We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect..”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our stay at VIK Suite Risco del Gato was for us the perfect holiday. We stayed bed & breakfast for a week at the end of June. There were not so many guests, the staff couldn't do enough for you & the maintenance and cleaniless of the whole place was excellent - spotless. The suite was very spacious, effective air-con, own private courtyard and elevated sea view from the rear garden. Again, all perfectly maintained & clean. Breakfast choice was extensive with additional items cooked to order too. The occasional shaping of the towels into swans & elephants by the maid added the finishing touches, as did the welcoming bottle of Cava on ice on arrival. We would happily return here and have no hesitation in recommending it to all if you're after a quiet relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Only 51 suites & they are all well positioned. Ours was nearer reception which was ideal & h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guests,

It is a pleasure to read your very good comment here on Trip Advisor.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a wonderful review.
We all hope to see you soon again between us.

Kind regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    155
    31
    11
    17
See reviews for
69
348
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a wonderful week here in early June on HB in a Superior Junior Suite. Although we are frequent visitors to other Islas Canarias, this was our first holiday on Fuerteventura. Despite concerns about the wind, we were fortunate to only experience a couple of windy days out of the 7, but this was fine as the Pods offer great shelter and privacy in the courtyard. Although the resort of Costa Calma is approx. an hour from the airport, the transfer by coach was easy. Not much to see, but the purpose of our visit was to relax and unwind, so this wasn’t a concern. We were dropped off at Risco del Gato and welcomed by Sabrina, a professional and efficient Receptionist. Check-in was swift and informative with a refreshing drink. Our cases were taken to our room within minutes and we were able to enjoy dinner (BBQ) before a good night’s sleep. All other evening meals were A La Carte except for a Canarian Evening on Wednesday, which was a change and equally good. The quality, variety and freshness of the food was always superb, the waiter service was attentive and professional - such a welcome change to not to have to queue for a buffet. Ladies you can wear a dress and heels without fear of tripping over! Breakfast is a very relaxing affair with the Chef on hand to cook food to order, and then bring to your table. This proved a wonderful start to the day after which we took long walks along the white sandy beach or simply relaxed around the pools or in our courtyard. We didn’t use the indoor pool, but it was inviting with a relaxing ambiance, so if the weather not been as good we would have used it. Perhaps in the winter?
The rooms are spacious and as described in other reviews. It was great to have plenty of wardrobe, cupboard and drawer space – which I find lacking in many hotels these days. I don’t travel light, so it was great! The Terrace Bar is well worth a visit, but sadly there is no view of the sea from here. The hotel staff and management are attentive and professional and genuinely subscribe to a high level of customer service. We didn’t see the Hotel Manager, but he should be commended for his leadership.

We are delighted to have found a hotel like this again, so many have changed over to buffet style, all inclusive, with limited service and indifferent staff. Now we’ve found Risco del Gato, we will definitely return. In fact, we have already booked another week in September and highly recommend it to couples looking for a relaxing break with good food and service.

Room Tip: Superior Suites have been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Magdalene_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this wonderfull review. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in the Risco del Gato. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a great comment, it is a pleasure to read it and it makes all the Staff really happy.
Please let us know when do you come on September, write us an email before you arrive and we will reserve you a very good room.

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Your own private suite, with a private courtyard with sun beds, plus a patio area with chairs table and umbrella . This is so unusual and a great change from the usual hotel we really enjoyed it here. The hotel staff are lovely, friendly courteous and they all smile!! Food was great, dinner was above the usual expectations of a holiday hotel. I felt breakfast was a little restricting but I am a healthy breakfast person so don't hold that against them that's my choices. Think maybe it needs a refurb as it's getting a little worn in the rooms but that said still great. Pillows weren't tho! TV didn't have any English channels as such but that's not what your in holiday for so didn't really bother us.

I would certainly return. Suggest you have a car and the best beaches are in morre joble but I think you can catch a bus

Room Tip: Superior suites have a sea view but all are funky and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great comment here on Trip Advisor. The opinion of our customers is always important for us and to improve our service.
We started wit the reforms in 2013 and 70% of our Suites are reformed Suites, after Summer we will continue with the reforms. Maybe on your next stay you can enjoy a new renovatet room.
We have 12 English Channels on TV, next time we will inform you better about our services.
It is our sincere hope you had a pleasant stay in the Risco del Gato and all the staff of the Hotel hope to see you again between us.

Yours sincerely,

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Calma, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Your own private suite within beautiful grounds of a super hotel. Quiet, relaxing very romantic. Exceptional food, professional staff/service. Pools kept immaculate. Only a short walk to superb white beaches.

Room Tip: You get your own kind of apartment not a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this few words, that say so much! It is a pleasure to read such a great comment. And all the staff of the Vik Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay between us.

Best regards

Jose Gonzalez Allende
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I now prefix all reviews with the following to help readers judge the accuracy of the report:
My hotel reviews are based on the price paid so if the price is higher for more upmarket hotels then my expectations will also be higher, for budget hotels my expectations are lower - I stay in both.

We found the Risco del Gato hotel via a national newspaper online offer however when we researched further we found booking direct was actually cheaper so that's what we did!

The hotel has various 'special' dinner themes each week, a BBQ, a Canarian dinner and a Gala dinner. The hotel also has a Cenador (essentially a private curtained off platform where you can enjoy a private/romantic breakfast or dinner). As I wanted to take advantage of this I emailed the hotel to ask what evenings the 'special' dinners were so I could pick another evening. I also needed details of the Thai spa also within the grounds of the hotel. The response I received from the hotel was prompt, efficient, informative and friendly.

The hotel is about 30 miles south of the airport but the roads are good and the traffic light however speeds are fairly low so it took about an hour to make the journey. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel.

When we arrived (which was quite late, about 9;00pm) we went to check in and were offered a glass of orange juice or sparkling wine whilst we checked in which we thought was a nice touch. We asked if the restaurant was still open for dinner and were told it was open until 9:30 and if we wished to go into the restaurant our bags would be taken to our suite.

I had previously emailed the General Manager to ask if we could have a suite between 100 and 120 as previous reviewers have indicated that these are the best positioned suites. Our suite was 112 and my thanks go to Mr Gonzalez for arranging this.

The suite itself is unique, certainly not something I have come across before. Each suite is an individual unit with it's own door off a path. The door opens into a private courtyard type area with sun loungers and outdoor shower. Directly opposite the door is another which opens onto the front terrace with a table and chairs.

From the courtyard you access the suite itself through sliding doors which open into the bedroom. The bedroom has two double beds, TV, dressing table, shelving unit and bedside table along with a CD/Radio. To one side is the door into the living area with another TV, settee and desk. On the other side of the bedroom is a wardrobe area with plenty of hangers, hanging space, drawers and shelving. The safe is also here but chargeable at about £12 per week. on the other side of this area is the bathroom. A toilet cubicle, 2 sinks and a whirlpool bath. There's a round window from the bathroom looking out into the courtyard. There is airconditioning in the suite and free WiFi around the site although this was sometimes a bit intermittent.

Breakfast was very, very good. You could enjoy breakfst either inside or on the sun terrace and consisted of: 4 or 5 different fruit juices, fruits, nuts, cereals, a variety of breads, cheese, pate, jams, yoghurts, pastries and hot dishes of baked beans, grilled tomatoes, an interesting cheese savoury and/or sausages. The chef was also on hand at an outside grill cooking eggs, bacon and omlettes to order - all very fresh and very delicious - there was even Cava (a sparkling wine) for those who wished to spice up their breakfast even more!!

Dinners were equally good, starters included a different soup every day, a salad buffet with an extensive array of dishes, usually including tuna, an pasta salad, egg salad, cheeses etc. There was always a choiuce of main dish including a vegetarian option and a large selection for dessert.

The grounds are extensive and beautifully maintained, there are 2 or 3 different pools with sun loungers and a gym with a couple of exercise bikes, cross trainer, two treadmills and weight machines. My partner also enjoyed a massage in the onsite Thai Spa. This is an extra but reasonably priced at about £55 for an hour.

We went in early July so it wasn't too busy, this may change in the summer period although the hotel is relatively small in respect of the number of people it can accomodate, from recollection I think it was only about 150 maximum.

The beach is across the road and a two minute walk across an undeveloped area and then down some steps, fairly steep but wide and manageable for most people - we walked about a mile along the beach (and back) every day before breakfast, the beach is very clean the only thing to be aware of is that much of Fueteventura is naturist friendly and the beaches are sometimes a mixture of those who wear swimming costumes and those who don't!

Service was excellent, Fuerteventura has historically been a resort for the Germans but this is obviously changing and certainly most (but by no means all) of the guests at this hotel were English and we certainly had no problems in conversing with the staff all of whom were very helpful and pleasant amongst them Paco, Miguel and student Marionio amongst the restaurant staff.

The cost for a week for two, bed, breakfast and evening meal excluding flights was just under £1000 which we considered very good value for money. Overall a great place to stay and made our holiday a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MaxLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I`m really speechless, You describe this hotel better than I could have done.
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their holidays in our hotel.
Please if you decide to come back to the Hotel, let me know. You have my e-mail adress and we will do our best to make you a unforgettable stay. Comments like yours are very important for the hotel.Thank you again for the great comment here on Trip Advisor.
hope to see you soon again between us.

Yours sincerely

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husbamd and I stayed here for 11 nights from 21st June to 2nd July and it was lovely. We wanted a quiet time to recharge our batteries and that's what we got. Pods are just like the pictures and very spacious and clean. We emptied the mini bar and put the contents on the side so we could use it for some beers and wine that we bought from the local spar. we used room service once which was great. the breakfasts were fantastic, great choice with an egg station. Service was excellent. A particular mention for Miguel and Paco, absolutley brilliant. La Terraza for lunch was excellent too, and dinner back at the main restaurant was superb. A particyular mention for Mariano. The main pool is great and most days we were the only ones in there, we felt to other pool needed a good clean out but the water massage bed was fun. A trip to the beach is definately worth it as it is stunning and the water is warm Its 12 euros for 2 beds and a parasol. I wouldn't book a transfer with a2B transfers again, they were a pain but I guess its not their fault that this hotel is so far from the airport!
We would stay here again. no room tips really as the seaviews mean ' a view of the sea from a distance' nothing special.
This is somewhere a bit different and worth a visit, just enjoy and relax, pods are very private and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizziewizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for that really good comment, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and have had a great time at our hotel.
Just one more thing I would like to mention specifically the way from the airport to the hotel is about 45 minutes, but maybe you had to move to other hotels and therefore it has lasted longer.
We all hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

José González Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked this holiday through secret escapes. Whilst the transfer to the hotel was terrible waited for 1.5 hours before we left the airport , we were made very welcome at the hotel. The reception staff we lovely and happy to assist. The room was very clean and airy. The gym was a little dated but adequate. All staff were excellent. A special thank you goes to Mariano who made us some wonderful sangrias!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsmeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José G, Director General at VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are really sorry that you have had a bad experience with the transfer, unfortunately it was an external transfer company, and we can`t do anything.
But we hope you enjoyed your vacation with us and we would say thank you for taking the time to write a really good comment here on Trip Advisor.
Very soon we will update our gym.

Best wishes

Jose Gonzalez Allende
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.7 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#4 of 27 in Costa Calma
537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
46.2 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
28.4 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato

Property: VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Address: Calle Sicasumbre 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato is an exclusive hotel with a unique architecture surrounded by 34.643 M² of gardens and heated swimming pools on different levels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIK Suite Hotel Risco Del Gato Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing