We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SBH Costa Calma Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SBH Costa Calma Palace
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from our 10 day holiday and stayed at the Costa Calma Palace. This is not our first visit to the island of Fuerteventura, but our first to this hotel and can ensure will not be our last.

The hotel is vast and on many levels. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is exceptional, the twin room with sea view was also exceptional especially at sunset and sunrise. The food is buffet, there is so much choice that you are spoilt, no doubt will put on a few pounds as the food is so varied and mouth watering.

My only gripe is that the hotel states a do not reserve sun lounger policy. This is not enforced as many of the German clientele are reserving sun loungers before 08:00 and not returning to them until early afternoon in some cases. If you are British our mentality was if you can't beat them, join them but we were at our sun loungers at 08:30 most mornings and did not move all day.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    160
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
84
310
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I just returned after 2 great weeks at Costa calma Palaca. This was our second year in a row and I sure we will come back.

We looked for good weather and relaxation and got just that.

The hotel is huge so even though there are many guests you will feel quite private both outside and inside.

On arrival we got a welcome drink and waited shortly for our rooms as we arrived around noon. Room is spacious, nice bathroom with bathtub and super cleaning everyday. If you leave a small tip you will have different animals made out of you towels that they change daily if you wish/need. You can also pay a 10 eur deposit for Beach towels that you get back on the end of your stay. theese can be changed for a 1 eur charity fee. Great balcony with fantastic view. We prefer the back upper part 5-7th floor for a great view. aircon and fan is working well, tv etc. they change 4 eur to use the safe which is stupid and should be free. You can have 1 hour free wifi everyday in reception area, and pay for a better connection. we paid 40 eur for 2 weeks. Anyhow Again in 2014 it should be free all day. It would be nice with a kettle to boil a cup of coffee or tea in your room.

There is a fridge, and we ended up buying Water etc. in the nearby Spar supermarket in the shopping center just next (2 mins.) to the hotel which is good value.

Pool area is nice and free sun loungers. near the pool there is a Little sand area with sun loungers that we enjoyed as the Wind is a bit less there. But Wind in not a problem we had up to 30 mph but as long as the sun is shining its still feels warm.

Food is excellent - great breakfast with a few fresh made pancakes etc. fresh juice would have been great instead of nectar but we took a glas of free bubles instead :o) great start to a new day. At night you have a seeting at 6pm or 8pm depending on your wish. Great variety. Even 14 days was not a problem. They have different nights with ex. italian, sushi, local specialties etc. Wine/beer prices is very fair and during our entire stay we spend only 150 EUR on drinks for dinner and we had eighter a half bottle of wine of the special local brew beer (0.75l) to share plus mineral Water every night.

Staff is excellent from reception to restaurant, bars and cleaning. Always nice and friendly and to us the greatest power of the hotel.

There is a great spa free to use (spa, sauna, heated pool) etc. which is a nice way to finish a day at the pool/Beach. You can have treatments for fair prices.

you can play pitch and putt golf, table tennis, pool etc.

Because it was our second stay we received a bottle of local champagne/cava a nice touch that I apreciate. Thank you :o)

There are several bars around and all do great service and good drinks. drinks is around 5-6 eur for a gin/tonic (a heavy one :o)) to give an idea so Again very fair prices. Some drinks is ex. mohito is made from lemonade, but still tasty.

They have a guy playing the piano almost every night which gives a great atmosphere to sit an enjoy an drink after a heavy dinner (you end up eating plenty, but healthy if you wish).

Every night there is some entertainment. In the 2 weeks we was there only the bee gees copy band and a local flamenco band did a great job, the rest ist really bad from bands to magicians etc. Spend the Money on a few nights only with a better quality, then it will be something the guests looks forward to. Maybe make a happy hour first and you will see the dance floor full, Now only 1 or 2 couples was out which is a pity.

I think around 90% of the guest are German but this year a lot more younger couples which was good to see. Anyhow as you are in spain I prefer staff saying Hola rather than hallo gutentag on arrival etc. And that English was a norm. Anyhow is was not a problem.

Room decor etc. is a bit outdated, but for us this is just a part of the charm.

As a tip we rented a minicar for approx 150 eur for 14 days in the airport (plus petrol) so to avoid hazzle with busses etc. it makes a good sense if you plan a few trips as we did. A trip to cofete etc. is a nice drive over the Mountains.

Walk along the Beach towards the surf beaches is great.

We will be back and hope for less but better entertainment and more English/spanish spoken next time..

Great hotel, staff excellent and are you going to Costa calma, go for this hotel, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: we prefer the top floors 5-7th to be a bit back from the pool and a great panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place staff amazing nothing too much trouble. Hotel very clean beach can be accessed from the hotel absolutely fantastic. Food is top class .This should be 5 star this is a very relaxing holiday recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Costa Calma Palace the second week of June 2014. When we arrived, we thought we'd been dropped off at the wrong hotel, we were amazed at how grand it was! You feel like you're on a cruise ship when you enter through reception!

The whole place was immaculate, very very clean and well kept (except for our balcony which wasn't swept for the entire week...).

The staff (except for the very rude gift shop lady!) can't do enough for you and never hang around for a tip, the only problem is that not many of them speak English and assume you're German. We were 2 of only 6 English guests in the whole hotel that week! This didn't bother us but if you like to socialise on holiday, you could end up feeling very isolated here.

The location is second to none with regards to the beach, there is a room key activated gate at the back of the pool which leads directly onto the beautiful sandy beach. It is about an hour long transfer from the airport so no plane noise but a bit of a slog after the flight. Costa Calma doesn't seem to have a main town though so aside from a Spar and a couple of clothes shops in a mini shopping centre down the road from the hotel, there really isn't anywhere else to go. We expected lots of bars and restaurants in the vicinity with it being a half board hotel but there was only one bar and one restaurant close by, both German. This meant we spent most of our time in the hotel which I guess is what they want! There are also no reps in the area so no excursions, no passing boat trips, not even a functioning bus stop nearby so make sure you take plenty of books!

The rooms were great, they all face the sea (although I've heard some of the sea views are obscured) but ours on the 7th floor was amazing. Lovely big balcony complete with 2 sunloungers instead of chairs. The decor was slightly dated but it seemed to fit in with the theme of the hotel. The bathrooms are big and the beds are lovely and comfy. The TVs are quite big but only had German channels. There is a minibar but it is no colder than the room itself, we found our drinks stayed cooler if we left them out with the air con on!

The food was good, buffet style and a lot of variety. Dinner is in 2 sittings - 6pm-7:30pm and 8pm-9:30pm and your sitting is pre-allocated, although you can request to change if you wish. We expected a pool bar serving snacks for lunch but there was only a restaurant type thing which you couldnt take food or drinks away from.

The pool is very big, split into 2 and then another separate children's pool (althought we didn't see any children the entire week!). It's lovely and clean and we never struggled to find a sunbed. We often could only spend an hour or so at a time at the pool before we got too cold as it was so horrifically windy! I'm not sure if we picked a bad week or if Fuerteventura is always windy but that certainly put a downer on our holiday (although no fault of the hotel).

The entertainment was pure cheese, so terrible that it was almost good if that makes sense?! The drinks were quite expensive but you get a bowl of peanuts with every drink you buy. Everything is put onto a tab on your room and you pay the bill when you check out so watch carefully what you're putting on there!

There is a luggage room and a spa where they allow you to use the showers if you have to check out of the room a long time before you fly. All other facilities are chargable though, e.g. wifi, beach towels, robes etc.

All in all we had a nice, very quiet and relaxing week at a beautiful hotel. This suited us well as a couple expecting their first child but I'm not sure I'd recommend it for someone looking for a fun family holiday or a week away with the girls/boys.

Room Tip: We were advised to ask for a high up room but didn't need to as we were already allocated a 7th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reutlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice staff with good German knowledge, excellent breakfast and dinner buffet. 1h Wifi free per day is fair and enough. Rooms are spacious, balcony is great for windy days. Aircon works fine. Tv size is good. Spa with free Sauna included, facilities are quite ok. Massage price is fair, very nice staff also there.
Pool area is very good. It is large and you don't have too many people next to you. There are different pools and places were you can choose a chair to lie on. Also a lot of umbrellas for sun protection. The beach is totally near to the hotel, good to go running in the morning or evening.

Room Tip: I booked the more expensive sea view rooms instead of the sea-side view. don't know the differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from this hotel,the place is amazing. The staff are always smiling and not just after a tip, all rooms face the sea and the views are fantastic. The variation of food available in the dining room is exceptional. The only down side was the fact that we were only one of two British couples, not a problem to us though as the others soon got used to us. This is one hotel that we will be returning to.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible,we were on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have just returned home from a week at the costa calms palace, having stayed in a five star hotel in tenerife ( which was very poor) in January we were surprised at the quality of this hotel, we felt it should be a five star, everything about it was fabulous and knocked spots off the tenerife hotel!!
We had two lovely rooms, great sea view although having read trip advisor we requested a 6th floor room and could see why!!
The food,staff and facilities were excellent and the location was amazing right on the beach which was lovely.
We can't wait to return in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
0.8 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
1.3 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
27.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.5 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
SBH Crystal Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Costa Calma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Costa Calma Palace

Property: SBH Costa Calma Palace
Address: Avda. Jahn Reisen, S/N, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Costa Calma Palace)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SBH Costa Calma Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your SBH Costa Calma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Costa Calma Palace Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Hotel Costa Calma
Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace Fuerteventura - Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing