isn't much round and about in walking distance but we didn't care - we had lots of books to get through!

I could have easily stayed another 2 weeks :) - thanks for helping us both to wind down and relax on a much needed break

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guests,
First of all i want to say thank you for taking the time to write a really good comment here on Trip Advisor, thank you so much for it.

We are sorry that the bed was too hard for you, on your next stay in the hotel please ask at Recepction for a mattress pad. Then your future holiday will be sure more comfortable.

We are very pleased to hear that you were completely satisfied with the food.
because we have worked recently on and with the kitchen staff, attended courses and further educations.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and all the staff of the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato hope to see you soon again between us.

Kind regards,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from Vik hotel in fuetaventura we saw it on secret escapes and it looked good with the back up of trip advisor, we (2 adults and 2 boys aged 8&6) wanted a unique, quiet, private, not loud venue and this is what we got, bed and breakfast only. Our boys were the only children of their there the hotel was mainly German and Spanish.
Reception staff very helpful always wanting to help
Breakfast staff again help full Paco was great with the kids
One of the breakfast chefs could of been a bit happier (Wednesday)
breakfast it's self was good great choice, nice and relaxed apart from the European use of UHT milk, I thought we had stopped using this!
Nita our maid again was great very good always wanting to help, discreet and took pride in her job.
They offer a great pillow menu
However as per other comments the mattress could do with renewing
Rooms are fantastic, large spacious, clean, great for a family of four we had room 210, all rooms are easy to access
Did not use the spa with the Thai ladies
GYM was ok bit dated but did the job for me
Swimming pool was great it was that quiet we had it to ourselves a few days, yes the water is cold, but not when the air is at 24oC, so "man up!"
Location of the hotel is 300m from the beach and yes to the right of the beach there our nudist!
The waves are great just need to ensure the kids are supervised
Location of the hotel to Costa Calma is at the far end but easy walking distance to the shops etc etc
Would I return ...., yes only for a max of 7 days
Thanks hotel RiK for a great stay and long may your success continue

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank aceevanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all i want to say thank you for taking the time to rate our Hotel. We are really happy to hear you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you and your lovely family soon again between us.
Yours sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have recently returned from an excellent break which was made very enjoyable by friendly and attentive staff. Our maid Fatima did an especially good job of leaving the room looking fresh and with fun towel sculptures! We stayed half board as part of a deal from Secret Escapes - everything was exactly as promised. Breakfast was very good with usual continental selection with additional items cooked-to-order outside on the terrace (bacon and eggs, omelette, crepes). Dinner at the hotel was fantastic. Generous 4 course menu plus appetiser, of a standard far higher than I anticipated. Some mains and desserts were excellent. Only the BBQ night was slightly disappointing (food wasn't very hot). Reception staff were accommodating and friendly with good local advice, and the porter made our room welcome very warm. Outdoor pool and jacuzzi excellent. Beautiful views of the sea. Had a Junior Superior Suite, very well appointed room with 2 king size beds, plus light airy living room and huge bathroom plus dressing area, as well as a private courtyard outside. The rooms were very unique with curved ceilings and windows. Highly recommended! Costa Calma is a good location with less of a touristy overdeveloped feel than Correlejo in the north. Car hire very much recommended for seeing the most of the island, although relaxing at the beach near the hotel and hotel itself would make for a very good quiet break.

Room Tip: In the 100s block, nearer to the lobby and restaurants. We walked to the tennis courts over on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iliketoeattastyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your rating on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and lovely surrounding.
As you yourself said it is a place of peace and tranquility and we want to maintain it. We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you soon again between us.



Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just enjoyed a wonderful week of sun and warmth, we were in pod 216 - at the northern end of the front row; I suspect as with all the pods, quiet, spacious and clean.
Although the hotel was quite quiet at the start, the buffet breakfast was superb, the 'cooked-to-order' items exceptional. We didn't use the a la carte restaurant as the selection in the fixed menu offering was excellent; far too much food if you are trying to watch your diet. Ate lunch a couple of times in the terrace restaurant, again great choice of food and drinks.
Pool area was excellent and gardens are well maintained.
As our return flight was in the evening, requested and got an extension to use of the room, as my wife uses a nebuliser at lunch time - the staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms 201-17 if you want to see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BisleyBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Bisley Bullet,

Many thanks for taking the time to rate our hotel on trip advisor. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and tranquility.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and hope to see you again between us.
Thank you again for this wonderful review

Yours sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
8.8 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing