We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half way through”
Review of SBH Monica Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH Monica Beach
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Half way through”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Half way through a two week break and only 2 complaints
The room has no air con so is very hot and the two evening bars are unbelievably hot. Other than that the staff are generally great especially at the small pool bar and beach bar. Room is always spotless. See what next week brings.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadyadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    381
    172
    87
    53
See reviews for
314
334
54
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for 1 week on all inclusive having stayed self catering on 2 previous occasions some years ago. It is literally 2 minutes walk from a lovely beach but there are another 4 beaches within walking distance southwards along the coast. Some of the rooms were being renovated so we ended up with an apartment which was great with a terrace and air conditioning in living room and bedroom. Housekeeping attended on 6 of the 7days and were very attentive to detail. The restaurant was bright and spacious and food for all 3 meals was generally quite good with lots of options. All drinks were pretty good quality apart from red wine which we found a bit harsh. However, the bar area downstairs was rather drab and is overdue a facelift. We found staff in all areas very friendly and helpful.
We went to the beach and didn't use any of the pools but there seemed to be plenty of room and sun loungers all around.
Costa Calma itself is a quiet resort with some restaurants and bars but no night clubs we could see. Overall it was great value for the price we paid and excellent location. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomato-Orama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaworzno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Holiday in Sunrise Monica Beach was the worst in my life. First of all, I and my wife lived in a bungalow, which was used and destroyed. Namely, there were old and used furniture, a bed, a television, a bathroom and kitchen. Besides, there wasn't air conditioning, but there was an old and used ventilator, wchich worked very loudly. What's more, there were also modern and renovated bungalows, but there were not enough number of bungalows for all guests. Hotel had the swimming pool, which was 2 m depth, but it was old and has cold water. Other sports facilities and entertainment was old and used. There weren't any music clubs and discos in neighbourhood, but there a few shops and restaurants. On the other hand, hotel was located near to a clean, sandy and wide beach. Moreover, hotel's restaurant offered a wide variety of food, which was delicious, tasty and nutriuous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa Calma hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is literally a stone's throw from the (beautiful) beach. I had a lovely spacious, clean room with balcony overlooking the sea. The food was very good. All inclusive is good value and probably the most practical option (because there isn't much else around). If you like quiet, relaxing holidays in the sun, I can recommend Costa Calma and the Sunrise Monica Beach hotel. It's very popular with non-British northern Europeans. Everyone thought I was Dutch!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Most important for me was the price, one person pays the same as half of two persons, and not, as in so many other hotels, half plus 100 or 200 euro.
Friendly staf, delicious food, plenty of room around the buffet and tables.
Nice swimmingpool, enough beds. Most of all I enjoyed the Crema Catalana.

Room Tip: 1, 2, 3 B means beneath (bajo) 1, 2, 3 A means upstairs (alto) where you can see (a part of) the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosebrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is an old hotel (around 50% of the rooms are renovated (left side of the area and by the slides) the old ones are very rundown (we got one and changed it after one night - they want you to pay extra for the better ones).

The hotel next to the beach and the beach is ok (but there are better beaches on Fuerta - Morro Jable, Corralejho, Cotillo). Trees&plants on the property. The sun beds are not hotel's property - u pay extra. Shopping centers and car rentals are whithin 5 mins walk (not many good restaurants in the area).

The food is average (varied and plenty - you won't be hungry but it's kinda bland and the veggies were always overcooked) beer was good, red and white wine were wishy-washy.
The drinks at the bars were ok (with fair amount of alcohol) but nothing fancy. The staff at the restaurant/bars is very friendly and helpful.

Internet is expensive (7euro per hour).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oasisman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great location, nice beach, overwhelming view from our room, from the pool, from the terrace bar. Just left yesterday from the place, so I could write a lot of things, but to be short and to the point, the hotel was excellent, friendly stuff, cozy environment, clean rooms, the palm trees around the hotel makes it an oasis.Would recommend it to everyone 100 %
One less good thing was the wifi, as it is for 7 euro per day, but it does not have coverage and the connectivity is bad.

Room Tip: Room 51 has a lovely view to the garden ( pool, terrace) and to the ocean in the same time, for us w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agnesrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 26 in Costa Calma
531 reviews
27.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
0.1 mi away
SBH Crystal Beach Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Monica Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Monica Beach

Property: SBH Monica Beach
Address: Avenida Jahn Reisen s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SBH Monica Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex consisting of several buildings in a palm garden of more than 77.000 m2, our SBH Mónica Beach ofers spectacular entertainment, with sports and activities for everybody, live music, professional shows etc. And for our star guests, the children, we've thought of everthing: miniclub, children's playground , games and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SBH Monica Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Monica Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Monica Beach Costa Calma
Monica Beach Fuerteventura
SBH Monica Beach Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing