We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We've just returned from our 4th visit to this hotel and it did not disappoint. Its proximity to the beach in one of the main attractions where many people like to skinny dip and make the most of the rays. (We didn't make use of the very attractive pool area or spa as we were principally on a trekking trip so weren't around much during the day). The hotel itself is spread out over a fairly large area so if proximity to the main restaurant and reception is important it would be advised to make a request to this affect. All staff were pleasant and courteous and principal staff spoke excellent English - although at the time we may have been the only English speaking people aboard - the main clientèle at the time being German. We enjoyed the wide variety of food. At times there was some queueing but that's the case in most popular hotels. We had breakfast each day on the terrace which has amazing sea views. The bedroom and bathroom were fully serviced each day, towels changed every day and bedding every three days. There is a charge to use the safe. Free wi-fi access available in reception area and greatly improved since our last visit a year ago. Altogether a very successful trip and we hope to return again next year. (H10 club members can enjoy extra benefits like robes, daily newspaper , tea/coffee making facilities etc - worth it if you are a habitual H10 visitior).

Room Tip: Room 1438 has a really big balcony - must be the biggest in the block.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maggie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Mrs.:

Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear from a repeater we have improved from the last year, and all our efforts are going to get better for the next year when we expect we can welcome you newly.

Best wishes,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

As with previous h10 hotel the room,food,facilities were excellent.before our trip we found our holiday cheaper with another company and contacted H10 to claim their offer of price match plus VIP status for the trip.This was eventually agreed by them but not carried out.We paid in advance for our holiday and have still not received a refund and did not receive VIP treatment as the hotel staff said there was none!! The hotel staff then nearly charged us again on our departure and luckily we had a bank statement to prove we had already paid.Since returning home I have emailed 3 times and received 0 responses.I am still owed euros from the price match and H10 are just ignoring me.Travellers beware!

Room Tip: Do not go to the beach front rooms if you do not like cats,too many and they have their own beds.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFG-BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Mrs.

We are sorry but reading your review, we cannot know you name or any detail which helps us to know exactly about your claim.

Could you be so kind to contact with myself to the mail h10.playa.esmeralda@h10hotels.com to my attention (Carlos Miguel)?

I promise you to investigate about what you wrote on the review and answer you.

Waiting for your mail,

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Positive points:
- Nice pool.
- A (really) heated pool.
- Restaurant staff are nice.
- Nice buildings
- Nice views

Negative points:
- I sent several emails priori to my trip and I got .... zero answer.
- At arrival , exhausted by a day trip with kids and a baby full of luggage, the (unique) receptionist didn't help at all for the luggage, I even had to carry them on stairs (elevators broken most of the time).
- Fridge not working
- Frequent electricity failure
- Really bad smell from the toilets
- Air conditioning not functioning properly
- You have to pay (plus a deposit) for the safe, and a deposit for the towels (15e per towel).
- Only one restaurant open and long queues.
- Receptionist not welcoming at all.
- Wi Fi not working
- Really annoyed (specially for the kids) by the difficulty to access the beach and all the nudists
- Really tiny mini club (akthough the staff is really kind with the kids).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Mr.:

We thank you for the time you spent writing your review which surely helps us to improve according at the points you let us know.

Some of them could be not attributable to us, for example, the beach (It doesn´t belong to the hotel, it is public).

About the other points, we are investigating, because mostly are not usual at the hotel, being usually well valuated by other guests as everyone can check on another reviews about our resort.

We would like to receive the information about negative points on site, and it could help us to know, at the same moment, what you mean, or what you think about them, and we also could permit to sort them out.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just had a fantastic week's holiday at the H10 Esmeralda Hotel in Costa Calma.
We stayed from 16th October to 23rd October all inclusive, from the moment we checked in at the desk we knew we had picked a good hotel, they took us to our sea view room which was superb . It had two large double size beds, air con, safe (extra charge 8 euros) and a mini fridge, unfortunately they charge extra to turn the fridge on!. A good size bathroom with a good powerful shower over the bath.
The food in the restaurant was very varied with plenty of choice of foods, and plenty of drinks on tap. The staff were very polite and cleared away all used dishes quickly and efficiently.
There were plenty of sunbeds to choose from around the pool areas, they had a policy of 'non reserving of the sunbeds' so it stopped the Germans from getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve the best beds.
The sauna area was very nice where you could use the Turkish baths and saunas, word of warning, expect to be surrounded by naked people in the sauna's, they use them as they should be used...naked!
They also have a sandy beach just behind the hotel which is used as a naturist beach, although we didn't use it ourselves as we thought why pay for a sunbed and umbrellas on the beach without any toilet facilities when you can use the hotel pool areas with all inclusive bars?
The lounge bars were a delight to use in the evening, the bar staff/waiters came around the tables all night to take your drink orders saving having to go to the bar yourselves, they were very efficient and polite, couldn't do enough for you.,
Overall this was one of the best 4 star hotels we have stayed in, we would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Fuerteventura,
It's mainly a German hotel with a few Spanish and Polish guests, and very few English guests (which suited us)
The first thing I noticed on our first day around the pool area was...how quiet it was! it must be the first hotel we've stayed at that didn't have music blaring out of rubbish speakers all day by the animation team, it was so nice and peaceful!, you could even hear your own music through your own music players and headphones.

If you want a guaranteed excellent holiday stay in Fuerteventura book this hotel you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Mr.

We thanks a lot for your positive review about our hotel. We pay attention to the points you explained and we will try to attach some improvements to get better the experience our guest.

We hope to welcome you back in a close future.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel in July with my family, 4 adults and 2 children. The weather was good, about 28 degrees and sunny. It was cloudy every day until about 11am and then it would remain sunny for the rest of the day.
The hotel is located on a beautiful beach with clear blue seas. We all snorkelled every day, there's plenty of colourful fish to see, the adults and kids loved it. You can walk along the beach for miles.
The food in the hotel was fantastic, there was something for everyone. I love seafood and there was plenty of variety. The mussels were huge! The breakfast were brilliant too. This was probably the best hotel I have visited in terms of quality of food.
There wasn't a lot of entertainment for the children in the day but luckily they loved the big chess board and played that every day. The evening entertainment was very cheesy, but what hotels entertainment isn't.
We seemed to be one of the only few English families at this hotel, there were a lot of Russians, Italians and Spanish there.
I would visit this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky_reading06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Mrs.

Many thanks for the review you wrote through Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know we could cover your expectations and know that you will be back in a near future, is our best prize.

Of course, mostly of our guests are from Germany and Belgium, but as you could check by yourself we are pleased to welcome everyone whatever the country to introduce them on this paradise island.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

my wife and myself stayed for two weeks at this excellent hotel from the 24th of August to the 7th of September 2013 and had a most enjoyable time. On arrival we were most impressed with the reception area which had eager to help staff. Because we arrived late(about 10-30 pm) there was a specially arranged meal which was waiting for us, and after a long day's travelling this was not only a good start to our holiday but most welcome.
The room in which we were booked was very spacious and had a large balcony with a good view of the grounds. Outside our hotel room door there was a wonderful water feature which had several turtles swimming around, this was most pleasing to the eye.
The dining area was out of this World, the outer part had had lovely views of the sea which was pleasant to look at while eating. On one occasion when we went to dinner there was a photographer who aske my wife and myself if we would like to have our photograph taken with two ladies dress wearing traditional Canary Islands costume. The photographs were ready the next day and we had no hesitation in buying them.
The hotel grounds had more than adequate facilities ranging from: swimming pools, outdoor bar, mini golf, sauna, Turkish bath, whirlpool-spa and much more. The beach at the rear of the hotel was perfect.
The hotel had internal shops which catered for most needs. The local shopping centres were about 20/30 minutes walk away from the hotel which had the usual supermarkets and tourist shops.
Near one of the shopping centres was a bus stop which enabled us to take a trip to Morro Del Jable. At this town there is something for everyone; beaches, commercial centres, restaurants, bars, shops and a marina.
A very good day out is to go to Oasis park, this place had many different species of animals, and there many different shows to watch. While at this park we went on a Camel safari and on this we were able to experience spectacular views of the Janida beaches. A good advantage to this trip is that there is a free bus which will pick you up from the hotel and return you there.

Not too far from the hotel there is a local Sunday market which is well worth a visit.
Fuerteventura is a very nice place and one day my wife and myself will no doubt return to this beautiful memorable island.
We will also return to this hotel, and the hotel's most approachable manager Jiska and her team of staff are a credit to H10.
Geoff and Michelle Wall-Davis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos M, Director General at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Mr.:

Many thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor, we are very pleased to know you felt as in a paradise in our hotel, so we hope to be honoured with your next visit.

Best regards,

Carlos Miguel
Subdirector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had previously only been at christmas so a trip in September was new to us. The minor changes had all been for the better. The food and rooms still of good standard and size. In particularly the food given the nature of the opperation is of high quality and choices. There is not much to do in the area so you must come with that in mind. the breach is very good with easy access to the sea. As far as I could tell we wewre the only british couple in the hotel. Not a problem for us! .I would recommend the hotel and.it was nice that some staff recalled us five years since our last visit.

Room Tip: garden rooms for quite
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiska D, Asistente de dirección at SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Family Mick,

Thank you for sharing your commentary on Tripadvisor.com. We thank you as well for the fact you came to visit us for the second time and for you loyalty. It is an honour to read your words about the refurbishments we had in the hotel, the food and the rooms.

We will pass on your lovely words to our staff, as it is a reward for their work. We hope you will come to visit us soon again, and we will welcome you with open arms!

With kind regards,
In name from the whole H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda Team

Jiska Dieleman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
1.0 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
2.0 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
8.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
VIK Suite Hotel Risco del Gato
28.7 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda

Address: C/ Punta del Roquito, 2, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Calma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: £85 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone's throw away from the sea with excellent views over the fine sandy beaches and azure waters of Costa Calma. We also have a direct acces to the beach. The SENTIDO H10 Sentido Playa Esmeralda has been refurbished by the renowned interior designer Lázaro Rosa-Violán. Its lobby, presided over by an original birdcage-shaped bar, its walls decorated with brightly coloured birds and its redecorated rooms give the whole hotel a distinguished, modern feel. In addition, it offers guests a new Despacio Spa Centre and the delicious cuisine of the Jandía Buffet Restaurant with show cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), H10 Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Playa Esmeralda Resort
Hotel h10 Playa Esmeralda
h10 Hotel
SENTIDO H10 Playa Esmeralda Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing