We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

First time to fuerteventura, wish we hadn't had to leave after one week.
The hotel is beautifully layed out. I can highly recommend this place if you have children of any age. Although there were predominantly older folks the hotel offered lots of activities for kids. Lots of sports possible and I wish I had been in better shape since few seemed to take advantage of the tennis courts and other facilities.
The food was great. We ate way too much (buffet).
The staff were very dedicated and friendly. I had read comments that service is lacking but that was not our experience at all. They are probably aware of this reputation and are working hard to rid themselves of it.
The winter weather was magnificent, not hot mind you but very comfortable.
Yes, throngs of germans were there (not a problem unless you want to avoid them), but there were french and poles in good numbers and some brits as well.
We were thoroughly satisfied with the experience.

Room Tip: We allowed the receptionist to select our room and were not choosy, although keeping our 10-month ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed as part of a package holiday on a half board deal. I can't think why you'd need to stay full board, as you can have a really good breakfast (buffet) and then you're sorted until your evening meal.
The hotel is epic! and being away from the town it is very quiet.
Staff are probably the best and most customer focussed I have come accross in many years.
Food is excellent quality, and being vegetarian, we had no problems with meals - plenty of fresh fruit and veg.
I cannot fault this hotel !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joo_chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I go on 3 to 5 holidays a year,so i do know whats good and whats bad.....this hotel is definitely the nicest yet,the grounds absolutely fantastic,they spent a lot of money on grounds...must be seen to believed...food,you wont eat better than this place..great selection,great service,room very nice with beautiful views og the pool and the sea and i only paid for std room...beach 10 min walk away..very big beach,fairly quiet with lots of older peolple.....i will DEFINETELY be returning if i can get a room.......oh and pricew was good enough too....

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bgroening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We went to the Rio Calma on our friend's recommendation for some winter sun on a Thomas Cook package. We weren't disappointed. The resort is beautiful and really well thought out.

Our room had a lovely sea view and came with everything we needed. The double bed is massive although for us, it was a bit hard (personal tastes) and the pillows a bit thin (a quick request at reception and twenty minutes later we had extra pillows). The bathroom was lovely - nice hot powerful shower. The cleaners do a really good job of making your room spotless every day. But we didn't spend much time in our room.

There's three pools - each offering something different. According to my girlfriend, who's a bit of a swimmer, the heated pool is at least 50 metres long so its perfect for a few lengths to burn of the fabulous food that we just couldn't stop eating at breakfast, lunch and dinner! The infinity pool is a lot colder but is also good for a dip and has a waterfall to swim through and looks out onto the sea for a great photo moment.

There's a challenging mini-golf course, tennis courts, beach with loungers, football pitches, beach volley ball court and a petanque pitch. Add to this the range of activities put on every day by the friendly pool staff and we were relaxed and entertained all day. Try the stretching gym and aqua aerobics - it's a workout! On the one day of mild weather during the week we were there we used our free spa passes to enjoy the sauna, jacuzzi, and heated pool.

In the evening, the entertainment is a bit boring although we saw some good magicians. There is, though, a great pianist in the cocktail bar (which has free wifi). All in all, we couldn't have asked for anything more to help us relax. We did, though, take a few DVDs on our friend's recommendation and watched them in our room a couple of evenings (the TV channels aren't up to much - BBC World News is the only English language channel).

We went full board which meant we only had to pay for a couple of the daily activities and for drinks in the cocktail bar. For us this came to 20 euros! We ate like kings everyday. The food was excellent. Also, I guess the hotel reads these reviews on Trip Advisor as the restaurant staff were very quick to clear our plates away (perhaps in response to previous reviews?!).

In general, this is a great place. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities excellent. The food amazing. And the atmosphere was very nice. Everyone staying there (many Germans so I got to test my GSCE German skills!) was polite, chatty and friendly. We would definitely go back and definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. The only time we left the resort was when we left to go home - it's that good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I had spent 2 weeks in this resort with my family (two children: 3 years and 8 months). We are very demanding customers and seasoned travelers so please keep it mind as our expectations were very high.

So first of all: Fuerteventura looks like the Moon: no natural trees, rocks and rocks all around. In these terms R2 Hotel designers did great job, setting really green and beautiful garden surrounding. This is real big plus of this place.

Transfer from the Airport does take around 90 minutes. Check-in was (and I may say is - because I had watched similar situations siting in the lobby) very slow and problematic. Nobody cares for your luggage being transported to the room. Luggage guy appeared from time to time but definitely not at the moments new group from the bus appeared in the hotel.

Receptionists speak German, French there are even few Polish girls but there is problem in communicating in English. The same in the restaurants - waiters had problems with complex commands like "Two red wines please".

Technicals:

- Weather in January: 15-22 degrees, see theoretically 19 but due to the winter you feel it as 14 :)
- Beach: you have to go few hundred meters as hotel is located on the rocks,
- Food: excellent. Thematic dinners, wide range of meals. Really strong point!
- Service: problematic part. In the only "A la carte" restaurant waiter did forget pass our order to the kitchen (!!!) and we spend more than hour just waiting till somebody realized something is wrong,
- room cleaning: rather chaotic, you could not ask to make it e.g. earlier - they just did follow their agenda,
- GYM (important part for me) in tragic conditions. Not a single bench for push-ups only partially broken abs bench, dumbbells totally incomplete (there was only ONE pair - 30kg one). Broken parts of training machines, broken stepper. It really required creativity and experience to make a training using this poor equipment
- sleep quality- not good - I had an impression that walls were made of paper
- rooms - noisy, floors without any carpets, practically no furniture

They do not have AI scheme. Even having FB you have to pay for all drinks to the lunch and dinner. During breakfasts people stood in queues to the coffee machines (2 for maybe 500 people).

Generally, they could make this place good, but due to poor service and disadvantages mentioned above whole the resorts was very average to me.

Room Tip: Take rather upper floors. Noise from above may be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Palek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Just returned from a week in this stunning hotel. The hotel is very spacious with high vaulted ceilings in main reception. The grounds are out of this world with three pools including two infinity pools - one fresh water and one salt water.
Bedrooms are very well appointed, have balconies with sea views. Buffet meals eaten either in dining room or outside screened off part of garden. Food is very plentiful and varied menus. Champagne at breakfast every other day. The only slight criticisms I have of this hotel are that although advertised at a four star superior hotel the service in dining room is not quite that standard as dirty plates were regularly not cleared from tables between courses.Also the evening entertainment was pretty boring. We did however have a great chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed there on a Thomas Cook package for a week. It is a large, modern hotel mainly let to German package companies. The ambiance is excellent - large, comfortable rooms and spacious public areas. Buffet breakfast and dinner is varied and plentiful. Food is well prepared and presented with ample staff on hand to advise and clear tables etc. Location not exactly on a beach but is right on the sea with a rocky but swimable foreshore. However the gardens and swimming pool are more than adequate and there is a manufactured beach area approached by a steep path. The only downs were 1) waits at reception for check-in and -out with only a limited number of staff to cope with such a large hotel and 2) the taste of the coffee at breakfast, not to my liking. As well as the buffet dinner there is an à la carte restaurant open Thursday to Sunday but it is not sensational; dining at your own pace in the garden - weather permitting - was a far happier experience. Both of us had birthdays falling during the week we were there and the management provided a complimentary bottle of very drinkable Cava as a surprise to us on each day - a nice touch. Hotel would be OK for people just wanting to 'do nothing' for a week or two and the island is not so big that it could not be used as a base for exploring but there is a limited number of things to see/do.

Room Tip: Try to get 8th floor for there best views. All rooms as far as i could tell offer sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LNRBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.1 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
592 reviews
26.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
44.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.6 mi away
H10 Tindaya
H10 Tindaya
#1 of 27 in Costa Calma
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference

Address: C/ Artistas Canarios 8, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Calma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: £113 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Rio Calma Hotel And Spa & Conference
r2 Rio Calma Hotel Costa Calma
Hotel Rio Calma
Rio Calma Costa
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference Fuerteventura/Costa Calma, Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing