We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very happy to be there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SBH Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SBH Monica Beach
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very happy to be there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Most important for me was the price, one person pays the same as half of two persons, and not, as in so many other hotels, half plus 100 or 200 euro.
Friendly staf, delicious food, plenty of room around the buffet and tables.
Nice swimmingpool, enough beds. Most of all I enjoyed the Crema Catalana.

Room Tip: 1, 2, 3 B means beneath (bajo) 1, 2, 3 A means upstairs (alto) where you can see (a part of) the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosebrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    350
    161
    81
    50
See reviews for
280
299
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is an old hotel (around 50% of the rooms are renovated (left side of the area and by the slides) the old ones are very rundown (we got one and changed it after one night - they want you to pay extra for the better ones).

The hotel next to the beach and the beach is ok (but there are better beaches on Fuerta - Morro Jable, Corralejho, Cotillo). Trees&plants on the property. The sun beds are not hotel's property - u pay extra. Shopping centers and car rentals are whithin 5 mins walk (not many good restaurants in the area).

The food is average (varied and plenty - you won't be hungry but it's kinda bland and the veggies were always overcooked) beer was good, red and white wine were wishy-washy.
The drinks at the bars were ok (with fair amount of alcohol) but nothing fancy. The staff at the restaurant/bars is very friendly and helpful.

Internet is expensive (7euro per hour).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oasisman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great location, nice beach, overwhelming view from our room, from the pool, from the terrace bar. Just left yesterday from the place, so I could write a lot of things, but to be short and to the point, the hotel was excellent, friendly stuff, cozy environment, clean rooms, the palm trees around the hotel makes it an oasis.Would recommend it to everyone 100 %
One less good thing was the wifi, as it is for 7 euro per day, but it does not have coverage and the connectivity is bad.

Room Tip: Room 51 has a lovely view to the garden ( pool, terrace) and to the ocean in the same time, for us w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agnesrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I was travelling alone. For me everything was just more than excellent! Staff speaks perfect English, German, Spanish .. Food is tasty and there is something for everybody. Rooms are fantastic; very clean! I stayed in room 126 and loved the view!
Will be back in September :)

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are renovated and some are not. Sea view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

First time we visited this hotel in 2005 and in February this year it was our 4th time! Although we have visited many other hotels in Crete, Rhodos, Turkey, Gran Canaria, Bulgary or Mallorca we always come back to Monica and we plan also for next year.
The hotel area is very large but every room - no matter where - is situated close to beach, swimming pool (there are 2 of them) or to the restaurant.
All inclusive program works well, restaurant is clean and food is excellent - especially for dinners. Staff was very helpfull starting with maidens, receptionist or bar and restaurant staff. Our most favorite person was definitely Caroline - waitress in the restaurant, always very kind and smiling.
I´d definitely recommend this hotel to those who look for relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kveta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

It's a lovely beach front hotel. Good location, surrounded by other hotels. In Costa Calma there is not much to do, shops not too far away from resort.
We stayed for 10 days, we went all inclusive. We got the newly renovated room with the side sea view and next to the hotel garden. From our room we were next to the beach, which is 2 min walk from hotel, immediately in front of Monica.
There are steep hills around the complex. To get to the beach you have to go down a steep hill, for us it was fine, it is good to have a walk.
Staff were really polite and helpful.
Food had plenty of selection, was of a high standard, lots of fresh fish to choose from. Restaurant had a different themes in a different evenings (Italian, Spanish) . The ice cream was free of charge all day (for AI) and alcohol cocktails are great (from local beverages).
Internet 7 Eur/ 24 h.
Tennis courts was from gravel, but good enough to play, the hotel have rackets and balls, it's 1 Eur for rent.
There is mini golf and the gym, well equipped.

Hotel is great value for money, I would give 4 stars. Really recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spyglyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Overall holiday was relaxed and enjoyable. Not many English people at resort but to be fair there were many in costa calma at all. Didn't bother me and my partner as we kept ourselves to ourselves and Germans were friendly enough. Hotel is 2 min steep walk from beach which was really nice and 2 pools were nice aswell. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Food had plenty of selection and was ok,always found something to eat but it seems they did cater more for Germans. The only thing bad about hotel was night entertainment. Was really downbeat although staff tried to lighten mood. Didn't venture out of hotel at night so couldn't honestly say if any good .Also near toilets in bar stank of fish from the food restaurant but can't be helped.Alll in all if you are looking for a good,cheap,relaxed,friendly holiday then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakeo1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
27.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.5 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#4 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
0.9 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Monica Beach

Property: SBH Monica Beach
Address: Avenida Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SBH Monica Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex consisting of several buildings in a palm garden of more than 77.000 m2, our SBH Mónica Beach ofers spectacular entertainment, with sports and activities for everybody, live music, professional shows etc. And for our star guests, the children, we've thought of everthing: miniclub, children's playground , games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SBH Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Monica Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Monica Beach Costa Calma
Monica Beach Fuerteventura
SBH Monica Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing