We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So different”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Your own private suite, with a private courtyard with sun beds, plus a patio area with chairs table and umbrella . This is so unusual and a great change from the usual hotel we really enjoyed it here. The hotel staff are lovely, friendly courteous and they all smile!! Food was great, dinner was above the usual expectations of a holiday hotel. I felt breakfast was a little restricting but I am a healthy breakfast person so don't hold that against them that's my choices. Think maybe it needs a refurb as it's getting a little worn in the rooms but that said still great. Pillows weren't tho! TV didn't have any English channels as such but that's not what your in holiday for so didn't really bother us.

I would certainly return. Suggest you have a car and the best beaches are in morre joble but I think you can catch a bus

Room Tip: Superior suites have a sea view but all are funky and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great comment here on Trip Advisor. The opinion of our customers is always important for us and to improve our service.
We started wit the reforms in 2013 and 70% of our Suites are reformed Suites, after Summer we will continue with the reforms. Maybe on your next stay you can enjoy a new renovatet room.
We have 12 English Channels on TV, next time we will inform you better about our services.
It is our sincere hope you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and all the staff of the Hotel hope to see you again between us.

Yours sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    144
    30
    10
    16
See reviews for
67
328
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Calma, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Your own private suite within beautiful grounds of a super hotel. Quiet, relaxing very romantic. Exceptional food, professional staff/service. Pools kept immaculate. Only a short walk to superb white beaches.

Room Tip: You get your own kind of apartment not a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this few words, that say so much! It is a pleasure to read such a great comment. And all the staff of the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay between us.

Best regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I now prefix all reviews with the following to help readers judge the accuracy of the report:
My hotel reviews are based on the price paid so if the price is higher for more upmarket hotels then my expectations will also be higher, for budget hotels my expectations are lower - I stay in both.

We found the Risco del Gato hotel via a national newspaper online offer however when we researched further we found booking direct was actually cheaper so that's what we did!

The hotel has various 'special' dinner themes each week, a BBQ, a Canarian dinner and a Gala dinner. The hotel also has a Cenador (essentially a private curtained off platform where you can enjoy a private/romantic breakfast or dinner). As I wanted to take advantage of this I emailed the hotel to ask what evenings the 'special' dinners were so I could pick another evening. I also needed details of the Thai spa also within the grounds of the hotel. The response I received from the hotel was prompt, efficient, informative and friendly.

The hotel is about 30 miles south of the airport but the roads are good and the traffic light however speeds are fairly low so it took about an hour to make the journey. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel.

When we arrived (which was quite late, about 9;00pm) we went to check in and were offered a glass of orange juice or sparkling wine whilst we checked in which we thought was a nice touch. We asked if the restaurant was still open for dinner and were told it was open until 9:30 and if we wished to go into the restaurant our bags would be taken to our suite.

I had previously emailed the General Manager to ask if we could have a suite between 100 and 120 as previous reviewers have indicated that these are the best positioned suites. Our suite was 112 and my thanks go to Mr Gonzalez for arranging this.

The suite itself is unique, certainly not something I have come across before. Each suite is an individual unit with it's own door off a path. The door opens into a private courtyard type area with sun loungers and outdoor shower. Directly opposite the door is another which opens onto the front terrace with a table and chairs.

From the courtyard you access the suite itself through sliding doors which open into the bedroom. The bedroom has two double beds, TV, dressing table, shelving unit and bedside table along with a CD/Radio. To one side is the door into the living area with another TV, settee and desk. On the other side of the bedroom is a wardrobe area with plenty of hangers, hanging space, drawers and shelving. The safe is also here but chargeable at about £12 per week. on the other side of this area is the bathroom. A toilet cubicle, 2 sinks and a whirlpool bath. There's a round window from the bathroom looking out into the courtyard. There is airconditioning in the suite and free WiFi around the site although this was sometimes a bit intermittent.

Breakfast was very, very good. You could enjoy breakfst either inside or on the sun terrace and consisted of: 4 or 5 different fruit juices, fruits, nuts, cereals, a variety of breads, cheese, pate, jams, yoghurts, pastries and hot dishes of baked beans, grilled tomatoes, an interesting cheese savoury and/or sausages. The chef was also on hand at an outside grill cooking eggs, bacon and omlettes to order - all very fresh and very delicious - there was even Cava (a sparkling wine) for those who wished to spice up their breakfast even more!!

Dinners were equally good, starters included a different soup every day, a salad buffet with an extensive array of dishes, usually including tuna, an pasta salad, egg salad, cheeses etc. There was always a choiuce of main dish including a vegetarian option and a large selection for dessert.

The grounds are extensive and beautifully maintained, there are 2 or 3 different pools with sun loungers and a gym with a couple of exercise bikes, cross trainer, two treadmills and weight machines. My partner also enjoyed a massage in the onsite Thai Spa. This is an extra but reasonably priced at about £55 for an hour.

We went in early July so it wasn't too busy, this may change in the summer period although the hotel is relatively small in respect of the number of people it can accomodate, from recollection I think it was only about 150 maximum.

The beach is across the road and a two minute walk across an undeveloped area and then down some steps, fairly steep but wide and manageable for most people - we walked about a mile along the beach (and back) every day before breakfast, the beach is very clean the only thing to be aware of is that much of Fueteventura is naturist friendly and the beaches are sometimes a mixture of those who wear swimming costumes and those who don't!

Service was excellent, Fuerteventura has historically been a resort for the Germans but this is obviously changing and certainly most (but by no means all) of the guests at this hotel were English and we certainly had no problems in conversing with the staff all of whom were very helpful and pleasant amongst them Paco, Miguel and student Marionio amongst the restaurant staff.

The cost for a week for two, bed, breakfast and evening meal excluding flights was just under £1000 which we considered very good value for money. Overall a great place to stay and made our holiday a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MaxLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I`m really speechless, You describe this hotel better than I could have done.
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their holidays in our hotel.
Please if you decide to come back to the Hotel, let me know. You have my e-mail adress and we will do our best to make you a unforgettable stay. Comments like yours are very important for the hotel.Thank you again for the great comment here on Trip Advisor.
hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husbamd and I stayed here for 11 nights from 21st June to 2nd July and it was lovely. We wanted a quiet time to recharge our batteries and that's what we got. Pods are just like the pictures and very spacious and clean. We emptied the mini bar and put the contents on the side so we could use it for some beers and wine that we bought from the local spar. we used room service once which was great. the breakfasts were fantastic, great choice with an egg station. Service was excellent. A particular mention for Miguel and Paco, absolutley brilliant. La Terraza for lunch was excellent too, and dinner back at the main restaurant was superb. A particyular mention for Mariano. The main pool is great and most days we were the only ones in there, we felt to other pool needed a good clean out but the water massage bed was fun. A trip to the beach is definately worth it as it is stunning and the water is warm Its 12 euros for 2 beds and a parasol. I wouldn't book a transfer with a2B transfers again, they were a pain but I guess its not their fault that this hotel is so far from the airport!
We would stay here again. no room tips really as the seaviews mean ' a view of the sea from a distance' nothing special.
This is somewhere a bit different and worth a visit, just enjoy and relax, pods are very private and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizziewizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for that really good comment, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and have had a great time at our hotel.
Just one more thing I would like to mention specifically the way from the airport to the hotel is about 45 minutes, but maybe you had to move to other hotels and therefore it has lasted longer.
We all hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

José González Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked this holiday through secret escapes. Whilst the transfer to the hotel was terrible waited for 1.5 hours before we left the airport , we were made very welcome at the hotel. The reception staff we lovely and happy to assist. The room was very clean and airy. The gym was a little dated but adequate. All staff were excellent. A special thank you goes to Mariano who made us some wonderful sangrias!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsmeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are really sorry that you have had a bad experience with the transfer, unfortunately it was an external transfer company, and we can`t do anything.
But we hope you enjoyed your vacation with us and we would say thank you for taking the time to write a really good comment here on Trip Advisor.
Very soon we will update our gym.

Best wishes

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was everything and much more. The pods were unique. Peaceful. The breakfasts were excellent with your own individual choice of cooked breakfast, including champagne The evening meals - silver service were fine dining. The waiters were polite and very helpful and smiled. In fact the whole staff are to be commended. Our personal housemaid was so warm and friendly and created wonderful towel displays for my birthday and the complimentary bottle of champagne exceeded anything we had expected with a personal and warm letter from the manager - the little touches made it so memorable. The whole ambience which was quiet and tranquil ticked every box. We needed peace to destress after a hectic few months and that is what we got. The beaches were lovely and close by. No bars in the evening but we had our pod!!!! The nearest bars were 15 mins walk away. Spa shop few minutes away. The only negative was that we had no courtesy room at the end of the holiday. We managed in the indoor swimming pool shower but it was not private. There was no electric point for drying hair. But we managed. Thank you for a most memorable relaxing week. Will we return. Most definitely. Pod 106 or 107. Thank you secret escapes who we booked it with.

Room Tip: Pod 106 or 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel. We greatly appreciate your impression from our hotel, service and lovely surrounding.
As you yourself said it is a place of peace and tranquility and we want to maintain it.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and the whole staff of the hotel hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I posted pre holiday to get some feedback to make sure I informed the hotel what I wanted which all helped.
I would have to be very picky not to give 5 stars for this holiday as it ticked all our boxes.
Flights were on time with the only downside being stuck in an ‘episode of Shameless’ with the families from hell, but I can’t blame the airline for that. The transfer was not too arduous and better than driving myself.
Reception check in was smooth and we were sat down to dinner within 2 hours of landing. The rooms are pretty iconic with a certain 80’s style – very reminiscent of the excellent Byblos at Mijas Costa (since closed) if anyone recalls it, almost detached with curving roof and round bathroom, a decent lounge area with TV, coffee maker, fridge and microwave!, big sleeping area with twin king sized, comfortable beds, plenty of wardrobe space, shelves, drawers, safe, a decent large bathroom with jacuzzi bath, shower, twin sinks, proper doored toilet and a big window looking out onto the gated and walled private court yard, which also had its own outside shower. Front terrace with table and chairs for morning tea and evening G&T.
Breakfast was fresh and really very good, lots of choice for everyone and great show cooking with waiter service. Dinner other than two nights – BBQ and Canarian evening both excellent – was proper menu choice and waiter service, such a pleasant change to the hectic buffet of the bigger hotels (this has a maximum of about 100 guests so easier for them to manage). The food was excellent, well presented, cooked and served.
Housekeeping was efficient and regular, well done and no intrusion.
The Terrace Bar we used at lunch time and it was fine too. Drinks in the evening we got from the café bar where the breakfast was served.
All the staff were friendly and attentive most spoke good English and in keeping with the majority of guests good German and French.
This is almost an adult only place with only one child there, but you wouldn’t bring children here, no animation, entertainment, kiddie club, pool or mini disco, suited is just fine.
We used our own sun beds in the private court yard and also those by the pools, we never saw any reserving and never had a problem with a bed, they are OK and mattresses are available from the gym. Most of the time the areas round the pool were almost unused and sometimes we had the pools to ourselves. Towels were free from reception and changed when you wanted.
Some of the rooms don’t have a great sea view as H10 had built a ‘carbuncle’ opposite that dominates and monopolises the beach front and headland; I’m a regular H10 user elsewhere but I can’t forgive them for this, there’ s plenty of space and they build here, OK for their guests but not for anyone else. There is a partial sea view (at the moment until someone else builds), and the beach is 50 yards away and down some steps. Lovely beaches and we walked for miles in both directions; don’t be offended by the naturists you get used to them parading around in their glory. The sea is easy to get in, warm and safe. There is a good bistro bar under the nearby R2 Hotel (another monster development), the drinks are reasonably priced and so is the food, good service and spectacular view. I can definitely forecast a return later this year.

Room Tip: all very similar but the lower numbers perhaps have a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all i want to say thank you. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a really good comment about our Hotel.
We are really happy to know you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and all the staff hope to see you soon again between us.


Yours sincerely
José González Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.8 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
46.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
1.3 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.2 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
1,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#5 of 26 in Costa Calma
500 reviews
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing