We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was expecting more but unfortunately the hotel underdelivered!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Costa Calma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Was expecting more but unfortunately the hotel underdelivered!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Correlejo for one week and then one week in Costa Calma.
The first week was lovely and everything about our stay in Correlejo was spot on.
Unfortunately as soon as we arrived to our hotel we knew that our stay here wouldn't be as comfortable as the first.
When we arrived we have four pieces of luggage. We checked in and then were told we had to carry our own bags to the room. Where is the porter to help us please? He's gone home!
We were put in a room where we could hear all the noise from the above restaurants. Chairs being dragged and general chit chat. After dinner we asked if we could move and they were kind enough to move us but we had to sacrifice a nice sea view for a partial sea view.
The food at breakfast and dinner was so repetitive that in the end my husband and I just ate salad and fruit to avoid the over processed food with minimal taste.
Finding a sun lounger was a nightmare. Funnily enough when you check in you are given a notice to say not to reserve beds and your belongings will be removed etc etc and what did we see? Beds folded over with towels reserved with noone removing belongings!!
The worse thing we found was the Internet. On the website it clearly stated there was wifi!! There is not!!! Only in the lobby and pool area but it is very poor. We told the receptionist at check out and all she did was shrug her shoulders, say it wasnt her fault and to fill in a survey form.
Location isn't the greatest either so definitely hire a car. The view of the sea is running but not much else to do apart from beach unless if you have a car.
If I were you I would look around at other hotels rather than stay here as I think there are quite a few things that you will be disappointed with. I rarely write bad reviews but I have to say we were truly disappointed with H10 Esmerelda.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Animal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    427
    158
    52
    35
See reviews for
352
614
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fourteen of us arrived at the Costa Calma at 10.00 pm on the 15th of June 2013 tired and worn out after a day of travelling. There was one girl on reception to check us all in four different rooms in total. She was very efficient but there should have been at least two people at reception to check in as it was very very very slow !!!! This was to become the norm from the upstairs staff during our two week holiday in the H10.

The room we were shown to was great and we had paid for a sea view which we did get. We went down to the restaurant where a salad had been laid out for us. Breakfast the next day was lovely and we enjoyed sitting out on the balcony with its amazing views having our food. The pool area was great. Loads of beds available. The snack bar was great as well with self service drinks for those of us who were all inclusive, facilities for making toasted sandwiches and the usual pizza, burgers and hot dogs . The food in the buffet restaurant was really lovely. Plenty of choice for everyone and the kids always had something to eat whether it was chops, steak, chicken pieces, goujons, pizza, fish sticks and the list goes on and on and on. The restaurant staff were brilliant, so efficient and always the time to see Hola to us all. They went out of their way to get us tables together which was no mean task being 14 of us. I can't speak highly enough of the staff downstairs.

Now the main problem we had was after dinner when it is nice to sit down an have a few drinks and relax before going to bed. The service at both the upstairs bar and the bar downstairs in the entertainment area was abysmal most of the time. The upstairs staff ignored my husband for the first couple of nights and went on dusting the shelfs and putting cutlery in the drawers and fixing the labels on the bottles to the front. The barman then asked him for his room number for a security check which I have never heard of before in an all inclusive hotel as you have your band around your wrist. This happened on a number of occasions only in the upstairs bar I might add! It seemed that we were an inconvenience to the bar staff and interrupting their chat time. After the fourth day of this behaviour and feeling like you were begging for what you had already paid for my husband complained to the manager. We were hand delivered a written apology and given a Hotel Calender !!!!!!!!!! After this we waited at our table and let the waiter take the order and we found by giving him a tip once during the night kept him on his toes and happy to serve us. I have to say this really did annoy and upset us during the first few days.

The Hotel was mainly full of old Germans and our kids were the only kids around for the first week. It didn't bother us that it was mainly German but there was very little for the kids to do regarding interaction with games or water polo or football or basketball etc.

We hired a car for four days and I have to say the scenery in Fuertaventura is breath taking. The beaches were on the whole fabulous but quite annoying with so many nudists around especially with the kids having to witness this !

On the whole we had a lovely holiday which was somewhat marred by the poor service we received. Maybe a few more staff might solve that problem. The food was very good and the restaurant staff great. The island itself is fabulous and everything up to about 9.00 pm in the evening was great !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I always stay in Costa Calma every summer in a private property, and the Playa Esmeralda every November for 3 weeks.
As is our normal habit we always go to the Esmeralda for drinks and an evening meal. Things have changed dramatically since our last stay in November, when alterations had just began< the hotel has had a complete refurbishment and looks more modernistic, suitable for the younger generations which is of course, understandable in the current financial climate..Quite a lot of staff have changed but not, the 100% service expected of the Esmeralda which is as as good as ever. All in all my wife and I welcome the changes.Well done to all concerned On one note of sadness we were sorry to see the Director "Isabel Pascua" had moved on to a new challenge elsewhere, she was a dear friend and charming lady, we wish her all the best. The Esmeralda is still our favourite hotel among the many hotels we have stayed in around the world .As the name Costa Calma implies Sun, Sea, and Calming Thoughts
It also caters for the more mature generations a
pleasant atmosphere, relaxing peace and quiteness Many of the guests return every year and are like Swallows looking for the warm and sunny weather.
" Enjoy".

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimbobNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iker A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Sir Jimbob,

Thank you for leaving once again your opinion about our hotel on Tripadvisor.com. We are very glad to read that you welcome the complete refurbishment we had in our hotel.

We are proud to be your favourite hotel! Our staff will be pleased to hear your words, when we share them to our Team. Due to commentaries like yours, we are motivated to keep up with the good work and to improve every day again. We thank you for your confidence in us, and we are looking forward meeting you again!

With love,

The whole H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Very nice, clean and very organized hotel
Very good location in the top of the hill a few step aways from a very nice beach
The room are big, well decorated and very clean, the beds are confortables , the bath is big, clean and with all the facility
The breackfast is very goos and the dinner buffet too

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasure721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iker A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel on Tripadvisor.com, as well for your kind words about the cleanliness and the food. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in between us, and we hope we can welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Once more we would like to thank you for your positive opinion, and we will share your beautiful words with our whole Team.

With kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

stayed at this hotel for one week in may 2013. Was an hours transfer from airport and hotel is very isolated so don't go if you want to experience bright lights of bars! receptionist on arrival was a little abrupt and the room we were given overlooked the oil tank so requested change for which we were charged 8 euros each per day. Considering I had e-mailed them prior to arrival requesting a sea/pool view feel that they took advantage. The 2nd receptionist we dealt with, Nadia, was extremely helpful and friendly. The food was good with a lot of quality control to ensure it was fresh and there was freshly cooked fish and meat every day. Alcohol was branded which is unusual in all-inclusive but the bar area could do with being more user friendly. The hotel was cleaned thoroughly every day and there was always someone tending to the gardens. Never any trouble finding a sunbed as hotel was not busy. Entertainment was poor that we witnessed so needs to improve as there is nowhere else to go in the evening. FYI - the beach attached to the hotel is a naturist one. All in all, a good relaxing week with good food, good drink and good weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuckoo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Was driving from north to south of the island - enroute from Lanzarote to Gran Canaria - when we came across the huge tourist development at Costa Calma. Not the sort of place I usually stay in but I decided to check it out just in case - I immediately liked the bright and airy lobby-bar area (the 2 adjacent hotels have dark lobbies) so I asked the price and got brilliant deal of E84 with Dinner, B&B for 2. (B&B only was E74, so do the sums). I had expected to pay much more. Proper king-size bed (not 2 single mattresses) in spacious room with patio overlooking pool and sea, big TV, even free wifi in room although this is not guaranteed and depends on room position. The breakfast buffet was particularly excellent and one of the very best I have seen on all my very extensive travels. It was like being on a cruise ship, except the room was much bigger. One minor gripe - they charge E3 per day for use of the small bar fridge. Pillows also not the best (too fat) but hey, I don't want to be picky. Oh, and our 3rd floor room was beneath the restaurant patio and daytime noise of heavy steel chairs being moved around.

Room Tip: If you want to use wifi in room, choose one close to lobby. If 3rd floor beneath restaurant patio a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week in April 2013 and it was great. The food is very good, the pool view room is very nice and spacious, all the employees were very friendly, the pool is very nice too. Wireless Internet is a bit slow. We recommend this hotel for families with children.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main building and closer to the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InesO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.0 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
2.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
28.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
8.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.2 mi away
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
Hotel R2 Pajara Beach
#7 of 26 in Costa Calma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda

Property: SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
Address: C/ Punta del Roquito, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone's throw away from the sea with excellent views over the fine sandy beaches and azure waters of Costa Calma, the H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda has recently been refurbished by the renowned interior designer Lázaro Rosa-Violán. Its lobby, presided over by an original birdcage-shaped bar, its walls decorated with brightly coloured birds and its redecorated rooms give the whole hotel a distinguished, modern feel. In addition, it offers guests a new Despacio Spa Centre and the delicious cuisine of the Jandía Buffet Restaurant with show cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), H10 Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Esmeralda Resort
Hotel h10 Playa Esmeralda
h10 Hotel
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing