We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Its a longer time ago that I spend my holidays in the Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort with my mother. Its was a nice holiday there. We are there alone. We booked All Inclusive and the food was good but every day the same. When you go 2 weeks its definatly too much. For children is there enough to do. With the animation. And when there is nothing at the moment you can relaxe at the pool or in the warm or cold pool. The beach at the hotel is not like a beach. There isn't sand just rocks. The service was OK and I can't say something against this. More or less you can say it was a nice holiday. I worked for the biggest travel agency in Switzerland an we also selling this hotel in our catalogue. For family holidays I will sell this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a category with Seaview in the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Large Hotel with very helpful and friendly reception staff. Our double room was adequate with balcony and sea view. Bed was comfortable and washroom was clean. No baths apparently due to water shortage situation. Room made up every day. Three large pool areas with pool bars/snacks. Very busy when we were there but never a problem to get sunbeds etc. Food in main restaurant was, in our opinion, very good with plenty of choice. Beach area not the greatest but plenty of sandy beaches nearby. Would stay there again. Not that far from airport so transfer times reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have just returned from this hotel where I stayed for one week for a friend. Our room was in the Nautilas hotel, not the main Costa Calma Beach. The room was in need of some TLC. There were bits of skirting board missing and the curtains not fully hooked onto the curtain pole. The room had a side sea view looking directly onto waste, scrub, land. You would not sit on the white, dated, table and chairs on the balcony. However, the room was clean as was the rest of the hotel communal areas. The A I board is limited. The bars seem to be closed and the drinks are heavily watered down. The food was nice once you had got used to the german menu (which they seem to cater for) I did not see the gym or spa open! No decent facility when checking out late to change etc. Be warned no bars or shops in strolling distance.

Room Tip: The main hotel is better, than the Nautilus or apartments on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at the Costa Calma Beach Resort last February, had a great time!! This was our second stay and have booked to go again. Friendly and polite staff, plenty of sun loungers and right on the beach, great walks along the beach. We went all inclusive, the food was great for me & Bill but not to much choice for my sister who has to stick to a wheat and gluten free diet, give them the dues they tried buy not to much variety and very little sweets for her. I would recommend the Costa Calma Beach for a quiet and relaxing holiday. Located right on the beach, close to the shops, market and bus stop, a trip in to Jandia is a must.

Room Tip: Ground floor room had a terrace and only a short walk to the pool, reception and the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 537peterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 for the 4th time and cannot wait to go back for the 5th time next year. The weather was perfect, it's quiet with nothing to do outside the hotel, there are hardly any English people and the evening entertainment is a bit cheesy (but amusing to watch the Germans 'dancing') and there are cats all over the place. These are some of the reasons why we love it so much! The food is excellent with plenty or variety (my husband is very fussy about food and even he loves the choices on offer). The hotel is clean, the staff are fantastic and friendly and the pools (3 of them) are sparkling and clean.

The rooms are excellent, clean with a very confortable bed. If you don't like cats then maybe this is not the place for you. They have 'Cat Shelters' on the grounds where people can donate food for them though once you feed them you will find they recognise you in the morning and you will have about 10 cats running after you for their breakfast. As an animal lover this was a perfect touch to the stay!!

There is no rush for the sunbeds, which are spaced out (unlike some places we have been and squashed in like sardines!). We have never been in the high season but in April or May you can go for breakfast or a walk on the beach and still have a huge choice of sunbeds when you get to the pool. They also have their own sunbeds on the beach which are FREE!!!! Most other places charge for this. Beautiful beach, very clean.

There are chipmonks living along the beach too so smuggle some nuts or seeds out from breakfast to feed them, they can be very friendly!

We had a late flight home on our last visit (didn't get picked up until 4pm) but they never removed our wristbands so we just drank and ate until we got picked up!!

This hotel is perfect for a quiet, relaxing holiday in the sun and we will be back next year for the 5th time. We went somewhere esle one year just for a change but it just did not match up to this place. We love it. Ignore the bad reviews, this place is prefect and excellent value too. We travelled with Thomas Cook (married couple in our 40's)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlastoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 & we can not fault this hotel! The staff are polite and friendly, the entertainment team were multilingual so nobody was to be left out, the rooms were spotless & the food was amazing!
There was always lots of choice at all meal times and the food varied every night so it wasn't repetitive, there is always a large selection of different meats and fish (there is just as much meat choice as fish at every meal if you are not a fan of seafood) and the dessert selection is unbelievable. The food was absolutely delicious and was topped up regularly so you never saw an empty dish at the buffet. At lunch we stayed at the snack bar as it was closer to the hotel's beach where we went and stayed all day everyday, here there was always a stew, vegetables, salads, chips and a sandwich selection (varying everyday from tuna to ham & cheese to pizza to hotdogs to burgers and more) and there was always a chef who cooked a fresh pasta dish/paella in front of you, the food was never the same at the snack bar either! You have the choice to be served a drink by the bar staff (usually if you wanted a cocktail or a drink making up) but you could help yourself to soft and alcoholic drinks which is what most people did as it beat queuing.
The rooms were always tidy and spotless. They were cleaned everyday and the maids leave your towels in the shape of different animals, the beds were comfy and the room was very spacious.
There are 3 swimming pools and the hotel has its own beach. There was never a shortage of sun loungers and the grounds of the hotel are so big you had lots of different spaces to choose from. Families with young children stayed around the pools but if you wander down towards the beach it is quiet and relaxing.
Most of the guests are German but all the staff speak a variety of languages so communication was never a problem.
Overall this holiday is one of the best we have ever had, we hope to return as we had such an amazing time, ignore the bad reviews and definitely visit the Costa Calma Beach Resort!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WithFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay in this awful hotel. It was supposed to be "all inclusive" but they hadnt even got bottled water for the guests. What they did offer was the equivalent to stand pipes that produced warm water!! The food in the restaurant was of very poor quality and offered no choice. After seeing several cockroaches in the restaurant I couldnt even face eating any of the crap food and we were forced to go and eat out but due to the location we had to venture out to Jandia which cost us more money in taxis and bus fares. The hotel had no entertainment and if you were not German you were ignored!! We didnt see our rep for the whole week apart from the welcome meeting and now I know why - he knew there were a lot of unhappy guests!! On our last day we had to be out of our room by midday and was told in no uncertain terms that All Inclusive finished for us at that point even though we were not being picked up until 5pm. They prompty cut off our wrist bands. I explained that we lost out on All inclusive on the first day because we didnt arrive at the hotel until 10pm. "Not our fault" was their answer, "rules of the hotel." I could go on as there is a lot more. This hotel is never a four star!! It should be closed down and the manager held to account. We feel that we have been ripped off big time and we will never book throughThomas Cook again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank angela o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.7 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
2.7 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
Hotel Fuerteventura Playa
#19 of 27 in Costa Calma
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
SBH Monica Beach
SBH Monica Beach
#6 of 27 in Costa Calma
1,068 reviews
10.1 mi away
Occidental Jandia Mar
Occidental Jandia Mar
#18 of 73 in Pajara
5,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort

Address: Avda. Augustin Millares, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort is a 4-star rated modern complex, active and with a lot of space. If you do not want to care about food an drinks, sorts and entertainment: selct our "all inclusive" program. Beach, sunshine and our excellent service brings you your well-deserved recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Costa Calma Beach Resort
Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Beach Resort
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort Fuerteventura - Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing